teomingern 6th Gear June 27, 2023 Share June 27, 2023 On 6/26/2023 at 11:30 PM, Starry said: I also won't...only cos I am lazy to drive so much. If there is some comfortable (and safer) way, can still consider. But I know some people want adventure and the memories, so hope they have a good trip and a fulfilling one. You're in a car forum leh.... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged June 27, 2023 Share June 27, 2023 (edited) On 6/27/2023 at 9:13 PM, teomingern said: You're in a car forum leh.... haha.....mostly for the Liverpool thread bro.... Very soon, think dun even want the car liow...it is an added stress (servicing, fixing, washing, inspection, parking, etc) but see how first... Edited June 27, 2023 by Starry 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear June 27, 2023 Share June 27, 2023 On 6/27/2023 at 9:20 PM, Starry said: haha.....mostly for the Liverpool thread bro.... Very soon, think dun even want the car liow...it is an added stress. Why? Stress cos of the driving or the financing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged June 27, 2023 Share June 27, 2023 (edited) On 6/27/2023 at 9:26 PM, teomingern said: Why? Stress cos of the driving or the financing? Not so much the driving or financing but all the effort associated with a car such as servicing, fixing, replace parts , washing & grooming, go for inspection, look for parking, etc. Kind of tired liow after doing all these for decades. Sometimes, I already leave the car at home and just take public which can be faster depending on the destination. As I age, I want to start owning less things. Edited June 27, 2023 by Starry 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged June 27, 2023 Share June 27, 2023 On 6/27/2023 at 9:36 PM, Starry said: Not so much the driving or financing but all the effort associated with a car such as servicing, fixing, replace parts , washing & grooming, go for inspection, look for parking, etc. Kind of tired liow after doing all these for decades. Sometimes, I already leave the car at home and just take public which can be faster depending on the destination. As I age, I want to start owning less things. I agree with you. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged June 28, 2023 Share June 28, 2023 Have been busy to come here tok. My buddy did a trip representing VW from Germany to Beijing's Bird Nest Stadium. But I did not see it as a glorified trip leh. Anyway, this kinda trip not for me, I love those few days type where there will not be much trouble to absorb. Can do that many times and less trouble to prepare. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear June 28, 2023 Share June 28, 2023 (edited) On 6/27/2023 at 9:36 PM, Starry said: Not so much the driving or financing but all the effort associated with a car such as servicing, fixing, replace parts , washing & grooming, go for inspection, look for parking, etc. Kind of tired liow after doing all these for decades. Sometimes, I already leave the car at home and just take public which can be faster depending on the destination. As I age, I want to start owning less things. I don't wash my car... or groom it... I go for a Malaysia road trip once a year... then I park in some high end shopping mall and get the Cars International grooming company to do it for me... my Hyundai Sonata 2.0 with a panoramic glass roof costs RM285 for a wash and wax... definitely very good value for money... the paintwork on cars are absolutely fabulous these days... after the grooming my car's paintwork still looks like new... remember I never wash car for 1 year plus... I park outdoors at work 100% of the time but my home car park is sheltered HDB car park... pretty amazing... so don't sweat the wash and groom car part bro... Servicing only once a year... I have a mechanic who comes to my place and does it in my car park... otherwise I just go Malaysia (when I need to run some errands), drop off at a workshop - it's done in 20 min... also cheap... I bring my own oil (buy on Shopee) and bring my own parts (oil filter & aircon cabin filter - go Min Ghee, one time buy enough for a few servicings * like 3 sets)... don't need to waste too much time... Inspection lagi best now... only once in 2 years... and just wait in aircon comfort - only 20 min at most... I go during afternoon period... centre also 5 min drive from my home... I don't go out during peak weekends but do it on weekday afternoons where possible... so parking no issue... also don't go to town much... heh heh... so I don't have problem with parking mostly... So got solution bro... don't get tired of the car... it's really fabulous freedom... Edited June 28, 2023 by teomingern 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear June 28, 2023 Share June 28, 2023 On 6/28/2023 at 9:40 AM, Arogab said: Have been busy to come here tok. My buddy did a trip representing VW from Germany to Beijing's Bird Nest Stadium. But I did not see it as a glorified trip leh. Anyway, this kinda trip not for me, I love those few days type where there will not be much trouble to absorb. Can do that many times and less trouble to prepare. Different strokes for different folks... I like planning and fulfilling what I planned... so I like long trips... heh heh... too short don't feel like holiday... must holiday until home sick then shiok... Ha ha... