benltk Clutched March 3, 2015 Share March 3, 2015 Check under Scrap Yards & Exporters in SgCarmart's motor directory. I used the first one. http://www.sgcarmart.com/directory/listing.php?CAT=20 I used the first one on SgCarmart's list of Scrap Yards & Exporters. You may read my review there as well. http://www.sgcarmart.com/directory/listing.php?CAT=20 oh, ok.. thank you for the link :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antonee 6th Gear March 3, 2015 Author Share March 3, 2015 Looks like is this one http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/writeup.php?AID=252 Look under "Quotz Scrap/Export service here" Me balu sign up for the quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antonee 6th Gear March 3, 2015 Author Share March 3, 2015 Hahaha.. I know.. I also kena before lol Anyway the coupe dealer doesn't sound patient enough to understand my needs. Like : "you want - show me confirmation, if not call me if you need more information. Nowadays I must say service provider have the right of choice while we consumer Sigh I scrapped my 10yrs old E60 BMW 520i for $2.5k body value last year Nov'14 hi bro, care to share the parf value e as well.. Many thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latio2005A Turbocharged March 3, 2015 Share March 3, 2015 No prob , some 'direct owner' may not be necessary 'direct'. They are actually dealer in disguise , but not all lah. That's very true. By so doing, they may also avoid the lemons law. It sounded like the "Balloon scheme" years ago.... in this case, basically, the Parf is used as downpayment. Some loophole ? I am not sure. 18k depreciation .... for a BMW Coupe ... not that bad lah. You damn rich. Huat ar!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear March 4, 2015 Share March 4, 2015 (edited) Hi bro, care to share the parf value e as well.. Many thanks My scrapped E60 OMV $53k, Parf taken back $29k + $2.5k body. Actually can get back $3k or more since my 10yrs old BMW mileage only 120k and car is in good condition. Btw, I loss $8k per year depreciation driving from 5th to 10yr mark. Now switched and bought a 6yr 9mths old C180K W204 last Nov at $16k depreciation. Edited March 4, 2015 by Amazon777 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged March 4, 2015 Share March 4, 2015 Some dealers say Mercedes cars fetch a lot of value upon scrapping...in the order of 10K, not just mere hundreds..any Merc owners can verify this claim by the dealers? sgquotz got some transacted values there.... between 1.8k-2.5k.. I think My scrapped E60 OMV $53k, Parf taken back $29k + $2.5k body. Actually can get back $3k or more since my 10yrs old BMW mileage only 120k and car is in good condition. Btw, I loss $8k per year depreciation driving from 5th to 10yr mark. Now switched and bought a used 7yrs C180K W204 last Nov at $16k depreciation. wah $16k quite high... I got a e200k w211 at about $14k depre, slightly less than 7 yrs old with bidded no. plate not sure why but the c series has higher depreciation than the e.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged March 4, 2015 Share March 4, 2015 (edited) sgquotz got some transacted values there.... between 1.8k-2.5k.. I think wah $16k quite high... I got a e200k w211 at about $14k depre, slightly less than 7 yrs old with bidded no. plate not sure why but the c series has higher depreciation than the e.... Please share what you guys work as so I know how I can afford such cars in future! Edited March 4, 2015 by flashbang 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jactey Neutral Newbie April 3, 2015 Share April 3, 2015 Hi, i always wonder why people say used car is cheaper. When i search at sgcarmart, i noticed all the used car have higher depreciation compared to new car. For example, a new hyundai elantra depreciate at $10100 whereas a 7 year hyundai elantra depreciate at $11000-12000 a year anyone know why? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 3, 2015 Share April 3, 2015 Hi, i always wonder why people say used car is cheaper. When i search at sgcarmart, i noticed all the used car have higher depreciation compared to new car. For example, a new hyundai elantra depreciate at $10100 whereas a 7 year hyundai elantra depreciate at $11000-12000 a year anyone know why? You are right. You should save money and just buy a new car. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 3, 2015 Share April 3, 2015 You are right. You should save money and just buy a new car. Don't know need to save how long in order to buy a new car?! Lol. Unless your pay and year end bonus is high, then maybe you just need to save around 3 years of bonus, you should be able to pay for the downpayment of a new car liao! