ToyotaShuttle 5th Gear July 9, 2021 Share July 9, 2021 Quote Ng Yu Zhi’s unusually large cash transfers from his trading company to his personal account prompted Oversea-Chinese Banking Corp to file suspicious transaction reports to police as far back as 2019, the people said, asking not to be identified discussing private information. woah. OCBC got leak? OMG ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic July 9, 2021 Share July 9, 2021 43 minutes ago, Throttle2 said: https://www.straitstimes.com/business/banking/envy-global-trading-boss-alarmed-some-banks-in-singapore-long-before-his-arrest file so much STRs yet he still managed to cheat so many so long including Temasek GC. and Envysion Wealth Management…… 😂😆 That is his own money , blame his own stupidity but these supposedly smart savy investors can be cheated so easily , I am more concerned how much of our money with Temasrk has been cheated by how many of such similar deals? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brass 6th Gear July 9, 2021 Share July 9, 2021 (edited) On 6/22/2021 at 1:40 PM, Jellandross said: I've been paying for my purchases in full my whole life except car and house. But been told that my thinking already outdated and I'm not even 50yr old 😞 But I still don't understand how is resorting to buy household items on installments considered normal?! The 32-year-old account director of a digital media agency has been using GrabPay since 2019 to pay for rides and food orders. Recently, she decided to give PayLater Instalments a try while shopping at HipVan. “We had to replace our trash bin as it was small and old and bought a new one for $32,” says Ms Vitya, who paid for the item in $8 instalments across four months. “It is a small amount. But for bigger ticket items in the $100 to $200 range, we can use PayLater Instalments without having to bust our monthly household budget.” https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/buy-now-pay-later-boon-or-bane Rubbish bin also need installment ah 🤦♂️ And a $32 dustbin for the 32 year old ? Sheer absurdity. I can only afford the $0.80 dustbin from Mr DIY. Edited July 9, 2021 by Brass Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gizmore Supercharged July 9, 2021 Share July 9, 2021 6 hours ago, Brass said: Rubbish bin also need installment ah 🤦♂️ And a $32 dustbin for the 32 year old ? Sheer absurdity. I can only afford the $0.80 dustbin from Mr DIY. In my parent's days, we would use old tin for bins. Fast forward to today, my wife wanted a bin that cost a hundred dollars. Insane. I told her no. Went to NTUC to get one for below $10. That's the kind of generation these days. 1 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ash2017 Twincharged July 10, 2021 Share July 10, 2021 Sometimes we talk like no talk. 1 in 2 high income earners have financial problems. On the corollary, 100% of low income earners have financial problems. So, which group have bigger problems? For the latter, we have not or unable to solve the problem for the longest of time. Life is such a great big illusion. We don't get our priorities right, bearing in mind that those 60-70, 80 or if lucky 90 years of life is very short. A blink of an eye an is all over. 1. Do you think if you had extra-money would you spend on better quality or even better nutritious food? But many would save and sacrifice to buy a Rolex watch? 2. How many ladies you know would spend 100s of dollars on a dead tissue (hair) but would complain their doctors' consultation fee and medicine is so expensive (usually under a 100)? 3. Today, we have AI marketing targeting you psychologically (boosting your wants and egos) to buy more than you can chew. 4. I once spoke to a very rich man, who had nothing less than a very pampered life. He said for him to go bankrupt and force to live in a rental HDB flat, he rather die (suicide). You see many would be jumping for joy to have a roof over their head. A case of rich man's problem. 5. Ever wondered about the purpose of bank (suppose to help you make money and in times of need (financially), when you don't need money but have more than enough, banks keep pestering you borrow money from them but when you are down and out, they would not lend you money unless you have collaterals and then again that does have a guarantee that the bank will lend. 6. The rich often had perks. Banks send them birthday hampers, shops give expensive freebies, people want to know them and be associated with them (heard of Radx). Why nobody feel sorry or pity them for having so many perks when the going is good. 7. Most things in life are temporary and transitional. So don't cling too tightly to material things including non tangibles like relationships. 8. Just remember, for every decision we make we need to be accountable and bear the consequences. Being and wanting to be rich is one of those choices we make. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 10, 2021 Share July 10, 2021 8 hours ago, Brass said: Rubbish bin also need installment ah 🤦♂️ And a $32 dustbin for the 32 year old ? Sheer absurdity. I can only afford the $0.80 dustbin from Mr DIY. Now even have PayLater instalment for household items sia? 😅 No wonder people can anyhow buy. Lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ginyu 5th Gear July 10, 2021 Share July 10, 2021 (edited) Many live for others to see 🤣 Edited July 10, 2021 by Ginyu 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dp26 5th Gear July 10, 2021 Share July 10, 2021 1 hour ago, Ginyu said: Many live for others to see 🤣 Can’t be further from the truth… Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 10, 2021 Share July 10, 2021 11 hours ago, Ct3833 said: That is his own money , blame his own stupidity but these supposedly smart savy investors can be cheated so easily , I am more concerned how much of our money with Temasrk has been cheated by how many of such similar deals? Yalor, smart lawyers and bankers. ..not so smart after all eh? Greed clouds the mind. zen……….. