Thaiyotakamli Supersonic April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 Now got apple carplay le can download offline map if no use data to malaysia ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wildfaye29 Turbocharged April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 30 minutes ago, Carbon82 said: I am keeping these to tell bedtime stories in years to come, "last time your ah gong (me) will memorize the route before heading to unfamiliar places, don't need another person / voice to tell 'me turn left at 300m then keep to the right of the fork'..." The last one I bought should be this 2018 version. Last time in the 90s, i used to buy a new bus guide every year! who knows what is a bus guide nowadays!? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 (edited) 14 minutes ago, Sosaria said: True, all these observations about Garmin, which i am also still using as a stand-alone GPS. And that it's hard to find stand-alone GPS being sold anymore. Remember the days when during IT fair there were a few brands and models offered. Now it's all gone the way of the dinosaur. The disadvantages are all stated there. Maps require update, no live situation feedback of traffic conditions, etc. But I love my old Garmin unit which I brought over from my previous car. It updates faster - crucial when you make a wrong turn and the GPS must re-route, the display is more intuitive (to me), and does its job getting me from A to a fuzzy location B with a good choice of paths. I can bring it with me when in Malaysia, hooking it up to rental car - and unlike phone, no need to consume the phone battery power and do not need to use mobile data. Best of all, it is robust and long-lasting. Been using that Garmin for years (at least 6,7?) and it is still ticking. I've been using Garmin for quite some time also, more than 10 years++ or so, and also contributed to the mapping previously in the community forum. Only those who had used it before will appreciate it. Still enjoying a dedicated GPS set, current one is about 7 years old, though mainly using Waze now. Edited April 18, 2022 by Dafansu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 (edited) still appreciating the junction view complied by mappers, useful for not familiar routes. Edited April 18, 2022 by Dafansu 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 Who needs/want more devices ? The deal breaker is that the traffic information is not real time. For example, google maps would recommend the fastest route based on traffic conditions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 1 hour ago, D3badge said: On contrast , if you go into outback road trip like Australia, USA, New Zealand where certain places have no mobile signal, your Google map become invalid then you will appreciate GPS. If you are a city dweller only then mobile phone is good enough for me I still prefer my car build in gps or any car build in gps then mobile phone 😁When overseas as mention telco signal may become weak or worst no signal Actually you can download offline google map into your phone if you are afraid of no data. The whole of NZ also can. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 2 hours ago, Soya said: Lol....know what u mean. I managed to navigate my way in California using a fold out AAA map in the 90s. Who needs a smlj GPS? And Google founder still in high skool then.... Yah man, same here. Me and my friend used a map to navigate LA, LV and SF in 1999. Now wondering how we do it then. 🤣 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 6 hours ago, inlinesix said: 2G Nokia cannot use anymore. No more Analog Network. Errr ....... this statement is technical wrong about 2G. 2G or GSM, GPRS are Digital Network already ........ AMPS is Analog Network. Is WiFi Digital or Analog ....... ? It is Analog hor. As a matter of facts, 2G is the last of the true digital technologies. End to End. GSK. WiFi 11g onwards is using Analog Technology ...... OFDM - Orthogonal Frequency Division Modulation. Then hor Superimposed QAM - Quadrature Amplitude Modulation give U WiFi - Amplitude implied A Variable State of Magnitude which ONLY Analog Technology can offer lor ...... U need to know Principle of Orthogonality lor ...... basically the Auto-correlation between 2 independent time invariant source is ZERO. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 4 hours ago, Carbon82 said: I am keeping these to tell bedtime stories in years to come, "last time your ah gong (me) will memorize the route before heading to unfamiliar places, don't need another person / voice to tell 'me turn left at 300m then keep to the right of the fork'..." The last one I bought should be this 2018 version. I pay good $$$ for one that is in 1980s. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 18, 2022 Share April 18, 2022 A nice reminder that I have a white elephant somewhere...gonna find it, charge it and hope that it still works so that I can sell it for 2.14 dollah? 😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator April 19, 2022 Share April 19, 2022 11 hours ago, Carbon82 said: I am keeping these to tell bedtime stories in years to come, "last time your ah gong (me) will memorize the route before heading to unfamiliar places, don't need another person / voice to tell 'me turn left at 300m then keep to the right of the fork'..." The last one I bought should be this 2018 version. you advertise for propnex ah. hahahah. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic April 19, 2022 Share April 19, 2022 (edited) 9 hours ago, Fcw75 said: Yah man, same here. Me and my friend used a map to navigate LA, LV and SF in 1999. Now wondering how we do it then. 🤣 Same.. first trip to SF area in late 1994 and stay there for 2 months, all using AAA map. Weekend travel to Lake Tahoe, Yosemite, etc... I don't even have a hand phone then.. Edited April 19, 2022 by Tohto 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 19, 2022 Share April 19, 2022 2 minutes ago, Tohto said: Same.. first trip to SF area in late 1994 and stay there for 2 months, all using AA map. Weekend travel to Lake Tahoe, Yosemite, etc... I don't even have a hand phone then.. Those were the days huh. 😁 Thinking back, really wonder how we did it then. Co-driver really important. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear April 19, 2022 Share April 19, 2022 Maps like this is still selling in Kinokuniya Im still using Garmin, Garmin XT model, can download opensource free worldwide map. Why i still use? 1) I ride a bike, if i go long trip, imagine how heated will my handphone be running google/waze for long time? 2) Prolonged vibrations / weather (heat / rain) on bike may damage handphone 3) I can use Garmin / Google map to plot routes & save to Garmin. 4) Yea no mobile data will be a problem if using google 5) Garmin xt can use on my bike & car. 6) Other useful functions like trip recorder / off road routes / Pity the distributor here prefer to sell smart watches, but they can entertain you to bring in garmin products. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged April 19, 2022 Share April 19, 2022 10 minutes ago, Tarzan666 said: Maps like this is still selling in Kinokuniya Im still using Garmin, Garmin XT model, can download opensource free worldwide map. Why i still use? 1) I ride a bike, if i go long trip, imagine how heated will my handphone be running google/waze for long time? 2) Prolonged vibrations / weather (heat / rain) on bike may damage handphone 3) I can use Garmin / Google map to plot routes & save to Garmin. 4) Yea no mobile data will be a problem if using google 5) Garmin xt can use on my bike & car. 6) Other useful functions like trip recorder / off road routes / Pity the distributor here prefer to sell smart watches, but they can entertain you to bring in garmin products. these type of paper maps also best for rough plots of routes for long road trips 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic April 19, 2022 Share April 19, 2022 I've not touched my car's GPS after the first month. I think the only scenario that requires a GPS device is when the smartphone died or completely no reception but won't happen in SG. I drove through some ulu roads in US with no reception so I can imagine drivers in big countries will still keep a GPS device handy as backup. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic April 19, 2022 Share April 19, 2022 (edited) 19 hours ago, kobayashiGT said: You can always download sygic GPS Map. https://www.sygic.com/gps-navigation No need data can also use. Very useful if you are overseas. But I will just pay for overseas data lah. Nowadays so cheap. haha. I have sygic. Signed up and pay 20 BP plus lifetime membership decade ago for my drive up north to Malaysia. Recently sygic incorporated the HUD mode for paid subscriber. Used it a few times but dislike as its consumed heap of batt power. Phone heat up as well. Now using goggle though. Edited April 19, 2022 by Kopites 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged April 19, 2022 Share April 19, 2022 As suggested, a standalone GPS now stands alone. I'm currently using mine as a paperweight until my smartphone takes over. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...