Roll call to all old birds still here - 2025 update

On 6/26/2025 at 9:08 AM, Estrangable said:

having a kid is the best thing that ever happen to me, second to meeting my wife. The joy when he runs over to you and ask for bao bao... haha, everything is worth it. 

Wait till he/she becomes a teenager...... 

On 6/26/2025 at 11:50 AM, Atrecord said:

Once upon a time i also had similar thoughts - but they turned out to be idealistic and not-implementable... 🤣

I think the wife needs to be a strong proponent as well. Otherwise it's 2v1 😆

On 6/27/2025 at 1:23 AM, 107fan said:

Usually the adults can't get away from their phones during meal time, very hard to enforce on kids.  😂

On 6/27/2025 at 1:23 AM, 107fan said:

We started off ok. 

no phones for the kids in pri sch. They will borrow grandparents (my parents stay with us) phones to use, in the living room. Then soon will use whatsapp on the phones cos teachers will tell the class instructions via WA... So when they use the phones, also dunno is really WA about homework/school work, or others... 😅

then in P6/S1, have to get them their own phones, and before long, they'll be hiding in their own rooms, or course started with reason of doing homework as informed via WA... plus with computer, that's the beginning of them MIA from living room and going in their room with phone/comp... and with increasing homework/school work/project work in upp sec/jc/poly, how to stop them - esp when they start having a more active social circle...

these are all gradual, but i think inevitable. 

even adults are using phones during meal times, and honestly, i see so often even when driving!

so it's really not easy to enforce.

oh, another thing - if thinking of using force (like for eg snatch the phone away), also not easy... by sec 3/4, they are likely to be taller than mother and as tall as father... 😂

On 6/27/2025 at 11:55 AM, Atrecord said:

We started off ok. 

no phones for the kids in pri sch. They will borrow grandparents (my parents stay with us) phones to use, in the living room. Then soon will use whatsapp on the phones cos teachers will tell the class instructions via WA... So when they use the phones, also dunno is really WA about homework/school work, or others... 😅

then in P6/S1, have to get them their own phones, and before long, they'll be hiding in their own rooms, or course started with reason of doing homework as informed via WA... plus with computer, that's the beginning of them MIA from living room and going in their room with phone/comp... and with increasing homework/school work/project work in upp sec/jc/poly, how to stop them - esp when they start having a more active social circle...

these are all gradual, but i think inevitable. 

even adults are using phones during meal times, and honestly, i see so often even when driving!

so it's really not easy to enforce.

oh, another thing - if thinking of using force (like for eg snatch the phone away), also not easy... by sec 3/4, they are likely to be taller than mother and as tall as father... 😂

Before p6 the teacher will use WhatsApp to give instructions?

This school really...I got no words...

Probably really proud of their "digitisation" 😡

Ironically, the teachers themselves will bring work home because they cannot detach from their work. Must WhatsApp and entertain queries after evening hours.

Self pwn

On 6/27/2025 at 1:47 PM, 107fan said:

Ironically, the teachers themselves will bring work home because they cannot detach from their work. Must WhatsApp and entertain queries after evening hours.

Self pwn

You have kids? How old? 

You can wait and see .

On 6/27/2025 at 1:47 PM, 107fan said:

Self pwn

yes, cos teachers also appreciate and wanna make use of the convenience. 

let's say just after sch teacher remember next day Math lesson need to refer to textbook, but he didn't tell class beforehand. Then just drop one msg in group chat, students are considered informed liao... or else is call students one by one to tell...

and take note, the kids got peer pressure one hor. whatever said and done, they also have their self-pride however young they are. If they are in a clique of let's say 5 closer classmates, then if 4 got their own mobile, but 1 dun have, he will sure feel a sense of inferiority among the 'gang', which is not healthy. This is sad but true. Last time my friend said they didn't want to give their kid phone yet (think in sec 1), but need to go tuition on her own and they like her to be contactable, so gave her an old nokia just to make calls... that was when her other classmates/friends already had smart phones. Wah, when one day the parents called, the girl didn't even answer and left the phone in the bag... cos it was paiseh to be using such old stuff in front of her peers...