[Consolidation] Singapore Otters

RickyWee

9 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

Bloody water rats. Never like them anyway.

Frankly there’s too many of them.

Got grilled otters with bbq sauce?

i like sea otters. Not so much for the river ones. lol.

While i like the idea of wild animals living in the city, but more should be done to control their movement. Otters have been eating other people's koi and destroying properties and people still say they are cute. If the wild boars do the same, they will probably end up on the grill. 

5 minutes ago, Stratovarius said:

While i like the idea of wild animals living in the city, but more should be done to control their movement. Otters have been eating other people's koi and destroying properties and people still say they are cute. If the wild boars do the same, they will probably end up on the grill

Yah and there’s so many different gang of otters. Knn, must call SSB. 😁

One group is on the way to a buffet feast at SIA club. 🤣

Edited by Fcw75

6 minutes ago, Stratovarius said:

While i like the idea of wild animals living in the city, but more should be done to control their movement. Otters have been eating other people's koi and destroying properties and people still say they are cute. If the wild boars do the same, they will probably end up on the grill

Too bad, the wild boars never end up on the grill.

Like those in Taiwan, grill boar is so delicious. 

2 hours ago, Tohto said:

Wild animals are wild, no matters otters, monkeys, wild boars.. always keep a distance away.

Some people will think they are cute and getting too close. When people get too close, those animals with babies around may feel threatened, thus attack.

If you live in a kampong before,  getting too close to a mother hen with young baby chicks, the mother hens will also attack to protect her baby.

Animals are animals, leave them alone and stay a distance when really want to watch them.

Ya lo, whenever when i see those people when they see monkeys, esp those baby monkey at the reservoir/nature reserve park, like never see a monkey in their life before and get so close to them, and some even go disturb them. I see liao also worry for myself, cause wait they provoked those monkeys and they went crazy and attack people, i might kena also. Like the otters case in botanic garden. [sweatdrop]

1 hour ago, Beregond said:

i alway feel we show too much favouritism to otter compare to other wild animals.

This kena it bad because he got big bad mean look and body

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/poachers-may-have-killed-barney-the-croc

should have at least use his body to make 黑椒鲕肉

44FEE27D-A263-4B52-A8AD-AC14735E1E02.png

Edited by Mustank
  • Sad 1

1 hour ago, Stratovarius said:

Exactly, dont know how come authority is not doing anything on this? From what i see, otters have become a nuisance to people, since they are destroying properties. Otters unlike monkeys, people still can stop monkeys from destroying their properties, like closing their house windows and doors if stay near to them. But for otters, seems like no way to prevent them from entering people premises le? They can like appear out of no where and then eat up other people's fishes.

48 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Ya lo, whenever when i see those people when they see monkeys, esp those baby monkey at the reservoir/nature reserve park, like never see a monkey in their life before and get so close to them, and some even go disturb them. I see liao also worry for myself, cause wait they provoked those monkeys and they went crazy and attack people, i might kena also. Like the otters case in botanic garden. [sweatdrop]

Then these people will start to call CNA, Mothershare, today online, sing min ...... all the media to complain the animals attack them.

1 hour ago, Tohto said:

This one big and old croc, maybe the meat will be hard and like rubberband. 

Don't mistake as Croc shoe very soft 😂

Should chop it up and give zoo lion and friends mah

dont wsste :grin:

1 minute ago, Mustank said:

The skin maybe end up in LV, Gucci etc....

3 hours ago, Mustank said:

Lions will tell u, got muddy taste, they dont like. They prefer bloodied meat.:D

• Haha! 7

Very hard to cull the otters, especially so that they even become a mascot on the Trace Together app. There may be public resistance against their culling. The present govt is fond of them as they put Singapore on the world map. You know the story, clean waterways, highly urbanized and the otters returned and thrived. They are even featured on BBC documentaries. A living testament to a job well done in urban planning for Singapore. 

The problem is that the wild otters have very little natural threats against them in this urbanized environment, we don't have enough natural predators to thin out their numbers. They are highly intelligent and adaptable mammals. Their only real threat is probably another group of rival otters, and no, the juvenile fresh water croc residing in sungei buloh may not even stand a chance against a determined group of them. 

1 hour ago, Lethalstrike said:

Very hard to cull the otters, especially so that they even become a mascot on the Trace Together app. There may be public resistance against their culling. The present govt is fond of them as they put Singapore on the world map. You know the story, clean waterways, highly urbanized and the otters returned and thrived. They are even featured on BBC documentaries. A living testament to a job well done in urban planning for Singapore. 

The problem is that the wild otters have very little natural threats against them in this urbanized environment, we don't have enough natural predators to thin out their numbers. They are highly intelligent and adaptable mammals. Their only real threat is probably another group of rival otters, and no, the juvenile fresh water croc residing in sungei buloh may not even stand a chance against a determined group of them. 

i guess all the condos in sgp will stop putting fish in their outdoor ponds..

5 minutes ago, Nolicense said:

i guess all the condos in sgp will stop putting fish in their outdoor ponds..

Either that or some sort of protective physical barrier. 

But the otters are very smart and adaptable. Sooner or later they will figure it out. If the private outdoor ponds are really blocked off, they will just venture elsewhere to hunt for fish. 

11 hours ago, 13177 said:

I don't like monkeys. They are very destructive and they bite. So avoid them if possible. 

12 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said:

Either that or some sort of protective physical barrier. 

But the otters are very smart and adaptable. Sooner or later they will figure it out. If the private outdoor ponds are really blocked off, they will just venture elsewhere to hunt for fish. 

the worse feeling is when all the koi just have 1 bite taken off them... its like the otters use the koi to train the kids to hunt and only take 1 bite so they dont fill themselves from 1 fish. lol

9 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

I don't like monkeys. They are very destructive and they bite. So avoid them if possible. 

i think our monkeys are call macaque? and they can be dangerous.. they will rummage our trash, steal your stuff even if you are holding on to it.

i hear if you go bukit timah reserve walk, better leave before sunset. the monkeys will become bold at night.. 😲

• Shocked 2