The Perfect Storm of the Stock Market III

On 12/21/2023 at 1:09 PM, Voodooman said:

Ok. I am also in the 5-10% range now, save for some bank and REIT stocks I bought during last GFC.  Hoping to reduce to 3-5% handle in the next 1-2 years.

3-5% is where i am.  
10% is my threshold for single counter. 

But it also depends on the size of portfolio. 
your portfolio must also be in the millions, i reckon

many people ask me how to invest their $300k $500k even $1m portfolio and for that i usually tell them to be more focussed . No point hving more than 10 lines of securities in a small port.  Just focus on 5 - 10 solid names max.  good enough

On 12/21/2023 at 1:27 PM, Throttle2 said:

Its ok lah. Cant win on every bet.  

i bought HStech at that point becos it seemed to hv more legs to run and i had zero chinese or tech exposure.  
and i was right becos it shot up 35%, but then all the unforseeable political play came in.   

Yalor, HST looks to be a good bet then. It was quite beaten down when I entered, anchored by the Chinese growth story.  

Thinking if I should adopt a cut loss strategy going forward but I was never much of a trader. When you are bottom fishing, it is hard to cut losses, hence the big losses I am seeing now as I averaged down tranche after tranche. The 10% cap probably saved my ass. 😂😂😂

Maybe better to just stick to dividend and passive investing via global funds.

On 12/21/2023 at 1:38 PM, Throttle2 said:

To clarify, i did hold more than 10%-15% in various funds from time to time, but not pure single counter

Yes. I was referring to single counter (exclude Index fund) too.  

On 12/21/2023 at 1:23 PM, Throttle2 said:

hstech i was up usd 35k , held on and now down almost usd50k 🤣😂

and thats why we diversify.  Becos investing isnt about each single bet , its about it entirety. 

I would mind if hstech goes to zero if my portfolio is up 10%….😎😎

Typo corrections.

I wouldnt mind if hstech goes to zero but my port is up 10%

Dow … all time high !!!

S&P500 … all time high !!!

Nasdaq … alll time high !!!

ho ho ho … xmas comes early

huat huat huat !!!

On 12/20/2023 at 9:04 PM, Lala81 said:

Commodities is going to weaken in a weak global economy.

But i think Oil maybe fine as the tensions in the middle east is supporting it. Bought a bit of CNOOC yesterday. 

Always love that counter, had an entry once at HKD7.... Never seen it again 

On 12/21/2023 at 12:27 AM, Throttle2 said:

Its ok lah. Cant win on every bet.  

i bought HStech at that point becos it seemed to hv more legs to run and i had zero chinese or tech exposure.  
and i was right becos it shot up 35%, but then all the unforseeable political play came in.   

U got a story to tell if it ever recovers to glory days

On 12/23/2023 at 2:46 AM, Yeshe said:

U got a story to tell if it ever recovers to glory days

Hopefully got a cool story.  Up $35k, down $85k and up $100k 

huat ah…….

Dreamimg….

On 12/21/2023 at 1:47 PM, Voodooman said:

Yalor, HST looks to be a good bet then. It was quite beaten down when I entered, anchored by the Chinese growth story.  

i am also thinking to cut ... when rebound a bit ... [bigcry] 

2023-12-24_185139.jpg

is it too late to FOMO in now? 

with the anticipation of fed cut rates in 2024 ...

TLT will cheong to the moon ? :grin:

2023-12-26_205214.jpg

On 12/24/2023 at 6:53 PM, Wt_know said:

i am also thinking to cut ... when rebound a bit ... [bigcry] 

2023-12-24_185139.jpg

Well if you hv better use for the money, just cut.

i have too much cash sitting around as it is, so i will continue to take my bet on it.

sigh i slowly wait and wait.  Try to sell bit by bit when it goes up.  

definitely one of my worst punts in terms of results.   But i was up usd35k on it.   Was greedy, didnt walk away

Edited by Throttle2

On 12/26/2023 at 8:53 PM, Wt_know said:

is it too late to FOMO in now? 

with the anticipation of fed cut rates in 2024 ...

TLT will cheong to the moon ? :grin:

2023-12-26_205214.jpg

Already priced in 100bps cut in 2024 liao.

Unless u buy TLT to hedge abit against yr equity portfolio in case black swan event (exclude 2nd wave hyperinflation)

wah siao one....last few trading days of the year so bullish unlike previous years quiet quiet de

why the optimism?

😬