Inflation coming to hit us hard.

Watwheels

On 6/15/2025 at 6:24 PM, inlinesix said:

Our lack of competitiveness is mainly due to education system.

Our education system is supposed to produce workers and NOT entrepreneurs.

Currently, our next Gen more lie flat than PRC.

Can say ours are smarter than theirs...? Laopeh laobu got money to feed them till old...cpf no 1mil for them no cheng meng...😂

On 6/15/2025 at 6:10 PM, Sosaria said:

China people are more ks with their kids, trust me on that. Concerning enrichment, branded schools, they won't lose out to us [laugh]

Our lack of competitiveness and entrepreneur spirit is mainly due to

- Kiasi , we have no hinterland no rural area as alternative. If you go into business and lose all, the stakes are too high coupled with a very high cost of living. Might as well stick to the safer path of being employee.

- Kia Cheng Hu, everything must follow law, just in case get into trouble (re: see Kiasi above). Go into business requires one to take risk including exploiting grey areas in the rules, bend a few regulations to cut cost, not be too worried about complaints, nitty gritty details in the law,  etc. I feel we are just not like that as social engineering is very strong since young to queue up, clear your tray, ...you get the idea. There's no way to jump into business if we are too worried about the restrictions.

Not only look at Chinese, also look at those developing neighbouring countries migrants here, they dun have privilege background. I think we just like to blame everything else except ourselves. Everything else fault, never our own fault.

On 6/15/2025 at 6:40 PM, Stary said:

Yes, but I don' think  that's a majority for them.  Those who can do the above are the more affluent ones. Majority are still  living in the lower tier cities,  trying hard to make a living. Their GDP per capita of only USD12,600+ (2023) says everything.

SG, on the other hand,  probably has the majority of parents  doing the above.  The GDP per capita of SG is USD84,700+ (2023). meaning most can afford to do so if they wish to.

This per capita thingy is bulls**t lor…. Just like median income.  It tells a story but never complete.

say in sg got you, wtknow and inlinesix

The total GDP is $10mil but you and wtknow each contributed $4.99mil.   The per capita Gdp will be $3.33mil even though inlinesix contributed basically nothing.

all in all, GLSGL still lah…..

Edited by Throttle2

On 6/15/2025 at 7:23 PM, Alfc said:

Not only look at Chinese, also look at those developing neighbouring countries migrants here, they dun have privilege background. I think we just like to blame everything else except ourselves. Everything else fault, never our own fault.

What I mentioned: social engineering, is very real. Once a good policy for SG as the govt needs to mold our thinking in a certain way in order to move together as a nation, but now becomes a handicap as we cannot think out of the box.

Like what I said about following rules, was it Philip Yeo (?) who said that in SG you are only allowed to U-turn if there is a sign saying so, but in other countries, their people will U-turn anywhere they like as long as no signboard prohibiting them, or no policeman standing there watching.

How to become entrepreneur like that? [laugh] We will surely lose because scared of law.

Edited by Sosaria

On 6/12/2025 at 8:16 AM, 13177 said:

Coffeeshop kopi also need $1.60??! 😅

The other day i bought some soya bean milk at Sheng Siong, saw a tag which shows $0.10 off for the purchase, then at cashier they charged me at normal price, then asked the cashier why no deduction and the cashier said don't know, lucky i insisted that there is a $0.10 off, then she asked the other cashier then they told her need to press one button for the discount. Wa, cannot believe Sheng Siong wants to cheat me $0.10. 😂 Now food price become so ex, even got $0.10 discount also take.

Was at sheng siong to buy my soya bean milk again. Saw there was a tag at the freezer giving $0.20 off for every purchase. Was at the cashier and the cashier yet again no give the discount and don't know about the discount until i tell them on this offer, then they pressed some button then the discount is given. Looks like cashier at sheng siong don't know anything what products have what discount in the store. So sheng siong this time want to cheat me $0.20 if i am not 'careful'. 😅

On 6/15/2025 at 7:49 PM, Sosaria said:

What I mentioned: social engineering, is very real. Once a good policy for SG as the govt needs to mold our thinking in a certain way in order to move together as a nation, but now becomes a handicap as we cannot think out of the box.

Like what I said about following rules, was it Philip Yeo (?) who said that in SG you are only allowed to U-turn if there is a sign saying so, but in other countries, their people will U-turn anywhere they like as long as no signboard prohibiting them, or no policeman standing there watching.

How to become entrepreneur like that? [laugh] We will surely lose because scared of law.

