Zpliu 3rd Gear June 6, 2018 Share June 6, 2018 haha... Just to add on... If you had purchase a brand new Subaru... You will receive a piece of literature titled; "Warranty and Service Booklet -5 Years" In page 22, clause 2. Motor Image, may at its own option, use OEM or other compatible/equivalent parts in the course of any warranty repair. From owner's point of view, it is certainly very surprising that an authorised distributor to make this declaration. Hence, perhaps; applying similar logic to your situation, that it is the reason the maintenance package only rotate your front wheels during routine maintenance! haha... (pun intended) OEM or other compatible product - on a side note i think they will get "original" since i read somewhere ppl were told to wait cuz no spare parts. But yes quite surprising that they even have that clause given that they are the AD and should have access to full spare parts. Anyway regarding the package, the so called a la carte package, states rotate all wheels. That's why during the new owner workshop i questioned the guy why the difference. He say will rotate all front to back but no cross cuz directional and that the brochure is wrong. Its either the giy has totally no idea what is going on or the marketing/comms dept damn jialat haha. Anyway I still have 1 free servicing to go. Once done I am tempted to stick with them for 2 more years since majority of warranty 3 years. But gonna grill them real hard before committing. Right now confidence in them not too high lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OnceInALifeTime 2nd Gear June 6, 2018 Share June 6, 2018 (edited) OEM or other compatible product - on a side note i think they will get "original" since i read somewhere ppl were told to wait cuz no spare parts. But yes quite surprising that they even have that clause given that they are the AD and should have access to full spare parts. Anyway regarding the package, the so called a la carte package, states rotate all wheels. That's why during the new owner workshop i questioned the guy why the difference. He say will rotate all front to back but no cross cuz directional and that the brochure is wrong. Its either the giy has totally no idea what is going on or the marketing/comms dept damn jialat haha. Anyway I still have 1 free servicing to go. Once done I am tempted to stick with them for 2 more years since majority of warranty 3 years. But gonna grill them real hard before committing. Right now confidence in them not too high lol sigh... I guessed that this is part and parcel of car ownership in SG. The warranty matters, has been quite an concern for many car owners. Even myself. Earlier, I had inquire in this forum about the cost of maintaining with AD... I would say that they are charging at AD pricing. haha... But if AD is performing as a specialist should. It will justify the premium. Considering the cost savings in self maintain or maintain by 3rd party workshop. It seems that the cost savings are huge. Not to mention, unless it is manufacturer fault or production issue; mechanical stuffs do not fail immediately and new vehicles, proven models will not have any issues. Of course, there is a "risk" that owners take when not sending back to AD. But on another hand, after the warranty expire; we seems to find that the cost of sending back is not worth the premium. haha... Do not need to grill the "front-desk staff" so hard. There is nothing much they can do too. But just a part of the system. Eventually, it will be just the owners being unhappy over their experience with AD. Moreover, in their warranty conditions; they had clearly stated their perspective. Anyway, it will boils down to individual owner to decide what is best for them... Edited June 6, 2018 by OnceInALifeTime Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear June 6, 2018 Share June 6, 2018 (edited) Hi all, new to MCF here. have to admit i have been a silent reader all along. cant wait to learn and listen to all the experts here... I just collected my NA last month (Bronze Color) paid $93,300 for it, and I have to admit there are so many pages to read and poisons are aplenty. Do not intend to do any mods on this car (family man now), having previously driven FD2R, Lexus IS250 and W212. Always wanted to try out a SUV and so here I am. Richard, I am the poor victim whom ah boon called you last week to enquire about the autofold module I bought from Taobao. sadly, it still cannot work and I have since given up hope. Ah boon is kind enough to offer me a universal auto fold module at fraction of the price selling on Taobao. Hope to learn more from you all here... Mods that I planning to do, 1. Tyre upgrade without upsizing 2. Brake Pads Hi Goh, Congras and welcome to the mcf forester club ! Indeed too many versions of accessories from Taobao but really cater for their local tiong foresters with some variations on the BCM (body