Popiah King's son passed away

Lala81

Thats why some people dont bother to check, if you dont check you would not know anything. Cause even you check also not foolproof, so might as well dont check and make yourself worry this and worry that. Lol.

Yeah sure. if u die then no big deal right.

Everyone says the same thing ... die no biggie

Tell them if they want to be stroked out in a nursing home, or having dementia and being a general liability for your spouse/kids, or joining the NKF charity show as a dialysis participant  [:p]

Can be one of the "not so lucky" people (not few cos there are a substantial percentage of singaporeans in these groups).

You take minority of those leading healthy lifestyle who succumb to death but ignore the majority (base on scientific evidence) of the high risk group that succumb, and make your decision not to bother about your health?

Maybe some people mindset is tune to only look at the minority death cases instead of the majority successful cases? Lol. Anyway, i really know some people who think this way, to them ignore is bliss. When your time is up it's up, check so thoroughly also no use. 

Maybe some people mindset is tune to only look at the minority death cases instead of the majority successful cases? Lol. Anyway, i really know some people who think this way, to them ignore is bliss. When your time is up it's up, check so thoroughly also no use.

Oh, you were referring to some people. I thought that was your personal take on making an effort to be healthy. Paiseh.

Not me la, i very kiasi de. I check and check every minor thing.  :D

Thats why some people dont bother to check, if you dont check you would not know anything. Cause even you check also not foolproof, so might as well dont check and make yourself worry this and worry that. Lol.

What will come, will come.

The $5 checkup seems worth it. Haven't use it yet. 

super basic. But might as well do if your company or what don't offer free screening.

Blood pressure, fasting sugar and lipids check for $5. 

What will come, will come.

If it comes and you go, then you heng.

If it comes and it leaves you hanging for decades, then you either wish you can go fast or you had done something to prevent it from happening when you had the chance.

Anyway, all these are personal choices. Cannot blame anyone but ownself Nia.

super basic. But might as well do if your company or what don't offer free screening.

Blood pressure, fasting sugar and lipids check for $5.

Isn't that your basic 3 lows you've mentioned ? For $5 can't ask for more.

Hope you are fine now.

My friend died at age 45 last year due to stroke. She was slim and pretty but drank regulary. Suddenly fainted and died. Everyone was shocked.

My friend's brother had a stroke at age 39. Didn't die immediately, but was left with only v limited sound and v v limited  movement on one hand, and he tried to regain more speech + movement initially, but gave up after a while. Was bedridden for 4-5 yr before he finally succumbed...

Treasure life...

My friend's brother had a stroke at age 39. Didn't die immediately, but was left with only v limited sound and v v limited  movement on one hand, and he tried to regain more speech + movement initially, but gave up after a while. Was bedridden for 4-5 yr before he finally succumbed...

Treasure life...

This is why many people simply just bo chap and eat and do anything they want, cause what will come will come?!  [rolleyes]

The main problem is most people don’t understand statistics and choose to look at extreme ends of the bell curve.

There are indeed those who do their utmost to check and prevent everything in their powers, and still get struck by unforeseen diseases. But those are the rare minority.

Then there are those who do not care about their health, eat and smoke all they want, and live to a ripe, old age comfortably. But that again is very rare.

The vast majority of people fall under the group of being self aware and manage chronic diseases well into old age, or the group that does not manage their stats and fall.

I'll share my own experience, at 40 I went to Polyclinic for some other issues & doc asked me if I have done the full blood tests (and I being hero hero at that time said No !!, I go gym i do this and that leh...) but she said just do it , OK lah LLST I just followed her instruction & had to fast in the night till next day morning until my turn came around 9-10 am and immeidately had to have my cuppa, cannot tahan

1 week later went to check the results and she said my cholesterol is something like 240++ (and also the LDL was higher and ratio not good) and I bang balls when I got the results and started running regime (as she said you are just building muscles not burning the fat & come back after a few months later after heavy exercise regime, did my 1st marathon limping somehow and cholesterol dropped to around below 210 I remember             

This is why they say...  you are over the hill @ 40,   

You can modify your risk factors for metabolic syndrome.

