Ysc3 Twincharged May 3, 2018 Share May 3, 2018 yes $5/day for unlimited data usage i always use my own Huawei mifi because it's so LECEH to go pick up and return changi recommend Β Last time dunno got this... Like kuku liddat... Run around searching for free Wi-Fi when I was in Seoul for group tour... But actually everyone was doing the same thing!! β‘ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic May 17, 2023 Share May 17, 2023 (edited) many are planning to go overseas and want to rent a wifi better dont take changi wifi, daily cap at 500M at high speed. after 500M throttle to crawling speed practically useless 500M i can use up in 2hrs with youtube, tiktok and checking email now changi wifi sibei aggressive with their ads and simi code look so worth it to rent for longer period but no point because when you are out of hotel, the 500M basically used up in 2 hours.Β i whatsapp the support, the reply is changi wifi purpose is only for whatsapp and simple email and not for video streaming wtf β¦ now we go out who dont use wifi for tiktok and heavy video content? lucky i got my own mifi and slap it with another sim cardΒ i need tiktok to survive when my wife shop till you drop β¦ LOL Edited May 17, 2023 by Wt_know 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 17, 2023 Share May 17, 2023 my daughter always use changi wifi every time she travel cos she lazy to switch to local data sim and all the settingsΒ Β Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic May 17, 2023 Share May 17, 2023 (edited) On 5/17/2023 at 11:47 AM, Jman888 said: my daughter always use changi wifi every time she travel cos she lazy to switch to local data sim and all the settingsΒ Β i buy the sim card from shopee before depart spore then activate it with my own mifi upon arrivalΒ song song gao jurong yes, i am cheapo no hassle to collect and return changi wifi no more changi wifi for me forever until they revise their screw up 500M limit per day Edited May 17, 2023 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 17, 2023 Share May 17, 2023 On 5/17/2023 at 5:54 PM, Wt_know said: i buy the sim card from shopee before depart spore then activate it with my own mifi upon arrivalΒ song song gao jurong yes, i am cheapo scare of those scam from shopee, have been buying from Klook or KKday since 2018, collect from the local airport. klook got many promo price for many things include car rental.Β 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/17/2023 at 6:49 PM, Jman888 said: scare of those scam from shopee, have been buying from Klook or KKday since 2018, collect from the local airport. klook got many promo price for many things include car rental.Β Wah... got lobang must share... got cheap SIM plans is it? Or what? I don't want to change my local SIM card cos of the credit card use SMS alerts... and don't want to use the second SIM slot cos I need the memory card for taking photos and videos... so seems like MIFI is good for me... any to recommend? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 11:23 AM, teomingern said: Wah... got lobang must share... got cheap SIM plans is it? Or what? I don't want to change my local SIM card cos of the credit card use SMS alerts... and don't want to use the second SIM slot cos I need the memory card for taking photos and videos... so seems like MIFI is good for me... any to recommend? for 30 days data sim you can get direct from Sakura mobile or Mobal for less than $100 (if you want to avoid shopee or Qoo10 scam), but you need to get your own 4G mifi router. Both are good for whole of japan. https://www.sakuramobile.jp/travel/travel-sim/ https://www.mobal.com/japan-sim-card/?source=3282 as mentioned in other thread, i usually get an esim for my own phone and the mifi for the family, in case we need to separate for some activities. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 (edited) On 5/18/2023 at 11:42 AM, Jman888 said: for 30 days data sim you can get direct from Sakura mobile or Mobal for less than $100 (if you want to avoid shopee or Qoo10 scam), but you need to get your own 4G mifi router. Both are good for whole of japan. https://www.sakuramobile.jp/travel/travel-sim/ https://www.mobal.com/japan-sim-card/?source=3282 as mentioned in other thread, i usually get an esim for my own phone and the mifi for the family, in case we need to separate for some activities. Wah I don't need so much data leh... ha ha... my local plan has 9GB and I barely use 2-3 GB each month... I'm mostly on wifi... and don't stream videos... I only need to data for Google Maps, internet to look for places and recommendations... and to contact hotels in case I need to... and that's about it... the problem with using our local roaming services is that they kind of charge by per week and I don't need so much data nor am I willing to spend so much on data... Got any type is like a fixed data quantity for like 30 days validity type or not? Wah still must buy own mifi... mai lar mai lar... that's expensive... Edited May 18, 2023 by teomingern Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/17/2023 at 5:25 PM, Wt_know said: many are planning to go overseas and want to rent a wifi better dont take changi wifi, daily cap at 500M at high speed. after 500M throttle to crawling speed practically useless 500M i can use up in 2hrs with youtube, tiktok and checking email now changi wifi sibei aggressive with their ads and simi code look so worth it to rent for longer period but no point because when you are out of hotel, the 500M basically used up in 2 hours.Β i whatsapp the support, the reply is changi wifi purpose is only for whatsapp and simple email and not for video streaming wtf β¦ now we go out who dont use wifi for tiktok and heavy video content? lucky i got my own mifi and slap it with another sim cardΒ i need tiktok to survive when my wife shop till you drop β¦ LOL Now I just buy the data roaming sim from changi recommends, starhub or those from Lazada or shopee kind. M1 has data passport also. There is no need for a wifi egg now.Β Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/17/2023 at 6:49 PM, Jman888 said: scare of those scam from shopee, have been buying from Klook or KKday since 2018, collect from the local airport. klook got many promo price for many things include car rental.Β used the changi pocket router many times cos convenient and unlimited data. nowadays got minimum hiring period of 5 days which does not work for me, and think no more promo code. next trip will probably buy local sim since my phone has 2 sim slots.Β Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 1:32 PM, teomingern said: Wah I don't need so much data leh... ha ha... my local plan has 9GB and I barely use 2-3 GB each month... I'm mostly on wifi... and don't stream videos... I only need to data for Google Maps, internet to look for places and recommendations... and to contact hotels in case I need to... and that's about it... the problem with using our local roaming services is that they kind of charge by per week and I don't need so much data nor am I willing to spend so much on data... Got any type is like a fixed data quantity for like 30 days validity type or not? Wah still must buy own mifi... mai lar mai lar... that's expensive... you have to balance searching for free wifi and password with 3 people in tow or just whip out the mobile phone and is connected for navigation and maybe some streaming to entertain kids for long train rides. When I am out on the cold streets in winter trying to figure out which direction to head to, immediate mobile data is necessary for me. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 2:52 PM, Kxbc said: you have to balance searching for free wifi and password with 3 people in tow or just whip out the mobile phone and is connected for navigation and maybe some streaming to entertain kids for long train rides. When I am out on the cold streets in winter trying to figure out which direction to head to, immediate mobile data is necessary for me. Yeah that's why looking for fixed data plans... when I was in Europe I bought a SIM from EE for Β£32 for 20 GB and that lasted 30 days... and I barely used 3 GB over that period... considering I drove and used Google Maps every day every time were out... won't have energy to surf internet for fun... and also don't go overseas to surf internet... what a waste of time... so looking around for options... β‘ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...