Should men be the sole $$ contributor despite both working?

Icebrush79

i saw a rich guy, his wallet quite worn, but inside several pcs $1k notes

[sweatdrop]

Thats why i say rich man wallet all ke lian. Some rich man also no have wallet! They ask their bodyguard or PA to pay 1st...

you can. but it depends on what you set up the joint account for.

Me and my wife are both savers, so setting up a joint account is not really for saving.

In fact, for me, the main reason i set up a joint account is to encourage my wife to be more financially/fiscally involved...  [laugh]  [laugh]

Simply put, a joint account is set up to tackle everything that serves joint usage.

I contribute double of what my wife does towards the joint acc. So my view is that I have fulfilled my part.
Of course I don't dump all the household chores, taking care of kid, etc on her.

We have a maid, and things that the maid doesn't do, I play my fair share to shoulder these responsibilities with my wife.

yah lor...........all their wallet sibei ke lian............I dont even have a wallet...............even more ke lian............... [bigcry]  [bigcry]  [bigcry]

mai ke ke hor...you probably like my indonesian richie guy

no wallet

pocket cash gao gao

he said in indonesian currency so many zeros, cant put in wallet

in sg, S$ also put in pocket

go out, bill over $200 he paid in cash

unlike peasant me , below $100 also must luk card..jin pai mia

I take a slightly more practical approach. I study the statistics and in any society, generally, women outlive men. So majority of my assets and Bank accounts are under my spouse name, unless the few with joint account.

I think women feel more secure as they Age knowing they control the money.

I am guessing most people get married till death do us part. But for some incompatibility is reality.

In short do what makes it work for you rather than trying to follow everyone else.

I paid for everything...........what I earns pays for everything. What my wife earns, goes to her own pocket. I hate it.

Even for meals that my wife tabao for me, she will ask me to pay her back!!! Ya, $5.25 for example, she expects me to pay her back to the cent. Cannot owe her a single cent. She not paying for anything.  [smallcry] She say her father and mother also like that.

Is your wife an accountant?

My fren once told me that last time when in univ, those accounts students at NTU, sometimes cannot stay in hostels so have to rent rooms at Jurong West to stay. And the accounts classmates very particular one, everything must count until zhun zhun... just like what you said....

Now decades later i hear this...  [laugh]

yah lor...........all their wallet sibei ke lian............I dont even have a wallet...............even more ke lian............... [bigcry]  [bigcry]  [bigcry]

my boss also no wallet, he just have this in the pocket...

041_money-940x626.jpg

Wah. suan someone making 600k p.a.

You must be up there too [thumbsup]

No leh sadly I'm not even close boo hoo...

But I'll never dare suan any Singaporean while sitting in his car, even if he's my best friend. That's how proud we are of our rides hahaha....

Really?

I guess there's some element of trust bah. Anyway i purchase almost everything except odd things that my wife pays first.

For me, i put $ in so that motivate her at least to manage her own $ or expenditure.

Before this, her mother holds her passbooks and her ATM card ... [shocked]-_-

My wife spends what she needs via her credit card which I handle. She also gets cash from me for cash expenditures. Ditto for my daughter's school pocket money.

i.e. I pay for everything, similar to both Sp4wn and you.

I don't think its being calculative or not. Sure, some may view this as being calculative. 
But practically speaking, this is an issue that nobody loves to talk about before marriage and it comes back and haunt the couple of it is not ironed out in the first place.

this is true, it is better to have an agreement up front and then they can work on the give and take basis depends on the amount, the bottom line is whenever there was a dispute, couple must agree that there should not be any hard feeling.

The wife and me don't have a joint account. Seen too many incidents of couples trying to make sure they use more of the joint account money than their spouse. Almost game theory like behaviour i.e. Prisoners dilemma.

the usage of our joint account is very strict. If one decides to add on other unapproved bills, we discuss first. And my wife has the atm card.

I paid for everything...........what I earns pays for everything. What my wife earns, goes to her own pocket. I hate it.

Even for meals that my wife tabao for me, she will ask me to pay her back!!! Ya, $5.25 for example, she expects me to pay her back to the cent. Cannot owe her a single cent. She not paying for anything.  [smallcry] She say her father and mother also like that.

I trust that you really do love her alot to agree to this arrangement. I faced the same issue when we discussed the subject of financial responsibilities and that was nearly the deal breaker.

Like your wifey, my wife also says her family works like that, but I explained to her that we need not follow, we forge our own family, not follow what was passed down.
Inversely, my family and almost everyone I know works on joint contribution.

My dad is a businessman, he had his bad days and he was nearly bankrupt before, and my mom the main breadwinner during those dark days. Thankfully, dad turned things around.
And besides being the main breadwinner, she had to still tahan my dad's MCP ways... She even paid for his car back then and slogged to teach night classes after her usual banking 9-5 job. 

So like I said, nothing wrong with both school of thoughts, but I strongly uphold that once this issue has been discussed and a solution agreed upon, the both party should not bring it out again and be resentful or KPKB about the issue.
This is something I would really hate. 

mai ke ke hor...you probably like my indonesian richie guy

no wallet

pocket cash gao gao

he said in indonesian currency so many zeros, cant put in wallet

in sg, S$ also put in pocket

go out, bill over $200 he paid in cash

unlike peasant me , below $100 also must luk card..jin pai mia

you good liao.................below $10 also I ask can pay by card or not...............then I slowly pay by installment..............I is sibei jin pai mia.............. [bigcry]  [bigcry]  [bigcry]