Swifter78 2nd Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Don't laugh, really got such cases. http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/education/fewer-schools-with-over-half-of-p1-spots-taken-up Distance was not a factor for housewife Shirley Yong, 39, who registered her son at Rosyth School in Serangoon despite living in Jurong West, a 30-minute drive away. "It makes practical sense since his sister is also in the same school. The siblings can look out for each other," she said, adding that the school's environment "is conducive for pupils". ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Don't laugh, really got such cases. http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/education/fewer-schools-with-over-half-of-p1-spots-taken-up Distance was not a factor for housewife Shirley Yong, 39, who registered her son at Rosyth School in Serangoon despite living in Jurong West, a 30-minute drive away. "It makes practical sense since his sister is also in the same school. The siblings can look out for each other," she said, adding that the school's environment "is conducive for pupils". like i said, there are those very devoted and committed parents, their major achievement in life is to make their children to become doctor and lawyer. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 All schools are good school The difference is some schools have affiliation to secondary schools Better teacher, better principle Better support from alumni and association. Your sentence on better teacher is not true. Place a teacher from top school to a neighbourhood school won't have much effect. For all u know the teacher might resign instead. A teacher that teach foundation class doesn't mean she is not a better teacher. After all u need a good teacher to teach good foundation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 hehe I recalled the same article @swifter78 posted and wanted to share it...... anyhow there will always be parents who willing to go the extra mile to drive their kids to a faraway school. like @jman888 says, their kids is their priority in life......during my time kids do not enjoy such pampering and attention. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BobbyTan_74287 4th Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Actually from what I observed from these past years, a good principal plays a important part to bring up the school name. Teachers need to be motivated and this is the principal's job. If teachers are motivated, they will teach better. Teach better means find out what is the short-coming of the pupils and provide them with the necessary lessons and encouragement. Last time my daughter's P5 class half failed or performed very badly. But due to the dedicated P6 teacher, all pupils passed their PSLE and proceeded to Secondary School either express or NA. Of course without say, the school principal is actually excellent. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Yeah.. I also understand the difficulty in trying to differentiate - I simply don't like to see the "best" go to the "rich" because they pay....would like to see something more egalitarian than that I thought only old boys can join alumni? You make it sound like got $$ only can join liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 I thought only old boys can join alumni? You make it sound like got $$ only can join liao... must be old boys but still must pay to join. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 You mentioned fair yet still want to maintain certain terms in your favour... Nuff' said... citizenship and primary school enrollment is 2 different thing... you are the one who link it together. my term is both children are Singapore citizen can a not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 (edited) Ooi...... me Bedok North Primary one....... now no more already. Ministers want to send their kids there also bo chance.... Sounds like a common fate for North school. Mine is Clementi North Lol. Also gone liao. My mum just reminded me that day my principal refused to allow me to transfer school to Henry park when i was younger. Abcyxz.... Edited July 8, 2015 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 must be old boys but still must pay to join. ACS only 50 bucks to join last year... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Sounds like a common fate for North school. Mine is Clementi North Lol. Also gone liao. My mum just reminded me that day my principal refused to allow me to transfer school to Henry park when i was younger. Abcyxz.... Can refuse? must be old boys but still must pay to join. So old boys earning $1499.99 salary per month can also join??? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Can refuse? Last time Principal is powerful one. My parents did all the paperwork liao, just need approval from my primary school principal which is what the Henry Park side wanted. But she refused cos I'm one of her top students. Guess she really believes every school is a good school. Well so good, won't end up being merged with other schools liao lol... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Can refuse? So old boys earning $1499.99 salary per month can also join??? they dun check your IRA statement lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 they dun check your IRA statement lah Ya lor. Lucky it's $50 and not $500. $500 is a lot of money for someone earning $1500... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 hehe I recalled the same article @swifter78 posted and wanted to share it...... anyhow there will always be parents who willing to go the extra mile to drive their kids to a faraway school. like @jman888 says, their kids is their priority in life......during my time kids do not enjoy such pampering and attention. The problem with not so good school is that the kids will mix with gangsters and grow up to be a lawyer working on overwhelming proportions of pro bono cases. That is no good for finances. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Ya lor. Lucky it's $50 and not $500. $500 is a lot of money for someone earning $1500... the parents nowadays, even if the kid want a $700 ipad they will also squeeze out the money lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 the parents nowadays, even if the kid want a $700 ipad they will also squeeze out the money lor Cannot lah! Darryn already say $500 for a shot in a good school is too much! Now you come suggest $700 for a frivolous ipad?? How can?!?!?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 citizenship and primary school enrollment is 2 different thing... you are the one who link it together. my term is both children are Singapore citizen can a not. Wrong, MOE is the one who linked them up... Your terms... So now you are setting the terms... Brilliant... The problem with not so good school is that the kids will mix with gangsters and grow up to be a lawyer working on overwhelming proportions of pro bono cases. That is no good for finances. OR the gangsters could be learning all the legal loopholes and getting away, keeping our jails nice and clean and keeping our police force from being overworked. Nothing nicer than a shiny cell! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...