mersaylee Hypersonic October 27, 2019 Share October 27, 2019 Managed to borrow this book recommended by a bro here. read the title and the back page oredi so up lifting liao. Can’t wait to crunch the words in between...😝 actually, we all know these things....just need a little reminder once in a while to take things, confront issues, treat people easy... ↡ Advertisement 7 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 27, 2019 Share October 27, 2019 14 minutes ago, mersaylee said: Managed to borrow this book recommended by a bro here. read the title and the back page oredi so up lifting liao. Can’t wait to crunch the words in between...😝 actually, we all know these things....just need a little reminder once in a while to take things, confront issues, treat people easy... i think it's cloud9. And should be a sista, not a bro. haha 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoseyboh Twincharged October 27, 2019 Share October 27, 2019 1 hour ago, SiLangKia said: Have been reflecting over the past 2 months and chanced upon a story that describes tough times, sharing it and my thoughts below HAHAHA : “A young woman went to her mother and told her about her life, and how things were so hard for her. She did not know how she was going to make it, and wanted to give up. She was tired of fighting and struggling. It seemed as one problem was solved a new one arose. Her mother took her to the kitchen. She filled three pots with water. In the first pot, she placed carrots, in the second she placed eggs and the last she placed ground coffee beans. She let them sit and boil without saying a word. In about twenty minutes she turned off the burners. She fished the carrots out and placed them in a bowl. She pulled the eggs out and placed them in a bowl. Then she ladled the coffee out and placed it in a bowl. Turning to her daughter, she asked, "Tell me what do you see?" "Carrots, eggs, and coffee," she replied. She brought her closer and asked her to feel the carrots. She did and noted that they got soft. She then asked her to take the egg and break it. After pulling off the shell, she observed the hard-boiled egg. Finally, she asked her to smell and sip the coffee. The daughter smiled, as she smelled and tasted its rich aroma. The daughter then asked, "What's the point, mother?" Her mother explained that each of these objects had faced the same adversity- boiling water-but each reacted differently. The carrot went in strong, hard and unrelenting. However, after being subjected to the boiling water, it softened and became weak. The egg had been fragile. Its thin outer shell had protected its liquid interior. But, after sitting through the boiling water, its inside became hardened. The ground coffee beans were unique, however. After they were in the boiling water they had changed the water. "Which are you?" she asked her daughter. "When trials and adversity knock on your door, how do you respond? Are you a carrot, an egg, or a coffee bean?" ....... This got me thinking: Which am I? Am I the carrot that seems strong, but with pain and adversity, do I wilt and become soft and lose my strength? Am I the egg that starts with a passive heart, but changes with the heat? Did I have a fluid spirit, but after a death, a financial hardship or some other trial, have I become hardened and stiff? Does my shell look the same, but on the inside, am I bitter and tough with a stiff spirit and a hardened heart? Or, am I like the coffee bean? The bean actually changes the hot water, the very circumstance that brings the pain. When the water gets hot, it releases the fragrance and flavour. If you are like the bean, when things are at their worst, you become better and change the situation around you. When the hours are the darkest and trials are their greatest do you elevate to another level? So, how do you handle adversity? Like the CARROT, the EGG, OR the COFFEE BEAN?” That's a story I found, and I realise that in life, sometimes, in fact most times, we are the barriers to overcoming and being an overcomer. I want to be like the coffee bean, duh, I love coffee xD. On a more serious note, so-called inspiring stories like this get us thinking, but in reality, it is often easier said than done. When times are bad and you feel like you're at your lowest, it seems almost impossible that circumstances can improve, and that things will change. This is where you need to make a choice, the choice to overcome or to be overcome. We can easily slip into a vicious cycle of being overcome by situations and often, it seems like the easier and more tempting option, but then, there is the other choice, the choice to fight, the choice to not succumb, the choice to look at things from a different perspective, through a different lens. When you do that, you can see things for more than they are, you can see yourself beyond the situation, and when you make that choice, your mind becomes determined, and that's when you transition from being overcome to being an overcomer. No one said that it will be easy, or you won't stumble and fall again, but, if you set your mind on getting up, on not letting circumstances get to you but let you be the change in the circumstance that you want to see, then things become very different. No matter how bleak and painful life may, seem, especially when faced with the rigour of daily routines and treacherous tasks, and the seeming lack of meaning in the mundane and routine tasks of life or the countless obstacles we face in life, if we see things from a different lens, if, if we make that choice to not be overcome, it is Possible, there is always hope, and hope is something that no one can take away from you, Optimism is something no one can take from you, choosing to be an overcomer is something that no one can take from you, no matter how hard they try. End of my lame reflection, have a good PH bros! And no matter how expensive your condo is, don't scold the security guard hahahahahaha jkjk You consperm carrot lah! Always kena chopped...