inlinesix Hypersonic September 29, 2021 Share September 29, 2021 1 minute ago, Discoburg said: What talking you? Foxconn India is mostly for Indian Market. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 29, 2021 Share September 29, 2021 (edited) 2 minutes ago, Discoburg said: What talking you? he meant they are only meant to service the indian domestic market. not meant for export. anyway some diversification away from china is necessary for the biggest American MNCs. Edited September 29, 2021 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic September 29, 2021 Share September 29, 2021 Just now, inlinesix said: Foxconn India is mostly for Indian Market. I am talking about Foxconn wanna close the plants in India and move back to china. I am not talking about Foxconn setting plants in India to care for what market. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic September 29, 2021 Share September 29, 2021 1 minute ago, Lala81 said: he meant they are only meant to service the indian domestic market. not meant for export. anyway some diversification away from china is necessary for the biggest American MNCs. I know what he meant but I am not talking about what market is the India plants for ma.😅 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic September 29, 2021 Share September 29, 2021 2 minutes ago, happy_man said: Not sure about Foxconn long term plan in that South Asian country. I only know there was a big riot at one of iPhone assembly plant last year in Karnataka. Thats why apple stick to making their products in China. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged September 29, 2021 Share September 29, 2021 31 minutes ago, Discoburg said: Read somewhere that Foxconn had set up plants in India and now wanna move them back to china. Haha, India's problem is their politics and governing. Long ago there is already a Foxconn plant. Nice factory with good hostel surrounded with wall to separate from outside. But after about a year. Rubbish from outside the wall with smell makes the hostel not livable. Now bcos A is going India, many of them will start to go there again including my colleagues. 9 minutes ago, happy_man said: I learn the term "low cost" is often loaded negative words like "cheap", "slow", "poor quality" and "unreliable". And yet, Apple Inc products are associated to none of those terms ! Even with competitive pricing pressure and rising Chinese labour cost, Apple continue print "Assembled in China" behind its products, since the original iPhone roll out from Shenzhen plant over 13 years ago in 2007. 😜 Manufacturing is as such, low cost does not mean low quality or cheap. It is market. example you do not have R & D and you do not have Design or difficult product. High Volume and High speed production contract manufacturer only has low margins. This is market. I am not Apple fan but I have to admit their testing process on every part of manufacturing and materials quality is very good compare to the lower cost Samsung With China labour cost increasing, you will be very very surprise on the amount they put in for automation. No secret as my company is listed. If you wanna know the name. You can PM me, our group is doing 300M USD a year. But note I don't do business here. Only my boss huat ah 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic September 29, 2021 Share September 29, 2021 1 minute ago, Arogab said: Haha, India's problem is their politics and governing. Long ago there is already a Foxconn plant. Nice factory with good hostel surrounded with wall to separate from outside. But after about a year. Rubbish from outside the wall with smell makes the hostel not livable. Now bcos A is going India, many of them will start to go there again including my colleagues. You in contract manufacturing line ah? Or SMT? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged September 29, 2021 Share September 29, 2021 10 minutes ago, Discoburg said: You in contract manufacturing line ah? Or SMT? Aiyoh, no lah, I do custom design automation and machining. Or maybe you did not see my post. I used to work at Foxconn 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic September 29, 2021 Share September 29, 2021 1 minute ago, Arogab said: Aiyoh, no lah, I do custom design automation and machining. Or maybe you did not see my post. I used to work at Foxconn Pai seh didn't read anything about you used to be working for Foxconn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged September 29, 2021 Share September 29, 2021 1 minute ago, Discoburg said: Pai seh didn't read anything about you used to be working for Foxconn. Is ok bro, I come here tok kok when I can handle my work. Disappear when I am in need to concentrate. Just like now, I am having my CEO meeting from 10am SG time