control module) ... same for FL qashqai which many does not work while working for pre FL qashqai. As such, do refer to some of previous posts on those already known to work or simply ask if bros had such experience ... I started also with 3 autolock modules that all failed until bro yellowbie recommended working one to my big relief. Good luck on your mods but our foresters take a lot to get near to the comfort of IS150 and W212 if at all possible but big $ difference though. Enjoy !! Richard PS: Glad Ah Boon managed to alleviate your pain a little Edited June 6, 2018 by richard_crl032 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mistergoh 2nd Gear June 6, 2018 Share June 6, 2018 Hi Goh, Congras and welcome to the mcf forester club ! Indeed too many versions of accessories from Taobao but really cater for their local tiong foresters with some variations on the BCM (body control module) ... same for FL qashqai which many does not work while working for pre FL qashqai. As such, do refer to some of previous posts on those already known to work or simply ask if bros had such experience ... I started also with 3 autolock modules that all failed until bro yellowbie recommended working one to my big relief. Good luck on your mods but our foresters take a lot to get near to the comfort of IS150 and W212 if at all possible but big $ difference though. Enjoy !! Richard PS: Glad Ah Boon managed to alleviate your pain a little Hi Richard With this price paid, I guessed I cant ask for much too. Planning to drive this for 4 years and see if SUV is indeed suited for me. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear June 6, 2018 Share June 6, 2018 (edited) OEM or other compatible product - on a side note i think they will get "original" since i read somewhere ppl were told to wait cuz no spare parts. But yes quite surprising that they even have that clause given that they are the AD and should have access to full spare parts. Anyway regarding the package, the so called a la carte package, states rotate all wheels. That's why during the new owner workshop i questioned the guy why the difference. He say will rotate all front to back but no cross cuz directional and that the brochure is wrong. Its either the giy has totally no idea what is going on or the marketing/comms dept damn jialat haha. Anyway I still have 1 free servicing to go. Once done I am tempted to stick with them for 2 more years since majority of warranty 3 years. But gonna grill them real hard before committing. Right now confidence in them not too high lol Hi Zpliu, I will try to find out more to share but yes, there is slightly variation on how to rotate for our forester cos I believe due to AWD and nothing to do will directional/non-directional tyres. This is coming from well known outside alignment ws who knows our forester well but I was not paying attention that day and no a major concern for me. For me, I may not have been lucky and there had been no single capable and significantly reduced price outside ws that I can depend on which prompts me to have added concern on warranty ... hence just signed up for MI's 1.4k+ 50k km package. Riverview handles my Richburg's estima after warranty period and they were great with 2 customer service managers but also not significantly cheaper than Richburg. Cheers, Richard Edited June 6, 2018 by richard_crl032 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zpliu 3rd Gear June 6, 2018 Share June 6, 2018 sigh... I guessed that this is part and parcel of car ownership in SG. The warranty matters, has been quite an concern for many car owners. Even myself. Earlier, I had inquire in this forum about the cost of maintaining with AD... I would say that they are charging at AD pricing. haha... But if AD is performing as a specialist should. It will justify the premium. Considering the cost savings in self maintain or maintain by 3rd party workshop. It seems that the cost savings are huge. Not to mention, unless it is manufacturer fault or production issue; mechanical stuffs do not fail immediately and new vehicles, proven models will not have any issues. Of course, there is a "risk" that owners take when not sending back to AD. But on another hand, after the warranty expire; we seems to find that the cost of sending back is not worth the premium. haha... Do not need to grill the "front-desk staff" so hard. There is nothing much they can do too. But just a part of the system. Eventually, it will be just the owners being unhappy over their experience with AD. Moreover, in their warranty conditions; they had clearly stated their perspective. Anyway, it will boils down to individual owner to decide what is best for them... Haha yes u are absolutely right. No point grilling the front line guys too hard. All of us are just making a living. I am not the bang table kind la haha. But they must give me confidence ma lol About 1.5k for 4 times