Are u like me, sibeh tulan all the "Subscription" type of devices?

SIM37

4th Gear

This article sibeh zhunkar : https://medium.com/@BookSamurai/you-bought-it-but-dont-own-it-when-tesla-lg-and-smart-locks-turn-against-you-ad2dc552b4bc

Think you own your smart TV, car, or digital lock? Think again. This deep dive exposes how companies like LG, Tesla, and others are quietly rewriting the rules of ownership through subscriptions and digital locks. Learn how to fight back and make smarter choices.

We used to buy things. Now, we rent features from the products we own.

Subscription capitalism has crept into every corner of our lives — quietly, aggressively, and often without consent. It’s no longer just about Netflix or Spotify. It’s your $2,000 smart TV, your fridge, your EV — and, in one horrifying case in Singapore, your front door lock. We are watching in real-time as the idea of ownership is being dismantled, feature by feature, ad by ad, paywall by paywall.

LG’s Subscription Play: Turning Appliances Into Ad Platforms

In 2023, LG announced it would transform its smart TVs and appliances into an ecosystem of services — complete with ads, subscriptions, and ongoing monetization through its webOS platform.

Think your smart fridge is just for storing milk? Think again. It might soon push recipe ads, suggest grocery services, or require a subscription for premium functions. LG’s goal is clear: turn your home into a recurring revenue model.

This isn’t just feature expansion — it’s feature gatekeeping.

The Printer Industry Walked So LG Could Run

This model isn’t new. Printers pioneered it decades ago. They sold you cheap hardware, then charged exorbitantly for ink. Worse, they often blocked third-party cartridges with DRM or “low ink” warnings even when the cartridges were full. And insultingly, people have realised that printer ink costs much more than human blood! One comedian even said in a stand up show that he might just fill his ink cartridges with his own blood to save money.

Consumers hated it. But companies loved the profits. And now, it’s scaled into multi-thousand-dollar products.

Of course savvy consumers fight back! And companies have relented and offered reasonable alternatives. We actively search for ink‑tank printers from Epson HP or Brother that offer cost-efficient, cartridge-free alternatives. Never will a savvy customer be held hostage to subscription based printing anymore!

Consider these Ethical and Pragmatic alternatives:

Epson EcoTank L1250 Color Catridge free ink tank — A reliable, refillable printer that minimizes cartridge waste and resists overpriced consumables.

Tesla’s Hidden Battery Range: Pay to Unlock What’s Already There

Tesla has followed the same playbook. Many Model Y RWD owners discovered their cars were capable of far more range — but only if they paid Tesla a software unlock fee. Up to 60 extra miles, already built in, just sitting behind a digital paywall.

This sparked widespread backlash. Imagine buying a full tank of gas, but being told you need to subscribe to access the last quarter. Again, the Internet comes to the rescue, where Hackers have managed to Unlock Tesla Software locked features worth up to $15,000

Tesla reversed some controversial unlocks — but the model raises tough questions about digital ownership.

And Then There’s Singapore: Smart Locks Gone Rogue

In one of the most chilling examples of digital control, over 50 homeowners in Singapore were locked out of their homes in July 2025. Their smart digital locks — sold and managed by SHP (Smart Home Products) and distributed by Technex International — were remotely disabled after a supplier dispute.

Not a tech failure. Not user error. This was a business conflict weaponized. On a personal note, I still trust a regular lock and key and put a copy with a trusted neighbour or family friend.

What if your smart car doesn’t start because your subscription lapsed? Or your home becomes inaccessible because of a contract fight?

The Bigger Issue: Ownership Is Becoming Illusionary

Let’s be blunt: the devices in your home, the features in your vehicle, and the software in your locks are no longer fully yours.

Corporations are:

• Locking hardware behind software
  • Charging for features already built in
  • Injecting ads into previously ad-free appliances
  • Retaining remote control over essential devices
  • This is not just about revenue — it’s about control, trust, and ethics.

Where Is the Ethical Responsibility?

Is it ethical to sell hardware that can be remotely disabled?
Is it fair to charge for functions you already bought?
Should customers dig through EULAs to protect basic rights?

When a lock company can literally lock you out of your home, we’re not just dealing with subscriptions — we’re confronting corporate gatekeeping of reality.

How Consumers Can Fight Back

1. Do Your Research Before Buying

Look for products that don’t require ongoing subscriptions to remain functional and that don’t carry remote-disable clauses.

2. Choose Open, Offline-Ready Hardware

Schlage Offline Electronic Lock — A robust, stand-alone lock that works without cloud dependencies, protecting you from remote lockouts.

3. Read the Fine Print — and Ask Questions

Check for remote-control terms in warranties or T&Cs. Ask sellers directly: “Can this device be deactivated remotely?”

4. Share Your Story

The Singapore smart-lock fiasco gained traction because people spoke out. Use reviews and social platforms to shed light on abusive policies.

5. Reward Ethical Brands

Support companies that respect ownership and transparency — even if they charge a premium for device autonomy.

6. Demand Better Regulations

Call for laws that prohibit unilateral remote disabling and mandate clear disclosure of subscription-based features before purchase.

We Must Be Savvy — or Be Subscribed to Death

The modern consumer must be vigilant. A fridge that shows ads today; a locked door tomorrow — if we don’t fight to retain control, we risk renting every aspect of our lives.

We also have seen this with another glaring example of Microsoft Office being exponentially ditched when they started a subscription and individuals + corporations embracing the full Google Workspace.

Individuals hate the subscription service model. We need to let companies know. When they hold consumers ransom and backed to a corner, consumers will fight back.

Next time wify also decides to go on subscription model then you know...... 

Wait! Maybe that's a good thing? 

• Haha! 11

4th Gear

@Stratovarius Most of private sector have already moved away from MS orfice to google already. Only garment sector being held ransom by Microsoft

On 8/8/2025 at 3:56 PM, Volvobrick said:

Port over to vietbu or siambu...whichever headlight signal is stronger hor...😂

On 8/8/2025 at 4:16 PM, SIM37 said:

@Stratovarius Most of private sector have already moved away from MS orfice to google already. Only garment sector being held ransom by Microsoft

Thought Open/LibreOffice 'cos I see the paragrahing formatting not like MS? 

even AI apps also need subscriptions, most of the free software applications or apps CMI. 

consumption method, need to wait for you to finish then i can earn from you. 
subscription based, you pay every month until you say stop. 

Anyway, the medium website for the article also subscription based. hahaha, I got pay for the sub. hahahaha 

I read that games also moving that way.

When u "buy" a game,  u will no longer own it.

On 8/8/2025 at 3:56 PM, Volvobrick said:

Xiao3 is subscription model lah…. 

• Haha! 8

On 8/8/2025 at 5:47 PM, SIM37 said:

@kobayashiGT Ish free leh, i can read no issue.

Oh some medium article have paywall. only member can read. hahaha 

On 8/8/2025 at 4:50 PM, Kangadrool said:

Thought Open/LibreOffice 'cos I see the paragrahing formatting not like MS? 

I thought it's directly use Google docs liao. 

On 8/8/2025 at 5:23 PM, Mrmilktooth said:

Xiao3 is subscription model lah…. 

Like arcade machines. You want to continue playing but alas, no more coins.

If a Cat A Car with 129 Bhp,pay a Legal Fee,let say $300.00(Not thru 3rd Party ECU Reflash),Car become 180 Bhp,why not.?