Benarsenal Turbocharged December 17, 2024 Share December 17, 2024 On 12/17/2024 at 3:15 PM, Spidey10 said: can buy the car in JB and rent a place to store it....wanna go Msia then take the RTS and get the car and drive in Msia....boleh orΒ not? No need to rent. Even buying apartment in JB is achievable. Many people are already planning to do this. β‘ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 17, 2024 Share December 17, 2024 On 12/17/2024 at 10:37 PM, Benarsenal said: No need to rent. Even buying apartment in JB is achievable. Many people are already planning to do this. Buy and stuck πππππ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged December 17, 2024 Share December 17, 2024 Why stuck. Just live there forever till die lah. If can collect rent from their SG property, even better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged December 17, 2024 Share December 17, 2024 (edited) On 12/17/2024 at 10:37 PM, Benarsenal said: No need to rent. Even buying apartment in JB is achievable. Many people are already planning to do this. buy apartment or house is ok for us....just stay there lor....but buy msia cars? i know there is a lot of savings...but i think Sporean cannot drive Msia registered cars right into SG? I did think about it last time, buy msian car and store in JB (in house or apartment/condo) but we can only drive in Msia, we cannot drive the car into SG right? But if you have nothing much to do in SG...and retired in JB, is worthwhile to consider buying a car in Msia and go jalan jalan cari makan... save tons... Edited December 17, 2024 by Spidey10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged December 18, 2024 Share December 18, 2024 On 12/18/2024 at 7:52 AM, Spidey10 said: buy apartment or house is ok for us....just stay there lor....but buy msia cars? i know there is a lot of savings...but i think Sporean cannot drive Msia registered cars right into SG? I did think about it last time, buy msian car and store in JB (in house or apartment/condo) but we can only drive in Msia, we cannot drive the car into SG right? But if you have nothing much to do in SG...and retired in JB, is worthwhile to consider buying a car in Msia and go jalan jalan cari makan... save tons... Why need to drive in SG. You need to come in here then take the MRT la. That's the whole point of building it what.Β Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged September 12 Share September 12 it's baaack https://www.straitstimes.com/life/motoring/malaysias-proton-is-back-in-singapore-unveiling-a-new-showroom-and-its-electric-suv 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 12 Share September 12 On 9/12/2025 at 3:30 PM, Eyke said: it's baaack https://www.straitstimes.com/life/motoring/malaysias-proton-is-back-in-singapore-unveiling-a-new-showroom-and-its-electric-suv Proton cars once quite popular on our SG road. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic September 12 Share September 12 Still got Lotus-tuned suspension? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
citydrivingsg 2nd Gear September 12 Share September 12 On 9/12/2025 at 3:37 PM, 13177 said: Proton cars once quite popular on our SG road. Lol. More like Geely is back.π https://www.carz.com.my/2024/9/first-drive-geely-galaxy-e5-ev-proton-emas-7s-twin-driven Β Β 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged September 12 Share September 12 On 9/12/2025 at 6:04 PM, citydrivingsg said: More like Geely is back.π https://www.carz.com.my/2024/9/first-drive-geely-galaxy-e5-ev-proton-emas-7s-twin-driven Β Β Geely is backing the Proton that is back Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
steveting99 2nd Gear September 12 Share September 12 (edited) Well it looks like eMas7 isn't going to be competitive and VinCar is choosing to put into Cat B CoE territory based on Straits Time article here:Β https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/lifestyle/proton-e-mas-7-review-punching-hard-price Good luck to the Proton sales team in trying to move the metal in Singapore. By not offering Cat A version - it's $20k more expensive than it needs to be. Will see what the sales results are by end of 2025. TheΒ Mothership article in May 2025 was correct in it's prediction. Edited September 12 by steveting99 typo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 12 Share September 12 On 9/12/2025 at 9:03 PM, steveting99 said: Well it looks like eMas7 isn't going to be competitive and VinCar is choosing to put into Cat B CoE territory based on Straits Time article here:Β https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/lifestyle/proton-e-mas-7-review-punching-hard-price Good luck to the Proton sales team in trying to move the metal in Singapore. By not offering Cat A version - it's $20k more expensive than it needs to be. Will see what the sales results are by end of 2025. TheΒ Mothership article in May 2025 was correct in it's prediction. I guess eventually they will move this car to Cat A. You see many EV models only have Cat B initially, also ended up with Cat A version. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 12 Share September 12 On 9/12/2025 at 10:31 PM, 13177 said: I guess eventually they will move this car to Cat A. You see many EV models only have Cat B initially, also ended up with Cat A version. No economies of scale to do thatΒ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 12 Share September 12 (edited) On 9/12/2025 at 8:39 PM, Eyke said: Geely is backing the Proton that is back they are back but hope they wontΒ go back soonπ€£ Β On 9/12/2025 at 6:04 PM, citydrivingsg said: More like Geely is back.π https://www.carz.com.my/2024/9/first-drive-geely-galaxy-e5-ev-proton-emas-7s-twin-driven Β Β Notice the cars are registered with θ΄΅ε·license plate, last week was in guizhou but did notice this model. Almost every Didi I used was a EV. Edited September 12 by Ct3833 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear September 13 Share September 13 I think they sell this as Geely better than Proton. In any case, the cars built in China, we not getting the Malaysian assembled versions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
steveting99 2nd Gear September 28 Share September 28 On 9/12/2025 at 3:30 PM, Eyke said: it's baaack https://www.straitstimes.com/life/motoring/malaysias-proton-is-back-in-singapore-unveiling-a-new-showroom-and-its-electric-suv @EykeΒ According to Straits Times article there's at least eight suckers, opps, meant to say Proton customers who'll be getting their new e.Mas7 rides this month. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear September 28 Share September 28 Geely needs to have more RHD EVs to compete with its competitors. BYD SG this year alone already give birth to many babies, while Geely, as Proton only 1 baby. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged September 28 Share September 28 I don't think Geely will re-emerge as a brand in SG. They didn't have a great reputation first time round during the mid-2000s. So they'll probably just hide behind their other brands like Zeekr and Proton. Same like Chery, why they use Omoda and Jaecoo instead of Chery here. β‘ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...