Lancer ex 1.6 can't accelerate

Han7407

wah didnt know new car lancer so much issue. looks like mitsubishi quality standard drop over the years?

Er... Mitsubishi bought over by Nissan if i am not wrong?

Yes brand new car, led taillamp only 1 year warranty seriously!

Hi.. My taillamp led is originally from C&C and I have been driving for 1 year plus and they told me my resistor has been cut!

I drove the same variant with you.

Make things simple... refers to your car log paper... Is LED TailLamp indicated on it?

Tailamp resistor has been cut???

Well, I did experienced it. (after 2.3 years upon collection)

However, the symptom is totally different.

My observation was the gear clicking whenever ACC is ON or P mode (Engine ON) after brake is depressed.

No issues with driving.

I sent in to CnC LK and they informed me that the resistor had dropped off.

They fixed it back and good till now.

Hopes above gives you some hints...

@Han7407 

On 1/18/2019 at 1:56 PM, Han7407 said:

Recently my car having this issue that it can't accerelate pass 40km/H and I have to release the pedal and step again in order to move and after a few minute I will cut off again, and this happen only on raining day, towded to C&C to have a check and the answer they gave me was my led taillamp resistor was cut away? And they said I had change the taillamp, I told the guy this led taillamp was original from C&C for 2016 model lancer ex, the issue is I been driving for the pass 1 year plus and this issue happen right after I service with them in December 2018, I didn't even touch my taillamp before how could the resistor cut away and the insisted me to change the whole taillamp for $800 plus in order not to have the same problem again, what I am not happy is about they accuse me for cutting it away, any bro can advise me what should I do? I am really lost for now

Hi Han, I recently bought a second hand Lancer Ex, and I am facing a similar problem. I cannot accelerate past 40km/h as well. I have just bought the car for 1.5month and it has already spent 3 weeks in the workshop. Previously the workshop told me is wiring error, spent 2 weeks re-wiring the car. Now tell me need to change the light.

If possible, I would like to ask you some questions on how you resolved this problem. Could you drop me a call at 91813300 please? Thank you

Edited by zuohao

On 9/20/2023 at 8:55 AM, zuohao said:

@Han7407 

Hi Han, I recently bought a second hand Lancer Ex, and I am facing a similar problem. I cannot accelerate past 40km/h as well. I have just bought the car for 1.5month and it has already spent 3 weeks in the workshop. Previously the workshop told me is wiring error, spent 2 weeks re-wiring the car. Now tell me need to change the light.

If possible, I would like to ask you some questions on how you resolved this problem. Could you drop me a call at 91813300 please? Thank you

TS already long disappeared liao. Maybe come here did not get answers and cannot tahan all the old birds chirping and he disappeared. Haha

Check if your led tail lamp resistor was cut away.

If cut away faster sew back on.

On 9/20/2023 at 9:55 AM, zuohao said:

@Han7407 

On 9/20/2023 at 9:55 AM, zuohao said:

@Han7407 

Do a diagnostic first. See what fault code then talk.

If that ws never even do a diagnostic for u. Then u can skip them.

If got error code, u can share the error code then got more advice 

@Beregond Perhaps I will write a more detailed summary of the problem. Recently bought a Mitsubishi Lancer Ex 1.6  1.5 months back, intermittently and randomly will have the problem of not being able to accelerate past 40km/h. Will need to let go of accelerator and step again in order for the car to accelerate slightly. After 40km/h, accelerator will just cut off and have no feedback. Problem will only be temporarily resolved after I shift gear to Park then to Drive again. 

1. Brought to workshop. Diagnose as setting problem. Did a reset and collected car after 1 day.  The moment I leave the workshop the problem happened again. U-turn and send in again.
2. Workshop say is wiring problem. Brought to Torkor or Tu Ku (authorised workshop) for opinion and they mentioned is tail light wiring problem. Spent 1 week re-wiring the cables of the LED Tail light. Collected the car after. 1 week later, same problem. Brought back to workshop.
3.  Workshop say wiring problem again. Spent another 1 week re-wiring the car. Disabled right tail light temporarily so that I can collect and drive the car first. Told me I probably have to change to older original lights which may not be easy to find. 1 Day later problem still happen. 
4. Today send the car in for replacement of tail light. Workshop say 90% sure that the tail light is the problem. Can only collect car after 3days. 

Purchased the car for 1.5 months, half of the time sitting in workshop. Hope this lights replacement can fix the problem, or if any of you can share some insight I will be happy to hear from you.

@Beregond Perhaps I will write a more detailed summary of the problem. Recently bought a Mitsubishi Lancer Ex 1.6  1.5 months back, intermittently and randomly will have the problem of not being able to accelerate past 40km/h. Will need to let go of accelerator and step again in order for the car to accelerate slightly. After 40km/h, accelerator will just cut off and have no feedback. Problem will only be temporarily resolved after I shift gear to Park then to Drive again. 

