Jamesc Hypersonic July 27, 2022 Share July 27, 2022 So many carparks in SG why only this one happen? The other carparks no wear and tear? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverkris 5th Gear July 27, 2022 Share July 27, 2022 10 hours ago, Volvobrick said: Like that means a pedestrian kena hit/killed by the spalling concrete also town council bo ta ji. Just wear and tear! Unfortunately, yes. Unless you can prove that it is due to negligence of town council. If town council can prove all maintenance done properly but accidents happen, they are not liable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 27, 2022 Share July 27, 2022 My brakes fail I hit my MIL Brakes also got wear and tear right? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 27, 2022 Share July 27, 2022 Whose car here brakes no wear and tear one. I will be using the town council defense if kenna charged in court. Sure win one. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 27, 2022 Share July 27, 2022 (edited) Say wear and tear not paiseh one huh? Edited July 27, 2022 by Jamesc 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic July 27, 2022 Share July 27, 2022 32 minutes ago, Jamesc said: So many carparks in SG why only this one happen? The other carparks no wear and tear? I was sitting on MC of a 20+yr old private appt with underground carpark. Due to years of nonchalant attitude towards property maintenance, the paint of the carpark ceiling was flaking and peeling which dropped onto parked cars but easily wiped off. Seen some hairline cracks and wet patch in those affected areas. Reminded my chairman about it but it was not given immediate attention. Sure enough, one day, a small sizeable chunk of concrete fell off but fortunately it did not hit anyone or any cars. We had to engage a PE to assess the structural integrity of the whole building and engage a contractor to do rectification works on the affected areas. Yes, this is very common. 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 27, 2022 Share July 27, 2022 3 minutes ago, Vratenza said: We had to engage a PE to assess the structural integrity of the whole building and engage a contractor to do rectification works on the affected areas. Engage a PE to assess the structural integrity of the whole building and engage a contractor to do rectification works is the responsible thing to do. On the other hand why didn't you just say don't bother lah its wear and tear? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shrjun 5th Gear July 27, 2022 Share July 27, 2022 Why are most people ' bullying ' the car owner when the TC can give a BS reason ? Is it free parking ? 8K is obviously a silly quote though . But then most insurance people are stupid / greedy . 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 27, 2022 Share July 27, 2022 2 minutes ago, shrjun said: Why are most people ' bullying ' the car owner when the TC can give a BS reason ? Is it free parking ? 8K is obviously a silly quote though . But then most insurance people are stupid / greedy . From a worker's perspective, it is easier to reject a claim. This is especially supported by loss adjuster. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 27, 2022 Share July 27, 2022 Maybe if this happened to your car I am sure you will be more sympathetic to the car owner. Except if you drive a COE pigkrup 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EasyGoing 2nd Gear July 27, 2022 Share July 27, 2022 @zipping if town council can use wear and tear as an excuse for not compensating the vw owner then how come we HDBians are responsible when our windows fall down and hurt someone as we HDBians are responsible for the maintenance of our windows leh ????????????? 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 27, 2022 Share July 27, 2022 Is it reasonable for people to check for wear and tear and take action to remedy it? Should I check my car brakes for wear and tear or my brake failing and I knock down my MIL is a reason defense if I kenna charged? 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged July 27, 2022 Share July 27, 2022 next time lamp post falls, can LTA also say it's due to wear and tear? 😁 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 27, 2022 Share July 27, 2022 4 minutes ago, Jamesc said: Maybe if this happened to your car I am sure you will be more sympathetic to the car owner. Except if you drive a COE pigkrup If coe 老 pigkrup, you stand beside it 🤘 😎and ask your colleague to take photo 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 27, 2022 Share July 27, 2022 8 minutes ago, Scion said: next time lamp post falls, can LTA also say it's due to wear and tear? 😁 You have to find which contractor that maintains the lamp post. LTA will not respond 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged July 27, 2022 Share July 27, 2022 (edited) 12 hours ago, Sosaria said: I just pity the MP. Not only have to help residents who are really in financial difficulty or some dire need, but also have to spend time helping these kinds of residents who can afford VW Golf over a matter that can be easily settled with money well-within the resident's means. I don't pity the MP, it was part of his duty to assist his resident, besides a VW Golf is not cheap nor very expensive car, in this juncture of Wear and Tear, any car/s that parked inside the basement car park come under the jurisdiction of the town council, how can anyone say it can be easily settled within the resident's mean ? It can be a Sushi/ Kimchi cars too, repair's still needs to be done, the responsible TC cannot just walk away saying Wear and Tear issue, just look at the heavy repair maintenance behind, spalling concrete due to old age will still fall off due to heavy hacking of the ceiling combined weights. Thy should have bear the damages to car owner a decent percentage damage, not just wash hands. It is irresponsible. ( Photo don't lie ) Edited July 27, 2022 by Meanmachine 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic July 27, 2022 Share July 27, 2022 All car parks should have this sign Their job is only to collect parking fees. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 27, 2022 Share July 27, 2022 17 minutes ago, Vid said: All car parks should have this sign Their job is only to collect parking fees. With this sign, car park operators still have a duty of care towards the users. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...