POFMA - Correction Notice

Carbon82

POFMA would be more credible to all when it is manned by a committee from different political divide and experts from different fields. These experts (eg from universities) can be appointed by honorary membership and not a paid position.

Today POFMA is determined literally by any Minister or through their ministry and no one else (please do correct me if I am wrong).

It can be confusing for the public when POFMA is not applied to the source but to other individuals or website who share instead. 

Sometimes why and how POFMA is needed is difficult to understand.

1 hour ago, Throttle2 said:

I proudly tell all my subordinates (last time when i still had a job🤣)   ,”the moment you are afraid to lose your job, you are not fit to do it anymore.”

then I kena retrenched by the CEO......... muayhahahahahaha

which was fabulous as i was “compensated” .   Bestest way to go.  😘😘

well said...have been doing the right thing at the workplace for all that matters, and to be sure that i say it as it is, for the benefit of the team...waiting to retire, but not yet hahaa.

2 hours ago, Sdf4786k said:

What I was driving at is most of us want to do the right thing. But it should be advantageous to us.. no..

unless it’s like been a contestant for a beauty pageant.. peace on earth n end world hunger ..,

however once video scandal comes out you back to been a bimbo 

so while echoing the sentiment of what is justifiable doing. Sometimes we need to eat humble pie and just blend in with the environment.

unless there is an Avenue where you can do what you strongly believe in, and there is so much grieving that you don’t don’t have anything else to loose, you will trigger all your energy to see to it that it ends in a fatal embrace .

like yourself, you have a good exit package. But if the company instead make u go on early retirement without a single compensation then of course you would not be too kind to the opinion of how you were treated

dont understand some parts of your post, but anyway i didnt know whether i was going to be compensated or not beforehand. I was just brought to the room and told that my services were not longer required.  However, as i was also preparing for my own resignation, the whole event was a bonus to me. 😜🤣

One thing i know is i put my best foot forward and always acted out of the benefit of the firm, my decisions and actions were always for the benefit of the firm never to my own selfish interest.    Why? Because I was one of the pioneers who started at the bottom and contributed my youth to see the firm expand 10 folds

I was one the highest flyer too but when the new CEO came in, it was clear that a politics game was to be played, not for the good of the firm at large.  New Clowns who created riffs internally, did not collaborate nor worked together were still promoted to MDs becos they laugh smile drank and carried the balls of the CEO.  it was irksome to watch if you ask me.  🤦🏻‍♂ The original band of Top management were shown their way out of the firm over the next few years.   Classic corporate stuff man..😁😂...

As a matter of principle, I have never eaten the Humble Pie in this respect and I never will.  

30 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

dont understand some parts of your post, but anyway i didnt know whether i was going to be compensated or not beforehand. I was just brought to the room and told that my services were not longer required.  However, as i was also preparing for my own resignation, the whole event was a bonus to me. 😜🤣

One thing i know is i put my best foot forward and always acted out of the benefit of the firm, my decisions and actions were always for the benefit of the firm never to my own selfish interest.    Why? Because I was one of the pioneers who started at the bottom and contributed my youth to see the firm expand 10 folds

I was one the highest flyer too but when the new CEO came in, it was clear that a politics game was to be played, not for the good of the firm at large.  New Clowns who created riffs internally, did not collaborate nor worked together were still promoted to MDs becos they laugh smile drank and carried the balls of the CEO.  it was irksome to watch if you ask me.  🤦🏻‍♂ The original band of Top management were shown their way out of the firm over the next few years.   Classic corporate stuff man..😁😂...

As a matter of principle, I have never eaten the Humble Pie in this respect and I never will.  

The vast majority of us have to play the emperors new clothes despite the fact that the emperor is naked 

lol

1 hour ago, RadX said:

well said...have been doing the right thing at the workplace for all that matters, and to be sure that i say it as it is, for the benefit of the team...waiting to retire, but not yet hahaa.

Cautiously optimistic 😂 

so back to the original intend of this thread.. if somehow MCF kanna pofma order, what is the stand of the community.. refuse to accept the instructions or LL delete the thread due to the interpretation of how pofma is created ?

Edited by Sdf4786k

13 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said:

The vast majority of us have to play the emperors new clothes despite the fact that the emperor is naked 

lol

Yes probably, but not for me.  

17 hours ago, Throttle2 said:

Yes probably, but not for me.  

This is a good read for what most population of the island can identify with.

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/what-lies-beneath-the-unhappiness-over-covid-resurgence-in-spore

What lies beneath the unhappiness over Covid resurgence in S'pore?

The dissonance between complaints and response buttresses the feeling that the powers that be have not given public feedback the attention it deserves.

There is a word from the ancient Greeks that might explain why some, perhaps many, Singaporeans have turned from being very appreciative of the Government's valiant effort in containing the pandemic last year to feeling let down by its failure to prevent the entry of the B1617 variant from India. It is thumos.

