2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

Why both of u only subjectively focus on my drive in this car but not all my drive on other cars? Yes, u may be right on the way i drive. So this should also apply to all the previous cars i have driven.

So why the previous cars i driven only have 1 to 2km/l FC difference apart between city & expressway drive but Forester has almost 11km/l difference apart?

I suspect that it is because 4 wheel drive will have very bad FC if hard stop and go vs 2 wheel drive car. On the other hand, it has better FC during cruising vs 2 wheel drive car

in my similarly figured engine (237hp, 345Nm, 2.0L), if I drive only lousy neighborhood conditions where got to stop at every traffic light, I probably finish with less than 8km/l. Highway, 12~16km/l.

I don't see why the FXT wouldn't be similar.

In addition, the reverse camera also lags a bit after I Change from R to D, meaning when I Change to gear D, the screen still shows the reverse camera footage...

Anyone? Lol.....

To me it's OK. In fact on my car I have a setting enabled that keeps the reverse camera on until I exceed a certain forward velocity.

Are driving a Alfa Romeo now? From a car that had very strong character, a Forester you will not feel special.

I used to drive the 159, followed by a 3.2 V6 manual Alfa GT which was scrapped in Feb this year when COE is expired.

I agree fully that a Forester may not evoke the same emotions I had with the Alfa, but as age comes, practicality and price matters more and more.

Nowadays cars are so darn expensive! The new Giulia is likely to be priced around the entry A4 and 320 and C Class, and i'm not prepared to spend that kind of money on a car. Ok, actually I can't afford hahaha

That's why need to test drive to see if got "feel" anot ma. Haha

Exhaust.. Currently LTA approved only HKS and Invidia.

Can choose factory fabric seat.. Discount $300 or $500.. Choose it better Bec locally fitted leather quality not there think the jin is rushed. Might as well take that $300-500 saving and TOP up outside at a good upholstery shop if your choice.

Remap yes. Ecutek. At least 3 tuner can do FXT using ecutek in Singapore.

SA at MI rotate between Leng Kee n TPY. Male SE that's quite Ching chai I know is:

Timothy Png

Andy (sorry forgot surname but is a soft spoken thin guy.. Not a fat Andy)

Christopher Tan

Thank you so much! Great info! Edited by Theoldjaffa

I used to drive the 159, followed by a 3.2 V6 manual Alfa GT which was scrapped in Feb this year when COE is expired.

I agree fully that a Forester may not evoke the same emotions I had with the Alfa, but as age comes, practicality and price matters more and more.

Nowadays cars are so darn expensive! The new Giulia is likely to be priced around the entry A4 and 320 and C Class, and i'm not prepared to spend that kind of money on a car. Ok, actually I can't afford hahaha

Thank you so much! Great info!

If you are looking for "feel" for Japanese car.. Don't think Honda 1.5T or Toyota 2.0na or Mazda, Nissan, Mitsubishi or Daihatsu... Will provide much feel.

The forester turbo feel is there but the roll around the corners will definitely not as tight as a sedan Alpha so you may have to remind yourself that's it's a taller car with higher CG.

The good news is you can improve the handling characteristics of the FXT.. Cusco have lots of undercarriage bars and coilovers and shock absorbers available to stiffen the ride until the handling is right tight.. Just add in less than $5k for everything still cheaper than getting a cayenne Macan or Alpha at current price

Edited by Chucky2007

Would also like to learn more about some basic plug and play mods, like exhausts. Besides Invidia and HKS, anything else?

Is there any remap that can up the torque as much as possible within tolerance of the lineartronic?

For e.g., Volvo has Polestar, VAG has MTM etc.

Anyone tried buying without leather seats? Meaning to stick with original factory fabric. Any discount given?

Lastly, any good chin chye male SE to recommend for TPY MI? planning to test drive tomorrow but decision only next year so I need someone who is not so hung up over sales.

Thanks all and all replies much appreciated!

Andy Chen 94877048

He encouraged me to test drive almost all models, very patient, helpful and good. End up I picked XT.

Thank you so much! Great info!

