Seeking advice on used Mercedes GLB Premium bought from dealer

Wayne_ho

53 minutes ago, Soya said:

It's one of those features that u won't miss until u had it b4. Especially kick boot opening 

After that it's like "wtf, I gotta get my hands grubby closing the damn thing?"....lol

Anyway doesn't spoil easily one lah

Merc one doesn't work well when parked with wheels back against the kerbs in normal open car parks.  Can kick a few times till give up.

Edited by Volvobrick

39 minutes ago, Unltd said:

Possibly, you need to refer to my first 3 questions which I asked (unanswered), then you can possibly request for mediation.

1) did you check the car out before buying, since it’s a 2nd hand? I don’t mean test drive, but at least look at the car and fiddle around with it?

"Had did the test drive to try out the feels. Looked around for tell tale signs of damage. Did not really check on feature look ie; keyless entry has half chrome handle, sensor for parktronic."

2) did the dealer change the price of the car upwards?

"No"

3) were there things done to the car that could mean the dealer tried to cheat you? Such as swapping out of things after you viewed the car, or toggling of odometer?

"No, everything as per physical view. One of the side wheel bumper was slightly popping out. I had requested to fix it. Today I was was advised by the workshop that all the sports, AMG line model had this problem. Not the premium model."

Another issues I had is the Merc ME account. It is still stick to the previous owner. Was promised to fix but it's going to take time..

Edited by Wayne_ho

39 minutes ago, Wayne_ho said:

Just back from a workshop that does such retrofit.. somehow confirmed that it's an AMG line instead of premium model. As the original retrofit was done by them. 

Almost all feature can be install with original parts as mentioned by them.

Correction, the tailgate is electronic but no boot kicking sensor.

Keyless entry and parktronic are able to install original. 

Question. Am I able to raise case for misrepresenting of the car advertisement ?

The wording premium*

i din read through all your post but have you tried talking to the dealer first? See if they are willing to bear at least part of the cost to retrofit the features since you did pay more for the "premium". But you need to acknowledge the fact that part of the fault lies with you for not checking on the features prior to signing. See if they can meet you halfway. 

Since the log card indicates premium and they advertised as per log card information, technically you can't fault them and i dont think is a case for false advertising. 

If all negotiation fails, you can try to bring up to CASE. No harm trying. 

I don't know the spec of every car I sell.

I always just tell the customer

"what you see is what you get"

Sometimes the seller don't even take out his nice hifi system and the new owner benefits.

14 minutes ago, Wayne_ho said:

1) did you check the car out before buying, since it’s a 2nd hand? I don’t mean test drive, but at least look at the car and fiddle around with it?

"Had did the test drive to try out the feels. Looked around for tell tale signs of damage. Did not really check on feature look ie; keyless entry has half chrome handle, sensor for parktronic."

"No"

3) were there things done to the car that could mean the dealer tried to cheat you? Such as swapping out of things after you viewed the car, or toggling of odometer?

"No, everything as per physical view. One of the side wheel bumper was slightly popping out. I had requested to fix it. Today I was was advised by the workshop that all the sports, AMG line model had this problem. Not the premium model."

Another issues I had is the Merc ME account. It is still stick to the previous owner. Was promised to fix but it's going to take time..

Ok, then you gotta do it from another angle,

1) do you have the copy of the ad, the agreement, equipment list etc?

2) are you aware if the dealer made modifications to remove any equipment etc? (This can be angled as misrepresentation if they removed from the original equipment and didn’t inform you etc, but your turnaround time to “notice” and “report” could be against you)

Basically, the information you got before you went down to view the car, the information you signed on (such as a document that states premium etc) and what was the written or verbal correspondences.

I need to tell you, it is a long shot and may not be worth the hassle.

13 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

I don't know the spec of every car I sell.

I always just tell the customer

"what you see is what you get"

23 minutes ago, Wayne_ho said:

basically i feel sorry for you that the car you spent so much on did not meet your expectation ..

sorry if i sound blunt but not meeting your expectation does not mean that your expectation is the correct position and that you can successfully claim against someone else to meet that expectation.

you have to ask yourself whether those expectations you have are justified .. not from your own point of view but from an objective point of view ..

the car is advertised as "premium" .. from the dealer's POV he just copy the model from the log card so he seems to have done no wrong .. but from when and where did you form the expectation that your car should have the list of items of the "premium" model? 

was it before going to view? if so how come you did not check during viewing that (or at least most of the "important" premium items were installed on the car?

or was it after buying? when you brought the car home and discovered that "premium" was not so premium after all and only then you do some research on what items "premium" was supposed to have? if so then the "premium" items would not have been a factor to make you buy as you did not even know about the existence of what premium items were at that time ..

not trying to be funny but if it was me, i would listen to what some of the other bros have said - be happy you have a nice car and live with it, or it your really hate it so much, sell it .. spend money buy car is to make you happy, not be aggrieved ..

peace and cheers!

1 hour ago, Soya said:

If it's any consolation to TS, many brand new cars affected by the current chip shortage oso dun come w additional electronic features

Heard the latest batch of E class no electric seat due to chip shortage. Dunno true or not coz if it is, damn big joke for a 300k car

Tesla also omitting some item due chip shortage:
https://www.autoblog.com/2022/02/08/tesla-chip-shortage-steering-module/

Tesla deleted steering component from some cars to deal with chip shortage

CNBC says the company decided not to let customers know
image.thumb.png.8c234bf965a47ee90a1e155bdbbd39f7.png

Tesla Inc decided to remove one of the two electronic control units from the steering racks of some made-in-China Model 3 and Model Y cars to meet fourth-quarter sales goals while coping with global chip shortage, CNBC reported.