Sometimes spelt as thymos, the term does not lend itself to easy translation. Scholars writing in English have translated it - poorly, some say - as "spirit" or "spiritedness" which together with "reason" and "emotion" form the three parts of a person's soul, according to Greek mythology.

Western political philosophers and commentators have since used it to describe the inner force that moves a person to speak out or act in resentment against those who brush him and his views aside because they consider him as uninformed or incapable of understanding the truths they know.

Indeed thumos is one of the reasons which American commentator Francis Fukuyama offered for the rise of the kind of identity politics and new nationalism that propelled Mr Donald Trump to the White House and the United Kingdom out of the European Union.

In a long essay in the September/October 2018 issue of Foreign Affairs, he pointed to the example of middle class Americans who feared job losses and displacement as a result of globalisation and free trade and who felt their misgivings had been cast aside by the elite as economic illiteracy. So, as payback, they gave these smarty-pants... Donald Trump.

So is thumos at work here triggered by the sudden surge in community infections?Anecdotal evidence and open expressions of disaffection in the social media space would suggest that there is certainly unhappiness that early calls for a pause to arrivals from high-risk countries had gone unheeded.

It is this, coupled with the suspicion that complacency had set in, that upset the complainants. And it is exacerbated by the perception that their honest misgivings have either been met with silence or deflected by officials who believe they have thought through everything and that the disgruntled Singaporeans just do not get the big picture.

What fuelled this perception is the regular official reminder that Singapore needs migrant workers and that there will be a grave economic cost if the country shuts its borders. This has not gone down well because Singaporeans, by and large, do understand that foreign workers are needed in construction, nursing and other sectors which the local workforce shuns. And they are not clamouring for acomplete shutdown of the borders.

The exasperation is over the letting in of dependants of other employment pass holders, whether a computer programmer or a logistics manager. Further, talk of a heavy economic cost to the country cannot but strike a discordant note with those who are already suffering a loss of earnings as a result of the tightened restrictions. More likely than not, this dissonance between complaint and response buttresses the feeling that the powers that be have chosen to obfuscate, temporise or not address what they consider as uninformed outbursts. And so thumos kicks in.

Only those with the resources to do a detailed study would be able to find out just how prevalent the disaffection is but even in the absence of that, it would be a mistake to dismiss the dissatisfaction uttered thus far as just "noise" in the ether or the opportunistic cavilling of those who have an axe to grind.

It is not xenophobia

It would also be wrong to call it xenophobic or racist. Singaporeans who complain about letting in dependants do understand that it is only human for work pass holders or permanent residents here to want to get their loved ones out of their home countries as these are being devastated by the pandemic. But Singaporeans want their Government to put their safety first.

Did not Cicero the Roman statesman and philosopher lay down this first principle of governance, the welfare of the people is the supreme law (salus populi suprema lex)?

It needs to be pointed out that thumos is not all negative though in its earliest manifestation, it drove Achilles into a murderous rage, or so the Homeric epic poem Iliad has it. Thinkers like Plato have written that when exercised within reason, the other part of the soul, it would be a force for the good. It would move individuals to stand up against injustice or wrongdoings, and seek truth, virtue and wisdom.

As he wrote in The Republic, within the ideal city state, every citizen would possess a healthy thumos within his soul, allowing him to play his rightful role in civic life.

If it is indeed thumos that has moved Singaporeans to, figuratively, raise their eyebrows if not their voices over the entry and spread of the B1617 variant, it is, in all likelihood, a plaintive cry for meaningful engagement on the part of the authorities, beginning perhaps with an honest acknowledgement that the issue could have been handled better.

All said, better a Singapore in which citizens have thumos in their soul, as Plato prescribed, than a nation of sullen sheep.

Edited by Sdf4786k

1 hour ago, Sdf4786k said:

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/what-lies-beneath-the-unhappiness-over-covid-resurgence-in-spore

The dissonance between complaints and response buttresses the feeling that the powers that be have not given public feedback the attention it deserves.

There is a word from the ancient Greeks that might explain why some, perhaps many, Singaporeans have turned from being very appreciative of the Government's valiant effort in containing the pandemic last year to feeling let down by its failure to prevent the entry of the B1617 variant from India. It is thumos.

Sometimes spelt as thymos, the term does not lend itself to easy translation. Scholars writing in English have translated it - poorly, some say - as "spirit" or "spiritedness" which together with "reason" and "emotion" form the three parts of a person's soul, according to Greek mythology.

Western political philosophers and commentators have since used it to describe the inner force that moves a person to speak out or act in resentment against those who brush him and his views aside because they consider him as uninformed or incapable of understanding the truths they know.

