Lala81 Hypersonic July 27, 2015 Share July 27, 2015 One time i was in my car ready to move off but this big hiace wanted to reverse into my lot beside me. And it was super bloody close to my driver side front bumper, as in like within 10cm or so. So i kept horning him. But he managed to enter the lot without hitting me. He came out and scolded me, but i don't think i was in the wrong. oh well... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andyngps 5th Gear July 27, 2015 Share July 27, 2015 (edited) I kena bump before and the driver alighted and blamed me, especially when the cars behind were usually put as fault by accidents surveyors. My car was stationery then..and that was when in car camera wasnt popular. Ever since then, i do honk if the distance us too near but just light taps on the honk instead of deafening kind. Edited July 27, 2015 by Andyngps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic July 27, 2015 Share July 27, 2015 One time i was in my car ready to move off but this big hiace wanted to reverse into my lot beside me. And it was super bloody close to my driver side front bumper, as in like within 10cm or so. So i kept horning him. But he managed to enter the lot without hitting me. He came out and scolded me, but i don't think i was in the wrong. oh well... Bo pian one sometimes....I gotta horn when I saw a Caddy reversing into lot besides mine was confirmed chop about to hit my left front bumper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BobbyTan_74287 4th Gear July 27, 2015 Share July 27, 2015 Last time I did not honked and then a pickup reversed and hit my front bonnet. So nowsaday i observed carefully and if I think the front reversing and not stopping, I will honk. I do not honk when car infront doing parking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 27, 2015 Share July 27, 2015 Sometimes, unexpected things do happen, e.g. I was at RWS once, and expected the parking to be no more than $10, since I went in during per entry period. Ended up the sign displayed $32 parking!!! I had $20+ in my cashcard, still not enough. After topping up the cashcard I wrote a mail to them. Indeed they overcharged me, and had to refund more than $20 to me. wah....32 bucks for parking? Play Baccarat so long har!😂😂😂😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 27, 2015 Share July 27, 2015 MCF forums seems like good place to whack a TS. And a good place to make assumptions. Ok, I try to summarize all here. a) No, not reversing fast, already said that in my original post. Why must say otherwise when I have stated it earlier is beyond my understanding. b) Yes have signaled, I always signal with either hazard lights or signal lights. It's a habit even if no one is around. Maybe I should have provided more details in my earlier post. So ok, I admit my fault some of you are making assumptions. Sorry ok? The parallel parking honking situations I have encountered are not designated parking lots. If fact can just go in and reverse. No need any skills, plenty of space. Not all are parking situations, some could be situations when already parked, you just need to reverse to get out on the proper road. In my 10 yrs of driving, I have never encountered in any designated and legal parallel parking lots when I park, the driver behind(if he/she is in their vehicle) will honk Not even a single toot. My suspicion is, these drivers that honk in non-designated parking lots are not experienced in parallel parking, and hence are unable to judge the distance between their car and car in front. Though I do not encounter these often, perhaps maybe 1 in 3mths, it is enough to annoy the hell out of me and finally come here to rant. The anonying part is the: Pom, pom, pom, pom, pom, pom, pom, pom, pom,pom..........poooooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!! Even when there is plenty of space! aiyah...let it go lah. Just act that the honk is a reminder....its better than you hit them as that will sure raise his/hers and your blood pressure to another level. I recently kana at carpark 4-5 cars drive slowly at the carpark waiting for each other to park next to each other...bloody inconsiderate as there were other cars wanting to park also. I had been driving the whole day, feeling tired and my bladder was raring to be released! Prick drives up so slow as if he is scared his friends were gonna get lost in the hdb carpark! I drove up very close to one car and gives them a honk.....they were so pissed of but i heck care and one of them stared at me after parking.....cb.....i purposely took out a ciggie and act as though i am waiting for them.....nb! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
alikato 1st Gear July 27, 2015 Share July 27, 2015 I can't remember how many countless times I've encountered this. Why are drivers here so "scared" when the car in front of them is reversing? Example to parallel park in front of you? Female drivers are a exceptional lot. But they are forgiven do to their "scared" and unconfident nature awhen it comes to driving. But though less than females I've encountered male drivers too. I know many of MCFs will be guilty of this. I would understand if the the car was reversing fast as the driver in front may not be aware of a car behind. But even reversing slowly like a snail and a few car lengths away, these people will honk. Get 1 car length and they will start to blast their honks. Are people here that incapable of judging the distance of the front car's back bumper against their own front? If you parallel park your car, you will should know how to judge! If you have to seriously ask them, if they are not in their car and someone's car has to park and reverse, who will be helping them to do their ridiculous honking when they are away? How many countless cars parked and reversed into yours when you were away from your car? And when you came back to your car, not a scratch? Have faith and confidence in your fellow drivers please and stop being annoying and acting like scared little girls. Please on your hazard light if you are reversing.. 