Private Property prices......still up or down? Part II

Dun even need retail/office to carry heavier weightage ...

Land bid at 943psf, add construction cost/misc another 450psf ... breakeven at 1400psf est.

Selling 1600psf (big units) to over 2000psf (small units) ...profit 200-600psf.

With this type of profit margin, any developer also laugh all the way to the bank.

So maybe dun even need 50% breakeven, 40% should suffice, that could be the reason why only wanna launch 40% units for phase 1? [:p]

Now 50% sold, already up 10%, with another 50% units at presumably ZERO cost, hold and probably up prices for phase 2.

So you say, huat or not? This is not just huat, is ...

Super Huat lah! :D

No wonder govt so clever rejected UOL's sole bid of $500psf back in 2011. Hold out for another 4 yrs and sell the land at double. They should continue to hold somemore.. maybe can even sell at 1500 psf in 2019  [laugh]  [laugh]

now i finally understand why we pay millions to ministers.. worth every cent cos they protect our reserves from being raided  [laugh]  [laugh]

good job, continue to sell land at premium price! 

the location is good.

There's Paya Lebar Square, OneKM Mall, the revamped SingPost building with a new shopping mall that has GV, Aunty Lucy and Kopitam as anchor tenants.

Adding PLQ into the mix, the area will no longer be just an industrial area housing car workshops.

just hope that traffic flow can be planned properly cos currently the area sucks especially during peak hours.

Personal preference.

Good for businesses, awful to live in.

The buzz and crowd which i prefer to escape from is brought home.

Guess i am not the standard condo buyer.

No wonder i dont own a condo!

Haha bro, now got CMs, prices whether up or down, moving at snail's pace.

So always good to start earlier? as will need to wait long long, so at least got another couple more of the 10-15years cycle to huat? [:p]

Hehe :D

Poor thing lah... everytime I see how much they are paying vs what I paid in 2009.... what a difference 8 years make.

Actually you can get doulby Ghaut mrt freehold condo at 1800psf resale. I wonder what people buy payer Lebar 99 yrs at this price. Just mind boggling

Poor thing lah... everytime I see how much they are paying vs what I paid in 2009.... what a difference 8 years make.

Actually you can get doulby Ghaut mrt freehold condo at 1800psf resale. I wonder what people buy payer Lebar 99 yrs at this price. Just mind boggling

Wonderful People (to the sellers)

the location is good.

There's Paya Lebar Square, OneKM Mall, the revamped SingPost building with a new shopping mall that has GV, Aunty Lucy and Kopitam as anchor tenants.

Adding PLQ into the mix, the area will no longer be just an industrial area housing car workshops.

just hope that traffic flow can be planned properly cos currently the area sucks especially during peak hours.

And the wonderful nite KTV with many many prc

For reference only. Over 4000 PSF in SGD.

One-bedroom flat in Hong Kong to fetch more than S$1.7 million - after discounts
dde5f23e-1350-11e7-8424-32eaba91fe03_ima
Potential buyers visit the sales office of The Pavilia Bay in Tsuen Wan in January. Photo: Edward Wong via South China Morning Post

PUBLISHED: 1:30 PM, MARCH 28, 2017
UPDATED: 1:39 PM, MARCH 28, 2017

HONG KONG — A consortium led by property developer New World Development and Vanke Property (Overseas) have offered the last 64 units at their joint venture residential project in Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong, with a one-bedroom flat costing more than HK$10 million (S$ 1.79 million) after discounts.

The 421 square foot unit on the 57th floor of the Pavilia Bay development, commands a full sea view and was being offered at HK$11.79 million (US$1.52 million), or HK$28,021 per square foot on Monday (March 28).

Once a 14.5 per cent discount kicks in, the price will drop to HK$10.08 million, or HK$24,000 per square foot. The price will set a record for a one-bedroom flat in the New Territories area of Hong Kong, said agents. The average discounted price for the 64 sea-view units was HK$19,503 per square foot.