😆 1 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cloud9 5th Gear October 27, 2019 Share October 27, 2019 2 hours ago, SiLangKia said: Have been reflecting over the past 2 months and chanced upon a story that describes tough times, sharing it and my thoughts below HAHAHA : “A young woman went to her mother and told her about her life, and how things were so hard for her. She did not know how she was going to make it, and wanted to give up. She was tired of fighting and struggling. It seemed as one problem was solved a new one arose. Her mother took her to the kitchen. She filled three pots with water. In the first pot, she placed carrots, in the second she placed eggs and the last she placed ground coffee beans. She let them sit and boil without saying a word. In about twenty minutes she turned off the burners. She fished the carrots out and placed them in a bowl. She pulled the eggs out and placed them in a bowl. Then she ladled the coffee out and placed it in a bowl. Turning to her daughter, she asked, "Tell me what do you see?" "Carrots, eggs, and coffee," she replied. She brought her closer and asked her to feel the carrots. She did and noted that they got soft. She then asked her to take the egg and break it. After pulling off the shell, she observed the hard-boiled egg. Finally, she asked her to smell and sip the coffee. The daughter smiled, as she smelled and tasted its rich aroma. The daughter then asked, "What's the point, mother?" Her mother explained that each of these objects had faced the same adversity- boiling water-but each reacted differently. The carrot went in strong, hard and unrelenting. However, after being subjected to the boiling water, it softened and became weak. The egg had been fragile. Its thin outer shell had protected its liquid interior. But, after sitting through the boiling water, its inside became hardened. The ground coffee beans were unique, however. After they were in the boiling water they had changed the water. "Which are you?" she asked her daughter. "When trials and adversity knock on your door, how do you respond? Are you a carrot, an egg, or a coffee bean?" ....... This got me thinking: Which am I? Am I the carrot that seems strong, but with pain and adversity, do I wilt and become soft and lose my strength? Am I the egg that starts with a passive heart, but changes with the heat? Did I have a fluid spirit, but after a death, a financial hardship or some other trial, have I become hardened and stiff? Does my shell look the same, but on the inside, am I bitter and tough with a stiff spirit and a hardened heart? Or, am I like the coffee bean? The bean actually changes the hot water, the very circumstance that brings the pain. When the water gets hot, it releases the fragrance and flavour. If you are like the bean, when things are at their worst, you become better and change the situation around you. When the hours are the darkest and trials are their greatest do you elevate to another level? So, how do you handle adversity? Like the CARROT, the EGG, OR the COFFEE BEAN?” That's a story I found, and I realise that in life, sometimes, in fact most times, we are the barriers to overcoming and being an overcomer. I want to be like the coffee bean, duh, I love coffee xD. On a more serious note, so-called inspiring stories like this get us thinking, but in reality, it is often easier said than done. When times are bad and you feel like you're at your lowest, it seems almost impossible that circumstances can improve, and that things will change. This is where you need to make a choice, the choice to overcome or to be overcome. We can easily slip into a vicious cycle of being overcome by situations and often, it seems like the easier and more tempting option, but then, there is the other choice, the choice to fight, the choice to not succumb, the choice to look at things from a different perspective, through a different lens. When you do that, you can see things for more than they are, you can see yourself beyond the situation, and when you make that choice, your mind becomes determined, and that's when you transition from being overcome to being an overcomer. No one said that it will be easy, or you won't stumble and fall again, but, if you set your mind on getting up, on not letting circumstances get to you but let you be the change in the circumstance that you want to see, then things become very different. No matter how bleak and painful life may, seem, especially when faced with the rigour of daily routines and treacherous tasks, and the seeming lack of meaning in the mundane and routine tasks of life or the countless obstacles we face in life, if we see things from a different lens, if, if we make that choice to not be overcome, it is Possible, there is always hope, and hope is something that no one can take away from you, Optimism is something no one can take from you, choosing to be an overcomer is something that no one can take from you, no matter how hard they try. End of my lame reflection, have a good PH bros! And no matter how expensive your condo is, don't scold the security guard hahahahahaha jkjk Hahaha I got this book at home la, later I take pic for you 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cloud9 5th Gear October 27, 2019 Share October 27, 2019 (edited) 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: Think your English teacher would have some words with you, using this self created word of "overcomer" But ... there's actually a movie called that... https://www.overcomermovie.com/ He emo le and u make us laughing at, "overcomer" Sometimes I also afraid of my grammar and English. But then now I realised so long ppl understand can le.