Aion V

steveting99

On 2/4/2026 at 3:26 PM, Mkl22 said:

its like that now. LED headlights already one good example. last time can just change bulb for a few dollars. now is the whole bloody assembly for $3k

Our ka so ex, use halogen damn sia suay le.

On 1/28/2026 at 10:14 AM, Ake109 said:

Not all flush door handles = electronic door handles/non-mechanical door handles

You can have a dual system, where the electric servo can overcome the mechanical spring to push it out and in, but if the electrics kaput, your hand still can actuate the mechanical system underpinning it.

My own Sealion is exactly like that. Anytime I want, i can still pull the handle out manually by pushing it in on one side.

Thanks for the civil and courtesy reply as well as the clarification. Your response is much better than some others.

Whilst I cannot read the minds of regulators nor can I read the tea leaves on how hard authorities are going to clamp down on the ban for retractable / hidden door handles, at least GAC should have some idea. The facelifted Aion V second generation (known as the Aion i60) was released at the end of 2025 and there's some clues on what GAC has in mind for future development. See below pics below.

Aion_i60_exterior_01.thumb.jpg.76a2c727bdef33002a5130dc80dc8abc.jpg

While the most noticeable difference between current Aion V (2024) model and the facelifted Aion i60 (2026) is the front facia, but take a look at the door handles.

Aion_i60_exterior_02.thumb.jpg.0a6ed33852dcee791c6021b12212a115.jpg

The door handles are now semi-enclosed. I.e. no longer fully hidden nor fully retractable!

Aion_i60_exterior_03.thumb.jpg.1b9fc7cdf2a1d313984c535879272af8.jpg

There's two main versions of the Aion i60. BEV and REEV that comes with a 1.5L petrol engine that acts a generator for the smaller on board high voltage battery.

Aion_i60_exterior_04.thumb.jpg.5dfde785bf645016283ddbd2763a2b30.jpg

The unveiling of the Aion i60 happened at the end of 2025 is shown in the video below.

Around time stamp 3:16 shows how Aion i60 prevents smoke from entering the cabin area when the high voltage battery catches on fire. About time stamp 7:55 shows bottom impact test to the high voltage battery pack at high speed (didn't say at what kph). Both of these are part of the tests to meet GB 38031-2025 on Safety Requirements for Power Batteries in Electric Vehicles that comes in affect on 1-July-2026. So not too far from now. All existing BEVs (including Aion V) has to comply within 12 months or by 1-July-2027 the latest.

Around time stamp 3:45 shows the door handles with GAC's claim that it's now fully mechanical to allow opening from the outside after a serious crash. Time stamp 9:15 shows post crash test result of the door handle being accessible (with instruments to measure the force required on the door handle) from the outside. 

Testing and certification by a 3rd party such as China Automotive Technology and Research Center (CATARC) is going to be required to show compliance to GB 38031-2025 and most likely the new safety requirements on door handles.

On Aion the V, have asked Vincar / EV Hub for CATARC compliance test certificate to meet GB 38031-2025. Vincar /EV cannot show me. 🤯

On 2/4/2026 at 5:02 PM, steveting99 said:

On Aion the V, have asked Vincar / EV Hub for CATARC compliance test certificate to meet GB 38031-2025. Vincar /EV cannot show me. 🤯

Asking local AD's for these type of docs, is like asking them shoot lightning bolts from their arses. They probably dont even know whatdafug this certificate is.

The i60 u posted, reminds me so much of RAV4

Edited by Ake109

On 2/4/2026 at 3:47 PM, Victor68 said:

Talking about head lights. Somehow the new head lights are so bright that it blind you from the opposite side. LTA no care liao har?

YES IT IS BLOODY ANNOYING.

- LEDs are already damn bright.

- Some teksi's/PHVs buang so many time, that the cheapo repair job doesnt align the headlamps. So one side blinds you at least.

- Some cars like Noah or HiAce quite high, so blind you in any case.

