Private Property prices......still up or down? Part II

http://sbr.com.sg/residential-property/news/developers-forecast-focus-clearing-unsold-units

Developers forecast to focus on clearing unsold units

Mar 22, 2017

This is amidst the new changes to property measures.

On 17 March, the government announced a few changes to property measures.

Jefferies said in a research note that without reading too much between the lines, last week’s announcement does not feel too surprising even though it may be a post hoc rationalisation.

On impact on developers, Jefferies equity analyst Krishna Guha said that there has been a spurt in residential property activity.

“Developer sales and resales transactions are up year-on-year. The growth has been driven primarily by Singaporeans, with foreign purchases accounting for less of the share.”

Developer pops champagne wor ... huat ah! [:p]

http://sbr.com.sg/residential-property/news/cdl-pops-champagne-sales-momentum-picked

CDL pops the champagne as sales momentum picked up

Mar 23, 2017

It sold 20 home units in two days.

City Developments (CDL) saw a healthy take-up of 20 residential units across its Singapore projects over the weekend, after a surprise easing of policy measures, according to RHB.

A bulk of the sales came from its mass to mid-range projects. This is in line with RHB’s view that residential volumes are to see a near-term pick-up as more marginal buyers enter the market.

“Going forward, CDL is expected to launch New Futura and South Beach Residences in the latter half of 2017.”

• Praise 11

I see people keep saying price will go up as government unwinds the cm....

Please ask yourself a question... is prices going up or down now?

What will the government do in each of the cases?

You will realise its folly to bank on unwinding of cm to rise prices.

I see people keep saying price will go up as government unwinds the cm....

Please ask yourself a question... is prices going up or down now?

What will the government do in each of the cases?

You will realise its folly to bank on unwinding of cm to rise prices.

Govt will not do anything if price growth is in line with inflation, wage growth.

Housing index growth is 3.6% on average, inflation is 2.65%+-, Income growth is 5% annually over the same period.

If still flat or down, you can be assured that Govt will spur it to the right levels.

Edited by Showster

Wage increase rate is an interesting point raised by you, how come I never thought about that? Perhaps you can wait for mortgage interest rates to rise to 4% and walk into your boss's office and tell him you should get a wage increase because sibor went up.

I just approved 3-5% wage increase to all my staff. They did not have to knock on my door...ok, my FC and HR recommended, maybe can be considered as `walk into the boss's office'?

If you look as a whole in long term, i can foresee more may buy private pty if they want to get longer lease home in location within mature estate as many hdb built in 1970s have shorter lease now say 52 yrs and in another 10yrs is 42 yrs. Flats below 60 yrs lease buyer can borrow less so value may drop quite drastic. Imagine the pty and $ u spend ur whole life diminish to zero n cannot even pass to next gen.At some pt, ppl will dispose to upgrade to longer lease. But new flat in mature area depends on eligibility to buy so more may turn to buy private apt in time to come provided they are not too old to get loan.

I believe it is govt intention to reap more public funds out of land sales. 1 clever strategy is to make all location is the island prime by giving a selling story for every location say sub regional ctr, innovation cluster etc. If devpr n buyer buy the story, they will pay high price and if this cycle works well, devpr will continue to sell high and buyer continue to buy high :) For buyer who buy high just think of it as economic contribution to our country coffer.

You should speak to Brother @LPPL, he is very happy in the west. Many have always been happy in the east as well. North and Northeast also growing like crazy. Everybody Huat?

So do you think North will increase faster than central?

I hate living in the north...

I only said everybody Huat as long as in property.

Never said who huat more leh.

I only said everybody Huat as long as in property.

Never said who huat more leh.

I didn't said you said that mah. 

I am asking for your opinion now.

I didn't said you said that mah.

I am asking for your opinion now.

If I am young and earning good income, South I will be, unless I work in the North.

If I am at retirement age, and assuming still healthy, North I would go.

Most people do the reverse though.

One gd pt abt north is one thomson east coast line open, pty value ard may go up n trigger those nearby up indirectly. But if u dont like north due to the ppl staying there ( which i roughly guess y) then really no choice unless move out of it lo...

If not for living, I will look for areas with amenities and near work opportunities.

I think west is the worst by far because of the traffic. I mean so much increase in people but somehow government did not announce much upgrades to the west in terms of public transport.

Government expect people to stay in the west and dont go out?

The north has new expressway and new MRT line thomson line. East has downtown line opening soon plus thomson line. 

West???

I think west is the worst by far because of the traffic. I mean so much increase in people but somehow government did not announce much upgrades to the west in terms of public transport.

Government expect people to stay in the west and dont go out?

The north has new expressway and new MRT line thomson line. East has downtown line opening soon plus thomson line.

West???

My point about just because we are not aware about something doesn't mean it doesn't exist.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jurong_Region_MRT_Line"]https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jurong_Region_MRT_Line

Stations should be out this year.

Edited by Showster

I don't know if South good or North good or West good

or East good so I think its best to just stay centre.  [thumbsup]

I don't know if South good or North good or West good

or East good so I think its best to just stay centre. [thumbsup]

Best to buy 1 in every corner. Haha...