Too Late if They only Realized Now, Hong Kong

Arogab

On 6/11/2024 at 12:44 PM, 13177 said:

Maybe those house very small and tiny is those public house? The lowest end of housing in HK.

Can check with your hong kong friend the term nano or 納米 apartment built by private developers. 😁

Infact the government current public housing is slightly biggest than those nano flat. One can still partition out a bed room. 

In the past yes, government 居屋 or 供屋 were small and pathetic. 

Edited by Kopites

On 6/11/2024 at 4:22 PM, Arogab said:

Of cos there are big ones. But I can see lots of the apartment sales advertise on the size are small ones. 

There are also lots of people living smaller than our bangala hostel neh. 

Advertise big ones maybe many people in HK cannot afford to buy. So most sales are on the small size.

On 6/11/2024 at 8:09 PM, Kopites said:

Can check with your hong kong friend the term nano or 納米 apartment built by private developers. 😁

Infact the government current public housing is slightly biggest than those nano flat. One can still partition out a bed room. 

In the past yes, government 居屋 or 供屋 were small and pathetic. 

So my impression on public housing still stopped at last time, small and tiny. Didn't know public housing now is even bigger than private nano. 😂

On 6/11/2024 at 5:52 PM, SGCMmadman said:

My hk fren always say, we lucky hv hdb flats, yet sporeans complain.

See la, we become entitled. See those cage rooms in youtube abt hk... i also tiam2 abt hdb size 😁🤣😇

True, to HK people, the size of our HDB flat is big and comfortable, even the smallest HDB like a 2 room flat. Don't understand why sporeans still complain the flat is small.

On 6/12/2024 at 1:57 PM, 13177 said:

True, to HK people, the size of our HDB flat is big and comfortable, even the smallest HDB like a 2 room flat. Don't understand why sporeans still complain the flat is small.

wait until they stay condo lor. Lol the newer condo rooms are all small. 

Families are getting smaller lah. So the smaller unit size is enough for smaller families. 

At least this keeps the resale value of older flats/condos more stable (cos they are bigger and more spacious despite the block being older). 

On 6/12/2024 at 3:23 PM, Lala81 said:

Families are getting smaller lah. So the smaller unit size is enough for smaller families. 

At least this keeps the resale value of older flats/condos more stable (cos they are bigger and more spacious despite the block being older). 

Thats the problem. While the families become smaller, it does not mean the study desk, bed, sofa and other furniture can become smaller. These furniture has fixed estate footprint. 🙂

On 6/12/2024 at 3:39 PM, Rayleigh said:

Thats the problem. While the families become smaller, it does not mean the study desk, bed, sofa and other furniture can become smaller. These furniture has fixed estate footprint. 🙂

I agree. That's why i stay in an old estate. I want them to have a proper study desk and space enough for them. 

Quite a lot of the new bedrooms need to have loft bed to fit a decent sized study table. my girl's study table alone is the size of a dining table.

On 6/12/2024 at 3:55 PM, Lala81 said:

I agree. That's why i stay in an old estate. I want them to have a proper study desk and space enough for them. 

Nowadays...my son study desk is basically a gaming console...occasional homework...bed is sofa for movies/YT/IG and of course lay flat...no need for wardrobe...his clothes can be found in 3 other rooms...or in laundry basket...😂

I still prefer my unit to be roomy, walk into a wide big airy  living room feel so much better. 

On 6/12/2024 at 4:20 PM, Tohto said:

I still prefer my unit to be roomy, walk into a wide big airy  living room feel so much better. 

Nowadays it's usually a compromise. Like for example, the Living/dining area doesn't look too bad, but the rooms are much smaller.

HDB really can't complain bah. overall a 3-5 room flat has shrunk much less compared to yesteryear, vis a vis condos. 

Like in the last 4 years since Covid, u see those families with a  young/bigger family, they buy an EA or EM and make it their forever home, really spend quite a bit on reno, cos they know if they go private, the jump in quantum is just too large vs the space they want for a larger or multigenerational family. 

Even the newer HDB BTO, the rooms also small. Overall the size and layout of BTO is smaller than the older HDB. But think the size still bigger those HK houses.

On 6/12/2024 at 3:39 PM, Rayleigh said:

Exactly lo. Even now one flat stay 3 persons as compared to last time one flat stay 5 persons, but the furniture size still the same. In new BTO flat, now the master room after placing a queen bed and wardrobe, no more space to place a study desk liao. Unlike the older HDB, still have ample space for a study desk and yet the room still quite spacious.

On 6/12/2024 at 3:55 PM, Lala81 said:

Quite a lot of the new bedrooms need to have loft bed to fit a decent sized study table. my girl's study table alone is the size of a dining table.

Old estate i also like but due to lease decay problem, i would still opt to stay in a new estate and sacrifice the roomy space in the house lo.

On 6/12/2024 at 4:28 PM, Lala81 said:

Nowadays it's usually a compromise. Like for example, the Living/dining area doesn't look too bad, but the rooms are much smaller.

HDB really can't complain bah. overall a 3-5 room flat has shrunk much less compared to yesteryear, vis a vis condos. 

Like in the last 4 years since Covid, u see those families with a  young/bigger family, they buy an EA or EM and make it their forever home, really spend quite a bit on reno, cos they know if they go private, the jump in quantum is just too large vs the space they want for a larger or multigenerational family. 

True, some people with big families or like big space, don't mind to stay in HDB, no need to upgrade to private/EC. Just buy an EA/EM and stay there forever. Last era EA/EM are very big and spacious. Size of the flat can be as big as 146sqm.

HK and JP culture is most don't even invite colleagues to own house..

They only have gathering at F&B venues. 

Unlike SG, when we move new house will have house warming inviting friends and colleagues.

On 6/12/2024 at 1:57 PM, 13177 said:

My 1st BTO, master bedroom can't put king size bed, that's why knock down wall and combine 2 bedroom into one.  

I think main complain is bedroom size.

On 6/12/2024 at 4:28 PM, Lala81 said:

Hdb flat is the same reflection as our food.

It keep becoming smaller and smaller.  But price keep increasing 

😑

Flats sizes these days are all first world problems la ... Grew up staying in a 4 room HDB with 1 common toilet and 1 shower room , at any time , 10 pax staying , for 3-4 years 14 pax stayed there together without issues lo ... 

Stay 2,500 sqft condo for 3 pax with 1 helper  , wife complain house too small .....   

• Haha! 8