80% will on their hazard lights. The other 20% will get honked at. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged July 27, 2015 Share July 27, 2015 If it is a non designated parallel parking, then why lose your cool when people are not comfortable with the distance? Be it honking cos of the distance, lack of confidence, etc... Let it be, it is not a parking lot anyway. I had seen a SINGLE motorcycle hogging the 'lot' which a car can parked but since it was not even a designated parking lot no point honking at the rider... I just moved on... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic July 27, 2015 Share July 27, 2015 MCF forums seems like good place to whack a TS. And a good place to make assumptions. Ok, I try to summarize all here. a) No, not reversing fast, already said that in my original post. Why must say otherwise when I have stated it earlier is beyond my understanding. b) Yes have signaled, I always signal with either hazard lights or signal lights. It's a habit even if no one is around. Maybe I should have provided more details in my earlier post. So ok, I admit my fault some of you are making assumptions. Sorry ok? The parallel parking honking situations I have encountered are not designated parking lots. If fact can just go in and reverse. No need any skills, plenty of space. Not all are parking situations, some could be situations when already parked, you just need to reverse to get out on the proper road. In my 10 yrs of driving, I have never encountered in any designated and legal parallel parking lots when I park, the driver behind(if he/she is in their vehicle) will honk Not even a single toot. My suspicion is, these drivers that honk in non-designated parking lots are not experienced in parallel parking, and hence are unable to judge the distance between their car and car in front. Though I do not encounter these often, perhaps maybe 1 in 3mths, it is enough to annoy the hell out of me and finally come here to rant. The anonying part is the: Pom, pom, pom, pom, pom, pom, pom, pom, pom,pom..........poooooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!! Even when there is plenty of space! You have no control over others' decision to honk at you or not. Feeling angry about things that you have no control of is like feeling angry that the sky is blue because you don't like blue, i.e. It's pointless. But you have control (or learn to control) over whether you want to feel angry (or not) about the honking. That's your decision and it's up to you how you want to feel about it. If you lack control over your own emotions (anger in this case), it's your own issue to settle. Nobody is responsible for your own emotions except yourself. I sometimes feel angry due to external conditions too but I recognize that I also have a choice to NOT feel angry about it. When you start taking responsibility for your own emotions and learn to manage it, believe me you'll lead a much happier life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunset73 5th Gear July 27, 2015 Share July 27, 2015 Importantly, did you on your hazard lights or show intention of reversing before you actually did the reversing? If you didn't, you can't blame the person behind for horning at you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged July 27, 2015 Share July 27, 2015 Sorry, I don't have a lot of confidence because there are a lot of beh kan drivers here. Dunno how to signal, dunno how to keep in lane, dunno how to move aside when they dunno they are hogging, etc etc etc, how to have confidence??? Wait till too close then horn? By then it would be too late liao loh! I can't remember how many countless times I've encountered this. Why are drivers here so "scared" when the car in front of them is reversing? Example to parallel park in front of you? Female drivers are a exceptional lot. But they are forgiven do to their "scared" and unconfident nature awhen it comes to driving. But though less than females I've encountered male drivers too. I know many of MCFs will be guilty of this. I would understand if the the car was reversing fast as the driver in front may not be aware of a car behind. But even reversing slowly like a snail and a few car lengths away, these people will honk. Get 1 car length and they will start to blast their honks. Are people here that incapable of judging the distance of the front car's back bumper against their own front? If you parallel park your car, you will should know how to judge! If you have to seriously ask them, if they are not in their car and someone's car has to park and reverse, who will be helping them to do their ridiculous honking when they are away? How many countless cars parked and reversed into yours when you were away from your car? And when you came back to your car, not a scratch? Have faith and confidence in your fellow drivers please and stop being annoying and acting like scared little girls. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged July 27, 2015 Share July 27, 2015 (edited) Please on your hazard light if you are reversing.. 80% will on their hazard lights. The other 20% will get honked at. Why turn on hazard light to reverse? Should signal instead. Reversing to the right signal right and reversing left signal left. If reversing straight I am sure the driver behind can see the reverse lights. Edited July 27, 2015 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MrFauna Clutched July 27, 2015 Share July 27, 2015 I go bang by reversing bus before at traffic light.. lucky it is light scratches. Reason: Bus driver got up from driver seat to wipe side mirror which is fogging up, forgot hand brakes. I cant reverse cause there are cars behind... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ihave3Ballz 2nd Gear July 27, 2015 Author Share July 27, 2015 (edited) Importantly, did you on your hazard lights or show intention of reversing before you actually did the reversing? If you didn't, you can't blame the person behind for horning at you. Please on your hazard light if you are reversing.. 80% will on their hazard lights. The other 20% will get honked at. Ahhyo, already stated in post#35 got signal lah. Hazard lights for reversing on a straight path, signal lights depending which direction you entering the lobang ok? Edited July 27, 2015 by Ihave3Ballz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ihave3Ballz 2nd Gear July 27, 2015 Author Share July 27, 2015 (edited) You have no control over others' decision to honk at you or not. Feeling angry about things that you have no control of is like feeling angry that the sky is blue because you don't like blue, i.e. It's pointless. But you have control (or learn to control) over whether you want to feel angry (or not) about the honking. That's your decision and it's up to you how you want to feel about it. If you lack control over your own emotions (anger in this case), it's your own issue to settle. Nobody is responsible for your own emotions except yourself. I sometimes feel angry due to external conditions too but I recognize that I also have a choice to NOT feel angry about it. When you start taking responsibility for your own emotions and learn to manage it, believe me you'll lead a much happier life. aiyah...let it go lah. Just act that the honk is a reminder....its better than you hit them as that will sure raise his/hers and your blood pressure to another level. These are the only 2 sensible advice I probably need to swallow and also remember. Guess there will be people scared of reversing car due to their unfortunate experiences as described by a few MCF's here. So will have to live with the scared drivers and stay cool and just ignore them when it happens the next time again. Do it slower or raise up a thumbs up after getting honk to show you know what you are doing. I will try this tip bro. Maybe sometimes, need the human touch then people have confidence you won't bang them. Guess people don't trust signal lights anymore. I will raise by hand. I promise I will show all 5 fingers. Edited July 27, 2015 by Ihave3Ballz 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged July 28, 2015 Share July 28, 2015 You have no control over others' decision to honk at you or not. Feeling angry about things that you have no control of is like feeling angry that the sky is blue because you don't like blue, i.e. It's pointless. But you have control (or learn to control) over whether you want to feel angry (or not) about the honking. That's your decision and it's up to you how you want to feel about it. If you lack control over your own emotions (anger in this case), it's your own issue to settle. Nobody is responsible for your own emotions except yourself. I sometimes feel angry due to external conditions too but I recognize that I also have a choice to NOT feel angry about it. When you start taking responsibility for your own emotions and learn to manage it, believe me you'll lead a much happier life. sometimes drivers tend to be a tad bit over sensitive about the honking ... you tap once, they tap back and unless you want a honking contest, you should not tap again. but that day I saw taxi forget to close the fuel cover ... want to signal him also dunno how to ??? my friend last time tried to tap his horn on a guy for the same thing at the JB immigration ... guess what ?? the other driver just inched up to the car in front !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryanyusoff 2nd Gear July 28, 2015 Share July 28, 2015 Unfortunately I've had people actually reverse into my car before (he was a blur cock), so naturally I'm a bit cautious. On my part I try to keep a safe distance also. Don't stay too close to the car in front. experienced this incident once. during hari raya visiting few years ago. as i saw him reversing,i just tapped my horn to inform him i'm at the back.suddenly i saw that he was getting nearer. i tapped a few times to get his attention (don't want to blast my horn so as not to offend pricks who feel that being horned at takes away their manhood),still he kept on reversing. about 1 meter away i blasted my horn but yet he still reversed into me.luckily,there were witnesses around. when i asked him,why he cannot hear my horn? he said that while he was reversing,his 2 small kids were making a lot of noise inside and jumping around so he got distracted.he admitted it was his fault. since it was hari raya,i told him to just do a private settlement. at first,he agreed.so took my car to the workshop,and quoted him the damage costs. when he hear the damage costs, about 300+, he immediately change pattern.say my fault lah, don't want to pay so much lah..so i said,"fine,let insurance settle." Claim insurance,i won 100%. Insurance totally replaced my bumper and also one cracked headlights. total damage,more than 10K SGD. and TS still say people horn him is wrong ar? if so many ppl horn him during reversing,must be TS fault right? accept the fact that nobody is perfect lar.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged July 28, 2015 Share July 28, 2015 This summaries why TS complaint... http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20110704-287442.html After more than three decades of being told to be gracious, most Singaporeans now believe that they have become a more compassionate lot. But they were not so kind in their own assessment of other fellow Singaporeans, going by results from a survey on graciousness that was conducted by the Singapore Kindness Movement (SKM) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...