Meanwhile, Poly Property Group, the Hong Kong-listed arm of state-owned China Poly Group, released another 108 units at the Vibe Centro project at Kai Tak – the site of the city’s former airport – at higher prices after generating a strong response over the weekend.

The flats, ranging in size from 228 sq ft to 1,146 sq ft, are being offered at HK$5.48 million to HK$35.59 million, or HK$21,649 per square foot to HK$31,063 per square foot.

Including discounts the price of the flats will drop to HK$4.41 million to HK$29.11 million, or HK$17,598 to HK$25,402 per square foot.

Developers have raised prices after Sun Hung Kai Properties sold all 621 units at the Cullinan West development atop Nam Cheong MTR station over two weekends. The project also saw more than 14,000 prospective buyers registering for the first batch of 321 units. SOUTH

CHINA MORNING POST

Edited by Showster

Domestic demand drops 16% while foreign demand surges 441% - what does this tell us?

Singapore investors shun real estate deals in home market

Romesh Navaratnarajah • March 28, 2017

Singapore-downtown-crop.original.jpg

Domestic investment in Singapore real estate fell 16 percent in 2016, according to JLL. 

Unlike other countries in the Asia Pacific, Singapore saw domestic real estate investment drop 16 percent in 2016, while inbound investment surged 441 percent from the previous year, revealed a JLL report.

The decline comes as domestic investors focus on diversifying their exposure overseas.

“Foreign investors’ appetite remained robust as the price gap between buyers and sellers in Singapore has narrowed following recent price corrections, and many seized opportunities to purchase assets in the office sector at lower prices,” said Tay Huey Ying, Head of Research at JLL Singapore.

The report noted that domestic investors were active in most Asia Pacific real estate markets last year, as many opted to buy real estate assets in their home market given the global economic and political volatility.

South Korea, for instance, saw domestic investment into real estate assets soar 75 percent to US$12.4 billion, while domestic investment in Chinese real estate jumped 50 percent to US$29.1 billion.

Looking ahead, JLL expects investment activity in the Asia Pacific to remain stable this year considering the solid appetite from institutional investors, the low interest rate environment and strong fund raising activity.

“However, as pricing in major gateway cities are at record levels and given the shortage of investable real estate assets, these factors could play a part in limiting investment activity.

“As for outbound investment activity from Asia Pacific, tighter government controls over capital outflows may limit Chinese outbound investment in the near term particularly for large sized deals which could take longer to conclude.”

it's always abt when u enter the market. people who bought in 2005 and 2008. 3 years only yet also as big a difference.

it's not that mind boggling. every buyer has their own unique reasons why they have to choose paya lebar over so many other equally good or better locations at the same price

the developer don't have to sell to the whole of singapore, just to 500 buyers who need to be in paya lebar  [laugh]  [laugh]

You may be surprise that upcoming millennials nowadays may buy properties not from yield point of view but may buy coz they think it is cool. Some may not even do research. They buy because of own feel-good factor.

I foresee the location still will appeal to maids and bangla on sundays since city plz is still there. If u go food republic at wisma on sunday, you dont feel like you are in singapore. I hope the same ambience wont deter locals to stay away.

it's always abt when u enter the market. people who bought in 2005 and 2008. 3 years only yet also as big a difference.

it's not that mind boggling. every buyer has their own unique reasons why they have to choose paya lebar over so many other equally good or better locations at the same price

the developer don't have to sell to the whole of singapore, just to 500 buyers who need to be in paya lebar  [laugh]  [laugh]

ya but we are talking about paya lebar vs opposite president house.... and freehold vs leasehold....

just does not make sense... and it is not just one person for bought paya lebar. I think got some freebies thrown in izzit? Always the selling price seems inflated for new developments. 

Maybe the quantum is low? The unit I was looking at is 915 sqft sold at $1.69 million (1847psf) just one month back. Freehold, just opposite dhoby ghaut mrt. 

My colleague just bought a 1k sqft new condo (oasis) opp Aljunied MRT for 1.3mil.

