OFFICIAL: Tesla Singapore Discussion

dudez7

On 1/24/2024 at 4:03 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

you worry about 1st 5 years.. this one is first 50 days. not sure if this has been posted in MCF already.. and I dunno if its true anot.. maybe its a CSB where photos are real but the captions are being tampal over

these are forwarded photos that I received from WA

image.thumb.png.9314409b4ec4c95c85c6a922f74d9f3a.png

image.thumb.png.25adc26e491cbfb5498a3ffa80771d6a.png

Insurers won't insure him likely own fault. Hit from side maybe ran a red light or coming out from side road. 

Good to return 1 coe and possibly one less reckless driver in the road. Hope more Tesla get totalled. 

On 1/24/2024 at 3:47 PM, inlinesix said:

For me, i have different considerations.

My worry is total loss claims especially 1st 5 years.

I am looking at protecting my downside.

I find it strange. Like how long have you been driving, and in those years of driving, how many cars did you total loss?

To total loss a car is really not an easy task, at least that's how I think. Accidents yes, but accident until total loss is really a once in a life time kind of experience. Most divers won't even know how it feels in their entire driving life. So why is the worry of total loss claims especially in the first 5 yrs? Unless you know your chances of it is very high, very very high in fact. And if that's the case, then there is a real problem with EVs if you didn't have this worry before right?

I mean who starts a car buying process with total loss in mind? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 1/26/2024 at 10:09 AM, Volvobrick said:

Insurers won't insure him likely own fault. Hit from side maybe ran a red light or coming out from side road. 

Good to return 1 coe and possibly one less reckless driver in the road. Hope more Tesla get totalled. 

Someone posted it somewhere without the pictures, and he admitted was his fault. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 1/24/2024 at 3:50 PM, inlinesix said:

Tesla sold here is from GigaShanghai.
With China parts and batteries, it could be different from American Tesla.

I read somewhere that the BEST Teslas are produce out of the gigafactory in Shanghai. And some ppl still have that MIC is CMI mindset. Yes the 3 same alphabets, but arranged differently is totally different, some still cannot get it. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 1/26/2024 at 11:00 AM, Tianmo said:

I read somewhere that the BEST Teslas are produce out of the gigafactory in Shanghai. And some ppl still have that MIC is CMI mindset. Yes the 3 same alphabets, but arranged differently is totally different, some still cannot get it. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

bro, time for a meet up at TPY showroom.hahahahha

On 1/26/2024 at 11:08 AM, Hamburger said:

bro, time for a meet up at TPY showroom.hahahahha

Yah man. 

This morning I was in town ard 9:30am, and actually wanted to go take a look. My search showed that TPY open at 9am, but is their service and delivery center not showroom leh. Another search show their showroom as Millennia walk but only opens at 11am, so I left and head back to office.

Let's go man, put time put place, I want to have a feel of the model Y vs the EQB. ^_^[laugh][laugh]

WA or telegram, my line out of action very long liao. [:p]

On 1/26/2024 at 11:17 AM, Tianmo said:

Yah man. 

This morning I was in town ard 9:30am, and actually wanted to go take a look. My search showed that TPY open at 9am, but is their service and delivery center not showroom leh. Another search show their showroom as Millennia walk but only opens at 11am, so I left and head back to office.

Let's go man, put time put place, I want to have a feel of the model Y vs the EQB. ^_^[laugh][laugh]

Onz bro plus Lim kopi.

On 1/26/2024 at 11:17 AM, Tianmo said:

Yah man. 

TPY can test drive one. That's the place I went.

But need to book appt for test drive online first.

Else can try your luck to go there and see if can test drive on the spot or not.

On 1/26/2024 at 10:53 AM, Tianmo said:

I find it strange. Like how long have you been driving, and in those years of driving, how many cars did you total loss?

To total loss a car is really not an easy task, at least that's how I think. Accidents yes, but accident until total loss is really a once in a life time kind of experience. Most divers won't even know how it feels in their entire driving life. So why is the worry of total loss claims especially in the first 5 yrs? Unless you know your chances of it is very high, very very high in fact. And if that's the case, then there is a real problem with EVs if you didn't have this worry before right?

I mean who starts a car buying process with total loss in mind? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

The chance of your car total in an accident is lower then winning 4d I think😂😂😂

On 1/26/2024 at 11:50 AM, Theoldjaffa said:

TPY can test drive one. That's the place I went.

But need to book appt for test drive online first.

Else can try your luck to go there and see if can test drive on the spot or not.

Oh, thanks for the information bro. 

