DNS-over-HTTPS

Kb27

12 hours ago, Kb27 said:

Are you getting blocked when you go to certain ..umm... website ?

Well, it seems you can bypass the censors.

If you use a browser that supports DNS-over-HTTPS, turn it on, point to "Cloudfare" as provider and see what you can get. [laugh]

image_2022-03-17_194030.png

The 1.1.1.1?

I deleted the app lo. It no longer mask my ip address. Reason for not working might be becos of the local internet service providers.

I am now using the openvpn. 

13 hours ago, Kb27 said:

Are you getting blocked when you go to certain ..umm... website ?

Well, it seems you can bypass the censors.

If you use a browser that supports DNS-over-HTTPS, turn it on, point to "Cloudfare" as provider and see what you can get. [laugh]

image_2022-03-17_194030.png

u teach me all the bad stuff leh...

3 hours ago, Kopites said:

Any simple steps as how to go about changing to DNS?

Lately noticed those popular sport streaming sites gotten blocked by IDA. 🤔

Easiest at Windows level for me is QuicksSetDNS .It's free for Windows. You can key several free public DNS server, then right click and make the one of them active.

image.png.3f08903251e395394303e2cd71ca8a7d.png

11 hours ago, Stratovarius said:

Encrypted message?😆

Macam Datsun366 posts? I tink even KGB, CIA, MI6, Ethan from IMF...also got problem unscramble...😁

wah so many suggestions...

i techie noob... before i even ask how exactly to do all these, are they safe huh? nowadays cybersecurity here and there, will tio compromised or not?

1 hour ago, Tkseah said:

I just changed my router DNS to Google one.. so what new stuff can I access?  😁

I try to avoid Google DNS, Google being Google will attempt to serve you more advertisement when you use their DNS. Choose other public DNS server.

I think if I'm not wrong, this DNS-over-HTTPS protocol is build into the web browser that supports it. So example you type www.google.com, it will send encrypted DNS query to say Cloudflare DNS server, which in turn returns the IP address 74.125.200.101. Machine/computer uses the IP address for actual communication, DNS name is just for human understanding of a website you're visiting, bcuz humans are not so clever in memorizing all IP addresses.

If the DNS is set to ISP one, then ISP controls the packets sent and return, it can then route to a server and returns the message, blah..blah..blah.. you're censored !

10 minutes ago, Kb27 said:

I try to avoid Google DNS, Google being Google will attempt to serve you more advertisement when you use their DNS. Choose other public DNS server.

I think if I'm not wrong, this DNS-over-HTTPS protocol is build into the web browser that supports it. So example you type www.google.com, it will send encrypted DNS query to say Cloudflare DNS server, which in turn returns the IP address 74.125.200.101. Machine/computer uses the IP address for actual communication, DNS name is just for human understanding of a website you're visiting, bcuz humans are not so clever in memorizing all IP addresses.

If the DNS is set to ISP one, then ISP controls the packets sent and return, it can then route to a server and returns the message, blah..blah..blah.. you're censored !

Okie.. changed my router DNS to Quad9.. still wondering what new stuff I can access... 😁

wat is DNS?

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Domain_Name_System

wat is DoH? (DNS over HTTPS)

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/DNS_over_HTTPS

As for e whys & hows to chg/use free public DNS server, there are loads of guides around.

Popular free public DNS like cloudflare, google, opendns etc...

https://www.lifewire.com/free-and-public-dns-servers-2626062

https://www.techradar.com/sg/news/best-dns-server

https://www.pcmag.com/how-to/how-and-why-to-change-your-dns-server

On 3/17/2022 at 7:45 PM, Ender said:

I use Quad9. But I set it at the router site.

Thanks. First time I heard of Quad9. It's good since it filters malware site.

I'll change all my DNS to it as well.

13 hours ago, Atrecord said:

wah so many suggestions...

i techie noob... before i even ask how exactly to do all these, are they safe huh? nowadays cybersecurity here and there, will tio compromised or not?

DNS has no encryption, so all the data packets between your PC and the website you're visiting, can easily be sniffed by ISP, so they know which website you're visiting. DNS-over-HTTPS adds a layer of encryption.

As I learned recently Quad9 DNS server has a built-in blacklist of malicious hosts (bad website), so that gives you another layer of protection.

Encrypted data is always more secure and safer.

A Russian general died recently, when he used normal unencrypted radio, probably found out by Ukrainian intel (where his location is), and he was taken out. So that's encryption and safety for you. [laugh]

How many using Quad9 facing some latency issue?  I have switched to cloudfare now, everything seems fine now.

5 minutes ago, Ender said:

How many using Quad9 facing some latency issue?  I have switched to cloudfare now, everything seems fine now.

I do get the occasional timeout on Quad9.. still undecided on whether to change..

Just now, Tkseah said:

I do get the occasional timeout on Quad9.. still undecided on whether to change..

YEs, I also experience this timeout too.. I changed to Cloudfare now, everything return to normal.. I think Quad9 is having problem..

2 minutes ago, Ender said:

YEs, I also experience this timeout too.. I changed to Cloudfare now, everything return to normal.. I think Quad9 is having problem..

U using 1.1.1.1 or 1.1.1.2 or 1.1.1.3?

If my router set to Quad9 and browser set to Cloudfare.. would effectively end up using which one?