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged June 28, 2023 Share June 28, 2023 (edited) On 6/28/2023 at 10:36 AM, teomingern said: I don't wash my car... or groom it... I go for a Malaysia road trip once a year... then I park in some high end shopping mall and get the Cars International grooming company to do it for me... my Hyundai Sonata 2.0 with a panoramic glass roof costs RM285 for a wash and wax... definitely very good value for money... the paintwork on cars are absolutely fabulous these days... after the grooming my car's paintwork still looks like new... remember I never wash car for 1 year plus... I park outdoors at work 100% of the time but my home car park is sheltered HDB car park... pretty amazing... so don't sweat the wash and groom car part bro... Servicing only once a year... I have a mechanic who comes to my place and does it in my car park... otherwise I just go Malaysia (when I need to run some errands), drop off at a workshop - it's done in 20 min... also cheap... I bring my own oil (buy on Shopee) and bring my own parts (oil filter & aircon cabin filter - go Min Ghee, one time buy enough for a few servicings * like 3 sets)... don't need to waste too much time... Inspection lagi best now... only once in 2 years... and just wait in aircon comfort - only 20 min at most... I go during afternoon period... centre also 5 min drive from my home... I don't go out during peak weekends but do it on weekday afternoons where possible... so parking no issue... also don't go to town much... heh heh... so I don't have problem with parking mostly... So got solution bro... don't get tired of the car... it's really fabulous freedom... Thanks bro for sharing your thoughts. I am at a stage where I just want to chill and don't want to have too many entanglements especially over servicing, repairing, dealing with breakdowns, etc. In SG, there is also not much places I go these days where a public transport could not go. Also, I don't service or wash in MY, cos I don't trust them enough with a SG car. Edited June 28, 2023 by Starry 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged June 28, 2023 Share June 28, 2023 On 6/28/2023 at 9:40 AM, teomingern said: Different strokes for different folks... I like planning and fulfilling what I planned... so I like long trips... heh heh... too short don't feel like holiday... must holiday until home sick then shiok... Ha ha... Agree with you. Whereas for me, I have been travelling hard over the past 18 years and when I chat with friends. I always tell them my best past time is 无所事事。 Just like we got enjoy our Sonkran festival. We just enjoy the chatting, eating, drinking and go back sleep. Next day we change place and do the same and again to another place. But I don't like those long ones is because need to prepare a lot. In this case, drive so long distance and thru so many countries got to prepare visa, this and that including car spare parts. Wah, not for me. Haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear June 28, 2023 Share June 28, 2023 On 6/28/2023 at 11:03 AM, Arogab said: Agree with you. Whereas for me, I have been travelling hard over the past 18 years and when I chat with friends. I always tell them my best past time is 无所事事。 Just like we got enjoy our Sonkran festival. We just enjoy the chatting, eating, drinking and go back sleep. Next day we change place and do the same and again to another place. But I don't like those long ones is because need to prepare a lot. In this case, drive so long distance and thru so many countries got to prepare visa, this and that including car spare parts. Wah, not for me. Haha Yeah long drive like that through various countries not for me now... also no money to do lar... heh heh... but I don't mind train if my kids were grown up and independent and I'm much younger and got enough money... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear June 28, 2023 Share June 28, 2023 On 6/28/2023 at 10:58 AM, Starry said: Thanks bro for sharing your thoughts. I am at a stage where I just want to chill and don't want to have too many entanglements especially over servicing, repairing, dealing with breakdowns, etc. In SG, there is also not much places I go these days where a public transport could not go. Also, I don't service or wash in MY, cos I don't trust them enough with a SG car. Yeah I know right... my car no one will steal in Malaysia... not valuable for anything... even for strip down... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged June 28, 2023 Share June 28, 2023 On 6/28/2023 at 11:13 AM, teomingern said: Yeah I know right... my car no one will steal in Malaysia... not valuable for anything... even for strip down... No bro...I don't mean the type of SG car .....I mean I don't trust the workmanship over in MY, so I don't service there. But then someone told me the mechanics here also from MY which is also true..lol... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged June 28, 2023 Share June 28, 2023 On 6/28/2023 at 10:12 AM, teomingern said: Yeah long drive like that through various countries not for me now... also no money to do lar... heh heh... but I don't mind train if my kids were grown up and independent and I'm much younger and got enough money... I grow up with no money too. But during NS (don't ask me what I do ok), I already bringing home $500 a month to my mum. When I left NS, my saving only got $2500 only. Now my daughter ho miah, she has not graduated but she handles more than 10k through my training. At least she will tell me air-ticket to come see us on weekend is expensive and she rather part time she school assignment. Training is important. But attitude is also important. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 28, 2023 Share June 28, 2023 Since its so popular maybe MCF can organise one. Anyone got spare place maybe can help take my MIL? I happy to pay and only need to take her there no need come back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear June 28, 2023 Share June 28, 2023 Go with AA got security in place lar... that's the plus point for anyone trying to do a trip like this... otherwise, on some of the lonely places at the top of the world, or along the deserts, etc... you can seriously get into real trouble with bandits... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged June 28, 2023 Share June 28, 2023 On 6/28/2023 at 12:29 PM, teomingern said: Go with AA got security in place lar... that's the plus point for anyone trying to do a trip like this... otherwise, on some of the lonely places at the top of the world, or along the deserts, etc... you can seriously get into real trouble with bandits... also got guide and mechanic don't need to do any research and planning. Just follow. pros and cons. ↡ Advertisement 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...