Jman888 Moderator December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/man-arrested-worker-workplace-death-rifle-range-road-3171106 seem like it was an accident. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 30, 2022 Author Share December 30, 2022 1 hour ago, RadX said: Eh u dun look down but yes, sth amiss @Carbon82 shd be retired but he dunno how to keep mouth closed that’s why still working🙏🏾😂 limpeh work build hdb flat at 14yrs old hor…😂 🤣 not look down. More like sad esp when he’s 31 only. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 (edited) In my layman opinion, many of these accidents can be avoided while most works invoking heavy machinery have certain level of risks. Key reasons are: not enough proper training given before putting men on the job. Just simply enroll in a course then can perform work due to cost saving and time. Lack of time, workers take short cut and fatigue when you push for deadline. Pushing down the line for a scapegoat for not following instructions is not key in preventing accident. The fact a pick up can ferry 6 workers itself tells all What is the culture for safety and how much emphasis on it? Are safety officers always present on site or they also follow instructions? Just visit any construction site and take a look. Majority are general workers without training depending on supervisors with little training. My opinion only. Edited December 30, 2022 by Victor68 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 30, 2022 Author Share December 30, 2022 2016 there’s 66 workplace deaths but I don’t think there’s a shortage of manpower then. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 2 hours ago, Jman888 said: https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/man-arrested-worker-workplace-death-rifle-range-road-3171106 seem like it was an accident. Of course it is Accident,if not Accident then it is Murder.! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 5 hours ago, Atonchia said: A lot of the deaths seemed like due to lifting, hoisting, fork lift, all the heavy equipment and falling from heights. Lifting something then the item dropped onto the victim. Hoist or crane topple onto victim Forklift hitting victim. Item from forklift dropping onto victim. Lorry rolling backward onto victim etc. All due to negligence or lack of safety procedures or not following safety protocol. 45 deaths is almost one death a week. I have seen some of the above during my first job decades ago. So when I go to work, I told myself "Never die from work" As I age, I realise that fortunately, most people will not die from work. But they will work until they die. Either way it is still tragic. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 As with similar episodes such as aloysius pang's, just find a low level scapegoat to answer for the lapse and then case closed...what can be different? 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 1 hour ago, Fcw75 said: 2016 there’s 66 workplace deaths but I don’t think there’s a shortage of manpower then. Didn't know 2016 was so bad. So it wasn't due to the past 2 years of Covid effect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 30, 2022 Share December 30, 2022 (edited) 6 hours ago, Victor68 said: In my layman opinion, many of these accidents can be avoided while most works invoking heavy machinery have certain level of risks. Key reasons are: not enough proper training given before putting men on the job. Just simply enroll in a course then can perform work due to cost saving and time. The test-until-you-pass courses that are funded, you mean? After attend course, become "competent" already Seriously though, whenever it comes to heavy load, lifting op, or working at heights, a lot is common sense and experience. No amount of course attendance can apprise you of the danger until you have seen what can happen. Edited December 30, 2022 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 30, 2022 Author Share December 30, 2022 6 hours ago, Kyrios said: As with similar episodes such as aloysius pang's, just find a low level scapegoat to answer for the lapse and then case closed...what can be different? The kranji land clearing too. Find 2 JTC officers to take the blame can liao. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear December 31, 2022 Share December 31, 2022 (edited) All these workplace accidents, in my view, is just like us driving. Complacency and the belief that we r skillful and accidents won't happen to us. How many of us drivers follow exactly every single rule we learn in basic theory every single second we drive? Signals, full-stop at white line, check blind spot, keep to speed limit etc? Edited December 31, 2022 by Rickster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Supersonic December 31, 2022 Share December 31, 2022 22 hours ago, Victor68 said: In my layman opinion, many of these accidents can be avoided while most works invoking heavy machinery have certain level of risks. Key reasons are: not enough proper training given before putting men on the job. Just simply enroll in a course then can perform work due to cost saving and time. Lack of time, workers take short cut and fatigue when you push for deadline. Pushing down the line for a scapegoat for not following instructions is not key in preventing accident. The fact a pick up can ferry 6 workers itself tells all What is the culture for safety and how much emphasis on it? Are safety officers always present on site or they also follow instructions? Just visit any construction site and take a look. Majority are general workers without training depending on supervisors with little training. My opinion only. There's also the culture that every year, more must be done , and done in a shorter time to show "improvement"... the dreaded "multi tasking" and better "productivity ". If we asked the same of our wives making babies, the goal setting will be: 1st child 9 months. 2nd child 7 months. 3rd child 5 months. One cannot blame lack of manpower and training when the whole work culture is to cut corners. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged December 31, 2022 Share December 31, 2022 (edited) Wanted to write something but wrong thread. Sorry 😐 Edited December 31, 2022 by Victor68 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 31, 2022 Author Share December 31, 2022 46th workplace death. RIP. https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/38-year-old-indian-national-who-died-in-a-fire-in-tuas-is-46th-workplace-fatality-in-2022?mibextid=Zxz2cZ 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator December 31, 2022 Share December 31, 2022 Sad case. The news report has taken the soft approach to highlight about the deceased and his family, instead on speculating on the causes of the accident, which is more effective in driving across the importance of workplace safety. It is clearly a series of lapses leading to this fatal accident, e.g. the lack of banksman / barricade / access control resulting in the deceased positioned in the line of fire, potentially improper use of lifting device, inadequately secured load, and most importantly, non-effective risk assessment or inadequate control measures. It could also possibly linked to lack of supervision or supervisory violation, inadequate training and awareness, management of resources, as well as management climate / culture, just to name a few. The arrest of the 62 year old is just to facilitate the investigation, and he is unlikely to be the only one at fault. An thorough investigation will takes weeks most of the time, as the statement by the interviewees (such as witness, peer, line supervisor, management team) will lead to more questions and details. So let not jump to conclusion for now. All of us should be more mindful of our work environment, stop work when in doubt (safety concerns) , and escalate any safety issue to the management team immediately. I an a firm believer that accident can be prevented if each and everyone of us do our part. I have on several occasions stop workers from working (outside my workplace), when I spotted any unsafe act or condition. I see it as saving live(s), no juts kaypo, and you should do the same. ↡ Advertisement 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...