O level results coming out soon!

Mason016

there are different routes for diff folks. Have seen those who are acad smart, yet in real work life, CMI. Somehow, over the years, kids change as well and we have to see what best fits them. 

Gahmen is focussed more to skills-based now. Either way, A-level or poly, both have their merits

SST deals with what ar.

Technical stuff?

They are seconday school doing 4 year O level, Selling point is applied learning. I don't know what is that. But I guess it's more hands on and experiment  and project stuff. Also all student has to do one applied subject for o level.

there are different routes for diff folks. Have seen those who are acad smart, yet in real work life, CMI. Somehow, over the years, kids change as well and we have to see what best fits them. 

Gahmen is focussed more to skills-based now. Either way, A-level or poly, both have their merits

dun want to end to like Taiwan, Japan & Korea, millions of graduates but no job   [sweatdrop]

In my opinion, to do well in new economy, you must know at least and skill and be very good at it.

Also, don't go for the easy course if you can. I will rather suffer now and get a good job later than to enjoy now then worries about job security next time.

Don't forget... suffering for the course is only 3~4 years. But suffering from job anxiety can be for 40 yrs

my son result neither here nor there, but qualify for 99% of the Poly courses...

Like most of the boys who do not know what they want to do.... one min psychology, next min business study, then vet.....

i told him no need to go open house, just go CBD, IMH and SPCA for field experience  [laugh]  [laugh]

My kid also did average, cannot get into a top tier JC, but also no need to settle for MI or Innova etc.  Most likely either CJC or SRJC.

She's a little disappointed, too many Bs.  But I told her to look at it from another perspective, she got 4 B3s, her lowest grade was a B3, so, be happy that she did not get any grade of B4 and below.  Not bad what... then she cheered up a little and said, Oh Yah!

Edited by Loki

Nursing course in poly cut off point at 26, you get sponsor for the course and monthly allowance of $800 if i am not wrong.

my son said mindef offer 1200. He rejected their offer for the 1st yr (i told him not too) but he took up their offer just before graduation. He was given lump sum for his final yr as he had completed his diploma. He told me it was better as he was not under pressure during his course. Most of his friends who took up the scholarship offer during their 1st year wS stress out. They had to report to their respective organisations during their holidays while my son enjoyed his lan games. But the one under pressure was me.....sole breadwinner.....very cham!

see if he took the scholarship, not only you dun have to give him pocket money, he could have repay you $300 a month for 3 years   [laugh]  [laugh]

My kid also did average, cannot get into a top tier JC, but also no need to settle for MI or Innova etc.  Most likely either CJC or SRJC.

She's a little disappointed, too many Bs.  But I told her to look at it from another perspective, she got 4 B3s, her lowest grade was a B3, so, be happy that she did not get any grade of B4 and below.  Not bad what... then she cheered up a little and said, Oh Yah!

same same lowest was 4 B3   [laugh]  [laugh]   (we were a bit shocked and panic as prelim was 32 [sweatdrop] )

he also qualify for CJC with CCA point but probably won't go there, too far and public transport also not that convenience.

Jin ho liao Bro!!! means she very consistent in all her subject, not easy!  [thumbsup]

If I were you, I buy her a good meal and congratulate her!!! [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

see if he took the scholarship, not only you dun have to give him pocket money, he could have repay you $300 a month for 3 years   [laugh]  

same same lowest was 4 B3   [laugh]     (we were a bit shocked and panic as prelim was 32 [sweatdrop] )

he also qualify for CJC with CCA point but probably won't go there, too far and public transport also not that convenience.

he show you he can do it!  [thumbsup]  [laugh]  [laugh]

see if he took the scholarship, not only you dun have to give him pocket money, he could have repay you $300 a month for 3 years [laugh][laugh]

i told him of the pros and cons of being bonded....i myself was bonded for 5 yrs after ns. He also say lucky he didnt take when he was initially offered. His friends bonded with the hospitals were all stressed out.....he happy happy! But frankly saying....if mendaki didnt pay for his fees i would also ask him to get the saf scholarship.....

see if he took the scholarship, not only you dun have to give him pocket money, he could have repay you $300 a month for 3 years   [laugh]  [laugh]

same same lowest was 4 B3   [laugh]  [laugh]   (we were a bit shocked and panic as prelim was 32 [sweatdrop] )

So where is your kid going, if not CJC?

he's a physiotherapist?

health science (not optometry) from Ngee Ann....now taking degree in the same field. He said he want to take SAF scholarship and do physio degree. He is paying for his degree on his own now.....

So where is your kid going, if not CJC?

a few courses in ngee ann and we kind of discounted jc from the choices unless some ECG consultant can talk us out   [rolleyes]