- Motorcycles, all seem to have their LEDs (I suspect many are aftermarket) angled superhigh into your rear view mirror. And some of the bigger bikes tend to have auxiliary LEDs which are also damn blinding.

- Some heavy vehicles, have these permanent LEDs shining backwards from the rear panels of the cab/cabin

- Cheapo C180s and the like, with halogen reflector housings, put in their taobao/carousell LEDs, blinding everyone.

- Those on original halogens (I see a LOT in Tuas, normally goods vehicles driven by FT), their lights so dim compared to people's LEDs, they just drive with highbeam permanently on in an attempt to keep up.

- The ambulances.... Sir, I can see you from a mile off even if only a quarter of your flashing LEDs are on.

Edited by Ake109

On 2/4/2026 at 5:02 PM, steveting99 said:

Thanks for the civil and courtesy reply as well as the clarification. Your response is much better than some others.

Whilst I cannot read the minds of regulators nor can I read the tea leaves on how hard authorities are going to clamp down on the ban for retractable / hidden door handles, at least GAC should have some idea. The facelifted Aion V second generation (known as the Aion i60) was released at the end of 2025 and there's some clues on what GAC has in mind for future development. See below pics below.

Aion_i60_exterior_01.thumb.jpg.76a2c727bdef33002a5130dc80dc8abc.jpg

While the most noticeable difference between current Aion V (2024) model and the facelifted Aion i60 (2026) is the front facia, but take a look at the door handles.

Aion_i60_exterior_02.thumb.jpg.0a6ed33852dcee791c6021b12212a115.jpg

The door handles are now semi-enclosed. I.e. no longer fully hidden nor fully retractable!

Aion_i60_exterior_03.thumb.jpg.1b9fc7cdf2a1d313984c535879272af8.jpg

There's two main versions of the Aion i60. BEV and REEV that comes with a 1.5L petrol engine that acts a generator for the smaller on board high voltage battery.

Aion_i60_exterior_04.thumb.jpg.5dfde785bf645016283ddbd2763a2b30.jpg

The unveiling of the Aion i60 happened at the end of 2025 is shown in the video below.

Around time stamp 3:16 shows how Aion i60 prevents smoke from entering the cabin area when the high voltage battery catches on fire. About time stamp 7:55 shows bottom impact test to the high voltage battery pack at high speed (didn't say at what kph). Both of these are part of the tests to meet GB 38031-2025 on Safety Requirements for Power Batteries in Electric Vehicles that comes in affect on 1-July-2026. So not too far from now. All existing BEVs (including Aion V) has to comply within 12 months or by 1-July-2027 the latest.

Around time stamp 3:45 shows the door handles with GAC's claim that it's now fully mechanical to allow opening from the outside after a serious crash. Time stamp 9:15 shows post crash test result of the door handle being accessible (with instruments to measure the force required on the door handle) from the outside. 

Testing and certification by a 3rd party such as China Automotive Technology and Research Center (CATARC) is going to be required to show compliance to GB 38031-2025 and most likely the new safety requirements on door handles.

Hope this new Aion V reach SG by end 2026... 

Frankly in my opinion, LTA is doing a very lousy job managing vehicles on the road. Heavy and goods vehicles speeding are common sight. Loud motorcycle noise and smoky buses/worries are also common. No manpower and no time? I am sure the agencies such as CISCO will be more than willing to undertake this job with commission. Illegal parking such minor offences they get agencies, important tasks they turn a blind eye, wonder what is the rationale.

Edited by Victor68

On 2/4/2026 at 8:11 PM, Victor68 said:

Frankly in my opinion, LTA is doing a very lousy job managing vehicles on the road. Heavy and goods vehicles speeding are common sight. Loud motorcycle noise and smoky buses/worries are also common. No manpower and no time? I am sure the agencies such as CISCO will be more than willing to undertake this job with commission. Illegal parking such minor offences they get agencies, important tasks they turn a blind eye, wonder what is the rationale.

Busy monitoring in the office. 