Drink less, don't smoke, keep your weight down if it's possible, make sure your BP is down, check for diabetes/cholesterol.

Maintaining health is even more hard work then checking it.

For those people who can't be bothered, i ask them to check. Cos it's just the first step. Got do something, better than don't do something.

For those who check, maybe only certain percentage can be bothered to do something about it LONG TERM. So those are the ones you can help.

Got all kinds of pattern one lah. Got people very obsessed with their cholesterol levels, but ask them quit smoking, might as well ask them go become monk for 1 year lol

I'll share my own experience, at 40 I went to Polyclinic for some other issues & doc asked me if I have done the full blood tests (and I being hero hero at that time said No !!, I go gym i do this and that leh...) but she said just do it , OK lah LLST I just followed her instruction & had to fast in the night till next day morning until my turn came around 9-10 am and immeidately had to have my cuppa, cannot tahan

1 week later went to check the results and she said my cholesterol is something like 240++ (and also the LDL was higher and ratio not good) and I bang balls when I got the results and started running regime (as she said you are just building muscles not burning the fat & come back after a few months later after heavy exercise regime, did my 1st marathon limping somehow and cholesterol dropped to around below 210 I remember             

This is why they say...  you are over the hill @ 40,   

when we say gym or run to the doctor, it is very non specific. Eg Gym session can be an intense HIIT-like session or lift heavy, low reps or some just watch TV 45 min, chat 5 min, on threadmill 5 min. Or Run can be intense 5km in 20 min, 10km in 1 hour or some slow jog 2.4km in 30 min.

so for her to say gym is only to build muscles is just really buay zhun advice.

This is why they say... you are over the hill @ 40,

My personal experience in summary.. 3 yrs ago , co health check-up found my BP is 170/110, total cholesterol is 224. Hdl average but LDL is borderline high. Triglycerides is ok, blood sugar is ok tho. I not obese but a little bit fat, no symptoms of any illness, not prone to flu etc.. didn't know why I got 2 high.. my diet not really high fat, no often fast food, not smoker at all,.not drinker, no late nights too..dunno why Kena..but, I didn't exercise, n just sleep or laze around to destress..

The high BP shocked me and I tried eating celery, drink hbp tea etc, all to no avail..and I was trying to avoid eat hbp pill n cholesterol pill..in the end, surrender, and started taking these pills on doc advice to try, and I also took up running..fast forward 2+ yrs later, LDL went down to less than 50, hdl went up, BP under control with daily hbp pill help .. so taking meds , running does help to reduce the bad highs and most importantly is not to let the daily life stress get to you, and just be happy.. then all these > 40yo body issues can be controlled by meds, exercise n positive attitude. just do it,your life your decision..

Edited by Lurpsexx

The main problem is most people donât understand statistics and choose to look at extreme ends of the bell curve.

There are indeed those who do their utmost to check and prevent everything in their powers, and still get struck by unforeseen diseases. But those are the rare minority.

Then there are those who do not care about their health, eat and smoke all they want, and live to a ripe, old age comfortably. But that again is very rare.

The vast majority of people fall under the group of being self aware and manage chronic diseases well into old age, or the group that does not manage their stats and fall.

With respect to Ben’s case, it could have been any of the categories above, but I am sure he knew his condition well enough to know he needed emergency treatment.

It’s really unfortunate enough that the proximity to CNY and the medical emergency readiness and familiarity in a foreign land compounded resulting in this. At another time point, or if he were in SG, his chances would have been that much higher.

Really a huge pity for his family at this stage of his life...

Edited by Showster

With respect to Benâs case, it could have been any of the categories above, but I am sure he knew his condition well enough to know he needed emergency treatment.

Itâs really unfortunate enough that the proximity to CNY and the medical emergency readiness and familiarity in a foreign land compounded resulting in this. At another time point, or if he were in SG, his chances would have been that much higher.

Really a huge pity for his family at this stage of his life...

Not necessarily. Intracranial bleeds have high mortality. It's one of the things that can kill you within 24 hours pretty fast.

It would have been higher in Sg given short distances to tertiary hospital etc. But I don't think it's much higher. Considering his wife was already with him and aware he's unwell. The worst is always something happen when u are alone.