Indeed thumos is one of the reasons which American commentator Francis Fukuyama offered for the rise of the kind of identity politics and new nationalism that propelled Mr Donald Trump to the White House and the United Kingdom out of the European Union.

In a long essay in the September/October 2018 issue of Foreign Affairs, he pointed to the example of middle class Americans who feared job losses and displacement as a result of globalisation and free trade and who felt their misgivings had been cast aside by the elite as economic illiteracy. So, as payback, they gave these smarty-pants... Donald Trump.

So is thumos at work here triggered by the sudden surge in community infections?Anecdotal evidence and open expressions of disaffection in the social media space would suggest that there is certainly unhappiness that early calls for a pause to arrivals from high-risk countries had gone unheeded.

It is this, coupled with the suspicion that complacency had set in, that upset the complainants. And it is exacerbated by the perception that their honest misgivings have either been met with silence or deflected by officials who believe they have thought through everything and that the disgruntled Singaporeans just do not get the big picture.

What fuelled this perception is the regular official reminder that Singapore needs migrant workers and that there will be a grave economic cost if the country shuts its borders. This has not gone down well because Singaporeans, by and large, do understand that foreign workers are needed in construction, nursing and other sectors which the local workforce shuns. And they are not clamouring for acomplete shutdown of the borders.

The exasperation is over the letting in of dependants of other employment pass holders, whether a computer programmer or a logistics manager. Further, talk of a heavy economic cost to the country cannot but strike a discordant note with those who are already suffering a loss of earnings as a result of the tightened restrictions. More likely than not, this dissonance between complaint and response buttresses the feeling that the powers that be have chosen to obfuscate, temporise or not address what they consider as uninformed outbursts. And so thumos kicks in.

Only those with the resources to do a detailed study would be able to find out just how prevalent the disaffection is but even in the absence of that, it would be a mistake to dismiss the dissatisfaction uttered thus far as just "noise" in the ether or the opportunistic cavilling of those who have an axe to grind.

It is not xenophobia

It would also be wrong to call it xenophobic or racist. Singaporeans who complain about letting in dependants do understand that it is only human for work pass holders or permanent residents here to want to get their loved ones out of their home countries as these are being devastated by the pandemic. But Singaporeans want their Government to put their safety first.

Did not Cicero the Roman statesman and philosopher lay down this first principle of governance, the welfare of the people is the supreme law (salus populi suprema lex)?

wah.... another one preparing to hand in letter liao?

or dear leslie sold all his bitcoin at 60k.... 

47 minutes ago, Playtime said:

wah.... another one preparing to hand in letter liao?

or dear leslie sold all his bitcoin at 60k.... 

Paraphrased mcf thread!😄

2 hours ago, Sdf4786k said:

It is not xenophobia

It needs to be pointed out that thumos is not all negative though in its earliest manifestation, it drove Achilles into a murderous rage, or so the Homeric epic poem Iliad has it. Thinkers like Plato have written that when exercised within reason, the other part of the soul, it would be a force for the good. It would move individuals to stand up against injustice or wrongdoings, and seek truth, virtue and wisdom.

As he wrote in The Republic, within the ideal city state, every citizen would possess a healthy thumos within his soul, allowing him to play his rightful role in civic life.

If it is indeed thumos that has moved Singaporeans to, figuratively, raise their eyebrows if not their voices over the entry and spread of the B1617 variant, it is, in all likelihood, a plaintive cry for meaningful engagement on the part of the authorities, beginning perhaps with an honest acknowledgement that the issue could have been handled better.

All said, better a Singapore in which citizens have thumos in their soul, as Plato prescribed, than a nation of sullen sheep.

So in short or summary  mean what? Lol

Too chim for me

On 5/20/2021 at 8:58 AM, Kyrios said:

How about those experts? Especially that guy who said the TTSH cluster is nothing to be worried over. This has now been demonstrated to be spurious.

Are we in Norf korea?

He was right. 🤔

Changi Airport cluster was the one that's spreading.

On 5/20/2021 at 12:33 PM, Playtime said:

But lee sheng wu case different... 

Clearly justice is blind... literally blind. They don't go after India.. why go after relative...

It's relatively easier? 

3 minutes ago, Beregond said:

So in short or summary  mean what? Lol

Too chim for me

Better to speak up than behave like a primary school student to keep quite , behave and don’t question authorities..

1 hour ago, Sdf4786k said:

Better to speak up than behave like a primary school student to keep quite , behave and don’t question authorities..

Pap govt stares intensely :" what you saying boy!!?? Ask questions??!! Shut up and sit down... "

django_gif_static.gif

Another joke after the "clarifications" about South Asian family arriving at Changi Airport... :a-t9412: :a-t9412:

The reply seems to imply that people in Singapore are retarded, who can't even differentiate simple jokes from facts...