Tesla really never cross my mind untill very recently, so I didn't pay much attention to where it is house.

The only reason and could be the only reason of a Tesla for now, is the wife likes it.  

Now, wait for bro @Hamburger kopi order. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

La kopi at millennial one day...walked past their showroom...surprisingly crowded so thick skin went in to see see look look...got a shock when I got into the model 3...i was liked...where the hell are the rests of the car interior? It was so clean cut simple until macam a high end boutique shelf with only one handbag on display liddat...😂

At least it has ventilated seat compare to model Y although the latter has better seat for comfort. 

Tesla_Model_3_Wheels.ca_Brian_Makse_-33.jpg

bbe70185-3ab6-42b7-ba4b-50646dae3246-jpeg.webp

On 1/25/2024 at 9:43 PM, Fitmugen said:

Tesla shares Lao Sai after earnings release 

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/business/tesla-new-ev-model-2025-elon-musk-electric-vehicles-price-cuts-byd-4072331

But Tesla shares were down 6 per cent in after-hours trading as Musk noted that ramping up production of the new vehicle would be challenging. Musk said it would take "a tremendous amount of new revolutionary manufacturing technology" required - a sign that any boost to Tesla's declining pace of growth would take time.

His projection followed a Reuters story earlier in the day saying Tesla had told suppliers to prepare for a June 2025 startup of a smaller crossover vehicle, critical for the automaker as it loses share to inexpensive EVs such as those made by China's BYD.

"I'm often optimistic regarding time. But our current schedule shows that we will start production towards the end of 2025, sometime in the second half," Musk told analysts on a post-earnings call.

"We'll be sleeping on the line practically," he said, referring to Tesla's factory in Texas, where the new model will be first produced. That will be followed by Mexico and another factory outside North America to be decided later this year, he said. 

The EV maker also warned of "notably lower" sales growth this year as it focuses on the new vehicle after it reported shrinking fourth-quarter gross margin.

Tesla said it was in between two growth waves: one driven by the release of Models 3 and Y in 2017 and 2020, respectively, and a second wave that would start with the next-generation vehicle platform. 

Wall Street expects Tesla to sell 2.2 million vehicles this year, according to Visible Alpha. That would be up about 21 per cent from 2023 but well below the long-term target of 50 per cent that Musk set about three years ago. Tesla, however, did not reiterate that target on Wednesday. 

After years of breakneck growth, Tesla is bracing for slowing growth and margins as EV demand softens and competition intensifies. 

"If volume's going to be lower, then my guess is, Musk will probably cut prices and take share. Margins may continue to struggle for a while," said Gary Bradshaw, portfolio manager at shareholder Hodges Capital Management. 

Cost of goods sold per vehicle declined sequentially in the fourth quarter, but Tesla cautioned it was approaching the "natural limit" of cost reductions on its existing vehicle lineup, underscoring the pressure on the company to launch its new lower-cost vehicles. BYD sold more EVs globally than Tesla in the fourth quarter.

Musk said Chinese automakers will have significant success outside of China. "If there are no trade barriers established, they will pretty much demolish most other car companies in the world."

Tesla is feeling the heat now. 

Through the years, they have had almost monopoly of the industry, so head become big and think like Ford of the very early days.  Entering China is the 成也风云,败也风云, for Tesla. 

While EV buyers didn't have much choice earlier, the table has now turned around, with buyers spoiled for choice from so many brands and makes. 

Tesla is now just another EV producer, with very limited product line up. Even with the model Y as the best selling vehicle in the world in 2023, it is not enough to cover the loss in aggressive price reduction. And a signal of danger.

Everyday, there are news of new EVs coming to the market and new battery development from China and the rest of the world, and Tesla is only rolling out a new vehicle in 2025, obviously they have to sleep in production, because they have always been sleeping soundly. 

EM forgot that China EV sellers are back by the CCP gov, and unless he has reserve bigger than the CCP gov, or the US gov willing to back him with cold hard cash, the one who first starts a price war lost. 

Someone said lesser ppl buying EVs? That's some strange education out there, the truth is more ppl are buying EVs, just that lesser going to Tesla.

Must be calculator spoiled or press wrongly. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

On 1/26/2024 at 12:21 PM, Tianmo said:

Oh, thanks for the information bro. 

Tesla really never cross my mind untill very recently, so I didn't pay much attention to where it is house.

The only reason and could be the only reason of a Tesla for now, is the wife likes it.  

Now, wait for bro @Hamburger kopi order. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Got 1 friend driving a model 3.

And 1 neighbour a model y.