till now still not end. But my presentation got no problem and I just read them in 15 mins😬. Other time is free cos I don't have to care what Suzhou or Chengdu and many others are doing. Only HQ stuffs which I already updated Then joke with bosses asking them "When you all come to see me?" and continue with MCF.....But inside I think they better don't come. Haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged September 29, 2021 Share September 29, 2021 6 minutes ago, happy_man said: Sure! Love to hear some insider! I am very curious how Apple's contractors are able to survive so far and their plan to sustain business in China, under the growing hostility between the PRC and US. Your pointer to automation reminds me of China's 2025 objectives and on-going acceleration to Industry 4.0 Do PM me ! 😊 I am glad you say PM you. But I cannot talk about A cos firstly, I don't belong to their Business Unit (Internally we are not suppose to know also). And we cannot divulge anything or it will cost us. A take only about 45% of our business I suppose. I just manage about 15-20 % of company. We can exchange some knowledge in PM 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged September 29, 2021 Share September 29, 2021 Just now, happy_man said: Beauty of WFH ? Wah Lao, I am in office lah. My work must be from office as I need to sign documents and sometimes make surprise walk down the "f**ktory" (Joking, our company's joke) Another real time joke, now CEO shouting about 996 with our HR. Haha🤣 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged September 29, 2021 Share September 29, 2021 12 minutes ago, happy_man said: I am very curious how Apple's contractors are able to survive so far and their plan to sustain business in China, under the growing hostility between the PRC and US. My impression is that despite that tough talk between China and USA, economic ties are not going down. Both sides depend on each other. In fact, the main country that China is trying to decouple economically is Aussie and they switching their purchases to buy USA agri stuff instead... irony Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged September 29, 2021 Share September 29, 2021 1 minute ago, t0y0ta said: My impression is that despite that tough talk between China and USA, economic ties are not going down. Both sides depend on each other. In fact, the main country that China is trying to decouple economically is Aussie and they switching their purchases to buy USA agri stuff instead... irony Unless you become like Fatty Kim. But even for Fatty Kim, he need Uncle Xi and Uncle Putin to collaborate somehow. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
camrysfe 5th Gear September 29, 2021 Share September 29, 2021 On 9/25/2021 at 2:25 PM, Discoburg said: I sell to my friend as he exports it overseas. Gives a good price so had been selling it to him yearly. Can sell at retail price? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic September 29, 2021 Share September 29, 2021 1 minute ago, camrysfe said: Can sell at retail price? Maybe, never tried asking. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
steveluv Twincharged September 30, 2021 Author Share September 30, 2021 https://asia.nikkei.com/Business/Technology/iPhone-13-delivery-times-lengthen-as-COVID-hits-suppliers-in-Vietnam?utm_campaign=GL_coronavirus_latest&utm_medium=email&utm_source=NA_newsletter&utm_content=article_link&del_type=10&pub_date=20210929143000&seq_num=8&si=44594 iPhone 13 delivery times lengthen as COVID hits suppliers in VietnamCamera module constraints add more pressure as China power cuts hit supply chain Apple's newly launched iPhone 13 has encountered production snags, partially associated with problems in COVID-hit Vietnam. (Photo by Arisa Moriyama) LAULY LI, CHENG TING-FANG, and LIEN HOANG, Nikkei staff writersSeptember 29, 2021 12:02 JST TAIPEI/HO CHI MINH CITY -- Buyers of Apple's new iPhone 13 are facing longer-than-expected delivery times due to the COVID wave in Vietnam and the U.S. tech giant's deployment of a new camera feature, Nikkei Asia has learned. The disruption is mainly associated with constrained supplies of camera modules for the four iPhone 13 models because a significant number of its component parts are assembled in Vietnam, according to people familiar with the matter. Supply chain sources had expected this year's rollout of new iPhones to be relatively smooth, given that most changes to the updated devices are only incremental and Apple has been able to stockpile many key components. But the company has expanded the use of its new sensor-shift optical image stabilization (OIS) to all four iPhone models when previously it was only in the premium iPhone 12 Pro Max. This has put suppliers in the position of having