servicing, ppl eill say i big carrot but i am willing to give them the business but they must show me they at least on paper know what they talking hahaha Hi Zpliu, I will try to find out more to share but yes, there is slightly variation on how to rotate for our forester cos I believe due to AWD and nothing to do will directional/non-directional tyres. This is coming from well known outside alignment ws who knows our forester well but I was not paying attention that day and no a major concern for me. For me, I may not have been lucky and there had been no single capable and significantly reduced price outside ws that I can depend on which prompts me to have added concern on warranty ... hence just signed up for MI's 1.4k+ 50k km package. Riverview handles my Richburg's estima after warranty period and they were great with 2 customer service managers but also not significantly cheaper than Richburg. Cheers, Richard directional can only be on one side no? Meaning u can only move front to rear, rear to front. Once crossed the direction different already. Sure once u find out more do share haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoobyfxt 3rd Gear June 6, 2018 Share June 6, 2018 Our rear windows can only be wound down 80%. I recently wound down the rear left one when idle and started driving. At 60 kph and above, the window area started to emit audible high pitch sound. As i wound up the window bit by bit, the "acoustics" changes ! All things norm when window fully wound up. Same situation for rear right. No issue for both front windows. Cant recall if anyone shared this earlier. Appreciate some views. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orixy 2nd Gear June 6, 2018 Share June 6, 2018 Hi all, new to MCF here. have to admit i have been a silent reader all along. cant wait to learn and listen to all the experts here... I just collected my NA last month (Bronze Color) paid $93,300 for it, and I have to admit there are so many pages to read and poisons are aplenty. Do not intend to do any mods on this car (family man now), having previously driven FD2R, Lexus IS250 and W212. Always wanted to try out a SUV and so here I am. Richard, I am the poor victim whom ah boon called you last week to enquire about the autofold module I bought from Taobao. sadly, it still cannot work and I have since given up hope. Ah boon is kind enough to offer me a universal auto fold module at fraction of the price selling on Taobao. Hope to learn more from you all here... Mods that I planning to do, 1. Tyre upgrade without upsizing 2. Brake Pads Congrats on your new FNA and welcome to the Forester family! :) For tyres, i would suggest Michelin Latitide Sport 3 ($250/pc) or Primacy 3/ST. For brake pads, i am using Brembo pads on stock brake calipers but found them just improved slightly than original Subaru ones. I just ordered a set of Stoptech pads and in time will give some feedback on them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mistergoh 2nd Gear June 6, 2018 Share June 6, 2018 Congrats on your new FNA and welcome to the Forester family! :) For tyres, i would suggest Michelin Latitide Sport 3 ($250/pc) or Primacy 3/ST. For brake pads, i am using Brembo pads on stock brake calipers but found them just improved slightly than original Subaru ones. I just ordered a set of Stoptech pads and in time will give some feedback on them. Hi hi, thanks for guiding me. Yes, saw some brands for brakepad but have to install at BKS. I stay at the southern part. Abit tough to go over :( Noted on the tyre. Saw a lot recommending the same too! Meanwhile im still in running in period, just booked the first 1k servicing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear June 6, 2018 Share June 6, 2018 (edited) Haha yes u are absolutely right. No point grilling the front line guys too hard. All of us are just making a living. I am not the bang table kind la haha. But they must give me confidence ma lol About 1.5k for 4 times servicing, ppl eill say i big carrot but i am willing to give them the business but they must show me they at least on paper know what they talking hahaha directional can only be on one side no? Meaning u can only move front to rear, rear to front. Once crossed the direction different already. Sure once u find out more do share haha Bi Zpliu, Not surenif this helps: https://info.kaltire.com/awd-tire-rotations/ Cheers. Richard Edited June 6, 2018 by richard_crl032 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zpliu 3rd Gear June 6, 2018 Share June 6, 2018 Bi Zpliu, Not surenif this helps: https://info.kaltire.com/awd-tire-rotations/ Cheers. Richard Yeah i read something similar too. But that is provided that tyres are non directional as directional tyres once your cross, it will be spinning backwards. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear June 6, 2018 Share June 6, 2018 Yeah i read something similar too. But that is provided that tyres are non directional as directional tyres once your cross, it will be spinning backwards.Hi Zpliu, Oops .. did look at direction or not, including all 4 set of tyres I had .. only know some prescribed manner of tyre rotation presumably with non directional ones. Cheers. Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear June 6, 2018 Share June 6, 2018 Just committed to getting sti pink springs and flexible brace after reading good reviews. Will post feddback after installation. So far only modd is changing arb to 20mm and putting on michelin LS3 235/55/18 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OnceInALifeTime 2nd Gear June 6, 2018 Share June 6, 2018 Haha yes u are absolutely right. No point grilling the front line guys too hard. All of us are just making a living. I am not the bang table kind la haha. But they must give me confidence ma lol About 1.5k for 4 times servicing, ppl eill say i big carrot but i am willing to give them the business but they must show me they at least on paper know what they talking hahaha directional can only be on one side no? Meaning u can only move front to rear, rear to front. Once crossed the direction different already. Sure once u find out more do share haha Big carrot? haha... Not really. It is kind of like market rate. Just look at the price of cars in Singapore and service pricing of other make AD. I would say that AD service would have a unique selling proposition. Which is for owners required to maintain their warranty. Anyway, as long as can afford. A peace of mind is more important than anything! haha... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OnceInALifeTime 2nd Gear June 6, 2018 Share June 6, 2018 Our rear windows can only be wound down 80%. I recently wound down the rear left one when idle and started driving. At 60 kph and above, the window area started to emit audible high pitch sound. As i wound up the window bit by bit, the "acoustics" changes ! All things norm when window fully wound up. Same situation for rear right. No issue for both front windows. Cant recall if anyone shared this earlier. Appreciate some views. Thanks. I had also noticed that personal conversation between occupants within the cabin sounds different. Abit of echo effect. I guessed that might be due to the large headroom in the cabin. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear June 7, 2018 Share June 7, 2018 Morning bros, Drove the car a bit more last nite and this morning. With pink spring the jittery ride is surely significantly alleviated with a bit more bounce. Believe this is because with the stiffness, initial primarily bounce is more pronounced but controlled and a lot of the secondary bounces are eliminated. Car is even more quiet (not sure if also due to AOS due to altered routing), stiffer/less vague steering, more stable handling cos also lowered and you will feel it standing beside car and getting in even though reportedly 15mm but you feel the road a bit more .. overall thumb up so far .. else I will remove and lelong liao. Time to do alignment this Friday ! Cheers. Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic June 7, 2018 Share June 7, 2018 Just committed to getting sti pink springs and flexible brace after reading good reviews. Will post feddback after installation. So far only modd is changing arb to 20mm and putting on michelin LS3 235/55/18 Did you change your rim with this tyre? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orixy 2nd Gear June 7, 2018 Share June 7, 2018 Morning bros, Drove the car a bit more last nite and this morning. With pink spring the jittery ride is surely significantly alleviated with a bit more bounce. Believe this is because with the stiffness, initial primarily bounce is more pronounced but controlled and a lot of the secondary bounces are eliminated. Car is even more quiet (not sure if also due to AOS due to altered routing), stiffer/less vague steering, more stable handling cos also lowered and you will feel it standing beside car and getting in even though reportedly 15mm but you feel the road a bit more .. overall thumb up so far .. else I will remove and lelong liao. Time to do alignment this Friday ! Cheers. Richard Thanks Richard for share. I think we live quite near each other if its Jln Selaseh in your photo. Mine also silver! hahaha :) I came across Tein springs for FXT: https://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/TEIN-High-Tech-Lowering-Springs-Kit-for-SUBARU-FORESTER-SJG-2-0XT-EYESIGHT-12-On-/232219605193 At $180 uk pounds before shipping, i think it'll cost abt same or slightly cheaper than STI pinks. These Tein are progressive and the spring rates are 4.3kg front, 4.8kg rear and lower the car by 40mm front, 45mm rear. Will do more research on springs and spring-rates before committing to which one to get. Cheers guys ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...