mersaylee Hypersonic June 3, 2023 Share June 3, 2023 May I ask of ACL good or not with his hands...?...a fren of extended family...met him a few times...easy going fellow... Anyway, why public doesn't perform laser treatment for floaters? Would the cataract ops get rid of floaters at the same time or it really depends where they are in the eye? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 3, 2023 Share June 3, 2023 On 6/3/2023 at 3:57 PM, mersaylee said: May I ask of ACL good or not with his hands...?...a fren of extended family...met him a few times...easy going fellow... Anyway, why public doesn't perform laser treatment for floaters? Would the cataract ops get rid of floaters at the same time or it really depends where they are in the eye? Floaters can have different causes. Some are benign and it's just a symptom. Basically, they don't do laser for the floaters but to treat retinal membrane issues which they detect in some people when u complain of floaters. Like some areas of your retina is stretched too thin and tear or it's floating off the back of the eyeball already. You mean ortho ang chia liang? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 3, 2023 Share June 3, 2023 On 6/3/2023 at 4:05 PM, Lala81 said: Floaters can have different causes. Some are benign and it's just a symptom. Basically, they don't do laser for the floaters but to treat retinal membrane issues which they detect in some people when u complain of floaters. Like some areas of your retina is stretched too thin and tear or it's floating off the back of the eyeball already. You mean ortho ang chia liang? angchonglai...can pm if too sensitive...😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic June 3, 2023 Share June 3, 2023 Wow …… started with a skool holiday newbie posting to go stay hotel after cataract surgery …….maybe got hotel voucher 🤣🤣….. .and so much food for thought now ……. Till now what I dunno the answer to this , still Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic June 3, 2023 Share June 3, 2023 After cataract op the perception of floaters can be worse - cos now you can see them better than before! lasers don’t get rid of floaters - it acts like a stapler kind of thing to fix back retina tears or holes don’t let some private guy do lasers to ‘treat’ floaters per se please 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 3, 2023 Share June 3, 2023 (edited) On 6/3/2023 at 4:20 PM, mersaylee said: angchonglai...can pm if too sensitive...😁 Bro u mean the ex head of snec. hes 25 years my senior. Haha no idea man. They were specialists even before we were in medical school. At their age, they will only see their old patients and almost none of them will operate. Even in private, my friends say the patients will shop around. Any surgeon like 60 liao, the more Savvy patients will not choose. Edited June 3, 2023 by Lala81 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged June 3, 2023 Share June 3, 2023 On 6/3/2023 at 9:48 AM, 13177 said: Got hearsay the scary of doing nasal surgery. This is why i also scare to do it even though i have narrow nose canal which sometimes give me blocked nose problem. Yah man…coz from the nose, they move the equipment to clean/cut the narrow nasal passage… move to the cheeks, to the forehead and cut out those that are not necessary. I have no choice as my nose was totally blocked by polyps…😬 and I have been delaying the surgery for a few years now. advice is do the surgery! If I have done the surgery a couple of yrs back, would have safe some $$ then..😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 3, 2023 Share June 3, 2023 On 6/3/2023 at 6:30 PM, Spidey10 said: Yah man…coz from the nose, they move the equipment to clean/cut the narrow nasal passage… move to the cheeks, to the forehead and cut out those that are not necessary. I have no choice as my nose was totally blocked by polyps…😬 and I have been delaying the surgery for a few years now. advice is do the surgery! If I have done the surgery a couple of yrs back, would have safe some $$ then..😂 Thankfully I only did radio frequency ablation to my turbinates to shrink them for my cpap usage. Just need local anesthesia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 3, 2023 Share June 3, 2023 I've seen some photos of ent describing their more major operations. Always reminds me of the predator that arnie battled. When it open up it's Jaws lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 3, 2023 Share June 3, 2023 On 6/3/2023 at 6:26 PM, Lala81 said: Bro u mean the ex head of snec. hes 25 years my senior. Haha no idea man. They were specialists even before we were in medical school. At their age, they will only see their old patients and almost none of them will operate. Even in private, my friends say the patients will shop around. Any surgeon like 60 liao, the more Savvy patients will not choose. Last heard he still goes into OT...noted on the last pointer...maybe get his referral betterer...probably cheaper too...😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 3, 2023 Share June 3, 2023 On 6/3/2023 at 5:52 PM, therock said: After cataract op the perception of floaters can be worse - cos now you can see them better than before! lasers don’t get rid of floaters - it acts like a stapler kind of thing to fix back retina tears or holes don’t let some private guy do lasers to ‘treat’ floaters per se please No leh...the beedeos I've watched macam arcade game liddat with the piak piak sound whenever the "surgeon" (more like shooter) trigger the laser beam at the bigger floaters...they'd leave the smaller ones alone...usually they'd execute some 300 shots per session...