inlinesix Hypersonic October 30 Share October 30 TLDR The rule is no different from Private Sector. Can always use wife name to set up ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator October 30 Author Share October 30 On 10/29/2025 at 1:56 PM, Heartlander said: Actually my purchase price is only $136k as $1.8k is finance rebate penalty for not taking loan. Effectively the profit of the sales by your table is only $221. Mine is brand new unit directly from VW under ETS scheme with some arrangement with a car dealer, which is expiring Dec/2025. Right now same deal is above $145k already. So you basically when through another transaction to get an old commercial vehicle (must be HCV) and then deregister it to qualify for the ETS, and become the first owner of your new ID Buzz? Wow, the authority is keeping both eyes shut on this super big loop hole... HCV is typically for those engineering and construction company or transport operator, not $1 sole proprietorship trading firm, get my point? In this case, the dealer profit will not be just hundreds or thousands dollar liao, discounted PQP typically works out to be only a fraction of the cat C premium, as low as just 10% and up to ~50% of prevailing premium, so VW earn big big with such tied up with used car dealer. Don't mind you share with us how much is the COE premium after you have gotten your ID Buzz, to see if I am right. On 10/29/2025 at 6:34 PM, Freeder said: Just went down to VW to look see and saw this BUZZY ready for collection.. Chio chio Armani.. So you also considering the G plate ID Buzz? Your former MILF SE, who crossed over to BYD, must be banging her boobs head on the table for missing a big catch... Just curious, so the cargo van version do not come with any rear seats, or they removed it to pass off as a cargo van? This unit in your photos seems to have all 7 seats intact. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged October 30 Share October 30 (edited) On 10/30/2025 at 8:26 AM, Carbon82 said: So you basically when through another transaction to get an old commercial vehicle (must be HCV) and then deregister it to qualify for the ETS, and become the first owner of your new ID Buzz? Wow, the authority is keeping both eyes shut on this super big loop hole... HCV is typically for those engineering and construction company or transport operator, not $1 sole proprietorship trading firm, get my point? In this case, the dealer profit will not be just hundreds or thousands dollar liao, discounted PQP typically works out to be only a fraction of the cat C premium, as low as just 10% and up to ~50% of prevailing premium, so VW earn big big with such tied up with used car dealer. Don't mind you share with us how much is the COE premium after you have gotten your ID Buzz, to see if I am right. To the gov, the objective of getting those older than euro 4 diesel engine vans to be renewed to cleaner diesel vans or even EV vans has been achieved, and there is nothing illegal/grey about the deals. To me i am just buying a brand new van as I am not involved with the prior processes. I have even contacted LTA to ask whether these ETS-renewed vans come with 20 years lifespan or just 10 years as shared by chatgpt when checking, and got a very affirmative reply by officer who followed through that after renew under ETS scheme, each van would be treated as brand new with 20 years lifespan as per any commercial vehicle. And with regard to profit margin, I do not know the details of the contract VW has with the dealer but they cannot sell the vans at too low prices as it will affect direct sales at the showroom. I do not know the margin each entity involves earn but I do not think it is alot given how tough to nego the prices down. The major component would be the lump sum rebate and the discounted COE. Below is my query with chatgpt. But take note that chatgpt might make mistakes as happen before, so take it with a pinch of salt. Btw the last Euro 2 diesel vans had been scrapped by 2023 while the last Euro 3 diesel van would last till 2028. After that no more ETS scheme as nothing to turnover already. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ Good question — but to clarify, van owners don’t actually earn money directly from renewing old vans under the Early Turnover Scheme (ETS). Instead, they receive a financial incentive (rebate) from the Land Transport Authority (LTA) when they de-register their older diesel vans early and replace them with cleaner models. Here’s how it works in detail: 🔧 What the Early Turnover Scheme (ETS) Is The ETS is designed to encourage owners of older Euro 2/3 diesel commercial vehicles (such as vans, lorries, and buses) to replace them early with newer, cleaner vehicles, typically electric or Euro 6-compliant ones. 💰 What Van Owners Receive Under ETS When you de-register your old van early and register a new qualifying replacement vehicle, you get: 1. COE Discount (Rebate / Transfer Value) You’ll be granted a COE offset — meaning you don’t have to pay the full COE for the new van. Instead, you get a “COE concession” based on the unused portion of your old vehicle’s COE. For example: If your old van still had 3 years of COE left, and your new van’s COE is $60,000, you could offset a portion (e.g. 80% of the unused COE value). This could mean a savings of around $20,000–$40,000, depending on the COE category and age of your old vehicle. 