Vratenza Supersonic October 16, 2017 Share October 16, 2017 Just like a driver getting behind the wheels of a car, he suddenly becomes a road rage monster if tickled in the right way. Education and strict enforcement keeps the road civil (most of the time anyway) I say the same goes to anyone who gets onto their own mobility devices such as motorcycle, bicycles, and these days escooters. Just like how how driving license sieve out those who cannot drive for nuts. (PHV is another topic for another day). Stricter enforcement will sieve out those who do not treat these PMD with respect they deserve. PMD might not be potential devices that kills, they sure are potential devices that can maim and disfigure. With stricter enforcement, you will sieve out those teenagers (and some immature adults) with deeper pockets and just want to zip around the neighbourhood in their modified PMD for the thrills. With the filtration of those black sheeps, you are left with a population of more responsible and mature PMD users. Those who are serious about recreational use or those using it as a form of transport will have no issues with increased enforcement and penalty. How to improve the teenager's etiquette/behaviour? Complete ban would it help? Nope. a vast network of CCTVs would it help? Nope. A "mata" walking around fining everyone he sees for "bad behaviour? Would it help? Debatable even. Like i said before, he probably wasn't even traveling at more than 10+ kph in the walkway, so a limit on top speed only impacts the speed demons but doesn't improve such behaviour. I will also err on the side of caution but other than a complete ban, would enforcement help? If he was riding a foldable mini bicycle, would u have done anything differently? I tell my kids, bicycles are dangerous. So always stay to one side when u hear bicycle bells. by all extension, same behaviour when u see PMDs. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 16, 2017 Share October 16, 2017 I give you a personal experience with these ecooters. You know those old narrow conserved shop houses walkways? I have to use them almost daily as they are in between my home and the nearest amenities. I walk with my son in hand side by side just nice filling the walkway width. straight ahead a few shops down is this teenager on escooter coming towards us at faster than running speed. As he got nearer, I see that he has no intention to slow down to dismount to negotiate the potential meetup point, I quickly pull my son behind me and stop right there, bracing for impact if he did not managed to squeeze pass me. Luckily he did manage to squeeze pass but not before brushing my T-shirt sleeve. IT was that close. You can say that if I had not stopped and create a space for him to squeeze pass me, he would have stopped and dismount anyway.....how can I assume that? How to put my own son's safety in the hands of a total stranger whom I have no confidence of him doing the right thing? On the other hand, I have encountered an ang moh lady on bicycle trying to cycled down the same corridor, when I saw her, I stood one side with my boy and signalled for her to pass. Instead she dismounted and beckon for me and my son to go pass her instead before she got on her way. Once if these days, somebody will crash into some gangsterThen kena chop 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 16, 2017 Share October 16, 2017 Just like a driver getting behind the wheels of a car, he suddenly becomes a road rage monster if tickled in the right way. Education and strict enforcement keeps the road civil (most of the time anyway) I say the same goes to anyone who gets onto their own mobility devices such as motorcycle, bicycles, and these days escooters. Just like how how driving license sieve out those who cannot drive for nuts. (PHV is another topic for another day). Stricter enforcement will sieve out those who do not treat these PMD with respect they deserve. PMD might not be potential devices that kills, they sure are potential devices that can maim and disfigure. With stricter enforcement, you will sieve out those teenagers (and some immature adults) with deeper pockets and just want to zip around the neighbourhood in their modified PMD for the thrills. With the filtration of those black sheeps, you are left with a population of more responsible and mature PMD users. Those who are serious about recreational use or those using it as a form of transport will have no issues with increased enforcement and penalty. maybe the traffic safety park at east coast for children should involve PMD (Dunno if already done so). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic October 16, 2017 Share October 16, 2017 How to improve the teenager's etiquette/behaviour? Complete ban would it help? Nope. a vast network of CCTVs would it help? Nope. A "mata" walking around fining everyone he sees for "bad behaviour? Would it help? Debatable even. Like i said before, he probably wasn't even traveling at more than 10+ kph in the walkway, so a limit on top speed only impacts the speed demons but doesn't improve such behaviour. I will also err on the side of caution but other than a complete ban, would enforcement help? If he was riding a foldable mini bicycle, would u have done anything differently? I tell my kids, bicycles are dangerous. So always stay to one side when u hear bicycle bells. by all extension, same behaviour when u see PMDs. Old school method. Up enforcement and take away his toy again and again, til it hurts his pocket. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 16, 2017 Share October 16, 2017 Old school method. Up enforcement and take away his toy again and again, til it hurts his pocket. Practically speaking. 1) No licence plate (at least for scooters), so difficult to identify individual scooter. Haha my wife on a uniwheel probably don't need a licence plate. 2) The locations can be very diverse and without car cams, how to pick up. None of us walk around with a xiaoyi camera mounted on our heads. I mean using CCTV to track actual crimes like hit & run i guess is ok, but to track "wah u cut very close to me" situations? 