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged July 10, 2021 Share July 10, 2021 11 hours ago, Ct3833 said: That is his own money , blame his own stupidity but these supposedly smart savy investors can be cheated so easily , I am more concerned how much of our money with Temasrk has been cheated by how many of such similar deals? confirm got lah.. see luckin coffee.. got more but cannot recall some more 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie26 Hypersonic July 10, 2021 Share July 10, 2021 3 hours ago, Ash2017 said: Sometimes we talk like no talk. 1 in 2 high income earners have financial problems. On the corollary, 100% of low income earners have financial problems. So, which group have bigger problems? For the latter, we have not or unable to solve the problem for the longest of time. Life is such a great big illusion. We don't get our priorities right, bearing in mind that those 60-70, 80 or if lucky 90 years of life is very short. A blink of an eye an is all over. 1. Do you think if you had extra-money would you spend on better quality or even better nutritious food? But many would save and sacrifice to buy a Rolex watch? 2. How many ladies you know would spend 100s of dollars on a dead tissue (hair) but would complain their doctors' consultation fee and medicine is so expensive (usually under a 100)? 3. Today, we have AI marketing targeting you psychologically (boosting your wants and egos) to buy more than you can chew. 4. I once spoke to a very rich man, who had nothing less than a very pampered life. He said for him to go bankrupt and force to live in a rental HDB flat, he rather die (suicide). You see many would be jumping for joy to have a roof over their head. A case of rich man's problem. 5. Ever wondered about the purpose of bank (suppose to help you make money and in times of need (financially), when you don't need money but have more than enough, banks keep pestering you borrow money from them but when you are down and out, they would not lend you money unless you have collaterals and then again that does have a guarantee that the bank will lend. 6. The rich often had perks. Banks send them birthday hampers, shops give expensive freebies, people want to know them and be associated with them (heard of Radx). Why nobody feel sorry or pity them for having so many perks when the going is good. 7. Most things in life are temporary and transitional. So don't cling too tightly to material things including non tangibles like relationships. 8. Just remember, for every decision we make we need to be accountable and bear the consequences. Being and wanting to be rich is one of those choices we make. ."Most things in life are temporary and transitional. So don't cling too tightly to material things including non tangibles like relationships' Many thanks for sharing Relationships are very important. Agree that letting go can be a big challenge 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 12, 2021 Share July 12, 2021 On 7/10/2021 at 7:48 AM, Gizmore said: In my parent's days, we would use old tin for bins. Fast forward to today, my wife wanted a bin that cost a hundred dollars. Insane. I told her no. Went to NTUC to get one for below $10. That's the kind of generation these days. Aiyoh, your wide wants a $100 bin, just buy for her lah. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic July 12, 2021 Share July 12, 2021 On 7/10/2021 at 11:55 AM, Newbie26 said: ."Most things in life are temporary and transitional. So don't cling too tightly to material things including non tangibles like relationships' Many thanks for sharing Relationships are very important. Agree that letting go can be a big challenge Life in itself is temporary as well, it is the length of about 7 to 10 COE renewal. one day when times is up, everything he has will be zerolised. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 13, 2021 Share July 13, 2021 8 hours ago, Ct3833 said: Life in itself is temporary as well, it is the length of about 7 to 10 COE renewal. one day when times is up, everything he has will be zerolised. How true, although easier said than done, lets not live with too many grudges, regrets and grief. must really be able 看得开 I recently sold two of my vintage Rolexes. Pieces which i thought i would never sell but i did anyway. And it wasnt even for the cash becos still have loads of that. as we get older, the ability to let go of the material world gets more important 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie26 Hypersonic July 13, 2021 Share July 13, 2021 6 hours ago, Throttle2 said: How true, although easier said than done, lets not live with too many grudges, regrets and grief. must really be able 看得开 I recently sold two of my vintage Rolexes. Pieces which i thought i would never sell but i did anyway. And it wasnt even for the cash becos still have loads of that. as we get older, the ability to let go of the material world gets more important Maybe should have passed them on to your next generation 😃 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 13, 2021 Share July 13, 2021 4 minutes ago, Newbie26 said: Maybe should have passed them on to your next generation 😃 Not to worry, i still have 35 Rolexes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic July 13, 2021 Share July 13, 2021 7 hours ago, Throttle2 said: Not to worry, i still have 35 Rolexes. Not including your PP. 😀😀 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 13, 2021 Share July 13, 2021 5 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: Not including your PP. 😀😀 I dont have PP. never did, boss ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...