2. PARF Rebate (if applicable) If your old van still qualifies for a PARF rebate, you’ll receive that rebate too — typically a percentage of your vehicle’s Open Market Value (OMV). However, many commercial vans (especially those under Category C) don’t qualify for PARF since they’re not under the PARF scheme. 3. Scrap/Export Value When you de-register your old van, you also get a scrap or export value (depending on condition, model, and demand). This could be $3,000–$10,000. 🧾 Example Calculation Let’s say: Your old Euro 3 diesel van’s COE still has 4 years left. COE (Category C) is $70,000. ETS allows you to offset 80% of unused COE value. Rebate = 0.8 × 70,000 × (4 ÷ 10) = $22,400 If your old van can also be scrapped/exported for $5,000, you effectively save or earn $27,400 in total when replacing it with a cleaner van. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ If you want formal information from LTA: https://onemotoring.lta.gov.sg/content/onemotoring/home/buying/vehicle-types-and-registrations/commercial-vehicle/early-turnover.html#Discounted_PQP Edited October 30 by Heartlander 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic October 30 Share October 30 Solid German assembly process..🤭 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator October 30 Author Share October 30 On 10/30/2025 at 10:41 AM, Heartlander said: To the gov, the objective of getting those older than euro 4 diesel engine vans to be renewed to cleaner diesel vans or even EV vans has been achieved, and there is nothing illegal/grey about the deals. To me i am just buying a brand new van as I am not involved with the prior processes. I have even contacted LTA to ask whether these ETS-renewed vans come with 20 years lifespan or just 10 years as shared by chatgpt when checking, and got a very affirmative reply by officer who followed through that after renew under ETS scheme, each van would be treated as brand new with 20 years lifespan as per any commercial vehicle. And with regard to profit margin, I do not know the details of the contract VW has with the dealer but they cannot sell the vans at too low prices as it will affect direct sales at the showroom. I do not know the margin each entity involves earn but I do not think it is alot given how tough to nego the prices down. The major component would be the lump sum rebate and the discounted COE. Below is my query with chatgpt. But take note that chatgpt might make mistakes as happen before, so take it with a pinch of salt. Btw the last Euro 2 diesel vans had been scrapped by 2023 while the last Euro 3 diesel van would last till 2028. After that no more ETS scheme as nothing to turnover already. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ Good question — but to clarify, van owners don’t actually earn money directly from renewing old vans under the Early Turnover Scheme (ETS). Instead, they receive a financial incentive (rebate) from the Land Transport Authority (LTA) when they de-register their older diesel vans early and replace them with cleaner models. Here’s how it works in detail: 🔧 What the Early Turnover Scheme (ETS) Is The ETS is designed to encourage owners of older Euro 2/3 diesel commercial vehicles (such as vans, lorries, and buses) to replace them early with newer, cleaner vehicles, typically electric or Euro 6-compliant ones. 💰 What Van Owners Receive Under ETS When you de-register your old van early and register a new qualifying replacement vehicle, you get: 1. COE Discount (Rebate / Transfer Value) You’ll be granted a COE offset — meaning you don’t have to pay the full COE for the new van. Instead, you get a “COE concession” based on the unused portion of your old vehicle’s COE. For example: If your old van still had 3 years of COE left, and your new van’s COE is $60,000, you could offset a portion (e.g. 80% of the unused COE value). This could mean a savings of around $20,000–$40,000, depending on the COE category and age of your old vehicle. 2. PARF Rebate (if applicable) If your old van still qualifies for a PARF rebate, you’ll receive that rebate too — typically a percentage of your vehicle’s Open Market Value (OMV). However, many commercial vans (especially those under Category C) don’t qualify for PARF since they’re not under the PARF scheme. 3. Scrap/Export Value When you de-register your old van, you also get a scrap or export value (depending on condition, model, and demand). This could be $3,000–$10,000. 🧾 Example Calculation Let’s say: Your old Euro 3 diesel van’s COE still has 4 years left. COE (Category C) is $70,000. ETS allows you to offset 80% of unused COE value. Rebate = 0.8 × 70,000 × (4 ÷ 10) = $22,400 If your old van can also be scrapped/exported for $5,000, you effectively save or earn $27,400 in total when replacing it with a cleaner van. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ If you want formal information from LTA: https://onemotoring.lta.gov.sg/content/onemotoring/home/buying/vehicle-types-and-registrations/commercial-vehicle/early-turnover.html#Discounted_PQP @Heartlander I am not against you, but just wanted to highlight the consequences of ignoring such a loophole. To begin with, there are flaws with the ETS by discouraging owner of HCV to get another HCV (the COE bonus component is only applicable for LCV), and the different cut off date for HCV and LCV to enjoy the ETS. And here we are in the period where HCV owner will get some peak by selling their vehicle to dealer for extra $$$ (just like in the 80s where owner of bread and butter car sell their EOL car to luxury car buyer for more $$$), and then join the pool fighting for a new cat C COE. The premium for cat C has increased by about $10K from beginning of the year, in case you miss it. And who are the typical owner of HCV? Engineering & construction firms, school bus operators, etc. So the next time you read the news that another school bus operator has ceased operation, or there is a >10% increment in monthly transport fee, you should know why... Next, on the registering of company just to qualify getting a commercial vehicle, as you have pointed out, there are people out there that can do it on your behalf. Do you know the exact requirement for setting up and maintaining a company (e.g. annual 3rd party audit, buying of insurance if you are involve in some trades, etc.) This is exactly the reason how those involved in money laundering case manage to setup shelled companies in Singapore for the illegal activities. Singapore touted itself for its good financial system and practices, but honestly, what happened under the skin is far from perfect. OK, back to car again. In the old days, cargo vans were not allowed to have any rear seats, for safety and other regulatory reasons. But since LTA allow the the use of commercial vehicle for transportation of personnel (typically workers but did they specified that? Nope), we started seeing many HiAce, LiteAce, NV350, NV200, N-Van, Pixis, Every, etc. been used for family outing. And of late, we even have car sharing companies offering such commercial vehicles, although they are advertised as 2 seater, but the actual van come with rear seats (seat belt included). All these are fueling the demand for commercial vehicle and driving up cat C premium. And the ultimate outcome? Record revenue from COE scheme (I will post more in the COE thread shortly). 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged October 30 Share October 30 On 10/30/2025 at 2:26 PM, Carbon82 said: @Heartlander I am not against you, but just wanted to highlight the consequences of ignoring such a loophole. To begin with, there are flaws with the ETS by discouraging owner of HCV to get another HCV (the COE bonus component is only applicable for LCV), and the different cut off date for HCV and LCV to enjoy the ETS. And here we are in the period where HCV owner will get some peak by selling their vehicle to dealer for extra $$$ (just like in the 80s where owner of bread and butter car sell their EOL car to luxury car buyer for more $$$), and then join the pool fighting for a new cat C COE. The premium for cat C has increased by about $10K from beginning of the year, in case you miss it. And who are the typical owner of HCV? Engineering & construction firms, school bus operators, etc. So the next time you read the news that another school bus operator has ceased operation, or there is a >10% increment in monthly transport fee, you should know why... Next, on the registering of company just to qualify getting a commercial vehicle, as you have pointed out, there are people out there that can do it on your behalf. Do you know the exact requirement for setting up and maintaining a company (e.g. annual 3rd party audit, buying of insurance if you are involve in some trades, etc.) This is exactly the reason how those involved in money laundering case manage to setup shelled companies in Singapore for the illegal activities. Singapore touted itself for its good financial system and practices, but honestly, what happened under the skin is far from perfect. OK, back to car again. In the old days, cargo vans were not allowed to have any rear seats, for safety and other regulatory reasons. But since LTA allow the the use of commercial vehicle for transportation of personnel (typically workers but did they specified that? Nope), we started seeing many HiAce, LiteAce, NV350, NV200, N-Van, Pixis, Every, etc. been used for family outing. And of late, we even have car sharing companies offering such commercial vehicles, although they are advertised as 2 seater, but the actual van come with rear seats (seat belt included). All these are fueling the demand for commercial vehicle and driving up cat C premium. And the ultimate outcome? Record revenue from COE scheme (I will post more in the COE thread shortly). Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the topic. For a start, there is no law forbidding existing diesel engine van owners from renewing their vans and selling them for a profit. This is like you telling those who benefitted from Home Improvement Program/SERS that they cannot sell their flats after their flats get refreshed or getting a new ones. Does gov stop these people from selling them after offering to do the improvements at hugely subsidised rates? If you really concern about this, you should direct your energy towards this group of people who are gaining much much more from such transactions. And these people are driving up the prices of resale flats so poor people will be more difficult to afford a roof over their head. The purpose of ETS scheme is to serve a specific purpose. If