Singapore to Fail without PAP?

Aventador

Their obscene salaries have been mentioned.

Shuld implement a mini-star celery levy to their obscene salaries and let them have a taste of their own medicine.

This topic is a lengthy discussion.

To ask would SGP fail without PAP, first we have to ask if PAP would fail as a government. Many people are not happy with a lot of policies here and there currently but generally people also feel that PAP is doing at 55% passing mark and above, maybe 60% or 65%? To compare them to the recent Malaysia election outcome is a complete unfair and irrelevant comparison.

To replace PAP, first there has to be a strong non-ruling party with enough elite that could take over as a government , fact is there isnt one currently. While we know the currently new PAP backfill is weak, if we really go line up any of the non-ruling party, yes they have good candidates but we will quickly realise that they dont have enough smart people to form a government.

So for another party to take over as government in a GE, it will take time and it will not happen in the next one or two GE. My shallow thoughts.

need to have ex-PM to lead the oppo... hehe... 

I propose another voting regime for the coming GE...

Below is the proposed ballot paper with the checkboxes for us to tick:

Box 1: 100% PAP representation in the parliament/gahmen

Box 2: 80% PAP representation in the parliament/gahmen

Box 3: 60% PAP representation in the gahmen

Box 4: 40% PAP representation in the gahmen

Box 5: 20% PAP

Box 6: 100% opposition in the gahmen

What do you guys think? Once the majority of sinkie citizens have selected the ideal PAP representation, then PAP, WP, SDP, RP etc candidates can come out and fill the seats accordingly. 

This is also democracy right? This voting scheme allows those people who are like me who are pro PAP to still let them retain power and yet still have some form of opposition in the gahmen.

Can work? Can suggest to Reach.gov? [:p]

Bro Ravinge and Thaoyotakamli / Ingenius bros..can work?

Btw I suspect Box 3 will be the most popular option. :D

interesting suggestion... can tie the % representation based on overall % of votes received also... 

there is only 1 ex-PM........

esmgoh.jpg

erm....

NAH...thanks but no thanks.......I'll pass  :D

need to have ex-PM to lead the oppo... hehe... 

Edited by Vratenza

Their obscene salaries have been mentioned.

Like I said before this one seems impossible, so let's target other things 1st.

That's the reason why I keep emphasize on reducing government spending as I am 100% sure many still can be reduced further.

Really shake head when government keep give reasons why need to raise taxes and gst but No ONE not even opposition party mentioned need to reduce government expenditures, opposition party only mentioned about ministers salaries. Reduce ministers salaries is one thing, reduce government expenditures is another set of big picture.

I think pm should set a good example.. If there is another similar case like the 880k bin centre. Those involved including ministers will get demoted.

This is to send strong signals to all people working in government agencies including ministers on the consequences of anyhow spend money.

Maybe government should also announce in the news what had they done to reduce government expenditures and make it a habit.. Then habit is spread to all government agencies, saf, police force and etc.. How good it can be.

Edited by Yewheng

but aiya don't know how to explain lah. tell you guys so many time the reasons for the bin centre and why we need general to manage MRT still don't understand.

see lucky got them, otherwise end up like 1MDB.

interesting suggestion... can tie the % representation based on overall % of votes received also... 

Unfortunately the current system doesnt work like you suggested..cos the last time round 30% dissent votes didnt translate into 30% seats for the oppos... 

so there is room to change the existing system...

of course the pappies wont want it cos straight away people will make them lose their 2/3 majority if we use such a system...so they will strongly insist on the current GRC system.. [furious]  

That's the reason why I keep emphasize on reducing government spending as I am 100% sure many still can be reduced further.

Really shake head when government keep give reasons why need to raise taxes and gst but No ONE not even opposition party mentioned need to reduce government expenditures, opposition party only mentioned about ministers salaries. Reduce ministers salaries is one thing, reduce government expenditures is another set of big picture.

Haha got leh my fren..WP proposed before to do away with the ceremonial figurehead of the Elected President...

do away with it since it is a chobor role and wastes taz payers money...

eliminate this useless role so as to reduce gahmen expenditures...

counted boh?  :D

Edited by Kyrios

Like I said before this one seems impossible, so let's target other things 1st.

I think pm should set a good example.. If there is another similar case like the 880k bin centre. Those involved including ministers will get demoted.

This is to send strong signals to all people working in government agencies including ministers on the consequences of anyhow spend money.

Maybe government should also announce in the news what had they done to reduce government expenditures and make it a habit.. Then habit is spread to all government agencies, saf, police force and etc.. How good it can be.

If they can't be prudent and cut expenses for unnecessary expenditures in the first place, how to expect them to reduce the necessary expenditures for the aspects that are more important?

They can justify the higher spendings with many reasons which some are valid, but not those for unnecessary spendings.

Unfortunately the current system doesnt work like you suggested..cos the last time round 30% dissent votes didnt translate into 30% seats for the oppos... 

so there is room to change the existing system...

of course the pappies wont want it cos straight away people will make them lose their 2/3 majority if we use such a system...so they will strongly insist on the current GRC system.. [furious]  

haha just wishful thinking on our parts... incumbent will not change to a system that weakens or does not benefit them. 

Why general no good?

CEO is just another name for general manager of a rail company right?

This is a real general manager.

