Hangzhou, Shanghai Disneyland, Shanghai, Suzhou Holiday DIY

Boringchap

On 3/30/2025 at 5:03 PM, teomingern said:

They exported all their trash to us?

Don't blame them lah.

Look at those 100% Singaporean kid, just throwing litter as they like.  At HDB lift lobby or condo lift lobby when the rubbish bin is just a few steps away.

This is all the parents education problems.

On 3/30/2025 at 6:01 PM, Heartlander said:

To be precise, is 2张1.35米双人床 and 30m². You can click the link to see more details.:    Sight繁枝·静奢双床房(享绿野氧吧全景阔窗+全屋智控+高定版零压深睡床垫+80S防螨抑菌亲肤布草)

https://hotels.ctrip.com/hotels/detail?hotelId=110631164&checkIn=2025-03-30&checkOut=2025-03-31

I would highly recommend this hotel if keen to visit 黄山。The hotel got onsite tour counter to explain the routes and buy the necessary tickets be it entrance, transit eco bus, ropeway etc. Don't believe go read the reviews.

Oh nice... this is one place I may want to visit in China... still fashionable to visit Jiuzhaigou from Huang Shan after that devastating earthquake in 2008 or not?

Actually hor... 1.35 m bed is like super single? It looked like 2 king beds... I can't see more cos I don't have an account...

Edited by teomingern

On 3/30/2025 at 7:05 PM, Tohto said:

Don't blame them lah.

Look at those 100% Singaporean kid, just throwing litter as they like.  At HDB lift lobby or condo lift lobby when the rubbish bin is just a few steps away.

This is all the parents education problems.

Adults also equally bad behaviour lor...

On 3/30/2025 at 7:10 PM, teomingern said:

Oh nice... this is one place I may want to visit in China... still fashionable to visit Jiuzhaigou from Huang Shan after that devastating earthquake in 2008 or not?

Actually hor... 1.35 m bed is like super single? It looked like 2 king beds... I can't see more cos I don't have an account...

Jiuzhaigou is about 24 hours by train from Huang Shan leh, you sure this is a fashionable thing to do? The beds look like double bed and very comfortable to sleep on.

I would very strongly recommend you to create an account with the ctrip.com to access the wealth of info on China, if you intend to visit China DIY style. You can use it to book hotel room, plane tickets, train rides, tours etc etc. It is a sister site of trip.com and booking.com, and very widely used by Chinese locals. If you do not know Chinese well, then trip.com is the next best alternative.

https://www.trip.com/hotels/huangshan-hotel-detail-110631164/huangshan-yilong-anyue-hotel-huangshan-scenic-area-south-gate-transfer-center/?locale=en-XX&curr=SGD

On 3/30/2025 at 7:48 PM, Heartlander said:

Jiuzhaigou is about 24 hours by train from Huang Shan leh, you sure this is a fashionable thing to do? The beds look like double bed and very comfortable to sleep on.

I would very strongly recommend you to create an account with the ctrip.com to access the wealth of info on China, if you intend to visit China DIY style. You can use it to book hotel room, plane tickets, train rides, tours etc etc. It is a sister site of trip.com and booking.com, and very widely used by Chinese locals. If you do not know Chinese well, then trip.com is the next best alternative.

https://www.trip.com/hotels/huangshan-hotel-detail-110631164/huangshan-yilong-anyue-hotel-huangshan-scenic-area-south-gate-transfer-center/?locale=en-XX&curr=SGD

Trip.com basically is a English version of Ctrip. 

On 3/30/2025 at 8:31 PM, Tohto said:

Trip.com basically is a English version of Ctrip. 

yes, like titktok and rednote

1 cater for outside prc , 1 cater for inside prc

use trip.com to book anything outside prc ... price is competitive because to compete with international portals like booking/agoda/etc

use ctrip.com (100% in chinese) to book inbound to prc ... the site is mainly used by prc for local and outbound

On 3/30/2025 at 7:48 PM, Heartlander said:

I can read Chinese... just that the technical terms I don't understand... got to google lar... so a bit troublesome...

Oh fashionable as in visiting Jiuzhaigou... it was a super hot destination in the past... I always wanted to visit cos of the photo opportunities... there used to be a tour itinerary from Super Travels I think that had Huang Shan with Jiuzhaigou in a 10-14 day trip... I think they used buses and they stopped at strategic places along the way or something like that... I didn't pay much attention then (was concentrating on visiting Europe then), but heard a lot of about it on tv and also from friends and family who went...

Yeah I'll probably tackle China in the not too distant future... the development is pretty amazing... my memory of China is not particularly representative since I went to ulu Ningxia in the northwestern region... very poor... we fly into Chengdu, then took another flight into Yinchuan and a long bus ride into Yanchi... we didn't get to see Chengdu then but had one day in Yinchuan city... and that was about all the R&R we got... the food wasn't really very memorable getting to eat plain rice porridge with wolfberries for every breakfast with pickles...