On 2/4/2026 at 8:11 PM, Victor68 said:

Vehicles speeding not under TP meh? Lol.

On 2/4/2026 at 5:32 PM, Tkseah said:

Hope this new Aion V reach SG by end 2026... 

This new aion V design is much nicer than the current model.

On 2/4/2026 at 5:31 PM, Ake109 said:

YES IT IS BLOODY ANNOYING.

- LEDs are already damn bright.

- Some teksi's/PHVs buang so many time, that the cheapo repair job doesnt align the headlamps. So one side blinds you at least.

- Some cars like Noah or HiAce quite high, so blind you in any case.

- Motorcycles, all seem to have their LEDs (I suspect many are aftermarket) angled superhigh into your rear view mirror. And some of the bigger bikes tend to have auxiliary LEDs which are also damn blinding.

- Some heavy vehicles, have these permanent LEDs shining backwards from the rear panels of the cab/cabin

- Cheapo C180s and the like, with halogen reflector housings, put in their taobao/carousell LEDs, blinding everyone.

- Those on original halogens (I see a LOT in Tuas, normally goods vehicles driven by FT), their lights so dim compared to people's LEDs, they just drive with highbeam permanently on in an attempt to keep up.

- The ambulances.... Sir, I can see you from a mile off even if only a quarter of your flashing LEDs are on.

I always got blind by ambulance flashing LED. They don’t know their LED are way too glaring and uncomfortable to road users?! 

On 2/4/2026 at 11:14 PM, 13177 said:

Vehicles speeding not under TP meh? Lol.

I don't know who take care of what, the problem is there. If the department responsible is not able to perform their job, shouldn't they be answerable? 

On 2/5/2026 at 5:04 AM, Victor68 said:

I don't know who take care of what, the problem is there. If the department responsible is not able to perform their job, shouldn't they be answerable? 

Paiseh, there is no such thing as answerable even the relevant authorities is not performing their job.

You can see many past case studies liao. 😅

• Sad 1

On 2/5/2026 at 5:04 AM, Victor68 said:

Shouldn’t you find out and make them accountable rather then kpkb here🤭

Moreover this is the wrong thread

On 2/5/2026 at 8:15 AM, inlinesix said:

Aiyo, we all know nothing will happen. Just an avenue to kpkb. Sorry boss.

On 2/5/2026 at 8:15 AM, inlinesix said:

Even a simple traffic light setting, feedback donkey times to them and yet they still cannot get it right. How to make them accountable le?! Lol.

Edited by 13177

the ambulance lights nowadays is super super bright. 

haha u cannot pretend that u cant see it's behind you.

On 2/5/2026 at 2:55 PM, Lala81 said:

the ambulance lights nowadays is super super bright. 

haha u cannot pretend that u cant see it's behind you.

No need behind you also can blind by their lights.

On 2/4/2026 at 5:25 PM, Ake109 said:

Asking local AD's for these type of docs, is like asking them shoot lightning bolts from their arses. They probably dont even know whatdafug this certificate is.

The i60 u posted, reminds me so much of RAV4

Some additional information on the discussion I had with VinCar / EV Hub on the high voltage battery pack.

Asked if GAC's high voltage magazine battery complies to GB 38031-2025 that was issued by China's Ministry of Industry and Information Technology (MIIT). Meaning the Aion V meets the specification of "Safety Requirements for Power Batteries of Electric Vehicles" that was issued in April-2025?

Reply from VinCar / EV Hub: Yes, requirement met.👍

With the above confirmation, followed up by asking for a copy of the test certificate from the independent testing authority showing compliance to GB 38031-2025 as proof.

Response from VinCar / EV Hub: Will not be sharing this information. 😶

When asked again on why, the response is that EV Hub will not provide.☹️

I was a bit concerned that the lack of the test certificate meant there's no proof on compliance to GB 38031-2025 on the Aion V, even though VinCar / EV Hub claimed it to be.  Have asked other Aion V owners on this thread to pursue VinCar / EV Hub on this.