2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

talking about mirror, anyone know where can i get the auto-tilted mirror for passenger side whenever R is engaged?

Hello Richard,

to be frank, after I collected the car, I drove home straight (i stayed less than 3KM from Leng Kee) and didnt drive till since (as I am replying to you, i am now overseas for work). but one thing i noticed was, the engine sound was noticeably more audible. is it because of mineral EO and now I moved to Motul?

Hi, I just collected my car last month and perhaps, I can give you my humble inputs,

1. I did not opt in for the sports package, primarily due to the suede seat (i have newborn and suede is a magnet for dust).

2. I did not request for the auto fold, i installed it aftermarket for 50% off MI quoted

3. I did not opt in for in-car cam and gotten a $500 off from purchase price (reason: I have a better in car cam from my old ride).

4. I took up their auto-lock function from MI.

5. the best part is: I voluntarily wanted to opt out of MI solar film but the SE told me, I need to pay $500 penalty for doing so. so a day after i collect my car, i tore it off.

6. however, I took up their window visor and cargo step after checking with a few sellers in the market, i noticed their price is not too fair off.

The SJ group conducted a group buy in the past. Maybe can check there.

Cheaper alternative get the small mirror https://www.japanparts.com/parts/detail/47643

talking about mirror, anyone know where can i get the auto-tilted mirror for passenger side whenever R is engaged?

Hello Richard,

to be frank, after I collected the car, I drove home straight (i stayed less than 3KM from Leng Kee) and didnt drive till since (as I am replying to you, i am now overseas for work). but one thing i noticed was, the engine sound was noticeably more audible. is it because of mineral EO and now I moved to Motul? 

Hi, I just collected my car last month and perhaps, I can give you my humble inputs,

1. I did not opt in for the sports package, primarily due to the suede seat (i have newborn and suede is a magnet for dust).

2. I did not request for the auto fold, i installed it aftermarket for 50% off MI quoted

3. I did not opt in for in-car cam and gotten a $500 off from purchase price (reason: I have a better in car cam from my old ride).

4. I took up their auto-lock function from MI.

5. the best part  is: I voluntarily wanted to opt out of MI solar film but the SE told me, I need to pay $500 penalty for doing so. so a day after i collect my car, i tore it off. 

6. however, I took up their window visor and cargo step after checking with a few sellers in the market, i noticed their price is not too fair off.

Read from FB SGSJ, someone installed before the "Automatic Reverse Mirror Tilt Module". hope this is what you looking for;

https://www.k5optimastore.com/collections/electrical-modules/products/mirrortiltmod

Hi Goh,

I did not managed to find such mirror also and hope others managed to to advise.  As such, I installed side camera and have the MFD display show the rear left side view whenever I reversed.  Side camera is USD15 and cable to MFD video input is USD30 excluding shipping and installation which is works fine with clearer view and no need to tilt head look into HU rear view and then side mirror .. just straight to the centre displays.

Interesting on your inputs on the MI solar film cos me and many were given sgd50 rebate to opt out instead of sgd500 penalty :(  But seriously, after even 3M Crystalline top range experience and then adding Zen ones for windscreen and side windows, I would have just kept the MI one and add Zen asap before dirts and scratches.  Think only Vcool may help but there is also concern on metal substrate that some bros have problem with phone, gps etc. which is not unfounded as AU needs to cut hole ... I cannot risk it with my android HU.

BTW, mine was management pricing for 2 units of fxt (tried 3rd unit but management kaki says betta not which is more than reasonable) and I got nothing which is perhaps also reasonable .. no cam, no discount etc.

Cheers,

Richard

Hi Richard, how the side camera and the MFD display look like?

Edited by titaniclexus

Hi Goh,

I did not managed to find such mirror also and hope others managed to to advise. As such, I installed side camera and have the MFD display show the rear left side view whenever I reversed. Side camera is USD15 and cable to MFD video input is USD30 excluding shipping and installation which is works fine with clearer view and no need to tilt head look into HU rear view and then side mirror .. just straight to the centre displays.

Interesting on your inputs on the MI solar film cos me and many were given sgd50 rebate to opt out instead of sgd500 penalty :( But seriously, after even 3M Crystalline top range experience and then adding Zen ones for windscreen and side windows, I would have just kept the MI one and add Zen asap before dirts and scratches. Think only Vcool may help but there is also concern on metal substrate that some bros have problem with phone, gps etc. which is not unfounded as AU needs to cut hole ... I cannot risk it with my android HU.

BTW, mine was management pricing for 2 units of fxt (tried 3rd unit but management kaki says betta not which is more than reasonable) and I got nothing which is perhaps also reasonable .. no cam, no discount etc.

Cheers,

Richard

Richard, interesting, your camera is mounted on the side mirror similar to the Honda Civic?

The SJ group conducted a group buy in the past. Maybe can check there.

Cheaper alternative get the small mirror https://www.japanparts.com/parts/detail/47643

I got this "Sub Mirror LH" installed on my FNA, with shipping is cost abt S$80, more or less same as the Auto Mirror Tilt Module. The sub mirror provide you the same view like Toyota Harrier, but I can only said useful at day time, night time you can't even see the floor... :TT_TT:

Ask pax to shine torch hahaha. I thinking of getting it as I park kerbside quite often in the day.

