HELP. Accident with friendly "helper" appearing

Junesh1983

on the surface, such workshops are sure to do a good job, so as to protect their "reputation" and continue their Modus operandi.

but who knows what's going on in the background? esp regarding the plan to create accidents, claim inflation etc.

Their customer service is also dam ki lat.. because they want to earn your trust (and ensuing business) as compared to other workshops that are genuinely busy and don't "need" extra work. Generally, i don't easily trust others when they have vested interests that conflict with mine.

btw insurance surveyor/adjuster can also be in the loop. So don't blindly trust insurance surveyor to save costs.

last time my car kena accident, they removed my undamaged aftermarket parts (radiator, headlamps, foglamps and who knows what else... ) and replace with oem. For what? I can only guess they want to resell them in 2nd hand market. And this is a authorised "branded" workshop. Btw this wkshop alrdy closed shop a couple of years ago. Go figure.

at the end of the day, these accident workshops engage in unethical, unscrupulous and dangerous behaviour to create more business, putting car drivers/passengers at risk and driving up premiums across the board.

If the gahmen was serious about clamping down on the insurance scam industry, they should make it illegal to solicit at accident sites. The whole point of compulsory insurance with a clear cut policy and help lines is so that no one is stranded when involved in an accident, so why the need for "help"? Slap a jail sentence on the crime of accident site solicitation.

For good measure, make it illegal for motorists to accept "help" also, punishable with a hefty fine. Once we get a few scammers stewing in jail and a few blur koks out a few big ones in fines for this offence, we'll start seeing real change.

They used you to ketoh the other guy. You were just a pawn and from the looks of it a happy one.

that's the highest kungfu level from scammer

kena scam and the 'victim' still got feel good factor

it's like you walk into a workshop, the boss or manager sell you snake oil ... and you posted ok la ... for a few hundreds dollars mod ... the car feel smoother and pick up butt feel 1/1000 of a second faster ... feel good mai hiam la

If the gahmen was serious about clamping down on the insurance scam industry, they should make it illegal to solicit at accident sites. The whole point of compulsory insurance with a clear cut policy and help lines is so that no one is stranded when involved in an accident, so why the need for "help"? Slap a jail sentence on the crime of accident site solicitation.

For good measure, make it illegal for motorists to accept "help" also, punishable with a hefty fine. Once we get a few scammers stewing in jail and a few blur koks out a few big ones in fines for this offence, we'll start seeing real change.

I agree that they should clamp down on those workshops that profit by claiming excessively, but why clamp down on those looking for business? Do you mean to say all those who wait at accident prone areas to get business are all scammers?

If they are "innocently" waiting for an accident, I have no major problem (except that it's as distasteful as an undertaker lurking in a hospital waiting for "business", vulture-like) - but I don't think a lot of these people are truly bystanders who get lucky. Accidents are just too unpredictable for that to be worth their while. I think in cases where "help" arrives promptly and seemingly fortuitously, it's all a set up.

Workshop/towing staff don't really need to stand around waiting for business like that - they should already have a steady load if they're competent and hardworking. Given that there is a strong suspicion attached to this phenomenon of "suddenly showing up" at accident scenes, I would support the gahmen clamping down hard on the whole thing by simply criminalising the act. It's not like workshops can't make money honestly.

An if the workshop is half decent and everything above board... Why the need to change their shop name to Fastech?

Apparently their antics belong to where the sun never shines...

I don't know why many bros can confirm they stage the accident. I can't confirm for the other accidents but I have investigated mine. My accident was due to a jam a few kms long caused by oil spill incident, see article. This is the route to my office and I had around 10 friends to confirm that the jam was up ahead and not staged. Unless you say KC paid to spill oil from oil tanker on SLE to get my few Ks.

http://transport.asiaone.com/news/general/story/congestion-sle-due-oil-spill-accident

Jam in front, vehicle behind did not notice and crash me.

Actually I got nothing to gain by clearing the ws or the helper reputation but from my case they are not doing anything wrong, why blatantly blame them? KC did not change name, I still see the sign big big there. They have two shops side by side with diff names.

I don't know why many bros can confirm they stage the accident. I can't confirm for the other accidents but I have investigated mine. My accident was due to a jam a few kms long caused by oil spill incident, see article. This is the route to my office and I had around 10 friends to confirm that the jam was up ahead and not staged. Unless you say KC paid to spill oil from oil tanker on SLE to get my few Ks.

http://transport.asiaone.com/news/general/story/congestion-sle-due-oil-spill-accident

Actually I got nothing to gain by clearing the ws or the helper reputation but from my case they are not doing anything wrong, why blatantly blame them? KC did not change name, I still see the sign big big there. They have two shops side by side with diff names.

