Vehicle lay-up scheme

Kklim

On 12/1/2025 at 2:57 PM, Kklim said:

Anyone ever applied for this when on long holiday overseas? https://onemotoring.lta.gov.sg/content/onemotoring/home/owning/vehicle-lay-up.html

only makes sense if yours is a COE car... but sure can save a bit, but then die die must scrap to get the money back... unless you predict that the COE will be higher than when you come back, wont it be better to just sell it now?

Edited by Mkl22

On 12/1/2025 at 2:57 PM, Kklim said:

Anyone ever applied for this when on long holiday overseas? https://onemotoring.lta.gov.sg/content/onemotoring/home/owning/vehicle-lay-up.html

Good idea. Any coe car can be considered! 23 dollars application fees only 4 days of road tax in my case. Maybe will try for my next vacation and see how! 

Tried on the web for 10 plus days. Seems easy process to save a few dollars. Do note need to input "Garage Address". Private property no issue. No sure if HDB carpark can or not.

Screenshot2025-12-01151638.thumb.png.44642dcfdee8124cb54d98b188b64cbe.png

Edited by Volvobrick

On 12/1/2025 at 3:07 PM, Volvobrick said:

Good idea. Any coe car can be considered! 23 dollars application fees only 4 days of road tax in my case. Maybe will try for my next vacation and see how! 

Tried on the web for 10 plus days. Seems easy process to save a few dollars. Do note need to input "Garage Address". Private property no issue. No sure if HDB carpark can or not.

Screenshot2025-12-01151638.thumb.png.44642dcfdee8124cb54d98b188b64cbe.png

4 days of road tax is $58 dollar liao? 

On 12/1/2025 at 3:33 PM, kobayashiGT said:

4 days of road tax is $58 dollar liao? 

No lah not 6.0 V8! It's 10 days plus.

But then long time ago I did had a PARF car with that type of road tax!

Edited by Volvobrick

On 12/1/2025 at 3:36 PM, Volvobrick said:

No lah not 6.0 V8! It's 10 days plus.

But then long time ago I did had a PARF car with that type of road tax!

Ahhh. I see hahaha. I tot you have a hummer H2 or smth. hahahaha. 

On 12/1/2025 at 4:35 PM, Volvobrick said:

yeah - breakeven at 4 days!

Next time my boss ask me why take more days leave, i have a new reason to tell her. I need to make my vacation breakeven for my roadtax mah. hahahah 

Preferential Additional Registration Fee (PARF) rebate

A laid-up car loses its eligibility for Preferential Additional Registration Fee (PARF) benefits.

Did anyone read this part?🤭

Reminded me of this old joke. Hahahaha

Mr Singh walks into a bank London and asks for the loan officer.

He says he's going to Europe on business for two weeks and needs to borrow £5000. The bank officer says the bank will need some kind of security for the loan, so Mr Singh hands over the keys to a new Rolls Royce, which costs quarter of a million pounds.

“The car is parked on the street in front of the bank,” says Mr Singh, “and I have all the necessary papers.”

The bank officer agrees to accept the car as collateral for the loan. After Mr Singh leaves, the loan officer, the bank's president and all their colleagues enjoy a good laugh at the man for using a £250,000 Rolls Royce as collateral against a £5,000 loan.

One of the employees drives the Rolls into the bank's underground garage and parks it there. Two weeks later, Mr Singh returns, repays the £5000 and the interest, which comes to £15.41.

The loan officer says, "Sir, I must tell you, we’re all a little puzzled. While you were away, we checked you out and discovered that you’re a multimillionaire. Why would you bother to borrow £5,000?"

The man replies, "Where else in London can I park my car for two weeks for only £15.41?"

On 12/1/2025 at 5:07 PM, Kangadrool said:

COE cars no issue.

Any implication on COE refund if car is slaughtered earlier - any refund for COE balance?

You get back the prorated coe during the time the car was laid up. But this is only if you scrap the car before the end of its current coe. 

On 12/1/2025 at 5:13 PM, SGMCF328 said:

Reminded me of this old joke. Hahahaha

Mr Singh walks into a bank London and asks for the loan officer.

He says he's going to Europe on business for two weeks and needs to borrow £5000. The bank officer says the bank will need some kind of security for the loan, so Mr Singh hands over the keys to a new Rolls Royce, which costs quarter of a million pounds.

“The car is parked on the street in front of the bank,” says Mr Singh, “and I have all the necessary papers.”

The bank officer agrees to accept the car as collateral for the loan. After Mr Singh leaves, the loan officer, the bank's president and all their colleagues enjoy a good laugh at the man for using a £250,000 Rolls Royce as collateral against a £5,000 loan.

One of the employees drives the Rolls into the bank's underground garage and parks it there. Two weeks later, Mr Singh returns, repays the £5000 and the interest, which comes to £15.41.

The loan officer says, "Sir, I must tell you, we’re all a little puzzled. While you were away, we checked you out and discovered that you’re a multimillionaire. Why would you bother to borrow £5,000?"

The man replies, "Where else in London can I park my car for two weeks for only £15.41?"

Can bring my BMW & Camry to DBS.?