How to own a new Merc C class?

Submarine82

Why think so much?

Juz change car once it is out of warranty period.

Period.

Life is short. Work hard. Play harder.

Best if before first servicing sell, very troublesome and some ad dont offer free servicing, so change car better :D

4K for a master degree with several years of exp is definitely way underpaid!

Fresh grad(hons) pay at DSO for engineering is around 4.2K for reliability engineer if i didn't recall wrongly.

My brother who is just a basic bachelor bio sci degree, fresh grad, 3.2K as a lab technician.

9 years ago when i got my degree, 3.3K.

A couple of my good friends in 32-34 yr old range, with degree, none under 5K a month.

In conclusion, you should change a company first. I think with your experience u can easily get above 5K.

Then perhaps u can consider taking a huge loan for the car. Provided if you don't have any committments and single.

I have a few friends who worked in software engineering field. Their salary is around 4k - 5k only.

Some are older than me.

What engineering field that you are working right now?

Bro dun think too much la. Getting a c class is very unrealistic now. Think of how to increase ur value 1st. Once you have it company will offer u a car. U dun even need to fork out a single cent. My 2 cent. Dun even let other people know of ur intention at this point. This shows ur immaturity frankly.

Bro, I just think think only la.

It will motivate me to look for better job now.

I have a few friends who worked in software engineering field. Their salary is around 4k - 5k only.

Some are older than me.

Software engineering field salary is 4-5k? How many years of experience?

Think in S'pore if you can afford a car consider quite good lo, no need must buy C class merc just for face value if you can barely afford it.

everything start from a "wish" .... thats the motivation.

Some are older than me.

I from IT so let me share this with you.

In the IT world , if you stay as a SE too long, you are doom-ed ! You need to climb up ... become a lead or a archit or a PM .. etc Reason is simple , there are tons of FT fighting for your post. Unless you are in a very niche market , thats different where you talking about very low level programming.

Since you are into embedded Eng , so i guess probably chip / firmware / CNC programing . If your company is reputable , climb up . If not , find a good MNC in that field . people always talk about top 4 Audit ... top 4 consultancy , top 4 IT etc ... so look for the top few . Get in and work afew yrs , get the experiences. After which , if the reward is good , stay else find another company that need your expertise. By then your value will be up.

Good question, but you may not like my answer. Not point sugar-coating so I'll just give it to you straight; unless you can make it to the top of the food chain, a job will rarely make you rich.

Don't get me wrong, I am not suggesting you quit your job, on the contrary if your job is secured, not too hard to do and doesn't take up your personal time, I suggest you keep it, then do something else in your free time. Others have suggested giving tuition or working part-time, I would say take it one notch higher; find some small business you can do in your free time or learn how to invest / trade the market etc. to accumulate assets, and NEVER give up your job until the "something else" can fully and comfortably sustain you, your family and your other commitments.

In my younger days I have joint-ventured in a bubble-tea shop (got bought out) and set up online stores selling fashion accessories (closed down), I also do online trading and investments (still doing) etc.; all while still holding on to my day job. It's not easy, and there are rarely instant gratifications, but if you can identify something which you are interested in and at the same time can make you money, do it, and keep doing it because in the long run it can potentially bring you much greater returns than most jobs can..

Ok, 1 side-track piece of suggestion here which you might not like to hear. As much as I wanted to own a car back in my younger days, I held it back because I knew my money can be put to better use else where, and eventually when I "had" to get a car, I went for a B&B Jap car even though I could afford something a little flashier because, similarly, my money can be put to better use else where. You might want to give some consideration to this notion and perhaps see how it can be applied to your situation as well.

Hope the above provides you with an alternate perspective on your current situation on hand. [thumbsup]

Can I call you "shi fu"?

I did make some investment as the fixed deposit rate is so low.

I have Capitaland, Kepland, Singtel, Starhub shares.

Money is depreciating, So I need to invest on appreciating properties.

30 years ago, HDB only $30k. The current BTO already $380K.

Car is my interest and source of motivation.

I am really hope one day I able to drive a new C class.

I know how to calculate too.

Last time I bought Hyundai Getz because it has the lowest depreciation/year compare to Vios and Latio.

I know I need to increase my income. But how?

Currently, I am looking for new job now.

At the same time, I also discuss with my boss for promotion.

Your idea of start small business is good. Just I do not have the idea on which business to start with.

My mind is filled with engineering stuff. Not really good at business.

that's the problem in singapore ....

the market and company does not value "technical" people because of cheap labour from china, india, philipine, myanmar, etc

if in europe and usa ... if you are very technical ... can make money

In the IT world , if you stay as a SE too long, you are doom-ed ! You need to climb up ... become a lead or a archit or a PM .. etc Reason is simple , there are tons of FT fighting for your post. Unless you are in a very niche market , thats different where you talking about very low level programming.

Since you are into embedded Eng , so i guess probably chip / firmware / CNC programing . If your company is reputable , climb up . If not , find a good MNC in that field . people always talk about top 4 Audit ... top 4 consultancy , top 4 IT etc ... so look for the top few . Get in and work afew yrs , get the experiences. After which , if the reward is good , stay else find another company that need your expertise. By then your value will be up.

IT field is good. Some of my engineering coursemate switch to IT field just after graduate.

Their job title is IT consultant.

For embedded programmer, there is no Top4 here.

Most embedded company already shifted out from Singapore.

IT field is good. Some of my engineering coursemate switch to IT field just after graduate.

Their job title is IT consultant.

For embedded programmer, there is no Top4 here.

Most embedded company already shifted out from Singapore.

If the horse is died , no pointing wiping a died horse ...... look for alternatives

that's the problem in singapore ....

the market and company does not value "technical" people because of cheap labour from china, india, philipine, myanmar, etc

if in europe and usa ... if you are very technical ... can make money

thats what globalization is all about ....... [laugh]

its inevitable as well .... tech change very fast and hard to chase up ... tech skill gets obsolete fast. During recession , IT will be hit hard. In asia , only business mind can survive through the turmoil.

Good. I think is good you can use new c class as motivation. I also must think of something to motivate myself. Hmm....currently eying at lakeville..dunno good or not...

Some are older than me.

Normally software engineer slary is relatively low than other field, because too many ah neg And ah Tiong engineers fighting this field

Good. I think is good you can use new c class as motivation. I also must think of something to motivate myself. Hmm....currently eying at lakeville..dunno good or not...

depend on whether you will see anything flooding over in the lake once a while lor hahaha

You sure? Something like shit floating around?

depend on whether you will see anything flooding over in the lake once a while lor hahaha

You sure? Something like shit floating around?

If you looking at the one near the chinese garden ....... i guess you would know . Anything can float by.

Think u will get it soon.

Private condo price is dropping...

If the horse is died , no pointing wiping a died horse ...... look for alternatives

Yeah absolutely no point flogging a dead horse unless

the person is into sadism, necrophilia and beastiality.

Edited by Jamesc
  • Praise 11