Forester's engine got personality, doesn't roar like a Alfa would, but CVT will sap some of the typical joy, while the handling is not bad for a SUV... sure cannot compare to an Alfa.

Mazda3 2.0L is said to be really enjoyable to drive, but Mazda3 is a bit cramped.

Civic 1.5T got good reviews from the car mags that say it handles good.

The reasons are not very applicable to SG [:p]

Though they may not apply perfectly here, but it would still give forester owners here something to be proud of that the car is highly valued & rated number 1 in some parts of the world...

Mainly price/performance ratio.

Then the FL has LED, GPS, active safety.

That's why need to go see if got feel anot.

Likely to take you a while to get used to the CVT, I think... just like when I first encountered the Alfa 159 gearbox when it first launched few years ago. Edited by WML888

Actually the CVT no need to get use to.. Quite responsive. Else got S mode for quicker response. It's the the CG that most sedan Drivers may need some adjustments when doing the test drive.. Suggest to go test drive other small SUV around price range of 130-180k after test drive FXT

Why both of u only subjectively focus on my drive in this car but not all my drive on other cars? Yes, u may be right on the way i drive. So this should also apply to all the previous cars i have driven.

So why the previous cars i driven only have 1 to 2km/l FC difference apart between city & expressway drive but Forester has almost 11km/l difference apart?

I suspect that it is because 4 wheel drive will have very bad FC if hard stop and go vs 2 wheel drive car. On the other hand, it has better FC during cruising vs 2 wheel drive car

I suspect you may have gotten the wrong car sir.

Try again in a couple of years time ok? :)

Allow me to quote and translate a colloquial dialect saying:

"if one dunno how to swim, don't blame it on *large* swimming trunks that one had chosen"

I suspect you may have gotten the wrong car sir.

Try again in a couple of years time ok? :)

Allow me to quote and translate a colloquial dialect saying:

"if one dunno how to swim, don't blame it on *large* swimming trunks that one had chosen"

Thanks for the advise. To confirm my swimming trunk is too large, may i know what is your FC when 100% city drive?

You're certainly welcome. :)

Eh if I understand the proverb correctly, i don't think it has anything to do with the swimming trunks. It's the in ability, or rather the lack of ability, to swim. :D

You're certainly welcome. :)

Eh if I understand the proverb correctly, i don't think it has anything to do with the swimming trunks. It's the in ability, or rather the lack of ability, to swim. :D

C'on, dont shun away from my question on what is yr FC on 100% city drive lah

Actually I feel 7.5-8km/l for the fxt should be quite normal n acceptable considering the power u getting. I won't be surprised with that fc. If anyone else tell me fxt can achieve 10km/l, I think he/she is not driving the car to it's full potential :D

For FC, has to see the total fuel pumped and the total distance travelled for the previous tank...

The 5.8L/100km or 15/100 shown on the trip computer has little meaning as it's just a calculation factoring in the various pre input assumed city, highway consumption, engine load etc.. And also depends on when was the reading of the total consumption taken. Example if just pumped full tank and the trip meter is reset, and happens to be caught in a jam on causeway check point, it can goes up to 40L/100km Bec the distance travelled in the new tank is just 5km.

I only know in the real world, I have gotten FC as bad as 1L/4.8km for distance of 250km travelled due to driving at higher speed on NSHW, 1L/15km for a distance of 180km due to driving Long distance on NSHW driving at 90-100kmh.

And in Singapore 90% city driving the worst FC at 1L/7.3km.. Other time with a mixture of city highway start stop traffic is around 1L=8.3km with an slightly upsized tyre and heavier dead load of 40+-50kg of soundproof material with subwoofer plus the spare tyres still in car

if 100% city drive your fc is normal lah

for my car used by my wife to send and fetch kids and groceries etc, can hit 6km/l very happy liao

Haiya.. if wanna ride in  a performance car don't bother about FC la.. those who bothered with it get a BNB la.. or get a B M W.

I drive an 2016 Outback .. 60% HW.. (but nowadays HW damn jam too).. Accumulated  (4mths) AFC so far 8.7l/100km on system.

Edited by BenTong