The electric-car maker did not disclose the deletion, which affected tens of thousands of vehicles being shipped to customers in China, Australia, the United Kingdom, Germany and other parts of Europe, the report said, citing two employees and an internal correspondence.

Tesla decided against notifying customers as the part is considered a redundant backup and was not needed for the level 2 driver-assistance features, the report said, nor adding it was not clear if Tesla would make similar changes to the cars built in or shipped to the United States. Other automakers such as Ford and GM have left components off their vehicles during the chip shortage, but have done so publicly.

Removing the part means Tesla can’t turn all its existing cars into "level 3" driverless vehicles merely by pushing out software, as CEO Elon Musk as promised. An owner wishing for that functionality would have to have the missing part installed. 

Tesla made the decision while under pressure to hit fourth-quarter sales goals, according to two employees and internal correspondence seen by CNBC.

Tesla has fared better than most automakers in managing supply chain issues by using less scarce chips and quickly re-writing software.

It expects chip shortages to last through this year before easing next year. Chief Executive Elon Musk told an earnings call last month the shortage was not a long-term issue, with factories increasing capacity and automakers guilty of panic buying of chips which slowed the supply chain.

CNBC quoted HWA Analytics’ Richard Wallace on whether removing an electronic control unit from a power steering system could pose a safety risk.

“If something like a chip or an ECU is not providing additional functionality, if it is truly redundant, you may be able to turn it off or leave it out. With chips and software, there’s a little bit of wiggle room. I can reassign stuff here and there,” he said.

And IHS Markit Senior Principal Analyst Phil Amsrud said, “I cannot think of a case where an automaker would say ‘You know what? We’ll take a component out of that module, even though it was there for a good reason and we’ll hope nothing happens.’ Going from a dual chip to a single chip variant in a vehicle can make a system simpler and make it better in some cases. But they’d really need to do a lot of validation.”

20 hours ago, Wayne_ho said:

Not disappearing. >.<

Just that the answer is given, there's no way to challenge so I'm taking it as it is. Probably will do the retrofit of some essential feature like keyless entry and parking assist for the sensors. 

Its a painful lesson made but had think through it and let it go.

It's still a Merc definitely and better than my previous. 

Dear TS,

don't be discouraged by the harsh (but usually true words) in the forum.

Just FYI, many years ago I also posted a silly thread on regretting choice of car purchased after COE already bidded, asking what is my course of action. Also get whack left right centre.

Take it in your stride.

1 hour ago, Wayne_ho said:

"No"

At this point in time, I would think the most important yardstick to judge if you have been cheated would be the price that you have paid for the ride, which quite sure you will not reveal lah. If you have got it because it had been priced lower than the Premium variant but at about the estimated price for a used AMG variant, then all is good as at least you have not been cheated in terms of equipment level just that the deal is not so good after all. And if it is only slightly above the AMG variant, then look open and move on lah. Pursue the legal path only if you have paid for the Premium variant and instead got AMG variant after benchmarking against all the used GLBs cars under sgcarmamrt as that would be at least worth the hassle.

1 hour ago, Volvobrick said:

Soon wanton noodle no wanton also will be blaming on the chips shortages! 

KFC oredi got shortage of potatoes to make fries 

Literally a chip shortage!  

Thanks all for the advise. i think its a wake up call still for me. Never go into so in-depth of Mercedes specification. 

The adv shows the title AMG premium model. Description typically don't indicate all the features but "One" which indicated in the Adv, the wireless charging is included but I tried and it is not there.

2) are you aware if the dealer made modifications to remove any equipment etc? (This can be angled as misrepresentation if they removed from the original equipment and didn’t inform you etc, but your turnaround time to “notice” and “report” could be against you)

The workshop that I went to day, they confirmed with me that this is a AMG line model instead of Premium. My view on "Premium" model is the brochure of PI, indicating the specs between Sports, AMG line, AMG Premium, AMG Premium+, GLB35. When viewing the vehicle, I am only being communicated verbally. Never show any log card nor i ask for it..... The only mentioned was Key needs to be press in order to unlock. No other features was mentioned.

43 minutes ago, Wayne_ho said:

Thanks all for the advise. i think its a wake up call still for me. Never go into so in-depth of Mercedes specification. 

The adv shows the title AMG premium model. Description typically don't indicate all the features but "One" which indicated in the Adv, the wireless charging is included but I tried and it is not there.

The workshop that I went to day, they confirmed with me that this is a AMG line model instead of Premium. My view on "Premium" model is the brochure of PI, indicating the specs between Sports, AMG line, AMG Premium, AMG Premium+, GLB35. When viewing the vehicle, I am only being communicated verbally. Never show any log card nor i ask for it..... The only mentioned was Key needs to be press in order to unlock. No other features was mentioned.

Based on point 1 and what the workshop advised you have a case, now you have very valid reason to fight it, tell them to show you otherwise that it is indeed AMG premium, that the features are not the AMG premium features and even what they advertised such as wireless charging is not there.

It’s misrepresentation based on the ad, but you also have some responsibility because you took quite some time to realise.

If Tatler remove the chip that controls the brakes

I am getting one for my MIL.

Its time she went green

Edited by Jamesc

25 minutes ago, Unltd said:

Based on point 1 and what the workshop advised you have a case, now you have very valid reason to fight it, tell them to show you otherwise that it is indeed AMG premium, that the features are not the AMG premium features and even what they advertised such as wireless charging is not there.

It’s misrepresentation based on the ad, but you also have some responsibility because you took quite some time to realise.

So for next action, I should approach the CASE? 

37 minutes ago, Wayne_ho said:

My opinion is case is rather useless, I would speak with the dealer first and prepare a lawyer.

hence it’s the cost reward ratio you need to consider.

53 minutes ago, Wayne_ho said:

Dun bother. They're not known as toothless tiger for nothing