The legend - 金庸 RIP

Yeshe

andy lau that series got show on ch8 .

i dun know wat its call, SBC that time i think? 

ok, then it is 射雕 that was not shown on SBC ch 8. I watched it on video tape [laugh]

So would I, so would I...

Super smart chioh bu go through life and death situations for you leh...

He also knew he wasn't the commander of the army lah. He's just the figurehead. And he would eventually have been killed off.

Well said...

guess he wasn't completely blur F all his life after all [smash]

His loyalty made him a hero in my eyes. That's why he quit the 江湖 in the end because he cannot please both sides. Also he is the main lead which is such a refreshing change compared to all his other novels.

i didn't read the ending. Haha got disgusted and stopped at volume 4 (think it's a 5 volume)

I also bought from China, a full set for my son. [laugh]  Not easy to get younger generation to be interested in Chinese novels these days. He watched a bit of the TV series so he got more interested. Actually, wuxia is somewhat similar to the fantasy genre of the West. It's all about how the underdog hero fights the powerful villain with his newfound magical powers.

yes. I usually only read fantasy and wu xia for fiction.

I also bought from China, a full set for my son. [laugh]  Not easy to get younger generation to be interested in Chinese novels these days. He watched a bit of the TV series so he got more interested. Actually, wuxia is somewhat similar to the fantasy genre of the West. It's all about how the underdog hero fights the powerful villain with his newfound magical powers.

Sad :TT_TT:

Read all his novels multiple times during my youth. I still remember the first time reading å天屠é¾è¨, and was pleasantly surprised by a world of heroes, sword fights, ååï¼beauties, brotherhood and kinship. His stories were so beautiful it still left a very deep impression 30 years on, almost becoming like legacies. Liked the way he described the ladies in his novels :wub:

I hope future generations continue to read his novels. Here are my top 5 ranking of his novels, protagonists and antagonists:

Favourite novels:

1. 天é¾å«é¨

2. ç¬å²æ±æ¹

3. ç¥éµ°ä¿ ä¾¶

4. å°éµ°è±éå³

5. å天屠é¾è¨

Favourite characters:

1. å¬å³°

2. 令çå²

3. æ¥é

4. é­é

5. 段譽

Favourite antagonists:

1. æ±æ¹ä¸æ

2. 䏿¥ç§

3. éè½®æ³ç

4. æå®¹å¤

5. å²³ä¸ç¾¤

武侠 spirit will continue forever! RIP the literary legend, é庸大å¸ï¼ :a-good:

Your favorite novel and character are very similar to me.

Yeah .. Jin Yong's style is sometimes called historical wu-xia genre. He likes to use historical events and characters in his stories. He even wrote accompanying historical notes. I believe a lot of bros first read about Jin (射雕,完颜康), Mongol (射雕,神雕,郭靖), Khitans (天龙八部,萧远山,萧峰), etc. from his stories.

The negative side of it, is that a lot of people confused actual documented history with Jin Yong's history, fiction and history got mixed up. It's not too different from people who are confused between 三国演义 (Romance of the Three Kingdoms, fiction) and 三国志 (History of the Three Kingdoms).

ya jinyong most popular series follow alot of history events.

actually i like those series that got nothing to do with history more.

if u read 梁羽生 series, he follow even more closely

The negative side of it, is that a lot of people confused actual documented history with Jin Yong's history, fiction and history got mixed up. It's not too different from people who are confused between 三国演义 (Romance of the Three Kingdoms, fiction) and 三国志 (History of the Three Kingdoms).

Honestly i dunno the difference. except the former is dramatised. 

Chinese history too complex haha  [laugh]

Regarding reading, actually not many singaporeans read regularly. Among my friends, I only got one friend who reads regularly. Me being a semi-regular reader. But he's hardcore.

Ehh, you should read this for fiction too...

post-167240-0-52470700-1540960789_thumb.jpeg

Edited by Hoseyboh

An example is in Jin Yong's novel, å°¹å¿å¹³ was a bad guy who raped å°é¾å¥³. In history, he was a disciple of ä¸å¤æº who later became å¨çæ leader. I think å¨çæ protested to Jin Yong, and then he later revised the story so he was no longer the rapist.

ä¸å¤æº in history, was well respected by Genghis Khan as an enlightened saint. He was invited to meet with him a few times in Mongolia. During their meeting, ä¸å¤æº plead with Genghis Khan for peace to save people from war and massacre.

Woo.

I dun know about these.

Honestly i dunno the difference. except the former is dramatised. 

Chinese history too complex haha  [laugh]

Regarding reading, actually not many singaporeans read regularly. Among my friends, I only got one friend who reads regularly. Me being a semi-regular reader. But he's hardcore.

to simplify the vesion we alway saw on tv or make into drama is the heroic vesion of the real history.

the real san guo zhi is in 文言文,

which is very hard to read.

dun know now got a simple vesion or not . [;)]

and frankly very few ppl  will read a story with no bad guys or hero.

Hey guys! You know what is the most repeated phrase in all these tv serial?

é¿å¼¥éä½

:XD:

Repeat until very funny. When monk guy appears, é¿å¼¥éä½ will appear

Sometime before monk guy comes, é¿å¼¥éä½ comes first :XD:

Ya, always followed by "Return head to the shore" something like that. Lol Edited by Ender

to simplify the vesion we alway saw on tv or make into drama is the heroic vesion of the real history.

the real san guo zhi is in 文言文,

which is very hard to read.

dun know now got a simple vesion or not . [;)]

and frankly very few ppl  will read a story with no bad guys or hero.

haha nowadays i just read wikipedia if i'm curious.