to ramp up production without jeopardizing production quality, against the backdrop of severe restrictions due to COVID. Sensor-shift OIS stabilizes sensors on the camera to make images smoother and video steadier even if users are in motion, and it is an improvement on previous technology that stabilized camera lenses. "Assemblers can still produce the new iPhones, but there's a supply gap [in] that the inventories of the camera modules are running low," one of the executives with direct knowledge told Nikkei Asia. "There's nothing we can do but to monitor the situation in Vietnam every day and wait for them to ramp up the output." The situation may improve as soon as around mid-October as production at one of the key iPhone camera module manufacturing facilities in southern Vietnam has gradually resumed in recent days after several months of on-and-off disruption, another executive familiar with the situation told Nikkei. The current waiting time for an iPhone 13 Pro Sierra Blue with 512 gigabytes (GB) of storage is up to five weeks in China -- Apple's third-largest market -- while waiting time for the same model is also five weeks in Japan and four weeks in the U.S., according to the company's website. Even waiting time for the iPhone 13 mini, which comes with the smallest screen of the four new iPhones, is seven to 10 days in China and the U.S. and up to 15 days in Japan. Apple declined to comment for this story. Vietnam, an emerging tech manufacturing powerhouse, has been suffering from a surge in COVID cases since April. © Getty Images Like other companies, Apple has been wrestling with unprecedented chip and component shortages for the whole year that have held back its revenues. It has diverted some chips meant for its new iPads for use in the iPhone 13 series, which has also led to longer-than-expected delivery times for the new iPad and iPad mini, one of the people with direct knowledge said. Apple has limited consumers in China to a maximum of two iPad purchases for the newly launched models, its website showed, a sign that these supplies are also constrained. Meanwhile, many Apple suppliers are now scrambling to respond to a widespread production stoppage this week in several Chinese cities in Jiangsu, Zhejiang and Guangdong provinces -- home to many tech manufacturers. Beijing's tightening control of energy consumption has led to a halt in industrial power supply across the provinces. So far, key iPhone assemblers Foxconn, Pegatron and Luxshare have not yet been significantly affected by the power cuts, Nikkei learned. But still unknown is the scope of a potential chain reaction from production halts at the makers of materials, components, modules and parts. Suppliers are worried about another wave of unexpected power supply stoppages next month. Vietnam, an emerging tech manufacturing powerhouse that has received a boost from the U.S.-China trade conflict, has been suffering from a surge in COVID cases since April. The southern part of the country, including Ho Chi Minh City and Binh Duong Province, where some tech suppliers are based, has been heavily hit by the delta variant. Suppliers for the likes of Apple, Netflix, Nike and Ikea were forced to suspend production in mid-July as the government imposed strict measures to contain the deadliest wave of the virus so far. Companies could stay open only if workers lived on-site, although it has since allowed more factories to reopen if workers are vaccinated, tested regularly and living in uninfected areas. The U.S., European and South Korean chambers of commerce in Vietnam -- all representing key foreign investors -- earlier this month voiced concerns to the Vietnamese government that overly strict COVID lockdown measures could risk businesses' willingness to invest in the Southeast Asia nation. One survey showed 20% of companies have already shifted production abroad. Prime Minister Pham Minh Chinh on Saturday said the government aims to bring the country back to something resembling normal by the end of this month. "There's indeed a constrained supply of camera modules for the iPhone 13 series due to the pandemic, but the impact on the shipment of the new iPhones should still be manageable," Eddie Han, a senior analyst with Isaiah Research, told Nikkei Asia, citing his supply chain checks. Han said it would be worrisome if the power supply restrictions in China continue to affect printed circuit boards, materials and petrochemical suppliers, as then it will likely impact component supplies for iPhones in the coming quarter. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic September 30, 2021 Share September 30, 2021 Anyone using the MagSafe charger from Apple? Does it charges the iPhone very slowly? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...