Agreed if I bought in 2005 vs 2009 :) I am just glad I am not buying for own stay in 2011-2017

Edited by Wind30

And hearsay the æå·¥é¢ also ð

Yeah I also always see long queue at the food court

But never try

Mostly popular with OLs

To be fair some of their seaviews are really one of a kind and do not get blocked easily

Here, chances of seaviews getting blocked are very high unless right on the beach  [laugh]

Just look at the Seaview (pun) at Marine parade

For reference only. Over 4000 PSF in SGD.

One-bedroom flat in Hong Kong to fetch more than S$1.7 million - after discounts
dde5f23e-1350-11e7-8424-32eaba91fe03_ima
Potential buyers visit the sales office of The Pavilia Bay in Tsuen Wan in January. Photo: Edward Wong via South China Morning Post

PUBLISHED: 1:30 PM, MARCH 28, 2017
UPDATED: 1:39 PM, MARCH 28, 2017

HONG KONG — A consortium led by property developer New World Development and Vanke Property (Overseas) have offered the last 64 units at their joint venture residential project in Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong, with a one-bedroom flat costing more than HK$10 million (S$ 1.79 million) after discounts.

The 421 square foot unit on the 57th floor of the Pavilia Bay development, commands a full sea view and was being offered at HK$11.79 million (US$1.52 million), or HK$28,021 per square foot on Monday (March 28).

Once a 14.5 per cent discount kicks in, the price will drop to HK$10.08 million, or HK$24,000 per square foot. The price will set a record for a one-bedroom flat in the New Territories area of Hong Kong, said agents. The average discounted price for the 64 sea-view units was HK$19,503 per square foot.

Meanwhile, Poly Property Group, the Hong Kong-listed arm of state-owned China Poly Group, released another 108 units at the Vibe Centro project at Kai Tak – the site of the city’s former airport – at higher prices after generating a strong response over the weekend.

The flats, ranging in size from 228 sq ft to 1,146 sq ft, are being offered at HK$5.48 million to HK$35.59 million, or HK$21,649 per square foot to HK$31,063 per square foot.

Including discounts the price of the flats will drop to HK$4.41 million to HK$29.11 million, or HK$17,598 to HK$25,402 per square foot.

Developers have raised prices after Sun Hung Kai Properties sold all 621 units at the Cullinan West development atop Nam Cheong MTR station over two weekends. The project also saw more than 14,000 prospective buyers registering for the first batch of 321 units. SOUTH

CHINA MORNING POST

No wonder govt so clever rejected UOL's sole bid of $500psf back in 2011. Hold out for another 4 yrs and sell the land at double. They should continue to hold somemore.. maybe can even sell at 1500 psf in 2019 [laugh]

now i finally understand why we pay millions to ministers.. worth every cent cos they protect our reserves from being raided [laugh]

good job, continue to sell land at premium price!

Only 500psf so cheap, of course reject lah! SG land scarce hor, every square foot is like gold![laugh]

If continue to sell land at premium price, then we buyers will also continue to pay at premium [sweatdrop]

I want durian drop!!! :a-m1524:

Yeah, at 2000psf, lots of choices!

Gotta hand it to the developer, at current supposedly 'down' market, still can sell such prices, already an amazing feat.

This kind of pricing, should only be during a red hot uptrend market! And I think should be a RECORD price for Paya lebar 99LH?

But what we are seeing (me included) is NOW, at current obviously it's at a high. Give it some years, let things start to shape up over there, may well tell a different story.

So not really that mind boggling, just some that's brave enough to bank into the future 'unknown' [:p]

Great for what you paid in 2009 :a-good: what a difference 8 years make indeed. Let's see what difference it'll be ... in another 8 years from now? [sly][laugh]

• Praise 12

at down market already sell like hot cakes

at up market ... sell like fast food ... fast, tasteless and expensive ... LOL

Yeah, at 2000psf, lots of choices!
Gotta hand it to the developer, at current supposedly 'down' market, still can sell such prices, already an amazing feat.