On 3/30/2025 at 8:39 PM, Wt_know said:

yes, like titktok and rednote

1 cater for outside prc , 1 cater for inside prc

use trip.com to book anything outside prc ... price is competitive because to compete with international portals like booking/agoda/etc

use ctrip.com (100% in chinese) to book inbound to prc ... the site is mainly used by prc for local and outbound

Thanks bro! I always find Trip.com a bit dodgy at the beginning... so that impression stuck... I must spend some time to explore the site... good to shop around to get better deals... I used to use Booking.com almost exclusively but recently found that Agoda sometimes was slightly cheaper or offered places or options I can't get at Booking.com... 

On 3/31/2025 at 11:25 AM, teomingern said:

I can read Chinese... just that the technical terms I don't understand... got to google lar... so a bit troublesome...

Oh fashionable as in visiting Jiuzhaigou... it was a super hot destination in the past... I always wanted to visit cos of the photo opportunities... there used to be a tour itinerary from Super Travels I think that had Huang Shan with Jiuzhaigou in a 10-14 day trip... I think they used buses and they stopped at strategic places along the way or something like that... I didn't pay much attention then (was concentrating on visiting Europe then), but heard a lot of about it on tv and also from friends and family who went...

Yeah I'll probably tackle China in the not too distant future... the development is pretty amazing... my memory of China is not particularly representative since I went to ulu Ningxia in the northwestern region... very poor... we fly into Chengdu, then took another flight into Yinchuan and a long bus ride into Yanchi... we didn't get to see Chengdu then but had one day in Yinchuan city... and that was about all the R&R we got... the food wasn't really very memorable getting to eat plain rice porridge with wolfberries for every breakfast with pickles...

九寨沟 should visit from Chengdu,  which is the nearest big city. 

SQ has direct flight to Chengdu. 

On 3/31/2025 at 11:26 AM, teomingern said:

Thanks bro! I always find Trip.com a bit dodgy at the beginning... so that impression stuck... I must spend some time to explore the site... good to shop around to get better deals... I used to use Booking.com almost exclusively but recently found that Agoda sometimes was slightly cheaper or offered places or options I can't get at Booking.com... 

Going to china Trip.com or Ctrip is the one to use. 

You buy everything from there including park ticket. 

Edited by Tohto

i always use booking.com .... i stop using agoda.com

although both own by the same boss

the difference between booking.com and agoda.com are 

booking.com act as a "platform" that book the room for you. you have a direct "transaction" with the hotel

agoda.com is a "reseller" ... what it does is buy the room from hotel cheaply and resell to you 

you have no transaction with the hotel ... any dispute especially when you reach the hotel ... 

hotel ask you to deal with agoda ... even at a situation there is no room for you

booking.com = book direct

agoda = give you voucher aka agoda is the booker and resell to you 

i have encounter a situation that i use agoda, i reach the hotel, check in that time ... my booking for the "suite" was not there

ding ding dong dong ... show them email ... show them voucher ... then hotel manager let us check in on goodwill 

they eventually settle with agoda

that's the reason why agoda price slightly cheaper than booking.com ... they buy in bulk cheaply in advance

i believe that apply AI or something like dynamic pricing to find what sell at what time (season)

On 3/31/2025 at 11:33 AM, Wt_know said:

i always use booking.com .... i stop using agoda.com

although both own by the same boss

the difference between booking.com and agoda.com are 

booking.com act as a "platform" that book the room for you. you have a direct "transaction" with the hotel

agoda.com is a "reseller" ... what it does is buy the room from hotel cheaply and resell to you 

you have no transaction with the hotel ... any dispute especially when you reach the hotel ... 

hotel ask you to deal with agoda ... even at a situation there is no room for you

booking.com = book direct

agoda = give you voucher aka agoda is the booker and resell to you 

i have encounter a situation that i use agoda, i reach the hotel, check in that time ... my booking for the "suite" was not there

ding ding dong dong ... show them email ... show them voucher ... then hotel manager let us check in on goodwill 

they eventually settle with agoda

that's the reason why agoda price slightly cheaper than booking.com ... they buy in bulk cheaply in advance

i believe that apply AI or something like dynamic pricing to find what sell at what time (season)

Oh? That's good know... didn't know that at all...

Also find Hotels.com dodgy... in the end always just go back to Booking.com... 

I have booked using Trip esp for air tickets (different airlines to and fro, multiple cities). Seems to be most competitive and most options. On Wednesday youtrip cards have further cashback. 

On 3/31/2025 at 2:02 PM, Wt_know said:

shanghai street seems very "quiet" or you go out super early? 

:grin:

I don't walk tourists district like 南京东路, 城隍庙.

On 3/31/2025 at 12:54 PM, Volvobrick said:

I have booked using Trip esp for air tickets (different airlines to and fro, multiple cities). Seems to be most competitive and most options. On Wednesday youtrip cards have further cashback. 

Ah... that's what I am a bit concerned about... cos buying air tickets is always dodgy on third party platforms... worried about overbooking or non-booking situations... difficult to dispute with the airline... especially angmo airline... and with little kids... if you got good experience I think can try for regional trips...

I used trip.com for all my hotels and train bookings in China. I like the fact that they gave me free usage of the business class lounge on my transit and return trip back to SG. That was useful for rest and food.