It was Sim Wong Hoo.

Sometimes I feel that Singapore's stickler for rules and law, while noble, can also be a handicap. The reality is that business and the world at large have many grey areas that sometimes need circumventing around 'proper' ways of doing things.

Edited by Benarsenal

On 6/15/2025 at 9:08 PM, Benarsenal said:

It was Sim Wong Hoo

LOL, now I remember, Philip's quote was about having a biotech degree only qualified to wash test tube? [laugh]

But my favourite was how he lambasted those scholars who broke bonds; I still keep that article.

Ironically now we need our youth to be like that, going out of the "box" of the scholarship bond and seizing opportunity when it is there.

Edited by Sosaria

On 6/15/2025 at 7:49 PM, Sosaria said:

Yes indeed, behavorial engineering is very real. Exactly like how SG is engineered to behave and think from all the rules and governing, it is exactly the same how our children are engineered to think and behave from the pampering and "well-laid" paths.

On 6/15/2025 at 9:12 AM, Volvobrick said:

Surprised took them so long to close down.... I stopped going years ago since the quality deteriorated. No difference buying timsum from coffeeshops where they made on the spot. 

More surprised about Wala, even surving COVID albeit at half their original size.

HV though, is pretty dead compared to pre-C. Another place LL try to wring dry the pool.

On 6/15/2025 at 9:13 PM, Sosaria said:

LOL, now I remember, Philip's quote was about having a biotech degree only qualified to wash test tube? [laugh]

But my favourite was how he lambasted those scholars who broke bonds; I still keep that article.

Ironically now we need our youth to be like that, going out of the "box" of the scholarship bond and seizing opportunity when it is there.

On a maybe related note, I was reading a post online that was comparing Philippines and Thailand, and it pointed out that while both countries are rife with corruption, TH has 'effective corruption with purpose'. Meaning that after they take the bribes they will actually do the work, as compared to PH and many other countries where they just take money and do nothing.

Singapore is the other way of course, efficient and (relatively) clean. But while we can take the moral high ground, the rest of the world don't really function on morality.

Edited by Benarsenal

On 6/16/2025 at 1:11 PM, Benarsenal said:

But while we can take the moral high ground, the rest of the world don't really function on morality.

We are barely functioning at all, with or without unofficial payments.

Moral high ground counts for nothing.

Just count how many here is a business owner lo as compare to working employee all their life . 3 out of 100 ? 
got some here talk until like dragon but how come never venture out and set up own company if so smart lo .. 

I just chatted with another multi millionaire friend of mine.  He is also sole bread winner and has 3 children 16-20yrs old.  

He was so surpised that my monthly expenses was only around $15k.  His monthly expense is almost double of mine.  He also has 2 cars and lives in a semi D in D10 with 1 property in US and 1 in Europe

$30k per mth expenses isnt that much for him as i know he rakes in about $100k to $120k per mth with his business.  

so what are your family monthly expenses? 

On 6/18/2025 at 4:34 PM, Throttle2 said:

I just chatted with another multi millionaire friend of mine.  He is also sole bread winner and has 3 children 16-20yrs old.  

He was so surpised that my monthly expenses was only around $15k.  His monthly expense is almost double of mine.  He also has 2 cars and lives in a semi D in D10 with 1 property in US and 1 in Europe

$30k per mth expenses isnt that much for him as i know he rakes in about $100k to $120k per mth with his business.  

so what are your family monthly expenses? 

My household monthly expenses around  5k, low ses lifestyle, eat at home, bring own water, take bus etc but happy🤣

Edited by Ginyu

On 6/15/2025 at 7:23 PM, Alfc said:

Can see the same behaviours from Reckless drivers thread....

Edited by Atonchia

On 6/18/2025 at 8:19 PM, Ginyu said:

My household monthly expenses around  5k, low ses lifestyle, eat at home, bring own water, take bus etc but happy🤣

I think becos your children already independant and your wife working?  So $5k for yourself is good living, not low ses

On 6/16/2025 at 1:35 AM, bsswan said:

More surprised about Wala, even surving COVID albeit at half their original size.

HV though, is pretty dead compared to pre-C. Another place LL try to wring dry the pool.

Expats moving out of SG....

Those who are new to SG probably likes to stay in Sentosa and near town area. 

Maybe Tiong Bahru is still popular...

Also depending the country origin of the new expats or new immigrant. 

Many well heeled local SG, rather spend overseas than at home....

Tourist from many countries will feel pocket not as deep as before given our exchange rate is still high to many other currencies.