2025 BYD Atto 2

kobayashiGT

@kobayashiGT @13177 yes. but g

On 9/24/2025 at 5:36 PM, kobayashiGT said:

I assume you have planned out your charging hotspot liao. Like the malls you go, your office and your condo/hdb charging. 

don't ;et the battery run below 25% so often will deplete the battery faster. keep it at 25-80% range. 

yeah, company have 4 charger and currently only 1 EV using. 🙂

On 9/25/2025 at 12:54 AM, Ake109 said:

@13177 

Because got a flat 700 component to make up for 'lost petrol duties'. Damn fckers right our gahmen?

and that bloody $700 is due to no petro tax, so just come out with some shit to add into it.

On 9/25/2025 at 12:53 AM, Ake109 said:

Its more resistant to wear if you charge to 100% compared to NCM, but it still stresses the battery more. You only charge to full 100% like once a month, to calibrate the battery.

Of course, if you not keeping it for 200,000km, that little extra wear wont matter to most.

I know nuts on EV, so don't know when should charge and during charging, should charge until how many % then not to damage the battery in long run etc?! Lol.

On 9/25/2025 at 12:54 AM, Ake109 said:

@13177 

Because got a flat 700 component to make up for 'lost petrol duties'. Damn fckers right our gahmen?

That's why i don't understand why need to change to EV?! Not as if they promote EV, the road tax would be cheaper or same as petrol cars.

On 9/25/2025 at 8:25 AM, 13177 said:

That's why i don't understand why need to change to EV?! Not as if they promote EV, the road tax would be cheaper or same as petrol cars.

No need go Petrol Station 

LTA has released their numbers on cost of cars for Aug-2025 which includes Atto 2.

image.thumb.png.88a438bd257dbf3d15dba46a51e04039.png

Open Market Value (OMV) of Atto 2 average value is $22k

Excise Duty (20% of OMV) works out to be $4.4k

Goods and Services Tax (GST) is 9% of OMV + excise duty, which works out to be $2.4k

Additional Registration Fee (ARF) is a tiered tax based on OMV with 100% on 1st $20k, 140% between $20k to $40k, 190% between $40k to $60k, 250% between $60k to $80k and finally 350% after $80k. For Atto 2 the ARF comes out to $22.9k

Since Atto 2 falls in A1 band of the Vehicle Emission Scheme (VES) there is a rebate of -$25k. However the VES rebate cannot be more than the ARF so it drops to -$22.9k. 

LTA also gives an EV Early Adoption Incentive (EEAI) rebate based on the VES and EEAI not exceeding the total value of ARF, or a maximum of -$15k or 45% of ARF - which ever is lower. Since the VES totally offsets the ARF there is no EEAI rebate on the Atto 2 and comes to $0. 

IU reader cost is $0.16k

Registration fee is $0.35k

1st year road tax (inclusive of $0.7k fuel surcharge on EV) is $1.5k

Sub-Total of costs including OMV, excise duty, GST, ARF, VES, EEAI and registration costs before Cat A CoE is $30.8k

Cat A CoE (as at 25-Sep-2025 and reported on SG Carmart) is $119k

Thus basis cost before Sime Darby/Vantage Auo/ dealer mark up is $30.8k + $119k = $149.8k

Current sales price as reported on SG Carmart on the Atto2 is $178.4k

image.thumb.png.90b1ab6941e9de8d16e088424900663a.png

Finance penalty for all cash deal is $6k.

Total cash cost is thus $178k + $6k = $184.4k

Sime Darby/Vantage Auto/ dealer mark up is a minimum of $34.5k or 156% of OMV value on the Atto2. These are very fat margins - not including the finance costings that Sime Darby/Vantage Auto/ dealer will encourage you to take. The finance penalty is a minimum of 60% or $100k over a 7 year period at an Effect Interest Rate (EIR) of 4.82%. This will add an additional financing cost of $36k on the sales price and makes the margin close to 300%! For a B&B ride, the Atto 2 dealer margins are in the luxury vehicle range. Can conclude that it's a lucrative business to be a new car dealer in Singapore. .🤑 

Edited by steveting99
additional pic

On 9/25/2025 at 9:58 AM, steveting99 said:

LTA has released their numbers on cost of cars for Aug-2025 which includes Atto 2.

Goods and Services Tax (GST) is 9% of OMV + excise duty, which works out to be $2.4k

Additional Registration Fee (ARF) is a tiered tax based on OMV with 100% on 1st $20k, 140% between $20k to $40k, 190% between $40k to $60k, 250% between $60k to $80k and finally 350% after $80k. For Atto 2 the ARF comes out to $22.9k

Since Atto 2 falls in A1 band of the Vehicle Emission Scheme (VES) there is a rebate of -$25k. However the VES rebate cannot be more than the ARF so it drops to -$22.9k. 

LTA also gives an EV Early Adoption Incentive (EEAI) rebate based on the VES and EEAI not exceeding the total value of ARF, or a maximum of -$15k or 45% of ARF - which ever is lower. Since the VES totally offsets the ARF there is no EEAI rebate on the Atto 2 and comes to $0. 

IU reader cost is $0.16k

Sub-Total of costs including OMV, excise duty, GST, ARF, VES, EEAI and registration costs before Cat A CoE is $30.8k

Thus basis cost before Sime Darby/Vantage Auo/ dealer mark up is $30.8k + $119k = $149.8k

Sime Darby/Vantage Auto/ dealer mark up is a minimum of $34.5k or 156% of OMV value on the Atto2. These are very fat margins - not including the finance costings that Sime Darby/Vantage Auto/ dealer will encourage you to take. The finance penalty is a minimum of 60% or $100k over a 7 year period at an Effect Interest Rate (EIR) of 4.82%. This will add an additional financing cost of $36k on the sales price and makes the margin close to 300%! For a B&B ride, the Atto 2 dealer margins are in the luxury vehicle range. Can conclude that it's a lucrative business to be a new car dealer in Singapore. .🤑 

Such a fat margins they have, no wonder hearsay they can secure COE for their customers easily. And no wonder they can become best selling car brand.

The attos2 when launched that week price is around $158k. Now shoot up to $178k!!! Scary siah.

@13177

If you do the maths, getting EV still cheaper than ICE cars. 

On 9/25/2025 at 9:58 AM, steveting99 said:

IU reader cost is $0.16k

No wonder I secure my purchase on guarantee COE at 158k and they secure my COE at 119k still doesn't feel any pinch for them. 

On 9/25/2025 at 8:18 AM, Sukooo said:

and that bloody $700 is due to no petro tax, so just come out with some shit to add into it.

Ya no choice if we want EVs. Gotta look at the total cost of ownership, not just the road tax or insurance alone and compare if it’s worth getting EV.

I’m currently paying 5k+ road tax for my EV, but overall still save money compared to my previous ride.

True, change to EV only if u r clear on what u want and research properly before making the jump, it took me almost a year to understand and research before deciding to make the jump.

For 90% of singaporean drivers who just want a point A to B no fuss car, buying an EV does not make financial sense.

Edited by Rickster

On 9/25/2025 at 7:58 PM, Rickster said:

True, change to EV only if u r clear on what u want and research properly before making the jump, it took me almost a year to understand and research before deciding to make the jump.

For 90% of singaporean drivers who just want a point A to B no fuss car, buying an EV does not make financial sense.

What you mean does not make financial sense if just want a car to point A to point B?

On 9/25/2025 at 8:15 PM, 13177 said:

What you mean does not make financial sense if just want a car to point A to point B?

Because of the $700.

This is especially in Cat A