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear April 3, 2015 Share April 3, 2015 Hi, i always wonder why people say used car is cheaper. When i search at sgcarmart, i noticed all the used car have higher depreciation compared to new car. For example, a new hyundai elantra depreciate at $10100 whereas a 7 year hyundai elantra depreciate at $11000-12000 a year anyone know why? That's because the used car dealers know that many ppl turn to used car because they can't afford to down 50% for new car price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jactey Neutral Newbie April 3, 2015 Share April 3, 2015 I thought it is because after the car is use for 3 years,it resale value will fall more than the "calculated" depreciation. Seem like I'm wrong, it is more of dealer trying to make more out of it. If i can pay the down payment, i should get a new car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pioneer 4th Gear April 3, 2015 Share April 3, 2015 If the car you wish to buy is the common Jap make, GET A NEW CAR. A new car has 3-5 year warranty and some comes with 3-5 years of maintenance. When you sell it, it has high resale value as dealer are selling it at higher annual depreciation than new cars. When I bought 2nd hand car, I avoided all models that had higher or similar depreciation with new one. I expected the old ones to be about 20% lower in depreciation. I thought it is because after the car is use for 3 years,it resale value will fall more than the "calculated" depreciation. Seem like I'm wrong, it is more of dealer trying to make more out of it. If i can pay the down payment, i should get a new car? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antonee 6th Gear April 3, 2015 Author Share April 3, 2015 Hi, i always wonder why people say used car is cheaper. When i search at sgcarmart, i noticed all the used car have higher depreciation compared to new car. For example, a new hyundai elantra depreciate at $10100 whereas a 7 year hyundai elantra depreciate at $11000-12000 a year anyone know why? I think thats becos these used car dealer jack up the price so that they can earn more. If the car you wish to buy is the common Jap make, GET A NEW CAR. A new car has 3-5 year warranty and some comes with 3-5 years of maintenance. When you sell it, it has high resale value as dealer are selling it at higher annual depreciation than new cars. When I bought 2nd hand car, I avoided all models that had higher or similar depreciation with new one. I expected the old ones to be about 20% lower in depreciation. Now quite hard to find used car with low depreciation, these dealers are really 😒 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pioneer 4th Gear April 3, 2015 Share April 3, 2015 It is still very possible, but you must do your homework. Most of the listed prices on sgcarmart are still negotiable. Of course if you die die only buy toyota, nissan and honda then maybe it is a bit tough. My last 3 cars (Bought within the last 4 years) are all easily 20% lower in annual depreciation from new ones and lowest if not the lowest from the 2nd hand market. I lost count how many dealers I have spoken to and the hours of research. I guess when they realised I know my stuff, they are also less daring to try their luck on me. Haha.. I once told a dealer the cost of the car (Through research) he took in and that he must had make a fortune selling it at the listed price. I have dealt with 1-man companies, big and reliable ones, direct sellers, consignment sellers, etc. Haha... maybe I should start a consultation service for people who want to buy pre-owned cars. I think thats becos these used car dealer jack up the price so that they can earn more.Now quite hard to find used car with low depreciation, these dealers are really 😒 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 3, 2015 Share April 3, 2015 I thought it is because after the car is use for 3 years,it resale value will fall more than the "calculated" depreciation. Seem like I'm wrong, it is more of dealer trying to make more out of it. If i can pay the down payment, i should get a new car? If you can pay the down payment you should just buy a new car. You will save a lot of money. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 3, 2015 Share April 3, 2015 No matter whether the coe price is high or low, it is always better to buy a new car. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antonee 6th Gear April 3, 2015 Author Share April 3, 2015 It is still very possible, but you must do your homework. Most of the listed prices on sgcarmart are still negotiable. Of course if you die die only buy toyota, nissan and honda then maybe it is a bit tough. My last 3 cars (Bought within the last 4 years) are all easily 20% lower in annual depreciation from new ones and lowest if not the lowest from the 2nd hand market. I lost count how many dealers I have spoken to and the hours of research. I guess when they realised I know my stuff, they are also less daring to try their luck on me. Haha.. I once told a dealer the cost of the car (Through research) he took in and that he must had make a fortune selling it at the listed price. I have dealt with 1-man companies, big and reliable ones, direct sellers, consignment sellers, etc. Haha... maybe I should start a consultation service for people who want to buy pre-owned cars. But its really hard to find now.. btw what brand of those cars you have bought with 20% lower dp? Even though I have fren 'S fren who have worked in these industry. It was unfortunate none of them help me in sourcing. They only source for their own.😞 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...