Noticed japanparts says no screw included. Do we need additional screws when installing?

Ask pax to shine torch hahaha. I thinking of getting it as I park kerbside quite often in the day.

Noticed japanparts says no screw included. Do we need additional screws when installing?

No lah, got 3 screws inclusive, 2 screws from cover to mirror, 1 screw from inside the mirror to the cover (there is a bit tricky, you need to lift up the mirror). overall not diff, think less than 15min job.... [:p]

Interesting is.... when i checked with japan parts CS how to install this? They replied me no "there are no installing manual of it at all as it’s normally for the customer who owns it but need to repair. I’ve found one guy who has installed it onto the car so please check it:"

https://minkara.carview.co.jp/userid/1720484/car/1275686/2264864/note.aspx

I have gone through the installation process (use my hp translate Japanese to English), but realized that this person only use 2 screws and mentioned that extra one and dunno why given three screws? In fact, he has missed out to screw the one I mentioned above.... [laugh] Luckily got one bro installed before, he has guided me how to go for it via FB messenger.....

This is how it look like.....

post-194121-0-79690300-1530172510.jpg

post-194121-0-09757200-1530172516.jpg

Edited by titaniclexus

No lah, got 3 screws inclusive, 2 screws from cover to mirror, 1 screw from inside the mirror to the cover (there is a bit tricky, you need to lift up the mirror). overall not diff, think less than 15min job.... [:p]

Interesting is.... when i checked with japan parts CS how to install this? They replied me no "there are no installing manual of it at all as itâs normally for the customer who owns it but need to repair. Iâve found one guy who has installed it onto the car so please check it:"

https://minkara.carview.co.jp/userid/1720484/car/1275686/2264864/note.aspx

I have gone through the installation process (use my hp translate Japanese to English), but realized that this person only use 2 screws and mentioned that extra one and dunno why given three screws? In fact, he has missed out to screw the one I mentioned above.... [laugh] Luckily got one bro installed before, he has guided me how to go for it via FB messenger.....

This is how it look like.....

Ah thanks for the instructions page. Will include this the next time i buy stuff from Japanparts. Next time ask u for more info when installing.

By the way I bought the newer dimming rear view. Waiting for arrival. You were asking previously as well right? Will update on the installation when done.

Edited by Zpliu

Ah thanks for the instructions page. Will include this the next time i buy stuff from Japanparts. Next time ask u for more info when installing.

By the way I bought the newer dimming rear view. Waiting for arrival. You were asking previously as well right? Will update on the installation when done.

No issue, we are sharing here.

Yup, interested, how much you got it? After u installed, let me know, if i want to get, will check with you the installation too! :a-happy:

No issue, we are sharing here.

Yup, interested, how much you got it? After u installed, let me know, if i want to get, will check with you the installation too! :a-happy:

Bought new, 160 plus USD and 20 plus USD for shipping so total 200 plus SGD.

https://m.ebay.com/itm/NEW-2017-Subaru-Auto-Dimming-Mirror-with-Compass-Legacy-Forester-OEM-H501SSG202/322380114283?epid=3010656149&hash=item4b0f5a296b

Installation, I'm getting workshop to do cuz need to touch wires, i not confident to touch the wires on my car hahaha.

Edited by Zpliu

Read from FB SGSJ, someone installed before the "Automatic Reverse Mirror Tilt Module". hope this is what you looking for;

https://www.k5optimastore.com/collections/electrical-modules/products/mirrortiltmod

Hi Richard, how the side camera and the MFD display look like?

Hi Titanic/Zpliu,

Please see enclosed photos.

The video cable is here:

https://item.rakuten.co.jp/creer/rch056f/

The camera can be any but I have this to adjust angle and cheap (clear than stock reverse cam but please selected for reverse view):

https://ezbuy.sg/product/buyforme.html?url=https%3A%2F%2Fworld.tmall.com%2Fitem%2F42590935851.htm%3F_ezgpid%3D20000005769911

Cheers,

Richard

post-149594-0-93053100-1530176920_thumb.png

post-149594-0-69925700-1530176948_thumb.png

post-149594-0-65931300-1530176967_thumb.png

post-149594-0-34029300-1530176976_thumb.png

Edited by richard_crl032

Hi Titanic,

I have this one on my estima ... never can use even for daytime.

I fitted original toyota autotilt mirror and disabled it cos it keeps over travelling to out of position which is the common issue with such autotilt mirror.

Camera and cable with probably sgd80 installation as you need to dismantle side mirror to drill and run wiring to MDF will solve your issue .... I treasure my Prodrive GC-014i very much but did this also for my qashqai cos CO complained big blindspot  .... lol !

Richard

Hi Zpliu,

Waah ... bro Titanic nicely shared and you want his CO to knock his head cos it will be his CO to hold torch liao :(

sgd130 to get world peace for bro Titanic betta leh ... haha !

