Gansu in 9 days - 敦煌,七彩丹霞,嘉峪关,莫高窟 和 新龙门客栈,张掖·!

therock

On 8/9/2024 at 9:44 PM, teomingern said:

Eh sorry? Where's the crab?

image.thumb.png.1566444544df5e748227f0e4dbb3a59a.png

I'm traveling like your Japan trips 😉

On 8/9/2024 at 9:51 PM, therock said:

image.thumb.png.1566444544df5e748227f0e4dbb3a59a.png

I'm traveling like your Japan trips 😉

Touche but I don't wake up so early lar... or finish so late as well... heh heh... I'm always done for the day well before sun down...

Tired after a long journey and more flight delays but some notes:

- China is a huge place so curate the number of places to visit

- discuss with your team what you want to see, eg natural sites vs manmade or restored 

eg the Jia Yu Guan is more or less rebuilt, whereas the Yu Men Guan is in it's original state

- expect crowds so check for the best times to go

- check the weather, summer can be a really hot time with blazing sun and dress for the trip

- shopping / eating / just cafe hunting is also fun

- get wepay or some form of Chinese payment, credit cards and cash only work in bigger establishments

- even non smoking hotels often smell of smoke, even the top end ones aren't really able to enforce the rule totally so caveat emptor

- there are a huge variety of food, but check what's available in the area and enjoy the local cuisine. Just remember they use salt, oil and also chili a lot more liberally. Have a plan B for those who don't take hot food

- cater for delays in flight, eg extend your transit times or even stay overnight to avoid missing flights. Domestic flights are filled with all kinds, some really intrude into your space and masks are a thing of the past, so bring your own and expect the dude next to you to be coughing. People also rush for the exits once the plane stops. In fact they push and shove everyone. You will understand this more since the demand is so great and its really 供不应求 - so they spend their whole lives jostling for resources of all kinds

Finally, it's not our country so respect their style, culture and traditions, compare and learn, but not complain, especially loudly. Enjoy the journey and the sights! 

I'll think of some notes on each place after I recover... 

Max for the bronze, nice! IMO, he could have done better, but it's always glorious to win. Majullah! 

Edited by therock

On 8/9/2024 at 10:32 AM, teomingern said:

Wah... your trip really breathless leh... can die one... rush until like this even though you aren't doing any driving... heh heh... thank you for the nice photos of the desert... but I see the food, I want to faint... it's like meat all the way and looks the same anywhere... a bit like my experience in Japan for a month... get a bit sick of it after a while, no?

Inland china eat a lot of meat. Not much green vegetables. I think the extreme weather and environment there make it difficult to grow green. So they also need to get supply from others province. 

Seafood can forget about, even have it is not fresh and not well cook.

Like my experience in Inner Mongolian,  I rather eat theìr BBQ lamb. Which is very nice.

20140723_192711-2.jpg

20140723_202014.jpg

Edited by Tohto

On 8/9/2024 at 5:39 PM, therock said:

Wah delays are really common here …

two hours delay 

I could have seen more scenery or slept more 😅 

domestic flights are pretty strict on luggage allowance so beware 

good thing my HOD had a gold card 👌 

If there is a choice of traveling,  I rather take their HSR. 

Very reliable. 

Their domestic flight can forget about it, always air traffic control.

On 8/10/2024 at 4:05 PM, Tohto said:

If there is a choice of traveling,  I rather take their HSR. 

Very reliable. 

Their domestic flight can forget about it, always air traffic control.

You seems to have covered quite a fair bit of China. Any recommendations?

Everywhere is expensive these days (US, Europe, Australia, etc) with inflation still running high, China seems to be a steal with their economic problems.

Friends say Xinjiang is the new favorite now.  

Edited by Voodooman
  • Sad 1

On 8/10/2024 at 4:37 PM, Voodooman said:

Everywhere is expensive these days (US, Europe, Australia, etc) with inflation still running high, China seems to be a steal with their economic problems.

Even SEA is becoming expensive no? Sian...

We earn more they also wish to do the same

but China isn’t too bad and Taiwan is a nice place too 

there are also many places to drive to in Malaysia and explore off the usual tourist sites 

On 8/10/2024 at 5:32 PM, teomingern said:

Even SEA is becoming expensive no? Sian...

It is but strong SGD helps to balance out inflation.  

But South East Asia's weather is generally not great.  

On 8/10/2024 at 5:34 PM, therock said:

We earn more they also wish to do the same

but China isn’t too bad and Taiwan is a nice place too 

there are also many places to drive to in Malaysia and explore off the usual tourist sites 

I don't drive into Boleh for many years. 

Just don't want to be robbed by those wearing uniform and those snatched and run. 

My trip to boleh are all business trip to Penang which much safer than across the crossways. 

• Sad 1

Most of the tourist destinations in China are very crowded, so if you cannot tahan that best avoid. Otherwise it's a good place just to chill, makan, shop a bit, massage a bit, enjoy the hotels also. And see how much they are pushing technology ahead.

My travel to China on business was mainly in the early 2010s for a few years. 

I had a multiple time in 2 weeks travel 5 city.  Visiting University research lab and some government related research institute. Uni in big city and even ulu place. Basically 2 days one city and weekend is my break. Some city include Shenzhen, Guanzhou, Zhengzhou, Kunmin, Xinxiang, WuHan, Ordos, Chengdu  Nangjing, Shanghai,  Beijing etc.. some already forgot. 

For holiday there,  you can try Yunan. Kunmin has HSR now direct link to DaLi, and Lijiang. Both beautiful place.  Cost there are relatively cheaper than other city. But they also have more exotic food. Yunan I think spring around Mar will be nice season.

My past 10 yrs are mainly went there for holiday. Still love to travel there. 

Edited by Tohto

On 8/10/2024 at 7:34 PM, Volvobrick said:

Most of the tourist destinations in China are very crowded, so if you cannot tahan that best avoid. Otherwise it's a good place just to chill, makan, shop a bit, massage a bit, enjoy the hotels also. And see how much they are pushing technology ahead.

Must avoid their super peak season. 

On 8/10/2024 at 7:25 PM, Tohto said:

I don't drive into Boleh for many years. 

Just don't want to be robbed by those wearing uniform and those snatched and run. 

My trip to boleh are all business trip to Penang which much safer than across the crossways. 

I haven't been stopped by uniform for a long time.

Unless you are as bad luck as Soya

You want to try winter holiday in China.

Go to Harbin for Ice Festival in Jan.

SIN => PEK => HRB

From PEK to HRB, it is either flight or HSR.

HRB is about 8hrs.

On 8/10/2024 at 8:18 PM, inlinesix said:

You want to try winter holiday in China.

Go to Harbin for Ice Festival in Jan.

SIN => PEK => HRB

From PEK to HRB, it is either flight or HSR.

HRB is about 8hrs.

I like cold but Siberian biting cold is not exactly my cup of tea.  Lol

On 8/10/2024 at 8:14 PM, inlinesix said:

I haven't been stopped by uniform for a long time.

Unless you are as bad luck as Soya

As I said never drive in for long long time. Actually for the past 13yrs, I had only drive in 4 time.

Had also never stop by uniform guy previously,  but their bad reputation just make me don't want to drive in.

I rather spend my money at other country.

On 8/10/2024 at 9:18 PM, Voodooman said:

I like cold but Siberian biting cold is not exactly my cup of tea.  Lol

As long as you get the right clothing, it is ok.

It is an interesting experience.

p.s. Try Medieer Ice Cream in sub-Zero

Edited by inlinesix