zedane 1st Gear February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 I presume that, you're aware if you carry more passengers than the authorized capacity, you assume the risk of insufficient insurance coverage in case of any accident? Not to mention safety concerns (insufficient safety seat belts) and catching the eye of the Traffic Police. Haha during that time - early 2000s, the enforcement on said law wasn't that strict. And we usually only have 6 passengers over the weekends. For now, I hardly ever get 6 passengers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 Now... if rear passengers never belt up, may void your insurance cover. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AtoB 1st Gear February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 Wow, didn't know that it's so strict now when it comes to number of passenger. We were still doing it occasionally up to last year before the family got scraped. But yes, now that I know will definitely do it less. Its only for short distance, no one want to squeeze for 30 mins. Its usually for drive less than 10 mins. Okay, now I have slightly stronger reason to lean towards Honda Freed but will have to see when I go test drive this weekend. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten 1st Gear February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 Hi All Scrapping my car in about 15 months time. Now driving a Honda Civic Hybrid. Quite interested to get the Toyota Prius but the AD price seems to be a bit too ridiculous. Just wondering. If we buy from PI, will BM be willing to do the servicing in Singapore? Of course have to pay BM for the servicing lah.,....Anyone tried this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 Hi All Scrapping my car in about 15 months time. Now driving a Honda Civic Hybrid. Quite interested to get the Toyota Prius but the AD price seems to be a bit too ridiculous. Just wondering. If we buy from PI, will BM be willing to do the servicing in Singapore? Of course have to pay BM for the servicing lah.,....Anyone tried this? Unless you are quite big shot, highly unlikely BM will allow you to bring PI car to them for servicing. Wow, didn't know that it's so strict now when it comes to number of passenger. We were still doing it occasionally up to last year before the family got scraped. But yes, now that I know will definitely do it less. Its only for short distance, no one want to squeeze for 30 mins. Its usually for drive less than 10 mins. Okay, now I have slightly stronger reason to lean towards Honda Freed but will have to see when I go test drive this weekend. I think for your case better to get a 6/7 seater. Nowadays cannot take chances anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zedane 1st Gear February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 Hi All Scrapping my car in about 15 months time. Now driving a Honda Civic Hybrid. Quite interested to get the Toyota Prius but the AD price seems to be a bit too ridiculous. Just wondering. If we buy from PI, will BM be willing to do the servicing in Singapore? Of course have to pay BM for the servicing lah.,....Anyone tried this? The Prius has been in Singapore for more than a decade. I would think there are a number of quality workshop when it comes to servicing the Prius? I can't say much for the other brands of hybrid cars though. You can always call BM to inquire should you feel the need. My superior who drives an Altis ever mentioned before that the regular servicing offered by BM is around $200 whereas the major ones(40,000km/80,000km etc) are around $300+. Even if BM do offer servicing for PI Toyota, I would think it would be higher than the mentioned rates. Wow, didn't know that it's so strict now when it comes to number of passenger. We were still doing it occasionally up to last year before the family got scraped. But yes, now that I know will definitely do it less. Its only for short distance, no one want to squeeze for 30 mins. Its usually for drive less than 10 mins. Okay, now I have slightly stronger reason to lean towards Honda Freed but will have to see when I go test drive this weekend. You drive to nearby and makan only ar? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten 1st Gear February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 (edited) My car are now serviced by KM and they do a good job in replacing (unspoiled but maybe soon to be worn out parts). Yes, it does cost more but it also gives a piece of mind. Very much interested in the $25k price difference by PI but had bad experience previously with a Nissan Sunny serviced by a 3rd party workshop. Unless you are quite big shot, highly unlikely BM will allow you to bring PI car to them for servicing. I also think so. But still wondering if anyone had tried to do that and if so, what is the outcome? Edited February 1, 2017 by Ten Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auron 2nd Gear February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 Hi All Scrapping my car in about 15 months time. Now driving a Honda Civic Hybrid. Quite interested to get the Toyota Prius but the AD price seems to be a bit too ridiculous. Just wondering. If we buy from PI, will BM be willing to do the servicing in Singapore? Of course have to pay BM for the servicing lah.,....Anyone tried this? wa.. civic hybrid... interested to know what is the avg fc? i doubt that BM will service PI cars... that is why they slap 20k to 30k to the purchase price... so that ppl will have piece of mind from buying from AD.