MQX87511 5th Gear February 28, 2017 Share February 28, 2017 It's sure a crazy reliable cvt to be able to handle more than 300nm of torque for daily driving. don't always say fxt so good lah, next time everywhere are fxt , like altis/vezel hard to find you car at car park ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flikmy 1st Gear February 28, 2017 Share February 28, 2017 don't always say fxt so good lah, next time everywhere are fxt , like altis/vezel hard to find you car at car park Lol. But fxt probably reaches a niche group. There were more Vezels, QQs and Harriers sold last year in sg, compared to foresters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic February 28, 2017 Share February 28, 2017 (edited) if forester looks like QQ or Vezel, whole of spore roads will be FXT liao the boxy wagon look does not appeal to majority ma but what puzzle me is why Tuscon does not flood spore road looks sporty and performance should not be worse than QQ and Vezel ... perhaps due to pricing and image (kimchi) ... Lol. But fxt probably reaches a niche group. There were more Vezels, QQs and Harriers sold last year in sg, compared to foresters. Edited February 28, 2017 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jaason3138 1st Gear February 28, 2017 Share February 28, 2017 if forester looks like QQ or Vezel, whole of spore roads will be FXT liao the boxy wagon look does not appeal to majority ma but what puzzle me is why Tuscon does not flood spore road looks sporty and performance should not be worse than QQ and Vezel ... perhaps due to pricing and image (kimchi) ... Not just Tucson. Sportage the other kimchi should have flood spore road too. But they aren't. Any owner here? Care to share what's your encounter after having own any one of the two? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 28, 2017 Share February 28, 2017 Bro you have a hot engine tied to that CVT .. Very different from the so called bread and butter Jap or Thai cars which do the century sprint in > 11 s.. Your car can probably reverse faster than some cars moving forward.. If not for the FC, I might have bought the car. I am also not fussed about the hollow doors, in fact I felt that the car is very solid and well put together. Super roomy rear and boot. Why should one be bothered by how the door sounds as long as it has a good rating on side impact in crash tests. http://www.iihs.org/iihs/ratings/vehicle/v/subaru/forester-4-door-suv/2017 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged February 28, 2017 Share February 28, 2017 seeing more of tucson and recently, sportage. previously oso shortlisted but delisted due to fc adding to car price.. oredi payin so much for car still pay more for petrol just doesnt makes sense.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knighthunter 4th Gear February 28, 2017 Share February 28, 2017 Ah but Subaru CVT is very different from other Jap CVTs. The rest use pulley belts - only Subaru is a German-made pulley chain and I believe Subaru work with the Germans to come out with their own design for the CVT gearbox to work with the chain. Most reviewers on youtube will say they hate CVTs but at same time, most of them admit that Subaru's is better than other CVTs. If from GB from German should be made by ZF. First generation of B class is using ZF CVT with chain links/belt. I believe the the first gen B200 Turbo with 7 virtual speed, some still running in the road, is over 200 HP and about 300 Nm torque it was one of the earliest high power output using CVT in 2004/5. Too bad that is no such perfect car. Now my SUV only FWD need get used to it after driving RWD sedan for quite sometime. It not perfect but I am happy and I don't care if someone has negative comments on it just take as TCSS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jg2000 4th Gear March 1, 2017 Share March 1, 2017 If from GB from German should be made by ZF. First generation of B class is using ZF CVT with chain links/belt. I believe the the first gen B200 Turbo with 7 virtual speed, some still running in the road, is over 200 HP and about 300 Nm torque it was one of the earliest high power output using CVT in 2004/5. Too bad that is no such perfect car. Now my SUV only FWD need get used to it after driving RWD sedan for quite sometime. It not perfect but I am happy and I don't care if someone has negative comments on it just take as TCSS. Close guess but not ZF. The Subaru German supplier only does the pulley chain - they only do components and not complete transmission systems. The company name is Schaeffler and the CVT chain comes under their brand "LuK" It was originally used by Audi but the Audi engineers couldn't get their gear box design right and had problems with their gear box - so they stopped. Subaru had better success with their gear box design that used the Luk chain and have been doing ok with it for some years now. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datura 2nd Gear March 1, 2017 Share March 1, 2017 subaru forester is really value buy , but why dont wait awhile to do a comparison on the new upcoming turbo CRV and new CX5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flikmy 1st Gear March 1, 2017 Share March 1, 2017 subaru forester is really value buy , but why dont wait awhile to do a comparison on the new upcoming turbo CRV and new CX5 Wouldn't the price of the turbo CRV be fairly high? Since currently the Thai made CRV is already close to 140k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic March 1, 2017 Share March 1, 2017 can't wait for turbo CX5 no turbo no talk !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flikmy 1st Gear March 1, 2017 Share March 1, 2017 can't wait for turbo CX5 no turbo no talk !!! Wow, just realised that Mazda do have turbo engines, but only on the new CX-9. There's talk about using the engine on other models, but doesn't seem like this has happened yet? Also, their turbo is currently only on the 2.5l? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ganwb79 5th Gear March 1, 2017 Share March 1, 2017 Bro you have a hot engine tied to that CVT .. Very different from the so called bread and butter Jap or Thai cars which do the century sprint in > 11 s.. Your car can probably reverse faster than some cars moving forward.. If not for the FC, I might have bought the car. I am also not fussed about the hollow doors, in fact I felt that the car is very solid and well put together. Super roomy rear and boot. Opening and closing the doors numerous times is one of my standard procedure when viewing car at car show. Just a rough gauge on how much steel went into the car... In this sense conti=korean > Jap in my opinion. Almost got the forester as well, but scared off by feedback about the FC and the boxy look did not instantly appeal to me. Now my wife complain car is slow... Maybe next time :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mrhan1982 4th Gear March 1, 2017 Share March 1, 2017 Wow, just realised that Mazda do have turbo engines, but only on the new CX-9. There's talk about using the engine on other models, but doesn't seem like this has happened yet? Also, their turbo is currently only on the 2.5l? By the time Honda CRV turbo 1.5 comes, Mazda CX-5 turbo comes, and the rest of the Korean SUV turbo petrols comes, I dunno already enjoy my fxt for how many years Liao. The wait never ends. By then, probably a much better version of fxt will be out. Perhaps another fxt for me the in the future?? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mrhan1982 4th Gear March 1, 2017 Share March 1, 2017 Wouldn't the price of the turbo CRV be fairly high? Since currently the Thai made CRV is already close to 140k. The new crv 1.5 turbo will also be made in Thai... and it's probably gonna cost more than 140k based on today's market. 1.5L turbo fwd plus high price Vs 2.0L turbo awd plus lower price should be a no brainer. But most people will still Sway towards the crv coz of smaller cc engine gives impression of lower road tax, fc, and maintenance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic March 1, 2017 Share March 1, 2017 If the price difference between this new CRV and the current FXT is more than 30k, then it might be better to take the less fuel economical FXT, and use the price difference or money saved to finance the extra fuel costs, and enjoy a zippy, Jap made true AWD SUV 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic March 1, 2017 Share March 1, 2017 I Guess I was trying to be humble when I say that the fxt is a bread and butter Japanese compact SUV. Haaa... it actually has one of the best built among all Jap Brands. The fc is actually very good depending on how u drive it. Subaru is about as close to German as you can get with a Japanese make, and I've felt this way since my WRX days. Good cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged March 1, 2017 Share March 1, 2017 If the price difference between this new CRV and the current FXT is more than 30k, then it might be better to take the less fuel economical FXT, and use the price difference or money saved to finance the extra fuel costs, and enjoy a zippy, Jap made true AWD SUV Not sure if the heavy crv will b as frugal as we thot..1.5t def more stressed than 2t engine.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...