Everyday during peak hours there are jams at all expressways...so what makes that jam due to oil spill any different from other jams? Are you suggesting that an oil spill jam increase probability of a chain collision compared to usual peak hour jams? Your logic is warped.

Do a google search for KC, and see If that name comes up in any proper website? The original domain is down or no longer active.

Lastly, in the face of so many victims on mcf relating their similar experience...the same modus operandi...the same culprit workshop...you are still defending KC? Starting to sound dubious.....

Relating 2 accidents (almost the same spot) I had on SLE towards BKE.

1) First accident in 2014 - I was the first car and was hit really bad by a pickup. Minutes later, a "helper" driving a Toyota Altis with a lady stopped to offer help. As my wife and I were dazed by the impact, we agreed to let the "helper" handle the accident claim (3rd party) process. My car was towed to a workshop in Sin Ming. Repairs: Not satisfactory cos the workshop used recond parts and people there were like thugs. Later found out that the workshop in Sin Ming is a crocodile workshop, but its too late.

2) Second accident last month - I was the first car in a chain collision (damn suay, I know). Minutes later, the same "helper" appeared again with the same lady. Assured me that he would take care of my accident claim. This time round, I told him I'm not going back to his workshop. The "helper" told me that he was no longer with the workshop in Sin Ming, but now working in another workshop in Kaki Bukit. After exchanging particulars with the cars behind, I left and waited until afternoon to make a report at my own trusted workshop.

Call it coincidence, but both vehicles directly behind me were either old or about to scrap and don't forget how fast the "helper" appeared. Also realised (for the second accident) that some of the affected vehicles behind me made their accident report and claims thru a workshop in Kaki Bukit. Also got a call from that workshop requesting me to let them handle my accident claims, but I declined.

I guess these "helpers" will continue to appear unless the authorities put a stop to it...

Few days back I got into an accident. Traffic jam at usual flowing road, front vehicle jam brakked, I brake in time. Vehicle from rear came crashing and drag me to hit vehicle in front. Damage to my car front and back. Friendly "helper" appear within 10 mins. Saying he can handle the case so that I don't pay a single cent. Helped my car to a Kaki Bukit workshop. Gave me a replacement car on the spot and promises one week lead time. Helped with all my incident reports and tells me that he knows what that after viewing the other party's reports, he confirms that it's third party claim. After repair he will one to one exchange my car. Sound very good service so far.

How can I ensure that this is a confirm third party claim? Because this ws is not authorized ws for my insurance. If somehow later on they say that the 3rd party claim not successful, when will I know? Any experience with this workshop? Do I need to be careful of something? Do i force them to produce something before start repair? As for insurance reports I got none so far.

About 10years back when I was a p plate with my quite new car. I got into a chain collision and I was the second car. I did stop in time, but a merc cab and a Mazda 3 were behind me. From looks alone, think the Mazda 3 driver was drunk.

In less than 10 min, the friendly helper Peter appear and also assured mee that from what he see, he is sure that I can do 3rd parties claim on the last car. I told him I wasn't convince and he said that he will give me something like an guaranteed letter, confirming that I don't have to pay a cent or touch my ncd. I agreed and after that for a long time, a stone was weighing on me until the whole thing resolved.

To add on, my insurer lawyer contacted me and interviewed me on that incident. He queried why didn't I go to the approved workshop. I answered I too stunned and because it my first accident, I don't know what to do.

Accidents are business opportunity. Huat ah!!!

But seriously, there are 2 types of them. 1 are scammers, they stage accidents. These are the worst scum on earth. Play on ppl life to earn a living. Reported on the news before. Be very wary.

The other one are those insurance agent, property agent, sales agent or whatever business kang tao they also take type. Nowadays many ppl got sideline, these are the people. They may hold a full-time job, but they could be selling stuff at carousel, trading, invest in small business, agent for insurance, workshop, property, etc. they probably driving around meeting clients then happen to chance upon the accident.

Since this is a car forum, I'm surprise none of the above ppl come in to comment. I'm very sure they are reading this, so are the workshops.

For sure this is not a scam

They just jack up all prices by 5-10times to pay for their monthly merc, Audi, BMW instalment.....

Good luck Ts......

For sure this is not a scam

They just jack up all prices by 5-10times to pay for their monthly merc, Audi, BMW instalment.....

Good luck Ts......

IMO, this one not considered scam. They just overcharge. Just like the ADs also. If you send to AD to repair, they just replace everything with a new part and charge alot for it. Last time I was rear ended and bumper got scratched a little bit. They changed the whole bumper, reverse sensors, the metal bumper behind the bumper and the boot lock mechanism. Total came up to a few thousand for something that I think can be fixed outside for less than $500.