jach66 2nd Gear September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 One of the reasons why Impreza omv is lower - is because alot of parts are locally fitted at their TPY workshop. Therefore, they save on the tax which is a very smart move. Car for car (happy to be corrected) - there is not much difference between the Civic and the Impreza. Most japanese cars are the same - BB type unless you get a Lexus. Furthermore, Civic is made in Thailand! Which to me - is a deal breaker because i buy a Japanese car so i can benefit from the quality control and work ethic of the Japanese. Having worked in a Japanese MNC which has a Thai subsidiary - i know how the subsidiaries are run, and basically lets just say the Thai work ethic and attention to detail is not Japanese. My personal take is that we cannot affect the dealer's margins - so just buy the car which u like and can afford. Watch the depreciation also because Impreza doesn't have VES so its PARF is on par or higher than the Civic. HRV and Civic use same engine if i am not wrong. Performance should be same. HRV is made in Japan but is very common now as an Uber/Grab car. Also, is it really worth 106k? That bit you must answer yourself. Civic is Thai made but if you can live with that, i think its ok. Worth 106k?Probably not! Their OMV similar... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 One of the reasons why Impreza omv is lower - is because alot of parts are locally fitted at their TPY workshop. Therefore, they save on the tax which is a very smart move. Car for car (happy to be corrected) - there is not much difference between the Civic and the Impreza. Most japanese cars are the same - BB type unless you get a Lexus. Furthermore, Civic is made in Thailand! Which to me - is a deal breaker because i buy a Japanese car so i can benefit from the quality control and work ethic of the Japanese. Having worked in a Japanese MNC which has a Thai subsidiary - i know how the subsidiaries are run, and basically lets just say the Thai work ethic and attention to detail is not Japanese. My personal take is that we cannot affect the dealer's margins - so just buy the car which u like and can afford. Watch the depreciation also because Impreza doesn't have VES so its PARF is on par or higher than the Civic. HRV and Civic use same engine if i am not wrong. Performance should be same. HRV is made in Japan but is very common now as an Uber/Grab car. Also, is it really worth 106k? That bit you must answer yourself. Civic is Thai made but if you can live with that, i think its ok. Those 10 years old MIT Altis are still very saught after today and many owners renewed their COE because of their low cost of maintenance and reliability. Conversely, i dont see many imprezza gotten their COE renewed, or any at all. So MIT not necessisarily be of lower quality. HRV is 1.5L whereas civic is 1.6L, so they are not using the same engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoyWonder15 1st Gear September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 Those 10 years old MIT Altis are still very saught after today and many owners renewed their COE because of their low cost of maintenance and reliability. Conversely, i dont see many imprezza gotten their COE renewed, or any at all. So MIT not necessisarily be of lower quality. HRV is 1.5L whereas civic is 1.6L, so they are not using the same engine. Thanks for the correction bro. When I go overseas, many people drive their Subarus for decades. Not uncommon to see old subaru on the road. But I seldom see old Toyota. So could be just a preference thing. ultimately it's different strokes for different folks, for a BB Japanese car which is 100k and below - how different can it be? Just buy one you like and can afford. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
999 3rd Gear September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 HRV is using same engine as City which is L15. Civic 1.6 is the same as the 8th Gen Civic 1.6 which is R16 which is the same engine block in R18. Overseas HRV/Vezel are using same engine as FD which R18. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 One of the reasons why Impreza omv is lower - is because alot of parts are locally fitted at their TPY workshop. Therefore, they save on the tax which is a very smart move. Car for car (happy to be corrected) - there is not much difference between the Civic and the Impreza. Most japanese cars are the same - BB type unless you get a Lexus. Furthermore, Civic is made in Thailand! Which to me - is a deal breaker because i buy a Japanese car so i can benefit from the quality control and work ethic of the Japanese. Having worked in a Japanese MNC which has a Thai subsidiary - i know how the subsidiaries are run, and basically lets just say the Thai work ethic and attention to detail is not Japanese. My personal take is that we cannot affect the dealer's margins - so just buy the car which u like and can afford. Watch the depreciation also because Impreza doesn't have VES so its PARF is on par or higher than the Civic. HRV and Civic use same engine if i am not wrong. Performance should be same. HRV is made in Japan but is very common now as an Uber/Grab car. Also, is it really worth 106k? That bit you must answer yourself. Civic is Thai made but if you can live with that, i think its ok. Last time I have driven both Civic and Impreza. Both company cars. You gotta to test drive both then can say why the price difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sapherix Clutched September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 hi just wondering if any of ur MI sales mention to u guys that the impreza 1.6 will kena a 10k surcharge next yr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoyWonder15 1st Gear September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 Last time I have driven both Civic and Impreza. Both company cars. You gotta to test drive both then can say why the price difference. Think the new 2017 Impreza is a different animal from the old Impreza. Also, the question to ask is - if the Civic is $20k better than the Impreza. To me, it is not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Draven07 Clutched September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 Those 10 years old MIT Altis are still very saught after today and many owners renewed their COE because of their low cost of maintenance and reliability. Conversely, i dont see many imprezza gotten their COE renewed, or any at all. So MIT not necessisarily be of lower quality. HRV is 1.5L whereas civic is 1.6L, so they are not using the same engine. Not that i know much about cars to begin with, but i think 10 years ago subs are considered "tiong chia"s (not like MI's own ah seng ads helped), and hence not purchased by people who are looking for low maintenance and reliability as first priority.. The age group of their target population probably also quite different.. Hence, prob not the best way to gauge? In any case, due to the sheer volume of car units produced per model, i believe every model has it's own problems and not to mention usage patterns play a big role in "reliability". Just my own opinion.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 Totally with you on Subaru margin on car price In fact their service is oso more expensive in general Their latest price list is even more ridiculous, new car price totally out of line with current coe but their coe rebate is more than in line ... Really shit ... Haiya.. then don't buy lo.. u condemn the AD for what? It's their perogrative what margin they wanna earn.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jach66 2nd Gear September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 Haiya.. then don't buy lo.. u condemn the AD for what? It's their perogrative what margin they wanna earn..Haiya, not complaining all AD watThere are AD that revised price in line of coe... What we need is price mark to market ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 (edited) Haiya, not complaining all AD wat There are AD that revised price in line of coe... What we need is price mark to market ... Lol ..U r just against one...so obvious.. Edited September 10, 2017 by BenTong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jach66 2nd Gear September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 Lol ..U r just against one...so obvious..Nope, I protest against any AD or PI who treat consumers like us mathematic illiterate...don know how to + and - I know, I one person protest got no effect ...but wat to do ... Others can accept it ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
999 3rd Gear September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 Nope, I protest against any AD or PI who treat consumers like us mathematic illiterate...don know how to + and - I know, I one person protest got no effect ...but wat to do ... Others can accept it ... Don't buy will be the best protest. Keyboard warrior over the internet will not bring down price leh. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jach66 2nd Gear September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 Don't buy will be the best protest. Keyboard warrior over the internet will not bring down price leh.I tot u will said call Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sapherix Clutched September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 lol SE says impreza almost sold out over weekend Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 lol SE says impreza almost sold out over weekendBuyers in the next weekend may have to wait longer for their cars? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vios73 1st Gear September 10, 2017 Share September 10, 2017 lol SE says impreza almost sold out over weekend At $86,300, this is the price that will attract buyers to enter the market now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
999 3rd Gear September 11, 2017 Share September 11, 2017 lol SE says impreza almost sold out over weekendSales gimmick lah. Not enough stock, running out soon. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...