😄 Edited October 27, 2019 by Cloud9 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic October 27, 2019 Share October 27, 2019 2 hours ago, Lala81 said: i think it's cloud9. And should be a sista, not a bro. haha Issit? I donno leh...the avatar...is a bird bird e-meet has the usual drawbacks... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic October 27, 2019 Share October 27, 2019 Always look on the bright side. You are not married and you don't have a MIL. How bad can life be? 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic October 27, 2019 Share October 27, 2019 (edited) I rather be the carrot. Two ladies were at a market stall selling carrots. The sign said one for 40 cents and 3 for $1. And one lady said to the other well I guess we can just eat the last one. Edited October 27, 2019 by Jamesc 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cloud9 5th Gear October 27, 2019 Share October 27, 2019 (edited) T 1 hour ago, Cloud9 said: Hahaha I got this book at home la, later I take pic for you Kekeke Edited October 27, 2019 by Cloud9 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SiLangKia Supersonic October 27, 2019 Author Share October 27, 2019 3 hours ago, Lala81 said: Think your English teacher would have some words with you, using this self created word of "overcomer" But ... there's actually a movie called that... https://www.overcomermovie.com/ hahahahaha my eng teacher taught me that word leh 🤣🤣🤣 anw it's been 10ish years between getting A1 for my 'o' level eng and most of that has been returned to the teacher, and even then the marker probably marked the wrong paper cos i know i cmi 1 hour ago, Cloud9 said: Hahaha I got this book at home la, later I take pic for you hahaha I saw alr Thanks! 1 hour ago, Cloud9 said: He emo le and u make us laughing at, "overcomer" Sometimes I also afraid of my grammar and English. But then now I realised so long ppl understand can le.😄 hahahaha it's ok la sis ! well at least your mandarin is strong, can read a chinese book I can't hahaha 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic November 14, 2019 Share November 14, 2019 On 10/27/2019 at 5:11 PM, SiLangKia said: Have been reflecting over the past 2 months and chanced upon a story that describes tough times, sharing it and my thoughts below HAHAHA : “A young woman went to her mother and told her about her life, and how things were so hard for her. She did not know how she was going to make it, and wanted to give up. She was tired of fighting and struggling. It seemed as one problem was solved a new one arose. Her mother took her to the kitchen. She filled three pots with water. In the first pot, she placed carrots, in the second she placed eggs and the last she placed ground coffee beans. She let them sit and boil without saying a word. In about twenty minutes she turned off the burners. She fished the carrots out and placed them in a bowl. She pulled the eggs out and placed them in a bowl. Then she ladled the coffee out and placed it in a bowl. Turning to her daughter, she asked, "Tell me what do you see?" "Carrots, eggs, and coffee," she replied. She brought her closer and asked her to feel the carrots. She did and noted that they got soft. She then asked her to take the egg and break it. After pulling off the shell, she observed the hard-boiled egg. Finally, she asked her to smell and sip the coffee. The daughter smiled, as she smelled and tasted its rich aroma. The daughter then asked, "What's the point, mother?" Her mother explained that each of these objects had faced the same adversity- boiling water-but each reacted differently. The carrot went in strong, hard and unrelenting. However, after being subjected to the boiling water, it softened and became weak. The egg had been fragile. Its thin outer shell had protected its liquid interior. But, after sitting through the boiling water, its inside became hardened. The ground coffee beans were unique, however. After they were in the boiling water they had changed the water. "Which are you?" she asked her daughter. "When trials and adversity knock on your door, how do you respond? Are you a carrot, an egg, or a coffee bean?" ....... This got me thinking: Which am I? Am I the carrot that seems strong, but with pain and adversity, do I wilt and become soft and lose my strength? Am I the egg that starts with a passive heart, but changes with the heat? Did I have a fluid spirit, but after a death, a financial hardship or some other trial, have I become hardened and stiff? Does my shell look the same, but on the inside, am I bitter and tough with a stiff spirit and a hardened heart? Or, am I like the coffee bean? The bean actually changes the hot water, the very circumstance that brings the pain. When the water gets hot, it releases the fragrance and flavour. If you are like the bean, when things are at their worst, you become better and change the situation around you. When the hours are the darkest and trials are their greatest do you elevate to another level? So, how do you handle adversity? Like the CARROT, the EGG, OR the COFFEE BEAN?” I tell the truth about life .................... ALL MeN ARE CARROT ! Beginning all was hard after piak piak become soft end of story ........ true Life ☺️ 2 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic November 14, 2019 Share November 14, 2019 On 10/27/2019 at 8:32 PM, Cloud9 said: T Kekeke I think SLK is looking at the Chio bu writer ................. 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SiLangKia Supersonic November 14, 2019 Author Share November 14, 2019 16 minutes ago, Angcheek said: I think SLK is looking at the Chio bu writer ................. clever how you know 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic November 15, 2019 Share November 15, 2019 21 hours ago, SiLangKia said: clever how you know I think the writer abit bui bui 😁 ↡ Advertisement 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...