Sukooo Clutched September 26, 2025 Share September 26, 2025 On 9/25/2025 at 9:30 PM, Mkl22 said: Not only the $700 but public rates for charging also getting ridiculous. EV dun have 3/4 tank rule. Go JB charge. 😁 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear September 26, 2025 Share September 26, 2025 (edited) On 9/26/2025 at 9:31 AM, steveting99 said: Another part to consider is the features and tech given by BEV vs. ICE rides. What used to be in the premium tier of ICE vehicles is now available in B&B tier - with some in Cat A rides. One gets a lot more on BEV compared to ICE. If running costs are the same, but the perceived value for money on BEV is better - believe that most will gravitate to BEV. The Atto 2 is a good example of the perceived value for money. Can compare between BYD's Atto 2 vs. Toyota Corolla Cross hybrid, Hyundia Kona hybrid, Nissan Kicks hybrid, Kia Niro hybrid, Volkswagen Tiguan 1.5 and things don't look so bad for BYD's Atto 2. Particularly for the price one pays compared to the competition. On this I think the main culprit are the greedy ADs that brings in ICE cars that are stripped bare to maximise their profits. If u remove the battery and electric drive train in an EV, majority of the below "advanced" features are already in the mid-range ICE cars for most brands in overseas market. Mobile phone app that can remotely control your car (e.g. unlock, wind down windows, check tyre pressure, location, ventilate, start car etc) Hands-free access Mobile phone unlock door Adaptive cruise control + lane keep assist (same as the tesla basic autopilot) Anti-collision warning/auto brake Rear-cross traffic warning/auto brake Full sell-parking (no need to even press brake or shift gear) Blind spot monitoring Blind spot traffic warning (warns u if there is a car in blind your blind spot when u try to switch lane) Adaptive headlights OTA software updates (just that for whatever reason, ADs like C&C and PML disabled them, but u can see the option in the car) Wireless phone charger Remote real-time diagnostic of your vehicle if it encounters an issue on the road (BMW cars since 2016) For context, a typical entry level merc/BMW in Singapore registered half-a decade ago are already equipped with most or all of the above. Edited September 26, 2025 by Rickster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear September 26, 2025 Share September 26, 2025 (edited) On 9/26/2025 at 9:07 AM, Sdf4786k said: have seen many EV like tesla with the kind of driving enthusiasm mostly reserve for the high power ICE cars. So part of the lure of EV is just that, the entry to ICE Hi power torque in the price bracket of a HRV. U r right. It's mainly the performance and handling that is accessible to me based on a similar price point of my previous ICE car. I'm someone who enjoys a car that has good performance and handling dynamics. My switch from ICE to EV does not save me money. To me, it's about accepting the hassle of charging in exchange for driving dynamics. Edited September 26, 2025 by Rickster 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sukooo Clutched September 26, 2025 Share September 26, 2025 On 9/25/2025 at 10:34 PM, Rickster said: Yes, based on the cheaper slow AC charging option, running on electricity is only around 50% cheaper than petrol. For most Singapore drivers, the petrol bill is barely $200 per month. So how to save money driving an EV when you are paying a much higher road tax and insurance? Vehicle maintenance. Alot lesser moving parts. Lesser wear and tear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged September 26, 2025 Share September 26, 2025 Install own charger at home need to pay LTA $400 to certify 🙄 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 26, 2025 Share September 26, 2025 On 9/26/2025 at 3:09 PM, Kklim said: Install own charger at home need to pay LTA $400 to certify 🙄 Every 2 years. Just install a 32A plug to charge EV. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear September 26, 2025 Share September 26, 2025 On 9/26/2025 at 2:55 PM, Sukooo said: Vehicle maintenance. Alot lesser moving parts. Lesser wear and tear. If you're talking about new cars, most ICE cars, in the first 5 years will be generally problem free, compared to EVs, just regular oil change, which many new cars package also throw in for free. However, after 5 years unless you're driving a European car, chances are that for Jap cars, it'll be just be the regular wear and tear till scrap. So the cost of upkeep and a jap B&B car isn't as scary as EV salesmen make it up to be. My view is that the narrative that EVs saves $ over an ICE B&B car is highly debatable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear September 26, 2025 Share September 26, 2025 On 9/26/2025 at 3:09 PM, Kklim said: Install own charger at home need to pay LTA $400 to certify 🙄 I thought just need to have a certified installer? If really need LTA to certify, i wonder will they make it an annual affair in the name of "safety compliance" to close the loophole on cheap charging for landed property owners. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 26, 2025 Share September 26, 2025 On 9/26/2025 at 3:35 PM, Rickster said: I thought just need to have a certified installer? If really need LTA to certify, i wonder will they make it an annual affair in the name of "safety compliance" to close the loophole on cheap charging for landed property owners. Need get LEW to inspect every 2 year. Just like lift. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
steveting99 3rd Gear September 27, 2025 Share September 27, 2025 On 9/26/2025 at 10:50 AM, Rickster said: On this I think the main culprit are the greedy ADs that brings in ICE cars that are stripped bare to maximise their profits. If u remove the battery and electric drive train in an EV, majority of the below "advanced" features are already in the mid-range ICE cars for most brands in overseas market. Mobile phone app that can remotely control your car (e.g. unlock, wind down windows, check tyre pressure, location, ventilate, start car etc) Hands-free access Mobile phone unlock door Adaptive cruise control + lane keep assist (same as the tesla basic autopilot) Anti-collision warning/auto brake Rear-cross traffic warning/auto brake Full sell-parking (no need to even press brake or shift gear) Blind spot monitoring Blind spot traffic warning (warns u if there is a car in blind your blind spot when u try to switch lane) Adaptive headlights OTA software updates (just that for whatever reason, ADs like C&C and PML disabled them, but u can see the option in the car) Wireless phone charger Remote real-time diagnostic of your vehicle if it encounters an issue on the road (BMW cars since 2016) For context, a typical entry level merc/BMW in Singapore registered half-a decade ago are already equipped with most or all of the above. @Rickster Agree with you on the greediness of ADs here in Singapore. Perhaps I was a bit naive in thinking that triple digit margins were meant to be in the luxury ride territory and not in the B&B. I was wrong on that. Thought that most Singaporeans were kiasu when it comes to spending their hard earned money. I.e. would stand up to howl when being taken advantage of or when things don't seen to be right. But, when it comes to being taken for a ride by the greedy ADs - all I hear are crickets. The silence is almost deafening. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 27, 2025 Share September 27, 2025 On 9/26/2025 at 3:34 PM, Rickster said: If you're talking about new cars, most ICE cars, in the first 5 years will be generally problem free, compared to EVs, just regular oil change, which many new cars package also throw in for free. However, after 5 years unless you're driving a European car, chances are that for Jap cars, it'll be just be the regular wear and tear till scrap. So the cost of upkeep and a jap B&B car isn't as scary as EV salesmen make it up to be. My view is that the narrative that EVs saves $ over an ICE B&B car is highly debatable. Can i say for EV, the cost of upkeep might be scary as compared to ICE b&b car?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 27, 2025 Share September 27, 2025 On 9/24/2025 at 4:56 PM, Sukooo said: @kobayashiGT got from 1826. Does it matter which BYD AD you buy from? There are more than one AD selling BYD, right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
steveting99 3rd Gear September 27, 2025 Share September 27, 2025 On 9/27/2025 at 8:41 PM, 13177 said: Does it matter which BYD AD you buy from? There are more than one AD selling BYD, right? @13177 In Singapore, Sime Darby is the official importer of BYD rides (also in Malaysia). Sime Darby has appointed Vantage Automotive (part of Sime Darby group) as the sole distributor for mainstream BYD passenger cars who then has appointed several authorized dealers. These are: Harmony Auto Jack Cars Motor-East JC (E-Auto) 1826 They're all within +/- a $k of the authorized price. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 27, 2025 Share September 27, 2025 (edited) On 9/27/2025 at 8:53 PM, steveting99 said: @13177 In Singapore, Sime Darby is the official importer of BYD rides (also in Malaysia). Sime Darby has appointed Vantage Automotive (part of Sime Darby group) as the sole distributor for mainstream BYD passenger cars who then has appointed several authorized dealers. These are: Harmony Auto Jack Cars Motor-East JC (E-Auto) 1826 They're all within +/- a $k of the authorized price. The leng kee BYD is which authorized dealer? There are 5 BYD dealers? So many?! So it means there will be some price difference between each dealer?! Edited September 27, 2025 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear September 27, 2025 Share September 27, 2025 (edited) On 9/27/2025 at 8:36 PM, 13177 said: Can i say for EV, the cost of upkeep might be scary as compared to ICE b&b car?! I have recently gotten my lower control arm and bushing replaced for my EV under warranty. It would have cost me a huge bomb, compared to a jap B&B car, if it’s not under warranty. I can’t imagine how much I need to pay if my car’s main control screen knocks out because it’s an integrated media control hub. Let me not begin to talk about all those fancy electronic switches/controls and sensors and cameras that covers the entire car. Once an EV ages, better pray hard electronics don’t fail.😅 Edited September 27, 2025 by Rickster 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged September 27, 2025 Share September 27, 2025 On 9/27/2025 at 5:03 PM, steveting99 said: @Rickster Agree with you on the greediness of ADs here in Singapore. Perhaps I was a bit naive in thinking that triple digit margins were meant to be in the luxury ride territory and not in the B&B. I was wrong on that. Thought that most Singaporeans were kiasu when it comes to spending their hard earned money. I.e. would stand up to howl when being taken advantage of or when things don't seen to be right. But, when it comes to being taken for a ride by the greedy ADs - all I hear are crickets. The silence is almost deafening. Oh when it comes to cars, Sinkies basically roll over and spread the cheeks. The sellers' margins already cost more than the entire car overseas, but we are willing to put up with 5 minute test drives vs other countries where the salesperson has to deliver the car to you to test over the weekend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 27, 2025 Share September 27, 2025 On 9/27/2025 at 10:48 PM, Rickster said: I have recently gotten my lower control arm and bushing replaced for my EV under warranty. It would have cost me a huge bomb, compared to a jap B&B car, if it’s not under warranty. I can’t imagine how much I need to pay if my car’s main control screen knocks out because it’s an integrated media control hub. Let me not begin to talk about all those fancy electronic switches/controls and sensors and cameras that covers the entire car. Once an EV ages, better pray hard electronics don’t fail.😅 This is why some AD give 10 years warranty on battery?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged September 27, 2025 Share September 27, 2025 On 9/27/2025 at 10:05 PM, 13177 said: The leng kee BYD is which authorized dealer? There are 5 BYD dealers? So many?! So it means there will be some price difference between each dealer?! There is the main distributor which is Vantage and there are ADs. My understanding is that all the 5 ADs have to follow the same pricing scheme strictly. Exact same price. The only difference is each AD can ownself decide how much to give you for your trade in...... Thats why when I bought, I went to one of the newer ones which I figured was more desperate, and it was true. I asked for waiver of the no loan 7k penalty at Alexandra they told me cannot/no way, but at one of the newer ones, they say sorry they not allowed to deviate officially by waiving the 7k, but I can add the waiver amount to your trade in car value. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...