1. Brought to workshop. Diagnose as setting problem. Did a reset and collected car after 1 day.  The moment I leave the workshop the problem happened again. U-turn and send in again.
2. Workshop say is wiring problem. Brought to Torkor or Tu Ku (authorised workshop) for opinion and they mentioned is tail light wiring problem. Spent 1 week re-wiring the cables of the LED Tail light. Collected the car after. 1 week later, same problem. Brought back to workshop.
3.  Workshop say wiring problem again. Spent another 1 week re-wiring the car. Disabled right tail light temporarily so that I can collect and drive the car first. Told me I probably have to change to older original lights which may not be easy to find. 1 Day later problem still happen. 
4. Today send the car in for replacement of tail light. Suggested that it could be Throttle problem, but Workshop say 90% sure that the tail light is the problem. Can only collect car after 3days. 

Purchased the car for 1.5 months, half of the time sitting in workshop. Hope this lights replacement can fix the problem, or if any of you can share some insight I will be happy to hear from you.

Edited by zuohao

On 9/20/2023 at 12:01 PM, zuohao said:

4. Today send the car in for replacement of tail light. Suggested that it could be Throttle problem, but Workshop say 90% sure that the tail light is the problem. Can only collect car after 3days. 

U mentioned they reset. Then let u drive out. Mean there are fault code inside. 

U bring to AD mean C & C. Their diagnostic should be quite accurate. 

And that Ws U send to. Is it the WS of the dealer that u buy the car from? Mean they are fixing the problem for u FOC.

Or your own outside WS. If it's the first case. Dun trust them..

And if your tail light is not original design( I mean the whole tail light assembly.  Not the bulb). Then u have to replace no matter what. Cos u cannot pass inspection. 

And if the ws say tail lights problem , u need to press them if change already,  problems still not fix how? 

If first case. 

And from experience. High chance its the throttle sensor( at your right foot throttle there).

Or gear box issue. Or worst case ecu issue.

( but Ad very seldom get their diagnostic wrong)

@Beregond 

On 9/20/2023 at 12:40 PM, Beregond said:

U mentioned they reset. Then let u drive out. Mean there are fault code inside. 

U bring to AD mean C & C. Their diagnostic should be quite accurate. 

And that Ws U send to. Is it the WS of the dealer that u buy the car from? Mean they are fixing the problem for u FOC.

Or your own outside WS. If it's the first case. Dun trust them..

And if your tail light is not original design( I mean the whole tail light assembly.  Not the bulb). Then u have to replace no matter what. Cos u cannot pass inspection. 

And if the ws say tail lights problem , u need to press them if change already,  problems still not fix how? 

If first case. 

And from experience. High chance its the throttle sensor( at your right foot throttle there).

Or gear box issue. Or worst case ecu issue.

( but Ad very seldom get their diagnostic wrong)

Yes, the car comes with 3 years warranty with this workshop. Dealer agreed to bear the cost to fix the problem.

Just clarified with workshop, the AD they brought to is C&C. 

I keep asking them "if change already still got problem, how?" then they just say change already need to test drive to make sure no more problem, and workshop cannot guarantee 100% fix one.

thanks for your input. Hopefully AD diagnostic is correct

On 9/20/2023 at 1:08 PM, zuohao said:

@Beregond 

Yes, the car comes with 3 years warranty with this workshop. Dealer agreed to bear the cost to fix the problem.

I keep asking them "if change already still got problem, how?" then they just say change already need to test drive to make sure no more problem, and workshop cannot guarantee 100% fix one.

If the ws bear the cost.

And the whole taillight assembly is not of original design. Make sure they replace for u no matter what.

If not u gonna have.problem with inspection later

So simple 

Since the car dealer will bear the cost

just get AD to change the whole tail lamp for $800 plus in order not to have the same problem again lah.

Solution to the problem so clear!

On 9/20/2023 at 1:08 PM, zuohao said:

@Beregond 

U see 1 more thing. I thought u are the 1 that bring to AD. 

It's the ws say they bring. Did u they show u the diagnostic paper?

Touch wood this round come back no issue.

If still got problem , maybe all the wiring , taillight or go ad is just story , they smoking u.

Ya forgot to mention. Lancer ex always got the throttle body issue. ( common fault)

Edited by Beregond

On 9/20/2023 at 1:19 PM, Jamesc said:

So simple 

Since the car dealer will bear the cost

just get AD to change the whole tail lamp for $800 plus in order not to have the same problem again lah.

Solution to the problem so clear!

Yes they will change for me, just dont know if the light is actually the problem.