Lethalstrike Turbocharged November 27, 2025 Share November 27, 2025 (edited) I'm quite surprised we still have people working out how much a distributor / dealer is making based on open information such as OMV and using that to assume its the actual selling price from the manufacturer to the dealer/distributor. Been discussed and explained many times before in this forum. If one bothered to do a search, one would understand. OMV + all the cost assumptions at the end of the day are just your own assumptions, the actual transfer price from manufacturer to distributor can be very different. If you aren't in the trade or know of anyone in the trade, you won't know the real cost. Assuming and deriving profit margins is a pointless exercise. End of the day, you buy what you can afford and like. End of story. OMV in LTA explanation is the price declared and paid to the Singapore Customs by the importer. Transfer price from importer to dealer/distributor is another story hor. Edited November 27, 2025 by Lethalstrike ↡ Advertisement 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 27, 2025 Share November 27, 2025 On 11/27/2025 at 2:41 PM, Tianmo said: Most Bros here bought the Luxury? anyone actually bought the premium? The different is only $7k, but other then the different in battery size (range), and the material used for the seats, the rest are good to have stuffs. So is the $7k worth it? Between the JMEV Elight, Aion V, and the dongfeng 007 Cat A model, the V seem to be the most suitable option, so to P or to L, thats the question. I find the premium version is good enough. I no need to have fridge, massage seat and top speakers. The range for the premium also good enough liao. So you also went to see look Aion V liao? So still don't know which one to choose ah? 😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 27, 2025 Share November 27, 2025 (edited) On 11/27/2025 at 4:52 PM, 13177 said: I find the premium version is good enough. I no need to have fridge, massage seat and top speakers. The range for the premium also good enough liao. So you also went to see look Aion V liao? So still don't know which one to choose ah? 😁 Almost, sld cfm this weekend. Might not see here. Edited November 27, 2025 by Tianmo 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged November 27, 2025 Share November 27, 2025 On 11/27/2025 at 4:57 PM, Tianmo said: Almost, sld cfm this weekend. Might not see here. Aiming to buy by end Dec before the rebate changes? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 27, 2025 Share November 27, 2025 On 11/27/2025 at 5:25 PM, Tkseah said: Aiming to buy by end Dec before the rebate changes? Should be aiming to buy since COE for Cat A drop quite a bit la. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 27, 2025 Share November 27, 2025 On 11/27/2025 at 4:57 PM, Tianmo said: Almost, sld cfm this weekend. Might not see here. You no see SUV meh? The model you saw are sedan. Except Aion V. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear November 28, 2025 Share November 28, 2025 On 11/27/2025 at 4:11 PM, Lethalstrike said: OMV in LTA explanation is the price declared and paid to the Singapore Customs by the importer. Transfer price from importer to dealer/distributor is another story hor. That is tax evasion isn't it? If it is so pervasive, perhaps IRAS and LTA should mount a massive investigation on all car importers. I do agree with you that knowing the margin (and hoping to use that as negotiation tactics won't work at all) and the actual buy decision doesn't aligned, so, buy what one can afford and enjoy the ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 28, 2025 Share November 28, 2025 On 11/28/2025 at 8:15 AM, Rm2s said: That is tax evasion isn't it? If it is so pervasive, perhaps IRAS and LTA should mount a massive investigation on all car importers. I do agree with you that knowing the margin (and hoping to use that as negotiation tactics won't work at all) and the actual buy decision doesn't aligned, so, buy what one can afford and enjoy the ride. It is not tax evasion. Factory sells to importer. The price is OMV. Importer is in charge with all the homo. Importer sells to AD at wholesale price. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged November 28, 2025 Share November 28, 2025 (edited) On 11/28/2025 at 8:15 AM, Rm2s said: That is tax evasion isn't it? If it is so pervasive, perhaps IRAS and LTA should mount a massive investigation on all car importers. I do agree with you that knowing the margin (and hoping to use that as negotiation tactics won't work at all) and the actual buy decision doesn't aligned, so, buy what one can afford and enjoy the ride. It isn't tax evasion. Its only a possible tax evasion if you are importing the same car with the same spec, which you declare it as $10 initially but on later batches you declare it as $5. Singapore Customs will be asking questions. However, transfer price from one business to another business Singapore Customs has no say. Because this is about private business profits from one entity to another. It's like importing in a carton of beer by 7-11 main franchisor. 7-11 main franchisor can sell the same carton of beer to a 7-11 franchisee with a mark-up. Edited November 28, 2025 by Lethalstrike 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 28, 2025 Share November 28, 2025 For transfer pricing issue, IRAS will not care. On the other hand, seller countries that have a higher tax rate than Singapore (90% of the countries) will ask questions if selling price (aka OMV) is excessively low. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowcat 1st Gear December 14, 2025 Share December 14, 2025 (edited) Dear all, This week I went to look see the GAC brand. Quite impressed with the Aion V and also the Y. So I was given this: My present car's COE will expire May. So say I opt for the non-guaranteed 8 bids, what are the chances of getting the car? I am not rushing, and I actually want to keep my old car till the end. what I do not understand is that if 8 bids, will it not mean that AD loses $$ when the VES goes into a lower amount next year? How can the AD absorb that? Or it is just a gimmick and 8-bids means (1) sure can get anyway as AD will be motivated to sell? or (2) AD just use my deposit and then return with a thank u for the use of your deposit? AD also offered to take in my car at scrap value + 2k for body. Also have to pay 5k if I dun take loan, can that be negotiated? Was offered 10 yr batt, 8 yr car and 10 yr servicing. May I know which workshop do their warranty? In house? The other contender for new car is a Jaecoo J7. That one also seems like a lot of car for the money, with ARF. Thank u all for your views and wisdom. Edited December 14, 2025 by Slowcat ask additional questions 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged December 14, 2025 Share December 14, 2025 (edited) On 12/14/2025 at 9:03 AM, Slowcat said: My present car's COE will expire May. So say I opt for the non-guaranteed 8 bids, what are the chances of getting the car? I am not rushing, and I actually want to keep my old car till the end. what I do not understand is that if 8 bids, will it not mean that AD loses $$ when the VES goes into a lower amount next year? How can the AD absorb that? Or it is just a gimmick and 8-bids means (1) sure can get anyway as AD will be motivated to sell? or (2) AD just use my deposit and then return with a thank u for the use of your deposit? AD also offered to take in my car at scrap value + 2k for body. Also have to pay 5k if I dun take loan, can that be negotiated? Was offered 10 yr batt, 8 yr car and 10 yr servicing. May I know which workshop do their warranty? In house? The other contender for new car is a Jaecoo J7. That one also seems like a lot of car for the money, with ARF. Thank u all for your views and wisdom. 1. Yes, they get to sit on your money for free, and then if COE drop, they also win together with you. IF it drops that much.. Most likely case, they call you sometime later say, top up $X for guaranteed. They cant lose. I also can sell you ANY car you want, non guaranteed 900 bid. 10k deposit. Ai mai? 2. Scrap +2k is low when buying from an AD 3. 5k penalty, should be able to nego some or all of it away. 4. In house 5. I think J7 is value for money and I liked it. Was a close contender for me. Edited December 14, 2025 by Ake109 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zerstorer 2nd Gear December 14, 2025 Share December 14, 2025 On 12/14/2025 at 9:03 AM, Slowcat said: Dear all, This week I went to look see the GAC brand. Quite impressed with the Aion V and also the Y. So I was given this: My present car's COE will expire May. So say I opt for the non-guaranteed 8 bids, what are the chances of getting the car? I am not rushing, and I actually want to keep my old car till the end. what I do not understand is that if 8 bids, will it not mean that AD loses $$ when the VES goes into a lower amount next year? How can the AD absorb that? Or it is just a gimmick and 8-bids means (1) sure can get anyway as AD will be motivated to sell? or (2) AD just use my deposit and then return with a thank u for the use of your deposit? AD also offered to take in my car at scrap value + 2k for body. Also have to pay 5k if I dun take loan, can that be negotiated? Was offered 10 yr batt, 8 yr car and 10 yr servicing. May I know which workshop do their warranty? In house? The other contender for new car is a Jaecoo J7. That one also seems like a lot of car for the money, with ARF. Thank u all for your views and wisdom. Just take non gteed if you are in no hurry to get car. I took non gtd yet they gave me COE in first bid. You can definitely afford to wait. As long as their profit margins are still there they will give you the car. For trade in value, all you need to do is to visit 2 or 3 other showrooms and see what other dealers are offering and you will get your answer. Vincar warranty and servicing is inhouse, same building. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged December 15, 2025 Share December 15, 2025 On 12/15/2025 at 4:19 AM, Zerstorer said: Just take non gteed if you are in no hurry to get car. I took non gtd yet they gave me COE in first bid. You can definitely afford to wait. As long as their profit margins are still there they will give you the car. So you saved about 20k off their GTD price. Noice! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zerstorer 2nd Gear December 15, 2025 Share December 15, 2025 (edited) Iirc it wasn't that big a price delta back in Sept. Gtd was just 5k more. This second lower tier non gtd didn't exist then. Even then I wouldn't want to pay extra since I wasn't in a hurry. Especially if you trade in your car, any delay is just further deprecation for the value if they already locked their offer. So far in the owners group, many have secured their COEs very quickly even for non gtd. The only issue is getting stock of the car itself. Those who opt for premium might have to wait much longer. Edited December 15, 2025 by Zerstorer 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowcat 1st Gear December 19, 2025 Share December 19, 2025 Can I ask .. do the Aion owners get used to the fact that there is no glove compartment? As well as the funny handles? I am old skool, man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 19, 2025 Share December 19, 2025 On 12/19/2025 at 6:25 PM, Slowcat said: Can I ask .. do the Aion owners get used to the fact that there is no glove compartment? As well as the funny handles? I am old skool, man. Funny handles? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zerstorer 2nd Gear December 20, 2025 Share December 20, 2025 On 12/19/2025 at 6:25 PM, Slowcat said: Can I ask .. do the Aion owners get used to the fact that there is no glove compartment? As well as the funny handles? I am old skool, man. New 2026 facelift has glovebox. If you need one you might wanna wait. As for the door handles, what's wrong with them? No one seems to have any issue. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...