Inflation coming to hit us hard.

Watwheels

On 9/26/2023 at 4:40 PM, Wt_know said:

no $100/box no talk ... huat ah!

nabei .. every year giving mooncake, bak kwa, xmas hamper, etc .... it's a business scam to pump the economy ... LOL

2023-09-26_163755.jpg

2023-09-26_163726.jpg

I go JB buy 2 box seasons mooncake 

cheap and good

about sgd 20 I think per box 

On 9/26/2023 at 6:05 PM, inlinesix said:

My fav is Champagne Truffle Snow Skin from Raffles Hotel.

It used to be $45 10 years ago.

Now become how much?

On 9/26/2023 at 5:07 PM, jcmm said:

Simi sai also go up, simi sai also can justify. :D

Only salary didnt go up. 
i speak from true personal experience.

Last increment was in 2014 by $20kpa only…

On 9/27/2023 at 8:53 AM, Mustank said:

cheap and good

I am not a mooncake fan, but when I was in JB last month and saw how unbelievably low price the mooncake there, I can't help but to buy just a piece to try.

It's pretty good despite the much lower price.

I really feel locals in SG kena carrot all the time from businesses because they know locals can afford to pay.

Edited by Starry

On 9/27/2023 at 11:21 AM, Starry said:

I am not a mooncake fan, but when I was in JB last month and saw how unbelievably low price the mooncake there, I can't help but to buy just a piece to try.

I really feel locals in SG kena carrot all the time from businesses because they know locals can afford to pay.

The whole open space at ground floor of city square all is moon cake booth 

I am not a traditional guy eat mooncake 

I just like to eat. I don’t care the festival one hahaha

cheap and good

On 9/27/2023 at 11:21 AM, Starry said:

Even though both of you don't buy, there are millions of carrot heads on the island.

On 9/27/2023 at 11:32 AM, inlinesix said:

Even though both of you don't buy, there are millions of carrot heads on the island.

No lah it just happen I got train ticket go JB 

if not I will buy one box of 大中国 moon cake

It is good to be different.....

But I am the weird one........😄

Time for me to go back to sleep.....zzz....

Edited by Starry

No lah it just happen I got train ticket go JB 

if not I will buy one box of 大中国 moon cake

cheap and good

The times and hassle spent to get that two boxes not really worthwhile. 

On 9/27/2023 at 12:24 PM, Kopites said:

The times and hassle spent to get that two boxes not really worthwhile. 

No lah 

Is I go JB then on the way buy

not purposely to buy 2 box then go JB one

On 9/27/2023 at 6:29 AM, inlinesix said:

Don’t celebrate.

We don’t have Autumn in Singapore.

We have no idea what it is all about.

By the way, it is mid Autumn Festival.

Yes you have a point. 

Now I see more celebrate Halloween also.. whatever that sells stuff, increase GDP, we celebrate 

I can understand this mooncake is a traditional thing and symbolic. Ok for merchants to make some money but how could a box of 4 cost $99? 

The ingredients were prepared months ago, not even fresh. Somehow people feel giving expensive stuff mean sincerity, respect or something. I am sure for the money paid, you can get a nicer and better quality box that suit you need too.