3) Unless illegal parking of e-scooters (but now there's 100 times more badly parked bicycles) is an issue whereby someone can impound it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic October 16, 2017 Share October 16, 2017 How to improve the teenager's etiquette/behaviour? Complete ban would it help? Nope. a vast network of CCTVs would it help? Nope. A "mata" walking around fining everyone he sees for "bad behaviour? Would it help? Debatable even. Like i said before, he probably wasn't even traveling at more than 10+ kph in the walkway, so a limit on top speed only impacts the speed demons but doesn't improve such behaviour. I will also err on the side of caution but other than a complete ban, would enforcement help? If he was riding a foldable mini bicycle, would u have done anything differently? I tell my kids, bicycles are dangerous. So always stay to one side when u hear bicycle bells. by all extension, same behaviour when u see PMDs. Teach the parents first! Teenage behavior stems from the lack of etiquette taught by parents. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uncle2 Hypersonic October 16, 2017 Share October 16, 2017 Need to report him for threatening too. He should be educated. Threatening under police report, They can't do anything unless can provide his particulars. Only if I stop and call police then the police take action. Of course education the best way. 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Admiralty 4th Gear October 16, 2017 Share October 16, 2017 Teach the parents first! Teenage behavior stems from the lack of etiquette taught by parents.Precisely...Just yesterday,I drove by lobby to fetch my girl...right there on the road was a 3-4yrs old boy-boy on a kick-scooter. The amah chewing her breakfast not far away... I almost wanted honk at the amah...didnt do it caused am sure the boy-boy will shocked...wind down my window gestured to amah..."what the fxxk"... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic October 17, 2017 Author Share October 17, 2017 Not yet got replies from the LTA Monkeys....let's see how long will they take... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutrino Supercharged October 18, 2017 Share October 18, 2017 Teach the parents first! Teenage behavior stems from the lack of etiquette taught by parents. I usually agree with this but then I think that the parents who are so useless at teaching their children and letting them do anything they like were taught by parents who were stricter and came from a society/community which was conscious of others. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Admiralty 4th Gear October 18, 2017 Share October 18, 2017 Once if these days, somebody will crash into some gangster Then kena chop The darker side in some drivers...including myself...want to run these gangsters over.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoseyboh Twincharged October 18, 2017 Share October 18, 2017 (edited) Not yet got replies from the LTA Monkeys....let's see how long will they take... Edited October 18, 2017 by Hoseyboh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic October 18, 2017 Share October 18, 2017 The darker side in some drivers...including myself...want to run these gangsters over.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 19, 2017 Share October 19, 2017 Let the authorities ban all these nuisance. How the relevant authorities going to enforce the ban when the relevant authorities can't even enforce the current rule. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic October 19, 2017 Share October 19, 2017 How the relevant authorities going to enforce the ban when the relevant authorities can't even enforce the current rule.If they can't even be bothered to enforce the current rules, then ban it, rather than letting the nuisance to continue and letting the problems continue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 19, 2017 Share October 19, 2017 If they can't even be bothered to enforce the current rules, then ban it, rather than letting the nuisance to continue and letting the problems continue. Sorry hor, if relevant authorities can't enforce the current rules, are you sure they gonna enforce the ban? Rule without enforcement is paper tiger. All you talk about is BAN. Who's gonna enforce the ban? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic October 19, 2017 Share October 19, 2017 Sorry hor, if relevant authorities can't enforce the current rules, are you sure they gonna enforce the ban? Rule without enforcement is paper tiger. All you talk about is BAN. Who's gonna enforce the ban? Remember chewing gum? How difficult it was to catch people who stick their gums everywhere, from parks to train doors? In the end, it was completely banned and hardly ever can see the problem of sticky gums everywhere. These PMDs are hard to enforce because I believe it's hard to track them down because they are not licensed, and probably there are no / not enough resources to enforce them. So why not just solve the problem like chewing gums, ban them once and for all and divert the resources and attention to other problems instead? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 19, 2017 Share October 19, 2017 Remember chewing gum? How difficult it was to catch people who stick their gums everywhere, from parks to train doors? In the end, it was completely banned and hardly ever can see the problem of sticky gums everywhere. These PMDs are hard to enforce because I believe it's hard to track them down because they are not licensed, and probably there are no / not enough resources to enforce them. So why not just solve the problem like chewing gums, ban them once and for all and divert the resources and attention to other problems instead? That day I brought in 10 bottles of chewing gum kena caught :( ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...