Similar yes prior to our 2 countries breakup ; but our pillars of vision are different from them; They have side tracked with many kinds of over extra freebies that favour certain groups of people, Bumi's - until the PM also admits now akeen to "lesen selling/ collecting royalties"   (Might I add that Malaysia might be the only Country in the World whereby Majorities are more protected and given Special rights than minorities) I need not go into details for this, besides it does not favour meritocracy too, much if at all,  - its all too deeply entrenched in them now;  All the Creme de la creme would have migrated out already to other countries, Singapore included. 

Just sharing my $0.02   

my personal summary

unless the ruling party recognized that citizens have grown up and should stop treating citizens like children, eventually they will be in for a rude shock

many cannot accept that Malaysia 14th GE will happen here, but if you push citizens too much (SG citizens are less vocal) the coming GE may be worse than that seen in Malaysia, never say never, just like who would believe Malaysia 14th GE.

maybe not in our lifetime but I believe eventually we will merge with Malaysia be it politically, socially or economically, because the two nations with the current change are becoming more similar

Edited by BanCoe

Military personnels generally make very poor management individuals in the private sector. Some may feel I am generalizing, but I also have a whole group of private business owners whom tend to agree with me.

The army was never built for profit, so a general whom had been serving 40 to 50 years under this sort of environment, often proves to be lacking when trying to balance profit and duty. However, they are excellent choices for operational efficiency and nothing more than that.

I met a few retired military men who are keen to invest in startup companies with their pension fund as well. Having spoken to them one-on-one, I deemed them not suitable to even be investors in the private sector. They simply have no clue about taking business risks and at least 3 out of 5 "demanded" a fixed return every year. Particularly so, the highest risks exist in startups and growth companies. Just had to politely decline them and suggested that they are better off with Government bonds.

yes we get your point :XD: 

Before I go into my views on what happens to Singapore if there is a change in government, let us look at how Parliament works.
In Singapore, Parliament consists of 89 MPs. 

In an Election, the party with a simple majority (45 MPs or more) will form the government.
And the Leader of the winning party will become the Prime Minister, and he will select the Cabinet from the MPs in his party.

The Cabinet is supposed to consist of the PM, DPM, and 15 Ministers (heading 15 ministries). So 17 key persons.

[Current cabinet got 19 people, because got extra DPM and extra minister in PM office]

The 15 ministries are:

Defence
Finance
Trade and Industry
Manpower
National Development
Education
Transport
Law
Home Affairs
Health
Foreign Affairs
Environment
Communications & Info
Social & Family
Culture & Community

To me, the important people are these 17 people. 
The rest of the MPs are candy floss, light and fluffy with no substance. Many of them hold full time jobs outside and 1000 directorships. And don’t even bother to attend most of the sessions.

It is not just these 19 people heading the various ministries, there are more (another 20 to be precise)!!

Minister of State (11)

- Maliki Osman, Defence & Foreign Affairs

- Heng Chee How, Defence

- Sam Tan, Foreign Affairs & Social and Family Development

- Koh Poh Koon, Trade and Industry

- Chee Hong Tat, Trade and Industry & Education

- Zaqy Mohamad, Manpower & National Development

- Lam Pin Min, Transport & Health

- Janil Puthucheary, Transport & Communications and Information

- Sim Ann, Communications and Information & Culture, Community and Youth

- Amy Khor, Environment and Water Resources & Health

- Edwin Tong, Law & Health

Parliamentary Secretaries (6)

- Tan Wu Meng, Foreign Affairs & Trade and Industry

- Amrin Amin, Home Affairs & Health

- Sun Xueling, Home Affairs & National Development

- Low Yen Ling, Manpower & Education

- Baey Yam Keng, Transport & Culture, Community and Youth

- Muhammad Faishal Ibrahim, Education & Social and Family Development

Speaker & Deputy Speakers (3)

- Tan Chuan Jin

- Charles Chong

- Lim Biow Chuan

And not too long ago, we also have Senior Ministers (SM) and Minister Mentor (MM)... ...

It is not just these 19 people heading the various ministries, there are more (another 20 to be precise)!!

Minister of State (11)

- Maliki Osman, Defence & Foreign Affairs

- Heng Chee How. Defence

- Sam Tan, Foreign Affairs & Social and Family Development

- Koh Poh Koon, Trade and Industry

- Chee Hong Tat, Trade and Industry & Education

- Zaqy Mohamad, Manpower & National Development

- Lam Pin Min, Transport & Health

- Janil Puthucheary, Transport & Communications and Information

- Sim Ann, Communications and Information & Culture, Community and Youth

- Amy Khor, Environment and Water Resources & Health

- Edwin Tong, Law & Health

Parliamentary Secretaries (6)

- Tan Wu Meng, Foreign Affairs & Trade and Industry

- Amrin Amin, Home Affairs & Health

- Sun Xueling, Home Affairs & National Development

- Low Yen Ling, Manpower & Education

- Baey Yam Keng, Transport & Culture, Community and Youth

- Muhammad Faishal Ibrahim, Education & Social and Family Development

Speaker & Deputy Speakers (3)

- Tan Chuan Jin

- Charles Chong

- Lim Biow Chuan

These people are not in the cabinet.

http://www.pmo.gov.sg/the-cabinet

These people are not in the cabinet.

http://www.pmo.gov.sg/the-cabinet

I know they are not in the cabinet, but they are sort of the deputy to the ministers and also key appoint holder, the way I look at it. And with the extra portfolio, they are paid not just the MP allowances, but a lot more. E.g. Speaker of Parliment is paid S$550,000 P.A.

And I just remember yet another few "key" appointment holder:

- President ( ‎S$1,568,900 P.A.)

- Council of Presidential Advisers (10 members in total)