Forum: Use of Pofma domestically reinforced international efforts

We thank Ms Celeste Phua Chih Min for her letter, in which she said that instead of invoking the Protection from Online Falsehoods and Manipulation Act (Pofma) to clarify that there is no "Singapore variant" of the coronavirus, the Government should have focused on correcting perceptions abroad (Better to contain any damage in international audience instead of invoking Pofma, May 22).

The Government did both. In fact, the use of Pofma domestically reinforced our efforts to correct the falsehood internationally.

Some quarters of Singapore society would have believed the claim to be true, if it had not been clearly refuted by a relevant authority. Pofma was therefore applied to widely correct a falsehood in the public interest, and dispel any lingering doubt.

As the claims had gone viral and been repeated by many sources, rather than attempting to stem the spread of individual posts, we countered them by requiring (via general correction directions) social media platforms to share the correction with all their users in Singapore.

Internationally, the Government promptly and firmly addressed the unfounded assertions.

The Singapore High Commission in India issued clarifications, including through social media and a virtual press conference.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs also met the High Commissioner of India in Singapore, to express our concerns and disappointment. These actions were backed up by the use of Pofma in Singapore.

The Indian government, most notably External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar, described Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal's claims as "irresponsible" and stated that the chief minister did not speak for India.

Singapore's clarifications have been carried widely in the international and Indian media, and it has largely been acknowledged in India that there is no "Singapore variant".

We welcome the writer's support for strong actions to protect Singapore's international reputation.

We assure the writer that we share the same resolve, and will spare no effort to do so.

Bernard Toh

Director, Information Policy Division

Ministry of Communications and Information

1 hour ago, Carbon82 said:

Another joke after the "clarifications" about South Asian family arriving at Changi Airport... :a-t9412: :a-t9412:

The reply seems to imply that people in Singapore are retarded, who can't even differentiate simple jokes from facts...

We thank Ms Celeste Phua Chih Min for her letter, in which she said that instead of invoking the Protection from Online Falsehoods and Manipulation Act (Pofma) to clarify that there is no "Singapore variant" of the coronavirus, the Government should have focused on correcting perceptions abroad (Better to contain any damage in international audience instead of invoking Pofma, May 22).

The Government did both. In fact, the use of Pofma domestically reinforced our efforts to correct the falsehood internationally.

Some quarters of Singapore society would have believed the claim to be true, if it had not been clearly refuted by a relevant authority. Pofma was therefore applied to widely correct a falsehood in the public interest, and dispel any lingering doubt.

As the claims had gone viral and been repeated by many sources, rather than attempting to stem the spread of individual posts, we countered them by requiring (via general correction directions) social media platforms to share the correction with all their users in Singapore.

Internationally, the Government promptly and firmly addressed the unfounded assertions.

The Singapore High Commission in India issued clarifications, including through social media and a virtual press conference.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs also met the High Commissioner of India in Singapore, to express our concerns and disappointment. These actions were backed up by the use of Pofma in Singapore.

The Indian government, most notably External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar, described Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal's claims as "irresponsible" and stated that the chief minister did not speak for India.

Singapore's clarifications have been carried widely in the international and Indian media, and it has largely been acknowledged in India that there is no "Singapore variant".

We welcome the writer's support for strong actions to protect Singapore's international reputation.

We assure the writer that we share the same resolve, and will spare no effort to do so.

Bernard Toh

Red herring at its best

4 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

Bernard Toh

I read the above posting a few times, and strangely cannot find any fish in the article. It simply detail what the gov has done, both domestically and in India, to dispel the unfounded assertion that the virus is from Singapore.

I would think the people here have no objection to the rebuttal, as all will agree that the virus is not from here, just that why POFMA is used against the local media sites instead of in India. But it is clearly not the case as we understand now, as it did was used to convey our stand in India. Would it make us happy now that we know that it had been applied not only to our local sites to "bully" them? If it were not true, you think the gov will not worry that India gov will come out and claim never being POFMA? Would the gov risk this embarrassment?

Much as a few disagree about the use of POFMA against the local sites to insert a correction notice over the citing, frankly speaking to me that is the most responsible thing to do. Being POFMA does not mean anything to the sites in this case, not that they are being sued or maliced or diminished. Do you not agree that the assertion was wrong in the first place, thus deserved to be corrected? How else do you think it should be corrected? If individual sites guai guai came up with own rebuttal notice, would that make you happy? Some will still make a story about the invisible hand, right? To me this approach is neat as it get the message across clearly without ambiguity and did not penalise the sites in the process.

Some will cite worry about this becoming a precedent thus a matter of principle. Lets worry about this later lah. Perhaps it had learnt something from the song saga and now doing better I dont know haha. If the gov want to play dirty, there are many ways it could do lah, you all should know better than me haha.