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archenemy 1st Gear February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 Borneo wont turn business away...but get ready to be chopped big time... Most reputable PIs will have a warranty on their cars already...and if they dont have confidence to service the vehicles...i dont see why they will want to sell that vehicle... With so many priuses on the road...im sure there are workshops who are able to competently service the vehicle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ten 1st Gear February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 wa.. civic hybrid... interested to know what is the avg fc? My Civic is 2008 version. Used to be about 15.5km per litre when new but now about 13.5. Specs is 21. Considering that this is now a 10 years old technology, it is one of the more economical car with a good body design. Wife don't like Toyota then. Now she ok with Prius. Now look see look see and hope to time the coe well. If BM can be more reasonable with their price, then I won't be so headache. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archenemy 1st Gear February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 Considering FD1.8 can get 11km/L..FD hybrid dont have fantastic mileage.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archenemy 1st Gear February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 If BM is reasonable with their price..they wont be called borneo liao... Also..for that roughly $15k more that BM charges..they are also giving a much lower spec car..which is really ridiculous. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AtoB 1st Gear February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 (edited) The Prius has been in Singapore for more than a decade. I would think there are a number of quality workshop when it comes to servicing the Prius? I can't say much for the other brands of hybrid cars though. You can always call BM to inquire should you feel the need. My superior who drives an Altis ever mentioned before that the regular servicing offered by BM is around $200 whereas the major ones(40,000km/80,000km etc) are around $300+. Even if BM do offer servicing for PI Toyota, I would think it would be higher than the mentioned rates. You drive to nearby and makan only ar? Yup! What else do you do for family gathering other than makan? @Ten, I'm facing the same dilemma as well. Didn't think its worth 25k. That can cover a lot of servicing. We didn't spend anywhere close to that amount for our previous family car in 10 years. And as Zidane mentioned, hopefully for a hybrid that has been around for 10 years, there should be some workshop that service it. Based on some initial research, hevshop claim to be a hybrid specialist with expertise and software to service Prius. Wonder if anyone in this group have any experience to share. Edited February 1, 2017 by AtoB Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 My car are now serviced by KM and they do a good job in replacing (unspoiled but maybe soon to be worn out parts). Yes, it does cost more but it also gives a piece of mind. Very much interested in the $25k price difference by PI but had bad experience previously with a Nissan Sunny serviced by a 3rd party workshop. I also think so. But still wondering if anyone had tried to do that and if so, what is the outcome? I know someone who does so with his PI Toyota Wish, but 1) he paid quite a big adoption fee, and 2) he's quite a big shot in Govt-linked company, so he's someone who's sort of influential in society. I understand BM did it as an exception for him rather than the rule. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auron 2nd Gear February 1, 2017 Share February 1, 2017 My Civic is 2008 version. Used to be about 15.5km per litre when new but now about 13.5. Specs is 21. Considering that this is now a 10 years old technology, it is one of the more economical car with a good body design. Wife don't like Toyota then. Now she ok with Prius. Now look see look see and hope to time the coe well. If BM can be more reasonable with their price, then I won't be so headache. the problem is BM offer a lousier specs Prius and it cost a lot more for it.... if like for like but cost more, then its pay more for a piece of mind... I know someone who does so with his PI Toyota Wish, but 1) he paid quite a big adoption fee, and 2) he's quite a big shot in Govt-linked company, so he's someone who's sort of influential in society. I understand BM did it as an exception for him rather than the rule. that is why i say BM will not even entertain car bought from PI unless you are some big shot and can get an invisible hand to arm twisted BM... BM will be you die your business... you expect BM to service a car bought from a competitor that eat their lunch? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zedane 1st Gear February 2, 2017 Share February 2, 2017 Do note that the current prices offered by PI varies depending on the model of Prius. I would categorize the 2016 Prius into 3 types 1) Prius A - ~$110,888 2) Prius BM - ~$133,988 3) Prius S - ~$104,888 where option 1 is of the highest spec and only sold by one or two PI which I am aware of. Option 1 carries the adaptive cruise control, park assist(I think) etc. Option 2 by BM only has normal cruise control, Heads Up Display. Option 3 has non of the above. Just a normal no frills vehicle. It is up to individual whether the $23k to $29k premium is worthwhile for that peace of mind. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged February 2, 2017 Share February 2, 2017 that is why i say BM will not even entertain car bought from PI unless you are some big shot and can get an invisible hand to arm twisted BM... BM will be you die your business... you expect BM to service a car bought from a competitor that eat their lunch? Exactly. Why would they entertain a non-customer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PriuSimiLJ Neutral Newbie February 2, 2017 Share February 2, 2017 Hi everyone, quite new Prius 2016 owner checking in. Mine is the cheapest 'S' version from PI. Already done 1k servicing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...