Cheers,

Richard

Bought new, 160 plus USD and 20 plus USD for shipping so total 200 plus SGD.

https://m.ebay.com/itm/NEW-2017-Subaru-Auto-Dimming-Mirror-with-Compass-Legacy-Forester-OEM-H501SSG202/322380114283?epid=3010656149&hash=item4b0f5a296b

Installation, I'm getting workshop to do cuz need to touch wires, i not confident to touch the wires on my car hahaha.

Ok ok.... thanks....

For the installation of LH mirror, i managed to find the info shared by the bro.....the two circle in red will be the two same size screws, you can direct screw in.... while the circle in green one, you need to screw from the other way round, see the second picture, is from the bottom of mirror to the cover, so you need a long screw driver to reach..... [sweatdrop]

post-194121-0-05308300-1530177534_thumb.jpg

post-194121-0-50484900-1530177539_thumb.jpg

Hi Titanic/Zpliu,

The video cable is here:

The camera can be any but I have this to adjust angle and cheap (clear than stock reverse cam but please selected for reverse view):

https://ezbuy.sg/product/buyforme.html?url=https%3A%2F%2Fworld.tmall.com%2Fitem%2F42590935851.htm%3F_ezgpid%3D20000005769911

Cheers,

Richard

Hi Richard, this is super [thumbsup]  Din noe that our center display can be the side camera man! But i got the LH mirror installed liao... if want to go go for this one, need to remove my LH mirror liao.... [shocked]

Hi Titanic,

I have this one on my estima ... never can use even for daytime.

I fitted original toyota autotilt mirror and disabled it cos it keeps over travelling to out of position which is the common issue with such autotilt mirror.

Camera and cable with probably sgd80 installation as you need to dismantle side mirror to drill and run wiring to MDF will solve your issue .... I treasure my Prodrive GC-014i very much but did this also for my qashqai cos CO complained big blindspot  .... lol !

Richard

Hi Zpliu,

Waah ... bro Titanic nicely shared and you want his CO to knock his head cos it will be his CO to hold torch liao :(

sgd130 to get world peace for bro Titanic betta leh ... haha !

Cheers,

Richard

Haha... i dun have my Prodrive, only XT stock rims.... not too worry... [laugh]

Ya.... not so useful for the LH mirror, but it is still good when u go to those narrow carpark n if you can't see the passenger side wall will hit your passenger door bo... like chevron house carpark.... [sweatdrop]

For the side view camera, i think only work when you reverse gear right? If no conflict with the LH mirror installed, not a bad idea to add on more on side mirror.... but like too much hor..... [:p]

Edited by titaniclexus

Ok ok.... thanks....

For the installation of LH mirror, i managed to find the info shared by the bro.....the two circle in red will be the two same size screws, you can direct screw in.... while the circle in green one, you need to screw from the other way round, see the second picture, is from the bottom of mirror to the cover, so you need a long screw driver to reach..... [sweatdrop]

Ok, that's all the help i need hahaha.

Hi Titanic/Zpliu,

The video cable is here:

Cheers,

Richard

Nice. Haha but yeah like titanic, i dont have a prodrive to look after lol. But then again i also wouldnt want to scratch my stock rims.

Hi Richard, this is super [thumbsup]  Din noe that our center display can be the side camera man! But i got the LH mirror installed liao... if want to go go for this one, need to remove my LH mirror liao.... [shocked]

Haha... i dun have my Prodrive, only XT stock rims.... not too worry... [laugh]

Ya.... not so useful for the LH mirror, but it is still good when u go to those narrow carpark n if you can't see the passenger side wall will hit your passenger door bo... like chevron house carpark.... [sweatdrop]

For the side view camera, i think only work when you reverse gear right? If no conflict with the LH mirror installed, not a bad idea to add on more on side mirror.... but like too much hor..... [:p]

Hi Titanic,

Most welcomed, if I had not join the forester toxic whatsapp group for several months, I would not have also known that mfd can have this video input and not sure why not previously shared here.

Dun think you want your nice nice XT stock rim scratched also ... just a banter on Prodrive .. with apology.

I had this LH mirror on estima and frankly would not have done it even if without auto tilt and side cam-mfd solutions but you did not .. fully understandable else I would have also done the same.

Yes, it work only if you are in reverse gear and automatically or you can certainly include a switch at driver side to activate it but you of course will lose the mfd display ... cannot see why I need to do so although you know by now I like options in life ... lol !

No leh, still good to have both and can try to lelong the LH mirror if you find that you use the mfd video from side cam ... long time before you sell your forester I hope.

Cheers,

Richard

Nice, yes, harrier type. Heard it there are adhesive type in the market but still searching for it. Anyone can advise?

I think u walk into those accessories store can find. Should be near those blind spot mirrors

Nice. Haha but yeah like titanic, i dont have a prodrive to look after lol. But then again i also wouldnt want to scratch my stock rims.

Hi Zpliu,

Yup ... stock rims also cannot meh .... and me with added advantage of less opportunity for cardiac arrest when I do bang into side curb for also tyres ... haha !

Cheers,

Richard