exiting owners bite, then mission accomplished. If no benefits, how to attract them to bite? By praising them that they are patriotic so they will renew? If you check on the requirements to get a LGV, those who registered companies and hawkers are eligible to get commercial vans. Is the threshold very high if even hawkers are allowed to? As to the $10k increase in COE premium, this is peanuts for the transport companies operating such services to absorb. Mind you this $10k is for 10 years so effectively is increase of only $1k/yr or $83/month. Is it alot? Are those school bus companies earning such poor margins that they need to react to this increase? In the past the cat A/B/E COE has been pushed up to record levels by the PHV companies and yet the gov is not doing anything. So relax lah. As to whether the van owners retrofit the rear flat bed to install seats/benches is up to their discretion. The law is clear so all is done with open eyes. If you not so great risk appetite then don't do, same for those who modify their car engine, exhaust, etc. Same for car sharing companies offering commercial cars. If you feel they not doing right, feel free to report to the authority. Sorry for my long reply but i worry my silence would propagate this opinion that i have done something wrong with my decision. At least the ETS vans are legit and proper lah. Lets get back to the car after this round of friendly discussion thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic October 30 Share October 30 Toyota New High S van🤭 Looks like new vans will not be boring as previous models.. https://www.facebook.com/share/r/16d318ECM1/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 30 Share October 30 On 10/30/2025 at 10:41 AM, Heartlander said: To the gov, the objective of getting those older than euro 4 diesel engine vans to be renewed to cleaner diesel vans or even EV vans has been achieved, and there is nothing illegal/grey about the deals. To me i am just buying a brand new van as I am not involved with the prior processes. I have even contacted LTA to ask whether these ETS-renewed vans come with 20 years lifespan or just 10 years as shared by chatgpt when checking, and got a very affirmative reply by officer who followed through that after renew under ETS scheme, each van would be treated as brand new with 20 years lifespan as per any commercial vehicle. And with regard to profit margin, I do not know the details of the contract VW has with the dealer but they cannot sell the vans at too low prices as it will affect direct sales at the showroom. I do not know the margin each entity involves earn but I do not think it is alot given how tough to nego the prices down. The major component would be the lump sum rebate and the discounted COE. Below is my query with chatgpt. But take note that chatgpt might make mistakes as happen before, so take it with a pinch of salt. Btw the last Euro 2 diesel vans had been scrapped by 2023 while the last Euro 3 diesel van would last till 2028. After that no more ETS scheme as nothing to turnover already. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ Good question — but to clarify, van owners don’t actually earn money directly from renewing old vans under the Early Turnover Scheme (ETS). Instead, they receive a financial incentive (rebate) from the Land Transport Authority (LTA) when they de-register their older diesel vans early and replace them with cleaner models. Here’s how it works in detail: 🔧 What the Early Turnover Scheme (ETS) Is The ETS is designed to encourage owners of older Euro 2/3 diesel commercial vehicles (such as vans, lorries, and buses) to replace them early with newer, cleaner vehicles, typically electric or Euro 6-compliant ones. 💰 What Van Owners Receive Under ETS When you de-register your old van early and register a new qualifying replacement vehicle, you get: 1. COE Discount (Rebate / Transfer Value) You’ll be granted a COE offset — meaning you don’t have to pay the full COE for the new van. Instead, you get a “COE concession” based on the unused portion of your old vehicle’s COE. For example: If your old van still had 3 years of COE left, and your new van’s COE is $60,000, you could offset a portion (e.g. 80% of the unused COE value). This could mean a savings of around $20,000–$40,000, depending on the COE category and age of your old vehicle. 2. PARF Rebate (if applicable) If your old van still qualifies for a PARF rebate, you’ll receive that rebate too — typically a percentage of your vehicle’s Open Market Value (OMV). However, many commercial vans (especially those under Category C) don’t qualify for PARF since they’re not under the PARF scheme. 3. Scrap/Export Value When you de-register your old van, you also get a scrap or export value (depending on condition, model, and demand). This could be $3,000–$10,000. 🧾 Example Calculation Let’s say: Your old Euro 3 diesel van’s COE still has 4 years left. COE (Category C) is $70,000. ETS allows you to offset 80% of unused COE value. Rebate = 0.8 × 70,000 × (4 ÷ 10) = $22,400 If your old van can also be scrapped/exported for $5,000, you effectively save or earn $27,400 in total when replacing it with a cleaner van. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ If you want formal information from LTA: https://onemotoring.lta.gov.sg/content/onemotoring/home/buying/vehicle-types-and-registrations/commercial-vehicle/early-turnover.html#Discounted_PQP not familiar at all with commercial vehicles. Didn't even know commercial vehicles can 20 years? I always thought everything is 10 years. My FIL's liteace was scrapped at 15 after COE up? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged October 30 Share October 30 (edited) On 10/30/2025 at 4:10 PM, Freeder said: Toyota New High S van🤭 Looks like new vans will not be boring as previous models.. https://www.facebook.com/share/r/16d318ECM1/ This is only concept, like the concept for Corolla that was also showcased. Another van that is more likely to catch eyeballs is Kia PV5. Very modern and nice looking, already on sale in some countries. Youtube got alot of videos. Edited October 30 by Heartlander Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged October 30 Share October 30 (edited) On 10/30/2025 at 4:14 PM, Lala81 said: not familiar at all with commercial vehicles. Didn't even know commercial vehicles can 20 years? I always thought everything is 10 years. My FIL's liteace was scrapped at 15 after COE up? You can scroll down to the statutory lifespan section to see the details for different class of vehicles, eg cars and motorcycles are unlimited if renewed 10 yearly but once only if 5 yearly. For bus and goods vehicle is 20 years, but can only renew once if renewed for 5 years only. A surprise for me is to learn that electric taxi can last for 10 years now, since 2022. All the while stuck with this 7 years concept. https://onemotoring.lta.gov.sg/content/onemotoring/home/owning/coe-renewal.html Edited October 30 by Heartlander Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic October 30 Share October 30 On 10/30/2025 at 8:26 AM, Carbon82 said: So you also considering the G plate ID Buzz? Your former MILF SE, who crossed over to BYD, must be banging her boobs head on the table for missing a big catch... Just curious, so the cargo van version do not come with any rear seats, or they removed it to pass off as a cargo van? This unit in your photos seems to have all 7 seats intact. Tiagong she now in BYD filling up the enquiries forms til the boobs became soft..sooner or later sure need to re pak silicone again... Rear seats are add ons.. u want to add how many seats also can.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic October 30 Share October 30 (edited) On 10/30/2025 at 5:02 PM, Heartlander said: You can scroll down to the statutory lifespan section to see the details for different class of vehicles, eg cars and motorcycles are unlimited if renewed 10 yearly but once only if 5 yearly. For bus and goods vehicle is 20 years, but can only renew once if renewed for 5 years only. A surprise for me is to learn that electric taxi can last for 10 years now, since 2022. All the while stuck with this 7 years concept. https://onemotoring.lta.gov.sg/content/onemotoring/home/owning/coe-renewal.html Commercial can renew 5years, or as many 5years as you wish after the initial 10years till it hits 20years lifespan. only cars and bikes must dereg after a 5yr renewal. Edited October 30 by Mkl22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic October 30 Share October 30 On 10/30/2025 at 2:26 PM, Carbon82 said: @Heartlander I am not against you, but just wanted to highlight the consequences of ignoring such a loophole. To begin with, there are flaws with the ETS by discouraging owner of HCV to get another HCV (the COE bonus component is only applicable for LCV), and the different cut off date for HCV and LCV to enjoy the ETS. And here we are in the period where HCV owner will get some peak by selling their vehicle to dealer for extra $$$ (just like in the 80s where owner of bread and butter car sell their EOL car to luxury car buyer for more $$$), and then join the pool fighting for a new cat C COE. The premium for cat C has increased by about $10K from beginning of the year, in case you miss it. And who are the typical owner of HCV? Engineering & construction firms, school bus operators, etc. So the next time you read the news that another school bus operator has ceased operation, or there is a >10% increment in monthly transport fee, you should know why... Next, on the registering of company just to qualify getting a commercial vehicle, as you have pointed out, there are people out there that can do it on your behalf. Do you know the exact requirement for setting up and maintaining a company (e.g. annual 3rd party audit, buying of insurance if you are involve in some trades, etc.) This is exactly the reason how those involved in money laundering case manage to setup shelled companies in Singapore for the illegal activities. Singapore touted itself for its good financial system and practices, but honestly, what happened under the skin is far from perfect. OK, back to car again. In the old days, cargo vans were not allowed to have any rear seats, for safety and other regulatory reasons. But since LTA allow the the use of commercial vehicle for transportation of personnel (typically workers but did they specified that? Nope), we started seeing many HiAce, LiteAce, NV350, NV200, N-Van, Pixis, Every, etc. been used for family outing. And of late, we even have car sharing companies offering such commercial vehicles, although they are advertised as 2 seater, but the actual van come with rear seats (seat belt included). All these are fueling the demand for commercial vehicle and driving up cat C premium. And the ultimate outcome? Record revenue from COE scheme (I will post more in the COE thread shortly). Actually I don’t see any problem. no laws broken. Loopholes exists everywhere. This is considered a tiny loophole with the amount of money “made/lost”. many bigger loopholes out there that the rich benefit from. But things still go on. all I can say is, as long as it is not illegal, by all means. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 30 Share October 30 On 10/30/2025 at 3:39 PM, Heartlander said: Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the topic. For a start, there is no law forbidding existing diesel engine van owners from renewing their vans and selling them for a profit. This is like you telling those who benefitted from Home Improvement Program/SERS that they cannot sell their flats after their flats get refreshed or getting a new ones. Does gov stop these people from selling them after offering to do the improvements at hugely subsidised rates? If you really concern about this, you should direct your energy towards this group of people who are gaining much much more from such transactions. And these people are driving up the prices of resale flats so poor people will be more difficult to afford a roof over their head. The purpose of ETS scheme is to serve a specific purpose. If exiting owners bite, then mission accomplished. If no benefits, how to attract them to bite? By praising them that they are patriotic so they will renew? If you check on the requirements to get a LGV, those who registered companies and hawkers are eligible to get commercial vans. Is the threshold very high if even hawkers are allowed to? As to the $10k increase in COE premium, this is peanuts for the transport companies operating such services to absorb. Mind you this $10k is for 10 years so effectively is increase of only $1k/yr or $83/month. Is it alot? Are those school bus companies earning such poor margins that they need to react to this increase? In the past the cat A/B/E COE has been pushed up to record levels by the PHV companies and yet the gov is not doing anything. So relax lah. As to whether the van owners retrofit the rear flat bed to install seats/benches is up to their discretion. The law is clear so all is done with open eyes. If you not so great risk appetite then don't do, same for those who modify their car engine, exhaust, etc. Same for car sharing companies offering commercial cars. If you feel they not doing right, feel free to report to the authority. Sorry for my long reply but i worry my silence would propagate this opinion that i have done something wrong with my decision. At least the ETS vans are legit and proper lah. Lets get back to the car after this round of friendly discussion thanks. Nowadays, ACRA/IRAS allows unaudited financial statements. Even IRAS has simplified form for SME/Micro Entities. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 30 Share October 30 so u can have 5 seats if you register it as Goods-cum-Passengers Vehicle (GPV)?? Quote *≤ 5,000 kg * GPVs can be used to transport both goods and passengers. Examples include station wagon, panel van and twin-cabin goods vehicle. Fitting of rear seats is only allowed for station wagon GPVs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic October 30 Share October 30 On 10/30/2025 at 7:59 PM, Lala81 said: so u can have 5 seats if you register it as Goods-cum-Passengers Vehicle (GPV)?? Yes, but the price is much higher as you pay full ARF. Vans only pay 5% ARF. Couple of good things about GPV. 1. you can have a 0-100 4.3s truck but yet pay $800 in road tax vs $5k for a car. 2. lower coe. 3. No customs duty 20% 4. can pte register no need company caveats are 1.the 70kmh 2.going to Malaysia. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic October 31 Share October 31 (edited) On 10/30/2025 at 6:36 PM, Mkl22 said: Actually I don’t see any problem. no laws broken. Loopholes exists everywhere. This is considered a tiny loophole with the amount of money “made/lost”. many bigger loopholes out there that the rich benefit from. But things still go on. all I can say is, as long as it is not illegal, by all means. If LTA really wanna play so big and get anal abt this, the middle class will surely make a big hoo haa coz some have big families and Van is the most economical tpt option for them. And also not forgetting those sector that need to ferry workers to their workplaces. lastly, u wan some of them to wayang the crying game every 4 yrs huh? So shameful 🤭 Edited October 31 by Freeder Crying Game 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 31 Share October 31 On 10/31/2025 at 10:34 AM, Freeder said: If LTA really wanna play so big and get anal abt this, the middle class will surely make a big hoo haa coz some have big families and Van is the most economical tpt option for them. And also not forgetting those sector that need to ferry workers to their workplaces. lastly, u wan some of them to wayang the crying game every 4 yrs huh? So shameful 🤭 don't really care about the loophole. So the 2nd row seats are top up add on at VW? Or only for those registered as GPV. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...