The model  3 is very high mileage. He brought when the car first launch.  Until now zero problem. Their service van went to his place for basic service etc. Top up fluid only.

On 1/26/2024 at 12:40 PM, Tianmo said:

Tesla is feeling the heat now. 

Through the years, they have had almost monopoly of the industry, so head become big and think like Ford of the very early days.  Entering China is the 成也风云,败也风云, for Tesla. 

While EV buyers didn't have much choice earlier, the table has now turned around, with buyers spoiled for choice from so many brands and makes. 

Tesla is now just another EV producer, with very limited product line up. Even with the model Y as the best selling vehicle in the world in 2023, it is not enough to cover the loss in aggressive price reduction. And a signal of danger.

Everyday, there are news of new EVs coming to the market and new battery development from China and the rest of the world, and Tesla is only rolling out a new vehicle in 2025, obviously they have to sleep in production, because they have always been sleeping soundly. 

EM forgot that China EV sellers are back by the CCP gov, and unless he has reserve bigger than the CCP gov, or the US gov willing to back him with cold hard cash, the one who first starts a price war lost. 

Someone said lesser ppl buying EVs? That's some strange education out there, the truth is more ppl are buying EVs, just that lesser going to Tesla.

Must be calculator spoiled or press wrongly. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Tesla will realise there is a big group of buyers who don’t need all the “tech” and prefer physical buttons. If they keep to their current interior where everything is by the Centre screen, they will fail very soon. I’m sure Elon is not that dumb. So don’t count them out. 

On 1/26/2024 at 12:28 PM, mersaylee said:

La kopi at millennial one day...walked past their showroom...surprisingly crowded so thick skin went in to see see look look...got a shock when I got into the model 3...i was liked...where the hell are the rests of the car interior? It was so clean cut simple until macam a high end boutique shelf with only one handbag on display liddat...😂

At least it has ventilated seat compare to model Y although the latter has better seat for comfort. 

Tesla_Model_3_Wheels.ca_Brian_Makse_-33.jpg

bbe70185-3ab6-42b7-ba4b-50646dae3246-jpeg.webp

this is the pre-facelift model.. or the current Model Y.

the Highland Model 3's interior is somewhat the same, but is a tad nicer.

Steering wheel is nicer, got mood light strips, and *gasp* no signal stalks.

the front lamps are less frog like; in fact it looks sleek and very nice.

rear look is also nicer.

The biggest draw for me will be the price/performance ratio.

Overall i quite like the Highland, but not the pre-facelift and the current Model Y.

But I dun like it (or any EV at this point of time) enough to want to buy it.

On 1/26/2024 at 1:11 PM, Beregond said:

Got 1 friend driving a model 3.

And 1 neighbour a model y.

The model  3 is very high mileage. He brought when the car first launch.  Until now zero problem. Their service van went to his place for basic service etc. Top up fluid only.

Tesla got door step servicing service? At a extra cost I suppose, I don't think Tesla will provide such service FOB, Tesla is like a you want you pay kind of company to me. 

But how you know your friend model 3 until now zero problem? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 1/26/2024 at 2:13 PM, Fitmugen said:

Tesla will realise there is a big group of buyers who don’t need all the “tech” and prefer physical buttons. If they keep to their current interior where everything is by the Centre screen, they will fail very soon. I’m sure Elon is not that dumb. So don’t count them out. 

Actually from the start Tesla knew there is a big grp of buyers who don't need or don't want all the "tech". But Tesla believe it can change them and it did so from how they manage so far. And it is exactly why it is pushing ahead with going away with all the buttons. 

Tesla will not fail so soon, it will just start to loss that monopoly advantage and fall into the actual race with the rest. Tesla will either fight head on cutting prices more, or it will have to change plans. 

Consumers want choice, from 3 yrs old to 80 yrs old, from year 1800 to year 2100, this has not change. 

Tesla provided a different choice to the regular automobile industry when it started. Ppl bought into this "choice" more than the product itself. But now things have changed and there are many more similar "choice" out there to compare. Instead of focusing on why they made it, they went against it.

When you are different, that "all I have is white" sound acceptable, but when you are no longer different, your white only statement will turn ppl away, because you now give them no choice. 

As a marketer myself, when someone starts working on reducing prices, you know their minds are squeezed dry, or their turnover is falling behind. All not very healthy. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Of course EM is a smart guy, but many smart ppl made big mistakes too. But who knows, Tesla may come out with a new package of their own ecosystem, maybe a Tesla smart phone tie to the car, maybe a Tesla that can fly, something different again. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Tianmo