🤔 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 3, 2023 Share June 3, 2023 Get your eyes checked is good sometimes. Cos some things are silent. I got my eyes checked last year by my friend cos of something mentioned by optometrist 5 years ago pre covid. Since I bring my kids to eye checkups. Turns out I have quite severe retinal lattices. My friend said I may need lasers as I get older. Higher risk for retinal detachment as I age. My father in law has retinal detachment on follow up for many years. So I'm glad I found out early. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 3, 2023 Share June 3, 2023 On 6/3/2023 at 7:45 PM, mersaylee said: No leh...the beedeos I've watched macam arcade game liddat with the piak piak sound whenever the "surgeon" (more like shooter) trigger the laser beam at the bigger floaters...they'd leave the smaller ones alone...usually they'd execute some 300 shots per session...🤔 Apparently there is such a thing. I didn't know. I always thought it's for the retina only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic June 3, 2023 Share June 3, 2023 On 6/3/2023 at 7:49 PM, Lala81 said: Apparently there is such a thing. I didn't know. I always thought it's for the retina only. Had an episode few years ago...I thot it's retina detachment...the eye doctor at A&E thot so too albeit a very slight one...he checked on my eyes for almost half an hour and escalated an appointment to see the eye specialist the next day...a very chio junior doctor checked for almost 20mins...hard to stay where she wanted my eyes to be during that time...oh well...then came a senior and checked for another 10mins...said no black spot or any detachment found...asked me to cum back after 3 months...then another specialist saw me 3 months later and suspected I had glaucoma...kns...and i had to pay 120 dollah just for the glaucoma specialist to see all the scans and reports from that session...few weeks later...a sms came and stated all cleared...chao turtle...really donno to cry with sorrow or laugh with joy 😂 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 3, 2023 Share June 3, 2023 On 6/3/2023 at 7:47 PM, Lala81 said: Get your eyes checked is good sometimes. Cos some things are silent. I got my eyes checked last year by my friend cos of something mentioned by optometrist 5 years ago pre covid. Since I bring my kids to eye checkups. Turns out I have quite severe retinal lattices. My friend said I may need lasers as I get older. Higher risk for retinal detachment as I age. My father in law has retinal detachment on follow up for many years. So I'm glad I found out early. My wife forced me to do eye check 3 years ago. Due to this eye check, I was told that the "receptor" at the back of the eyeball was folded. No surgery is required as long as it does not worsen. But need to go back for regular check. Like every 18 - 24 months. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 3, 2023 Share June 3, 2023 On 6/3/2023 at 8:05 PM, mersaylee said: Had an episode few years ago...I thot it's retina detachment...the eye doctor at A&E thot so too albeit a very slight one...he checked on my eyes for almost half an hour and escalated an appointment to see the eye specialist the next day...a very chio junior doctor checked for almost 20mins...hard to stay where she wanted my eyes to be during that time...oh well...then came a senior and checked for another 10mins...said no black spot or any detachment found...asked me to cum back after 3 months...then another specialist saw me 3 months later and suspected I had glaucoma...kns...and i had to pay 120 dollah just for the glaucoma specialist to see all the scans and reports from that session...few weeks later...a sms came and stated all cleared...chao turtle...really donno to cry with sorrow or laugh with joy 😂 I had red eye regularly. See GP so often that i was referred to Retina Specialist. I had retina detachment. Kenna scolding from specialist for sleeping late regularly. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic June 3, 2023 Share June 3, 2023 On 6/3/2023 at 8:20 PM, inlinesix said: I had red eye regularly. See GP so often that i was referred to Retina Specialist. I had retina detachment. Kenna scolding from specialist for sleeping late regularly. I just get my eyes check yearly or like 15 months intervals , rain or shine …… primary health care at SNEC is quite good 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 3, 2023 Share June 3, 2023 On 6/3/2023 at 8:05 PM, mersaylee said: Had an episode few years ago...I thot it's retina detachment...the eye doctor at A&E thot so too albeit a very slight one...he checked on my eyes for almost half an hour and escalated an appointment to see the eye specialist the next day...a very chio junior doctor checked for almost 20mins...hard to stay where she wanted my eyes to be during that time...oh well...then came a senior and checked for another 10mins...said no black spot or any detachment found...asked me to cum back after 3 months...then another specialist saw me 3 months later and suspected I had glaucoma...kns...and i had to pay 120 dollah just for the glaucoma specialist to see all the scans and reports from that session...few weeks later...a sms came and stated all cleared...chao turtle...really donno to cry with sorrow or laugh with joy 😂 Normal lah. Eye is check and recheck. Especially if you complain of visual problems, probably only after several visits then discharge. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...