wookie_fan 2nd Gear September 25, 2015 Share September 25, 2015 (edited) Tot tat is for XT FC from some of the feedback here earlier? Bro FC only a rough estimate. Factors include driving habits plus percentage of city vs highway. For eg, my colleague driving a 2.0L Xtrail, told me the data on screen show 15km/L on highway but 8km/L in city. Btw, in my humble opinion only, if u ever consider Qashqai might as well go for Xtrail much better abt the same price Edited September 25, 2015 by wookie_fan ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear September 25, 2015 Share September 25, 2015 Bro FC only a rough estimate. Factors include driving habits plus percentage of city vs highway. For eg, my colleague driving a 2.0L Xtrail, told me the data on screen show 15km/L on highway but 8km/L in city. Btw, in my humble opinion only, if u ever consider Qashqai might as well go for Xtrail much better abt the same price Thought review mention QQ handling is much better than X trail? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonChua_160516 1st Gear September 26, 2015 Share September 26, 2015 Tot tat is for XT FC from some of the feedback here earlier? I got about 8 to 9km per litre for my XT... maybe it's my driving style. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonChua_160516 1st Gear September 26, 2015 Share September 26, 2015 I got about 8 to 9km per litre for my XT... maybe it's my driving style. Oh... I drive from North West to CBD everyday for work.. using AYE... so about 50% highway... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
X5actor 4th Gear September 26, 2015 Share September 26, 2015 (edited) SE cannot hint one lah, must thick skin otherwise sure kenna makan Don't hint leh, how abt u try to be direct? 😎I believe my way of hinting was rather direct le. She's the pro (sales exec), not me. Moreover, I recommended her my friend who was contemplating to buy a Elantra/Vezel/QQ, who bought an XV from her almost immediately. But well, it's ok. To each his/her own. Edited September 26, 2015 by X5actor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear September 26, 2015 Share September 26, 2015 Today Strait times show 2.0L is 118.8k. Probably your message below is after 1k discount then. Seem like the dealer is using the trick like update the price by 2k before COE result releasing. So that they can show that they have 3k lesser on new price like others. However, in actual fact, it is only down by 1k I received this from my SE from MI on 24 Sep 2015:Dear customers:New price update for Subaru Forester 2.0L @ $117,800Forester 2.0XT @ $127,800For current stocks (6 bids guarantee COE package)The price is mostly based on demand-and-supply.Hope this helps:) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micb 5th Gear September 26, 2015 Share September 26, 2015 SE cannot hint one lah, must thick skin otherwise sure kenna makan Correct ! Just sharing my purchase technique for the last few rides (new and preowned). Once I shortlisted the final 1-2 models which I liked, I will do the following: - Go for one last test drive (one time or even second time !) - Don't make a decision on the spot, even when there is a good promo, but do note the validity period of the promo if it is a really good one (like the 5yrs servicing, etc). Let the SE feel that you are not ready to commit due to other options, but give enough impression that you are seriously looking to change ride. - If its a pro-business SE, he/she will call or sms you back a few days later. - Tell them that you need a good reason and incentive to commit. - Either text or drop by the showroom with a list of freebies/discount/terms which you are comfortable with, but be reasonable, of course. Be firm on your stand. - Show them you are serious enough, with a cheque book or credit card. Tell them subtly you wish to close deal today, and have another great offer at the next showroom to consider too if this deal fails. - If they reject or you are not comfortable with the revised terms, be prepared to walk away, politely. As you won't know if they will come back with your terms intact in a few days. The above worked for me so far, and hopefully can learn more to get a better deal when I next change my ride. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngbernie 3rd Gear September 26, 2015 Share September 26, 2015 Saw a trailer full of foresters yesterday. They must be selling well if they can raise list price when COE drops. There's no 2nd row vents, how's the ventilation and aircon for the 2nd row passengers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonChua_160516 1st Gear September 26, 2015 Share September 26, 2015 Saw a trailer full of foresters yesterday. They must be selling well if they can raise list price when COE drops. There's no 2nd row vents, how's the ventilation and aircon for the 2nd row passengers? for the 2nd row ... no complaints of not cool enough from my kid and wife who's seated behind, air con speed at 1 or 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckyc 1st Gear September 26, 2015 Share September 26, 2015 Thxx if it is 127.8k, base on someone mention here that typical discount is 3k, can we get it at 124.8k? If can include the free 5 yrs servicing, maybe can go for it. Btw, the car i test drive SE only offer 2k discount previously. If i can find another SE which give 3k discount, can i change SE or i am currently lock with current test drive SE? Ty I heard the 5 yr servicing was no longer there already. I got mine before this coe - $127.8k existing stock. U should call and check the net price the SE can offer, cannot assume the $3k discount K. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged September 26, 2015 Share September 26, 2015 Thought review mention QQ handling is much better than X trail? Qashqai has more of a 'younger', sporty-fun urbanite image whereas the X-Trail is more utilitarian with actual off-roading capability. I've heard the same thing; that the Qashqai is better in handling. Qashqai is a smaller and lighter vehicle with a more urban setup so it's likely the case. Why not go test drive and decide for yourself? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnut1969 1st Gear September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 Hi all, I went down a week ago to test the XT and loved it. I only have a question.. When i came to a complete stop after the test drive, I shifted from D to P and there was a grinding sound and feel on the gear knob. I shifted back to D and moved say a metre and did same, stop with brake pedal fully engaged, shift from D to P, the grinding sound was there again. The SE said it was normal for all Forresters.. Is that true or is the SE not that knowledgeable? And any SE to recommend ? An SE that will be more willing to throw in freebies? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 Hi all, I went down a week ago to test the XT and loved it. I only have a question.. When i came to a complete stop after the test drive, I shifted from D to P and there was a grinding sound and feel on the gear knob. I shifted back to D and moved say a metre and did same, stop with brake pedal fully engaged, shift from D to P, the grinding sound was there again. The SE said it was normal for all Forresters.. Is that true or is the SE not that knowledgeable? And any SE to recommend ? An SE that will be more willing to throw in freebies? Since u have already test drive, probably u have already lock with the said SE. Why still asking for other SE? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
X5actor 4th Gear September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 Carnut1969, Normally once you test-drive thru' a SE, you are supposed to start dealing with the same SE until you decide to buy or not. I am not sure if you can switch to another SE as you like it but even if you do, both your SEs will have to share whatever commission from your purchase, if you make one eventually. Maybe someone more familiar can advise us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckyc 1st Gear September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 Yes, this is what the SE says, once you test drive -you stick to the SE but we are eventually the customer. i don't see an issue if we want to change SE. My first SE didnt give me as much information as i wanted. i went to the other showroom and signed without even test driving so do what you deem fit. you are the customer. if he is a good SE, we will refer to others, if he is not so good - dont see why we need to stick with him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
wookie_fan 2nd Gear September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 Correct ! Just sharing my purchase technique for the last few rides (new and preowned). Once I shortlisted the final 1-2 models which I liked, I will do the following: - Go for one last test drive (one time or even second time !) - Don't make a decision on the spot, even when there is a good promo, but do note the validity period of the promo if it is a really good one (like the 5yrs servicing, etc). Let the SE feel that you are not ready to commit due to other options, but give enough impression that you are seriously looking to change ride. - If its a pro-business SE, he/she will call or sms you back a few days later. - Tell them that you need a good reason and incentive to commit. - Either text or drop by the showroom with a list of freebies/discount/terms which you are comfortable with, but be reasonable, of course. Be firm on your stand. - Show them you are serious enough, with a cheque book or credit card. Tell them subtly you wish to close deal today, and have another great offer at the next showroom to consider too if this deal fails. - If they reject or you are not comfortable with the revised terms, be prepared to walk away, politely. As you won't know if they will come back with your terms intact in a few days. The above worked for me so far, and hopefully can learn more to get a better deal when I next change my ride. Cheers. Good idea I'll employ your tactics in my negotiation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnut1969 1st Gear September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 Hi all, I went down a week ago to test the XT and loved it. I only have a question.. When i came to a complete stop after the test drive, I shifted from D to P and there was a grinding sound and feel on the gear knob. I shifted back to D and moved say a metre and did same, stop with brake pedal fully engaged, shift from D to P, the grinding sound was there again. The SE said it was normal for all Forresters.. Is that true or is the SE not that knowledgeable? And any SE to recommend ? An SE that will be more willing to throw in freebies? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnut1969 1st Gear September 27, 2015 Share September 27, 2015 Thanks for the replies regarding the SE.. With regards on the gearbox, is there sound when shifting from D to P ? Or is the experience I had on the test car a one time only ? Thanks.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...